Find companies:
Department of Justice
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
122 reviews

Department of Justice Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work/Life Balance, Great Benefits
Legal Assistant (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCJuly 24, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: low pay
love working with the department of justice but recently with the change in reducing employees and replacing them, it has been difficult to work due overwhelming workloads. Most assistants here have now at 5:1 ratios.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and challenging workplace. No matter what you scheduled for the day you knew it was not going to happen as there was always something new.
Department of Justice (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONMay 20, 2013
Pros: fun and challenging work.
Cons: more advancement for the lawyers.
This was a fast paced work environment with showed me how to work under pressure and lots of challenges. Our team was a very fun and energetic group which I will always remember.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Clerk (Former Employee), Johannesburg, GPAugust 18, 2014
Pros: the environment
Cons: not getting paid.
It used to be a busy day because were dealing with lots of people.

I have learned to deal with different characters of clients

I managed to have listening skills

My co-workers were always supportive and fun people to be with.

The hardest part was to have a client who is crying and you can't do much about that.

The most enjoyable part was being – more... able to help and give advice. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and challenging workplace
admin clerk (Former Employee), Nylstroom, LPAugust 9, 2014
a typical day at work was having to deal with an impossible supervisor
i learned administrative skills, time management skills and also learned to cope under pressure
my co-workers where nice but not all of them but i still learned to tolerate them
the hardest part of the job was when i had to work even after hours sometimes during weekends for no extra – more... pay.
the enjoyable part of the job is that i was doing something that i loved – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DOJ is a professional rewarding work environment.
Computer Specialist (Former Employee), Washington, DCAugust 9, 2014
DOJ is a professional rewarding work environment where you will be challenged and given the opportunity to be responsible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No pleasure at all and no motivation
Senior Registrar's Clerk (Current Employee), Cape Town, WCAugust 8, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: i'm by the work at 7 o'clock every morning, and when i want leave or go off to a doctor ect then there is always a problem.
A very unhappy workplace and not looking forward anymore to come to work. Nothing to enjoy anymore no progress and extremely double standards
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working inside of a prison environment is a challenge.
Counselor (Current Employee), Fort Dix, NJAugust 6, 2014
Pros: working with wondering people that are very helpful.
Cons: having to say good bye.
Working inside of a prison environment is a challenge. The job is not for everybody, but I have enjoyed my years there. I have met many people over the years, and they have all made my life easier with the help that was provided to me during my tenure. The hardest part of my job was not being able to help someone achieve to their full potential, rather – more... it was a staff member or an inmate. The most enjoyable part of my job was the overall challenges. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Department of Justice is an outstanding place to work.
Paralegal Specialist (Former Employee), Washington, DCAugust 5, 2014
Department of Justice is an outstanding place to grow and to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hectic and challenging
Assistant Director (Current Employee), Pretoria, GPAugust 4, 2014
Pros: assisting in other regions
Cons: working long hours
Day to day management of staff members.
i have learned that teamwork will always conquer.. 18 staffmembers report to me dicectly
The hardest part of the job is when you have to fit in the meetings the tight work schedule.
The enjoyable part of the work is when we receive a good audit opinion.
Another one is the compliments from management and clients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Court Interpreter (Former Employee), Brits, NWAugust 3, 2014
Pros: tea time and lunch time
Cons: backlog
My day start at 8H00 am and before the the court commence I have to meet the court prosecutor at his office to prepare court dockets the previous court proceedings and the current proceedings so that the magistrate can acclimatize himself with all the court proceedings.I have learned that even though I'm an employee at justice department I have to abide – more... by the law and the management was great because I could able to communicate with my employer regarding the challenges at work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productively
Administration clerk (Current Employee), knzAugust 1, 2014
Pros: 13h00 -13h45
Cons: 8 hours
it is a good department just that we working hard but we earn penuts
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Workplace
Admin Officer (Current Employee), Ermelo, MPJune 25, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: only 1 hour
Checking Officer of the Domestic Violence Files
Dealing with the Family Violence applications
Preparing the Domestic Violence Files for return dates
Opening new files for Domestic Violence

Lodging the Estate for the late people
Opening files for the Estate Late
Pointing the Executor of the Estate Late belongings
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fun and enjoyable
Transport Officer Experiantial Learner (Current Employee), Polokwane, LPJune 9, 2014
Cons: we work long hours before lunch
ON every day basis i open e-mails to check if people have reported turn-downs because the whole Limpopo reports to my office,
at this job i have learned a lot because my managing skills have improved in a short period of time.
The management is very supportive and fun to be around as the treat me with respect and notice my work.
The hardest part of – more... the job is when reporting to standard bank because sometime i report over five(5) vehicles a day counting enquirers and you find that they take time to answer your phone.
enjoyable part of the work is doing everything i do everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most exciting law enforcement career.
Federal Agent (Current Employee), Boston, MAJune 6, 2014
Most Exciting career in law enforcement. No regrets, only fond memories knowing that our children slept soundly while we were arresting the most violent individuals in this country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Records Management Supervisor (Current Employee), DCJune 4, 2014
Good place to work I been here for a while just looking for more growth oppurtunties
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start after college
Data Analyst (Current Employee), Washington, DCJune 2, 2014
Pros: work life balance, benefits
Cons: pay
Pay isn't great, but skills learned here will lead to higher-paying jobs in the future. Great work life balance (option for compressed work schedule), lots of great benefits and very motivated and intelligent work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
that I have had over six years of experience in Automation Test script Developme I have had experience in both manual and automated testing
QA Engineer (Former Employee), Washington, DCMay 14, 2014
that I have had over six years of experience in Automation Test script Development. I have had experience in both manual and automated testing of web based applications as well as client server applications. In my QA carrier I have worked on different Operating Systems such as windows XP, Windows, Unix and few others. I have done test developed in C++, – more... Java and Visual Basic. A Few testing tools I believe I have extensive experience that would be QC/ALM(11.00) and QTP(9.52,10.00,11.00)/UFT(11.50). And I have done a lot of different tests using these Testing Tools, some of them are Smoke Testing, Functional Testing, Black Box Testing, Integration Testing, Regression Testing ,UAT (User Acceptance Testing) Testing and so many others. And other than that I have also done a lot of back-end testing using SQL Query. So few of the databases that I have worked on are Oracle, Sql Server and Microsoft Access. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dealing with different matters
Judge's Secretary (Former Employee), Johannesburg, GPApril 30, 2014
Typical day at work was when i have to deal with difficult Advocate, members of the public who dont understand the procudure of the court

I have learned to deal with different matters, investigate, and allocate lost files

With my co-workers we were like a family able to assist each other well, the communication was good between us more special becuase – more... the Judges with communicate with us through Clerks

I have learned to work underpressure and to be patient due to the nature of my position having to deal with criminal cases

The harderst part of the job is when i have to lockoff late and have to work at night doing urgent matters

To learn new things everyday, the responsibility i was given to, the benefit and not forget working hours – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Executive Assistant to Director of Prosecutions (Former Employee), Brisbane Central Business District, QLDApril 24, 2014
Pros: interesting cases
Cons: some very sad cases
shorthand, typing, telephones, preparation of court documents. Excellent co-workers. Director was wonderful to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for learning the legal system.
Paralegal (Former Employee), Washington, DCApril 22, 2014
I worked as a Paralegal at Justice and loved working there. I enjoyed the staff and learned a lot from the attorneys.

1 2 3 4 5