Find companies:
Department Of Health
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
390 reviews

Department Of Health Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive like to work with people
Income Maintenance Specialist (Current Employee), Milwaukee WIJuly 14, 2014
Pros: i love working with people
Cons: very far to drive
Answering phones and processing Food Share and Health Care application, conduct phone interview or face to face, I like my co-workers, hardest part of the job is the drive, most enjoyable is working with the people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like working with the kids
Childcare Provider (Former Employee), Manchester, NHJuly 11, 2014
teaching then Learning skills like ABC an the Numbers. Singing an writing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A busy work environment
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), New YorkJuly 6, 2014
Cons: no benefits
This is a very fast past job, that has high demands of attending and catering to the supervisors and other individuals. Within the time that I have worked in the Department of Health I have learned to work under pressure, and I have managed to work thoroughly with others from other government agency. The hardest part about the job is having a meeting – more... cancelled at the last meeting, or having to deal with the system shutting down on a busy day. My coworkers are very nice and understanding. The most enjoyable part about this job is having to deal with many challenges from day to day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to learn and grow while facing challenges and working alongside many disciplines
Community Service Physiotherapist (Current Employee), Port Elizabeth, ECJuly 6, 2014
I enjoy being in close working relationship with many different health professionals and this job grants me that opportunity. The hours are definitely reasonable and allow for a healthy balanced lifestyle. My colleagues challenge me to increase my knowledge daily and are a welcoming group. The hardest part of my job would be to stretch my skill from – more... theoretical to actually applying the theory into the life of the individual. This may be challenging but it is definitely rewarding and stimulating, so then this is also the most enjoyable part of my experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive people, and appreciative
Clerk (Former Employee), WellingtonJuly 4, 2014
Pros: glide time, felt secure.
Pretty much showed what to do and then carried out duties.
Learned how the Government department works and found it interesting
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fighting disease, fighting poverty and giving hope toto patients
Senior Finance Management Officer (Current Employee), Pietermaritzburg, ZNJuly 4, 2014
Pros: 15 minutes tea breake and 45 minutes lunch time
Cons: 8 working hours per day
The most enjoyable part is working with monetory values, different kinds of people and most of all is the mission. We are all focusing in patients' lives. I have a good relationship with my team, and they are hard workers. we also have healthy lifestyle programme.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of productivity
Senior Dentist, Unit manager (Current Employee), Kimberley, NCJune 30, 2014
Pros: good salary and job security
Cons: basic scope of work is limited for a dentist
Staff moral within the work environment is low, productivity and accountability needs to be increased.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace to work at.
Administration Clerk: Support Services (Current Employee), Robertson, WCJune 27, 2014
I have considerable experience in the following: Secretarial support to Management such as diary management; handling of incoming and outgoing telephone calls; enquiries of the general public and stake holders; minute taking and distribution of minutes and relevant documents; data capturing; compiling of reports; logistical arrangements for meetings – more... and functions; travel arrangements; ordering of stationary; receiving of goods and correspondence and general office filing. I also have experience in handling office equipment such as photocopy machine, fax machine, scanner, laminating machine and binding machine. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
-
Dietician in public sector (Former Employee), Colesberg, NCJune 27, 2014
I had a very good time meeting new colleagues.
I do wish that I could have been placed in a larger hospital for a wider experience, but I still learned a lot
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Conducive and Demanding enviroment
Assistant Finance Manager (Current Employee), Durban, ZNJune 25, 2014
Pros: job categories, expose to diverse responsibilities, no specialities in one field, there is job security
Cons: the steriotyped way of management
DoH is a public serving institution ,its core mandate is patient care ,hence working in such critical objective has exposed me to a demanding environment which requires a lot of dedication and skills

it has improved my analytical skills and enhanced my ability to prioritize ,work under pressure ,therefore I can say this sector provides learning foundation – more... for future accountants in public finance management

its cultural and racial diversity (ethnic balance) also equip one in terms of interpersonal relations. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Senior Admin Clark (Current Employee), Cape Town, WCJune 20, 2014
Pros: flexi hours
typical day lots of qeuries.
how to deal with difficult customers
Management gives starff freedom to do the work there way aslong it is done.
everybody works as a team
hardest part of the job would be not be able to help someone
Knowing you make a differens in peoples lifes
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging project in a supportive workplace
Accountant (Current Employee), Albany, NYJune 18, 2014
This job involves granting federal funds, so it was never easy. My team and I have to find a balance between helping the organizations know what was expected of them and expediting the processes in the state to get the money to the organizations in the best possible manor.

Through this job, I have learned how to manage several priorities on a daily – more... basis and how to be flexible when the work expectations change. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworking
Finance Intern (Former Employee), Pietermaritzburg, ZNJune 18, 2014
Pros: braais, workshops
Cons: people doubting your abilities
I had to prove myself that I can do the job since it is the internship. If you don't work hard it can be terminated.

Working while your boss watches you make you uncomfortable you can even make mistakes
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educating youth about the dangers of STD's and gangs.
Program Worker I (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJune 13, 2014
Public service environment thats very fast paced and full of lessons. You are constantly learning and management and the co-workers are much like family because you work very closely together on teams. The hardest part about the job was the paperwork aspect but what makes it enjoyable is the fact that the work I was doing was benefitting someone else.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
buyer
Administration Clerk (Current Employee), Polokwane, LPJune 13, 2014
focusing on buying,i want to leave the company because of better future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and adaptive working place
Nurse Deployment Program (Current Employee), Kalibo, Aklan PhilippinesJune 11, 2014
Pros: free snacks during events and meetings
Cons: instant reports
- Requires my humanitarian skills in terms of dealing with different people, especially of those belonging to the poor society.
- I was able to excel my communication skills, linking councils to their constituents in terms of services and help they needed.
- Was able to participate in certain events that is conducted and offered by the DOH.
- I can – more... manage and create positive feed backs during a certain meeting of a council.
- the hardest part is when there is a sudden or instant reports that needs to be submitted immediately which should require more time and accuracy.
- the most enjoyable part is when people especially those belonging to the poorest sector, appreciates and benefits your services towards them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teamplayer with good leadership skliis
Professional Nurse (Current Employee), Durban, KZNJune 6, 2014
Pros: i have learned to cope with large ammounts of patients with very few staff to care for the patient
Cons: staff shortage sometimes causes me to work through the day without a lunch break
I commence at 06:45. Ward taking over is done. Roll call done. Allocation of staff completed. In service education next. Quality Improvement Programs discussed. Patients seen with doctor during the ward round. Tasks allocated to different categories of nurses. I am currently allocated in the maternity department (since August 2007). Patients in latent – more... and established labour are assessed, and progressed for delivery of neonate. Delivery of baby, care of ante natal and post natal patients are done. Correct recording of notes in maternity file. Attending theatre for Ceasarian Sections. Patients are checked and entries recorded regarding condition od patients are done. Handing over to night staff is at 17:45.
I have excellent interpersonal and communication skills. I have forged a good working relationship with all disciplines of staff I have contact with. The most satisfying part of my job is delivering a baby and placing them onto the mother's chest, and seeing the joy on her face. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high working ernegy and productive workplace
Public Relations Assistant (Former Employee), Newcastle, ZNJune 4, 2014
Pros: free lunches in meetings
Cons: long hours
1. I was involve in key decision making in the hospital.
2. I dealt and worked with most of the entire hospital staff on a daily basis.
3. I was given chances to voice my opinion in strategic meetings and issues.
4. There respect I got from the top management was amazing, i felt i was also in their level.
5. I enjoyed most working in the Public Relations – more... office because of the co-workers and my manager, the energy was incredible.
6. I got to interact with the stakeholders everyday, complaints and problem solving. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Roxas City, P06May 29, 2014
Pros: free lunch sometimes, travel
Fun, not much work to be done but fun since it is related to my studies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and willing to build every person to be a productive when they leave this department.
Personal Assistant (Current Employee), Polokwane, LPMay 29, 2014
Cons: normal hours it depends on the workload you have in the office.
* I can say the typical day is when there's a meeting with extended
managers, where you will have to organize, prepare the boardroom,
minutes, refreshments, pens and all that will be needed i.e projector
if there will be a presentation.
* multi-tasking and working as a team and under pressure to meet
deadline. compiling and submitting of claim forms, – more... financial
administration i.e preparing of BAS payments, maintain and
updating commitment register – less