Find companies:
Department Of Health
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
390 reviews

Department Of Health Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
dentist (Current Employee), Johannesburg South, GPSeptember 28, 2014
the main treatment rendered at the clinic is exodontia, but this is mainly because it is the preferred treatment by patients. the day starts off with exodontia followed by patients that have been booked for other treatments such a restorations, prosthetics and cleanings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & very good place
Risk Management Internship (Former Employee), Jane Furse, LPSeptember 25, 2014
Enjoyed my self at the Dept of Health
To work with different people from out side also different directorates,
very good Management to our relationship,
Good relationship with employees
Hardest part: learning on how to handle problems from different people,
Enjoyable part: doing Investigation to protect state property
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable workplace
Accountant III (Current Employee), Butuan, P13September 18, 2014
Pros: free medical check up, medical assistance, sent to workshops and trainings for free, with extra hazard pay and longevity pay
Cons: presence of corruption in some high officials, employees with crab mentality
For almost ten(10) years working at the Department of Health - ROXII, four(4) of my staff left without having been replaced because of the rationalization plan, therefore I have been assuming the tasks that they left behind. In spite of that fact, I was able to meet deadlines and there was no one in our office who complained because their claims were – more... delayed because of me. A career driven person, I have been very consistent in my performance because I love what I am doing no matter how taxing the work may be. Furthermore, I can proudly say that I can still find time for zumba as my means of exercise and to attend to the needs of my family since I am a single parent of four(4) children. In this office, I was able to meet different types of persons, a main contributory factor to my maturity. I feel so lucky though that I was able to get staff in my unit who are highly dependable and enjoyable to be with. The hardest part of my job in the Department of Health was when I was given the task of an Internal Quality Audit Team Leader. The task was so new to me I was having hard time to grasp the principles behind it. But after a while, I was able to learn after having been sent to many workshops and trainings. Although I consider myself not yet an expert but I can proudly say that the External Auditor praised me for a job well done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Complex work that included making immediate decisions that will provide better service to citizenship
Administrator (Former Employee), San Juan, PRSeptember 17, 2014
Working in the Demographic Registry of Department of Health¬† was intense, with many daily challenges. At that time the law that changed the birth certificate to one with higher security codes was signed. This law required the citizens born in Puerto Rico to obtain a new certificate for a specific date because the one that was used¬† _ until the present – more... would be invalidated. Working the logistics of how to address this change was very enriching for my career because we had to use all the tools available in the field of administration. Since hiring employees through employment agencies to open new offices in the most popular shopping centers in the country, create new shifts and hire security agencies to control the crowd. Although it was a work of greater responsibility, gave me the opportunity to work in coordination with various agencies both government and private.

It was an experience of complex and successful work which left much satisfaction and open doors to new opportunities for jobs of high responsibility. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
theres progress but its very slow in terms of equipment,retaining of staff
Professional Nurse (Current Employee), East London, ECSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: recieving good equipment
Cons: lack of support, still using old equipment
fare hours to work a day
a lot eg supervision,problem solving, drug management etc.
management poor
some are good, they know what it means to be nurse, while some cane in just to be paid and are lazy with bad attitudes. they do not equip themselves with information
lack of cooperation, managers not giving workers what is rightfully theirs but giving – more... themselves for the work done by employees.seeing improvement after attending the client, positive feedback from clients and staff – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training Ground
Staff Nurse (Former Employee), philippinesSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: helpful and approachable senior staff
Cons: night shifts
-A very busy government hospital that caters most of the poor citizens of the region.
-I encountered a lot of rare diseases which I'd known only in the nursing books.
-My co-workers were very helpful and approachable.
-I find night shifts the hardest part of the job.
-I made new colleagues and was a service to my poor fellowmen.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Health Department
Certified Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Sarasota FloridaSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: no merit raises
Great organization. Able to learn from the many different types of people and procedures
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good experience with Mentally disabled adults.
Auxiliary of Activities (Former Employee), PRSeptember 12, 2014
Every morning I received the participants calling them by their names and smiling at them. The majority of them have to go directly to the restrooms and I assisted them. Almost always, they have to go to their classes assigned. I instructed the class of Art and Craft. Sometimes I have to led them to the classrooms they had to be. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job was went there were some days we all went to some therapy trips. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and steady
Licensing Administrator (Current Employee), Providence, RISeptember 12, 2014
This position I held here was very fast paced, detailed job. I enjoyed working for this employer because I was always kept busy in a friendly environment.
Also I gained a lot of book keeping skills and organization with files and archiving, etc..
Overall great work experience!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my work is productive driven by results
Assistant director (Current Employee), Cape Town, WCSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: petrol claim, and accommodation
Cons: work overtime
The job is challenging , I have learned about policy development skills.
I also learnt about strategic thinking and management
The team is supportive and is a good working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working here
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New York, New YorkSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: relaxed atmosphere
Cons: no benefits
The people at this company was so nice and helpful. Loved going to work every morning knowing that I will be working with such a good group of people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is quite an experience to work for goverment especially underlimited resources and that has enabled me to be innovative
DIETITIAN (Current Employee), Kwamhlanga, MPSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: limited resources, staying in one position for long
I meet different characters at work with different work ethics which also allows/assist me to have a diversified mind at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and need to be able to work with all cultures ,have empathy towards the patients
Administration Clerk (Former Employee), Pietermaritzburg, ZNSeptember 6, 2014
Typical day at work is dealing with staff and public wishing to speak to the unit manager.
I learned a lot about policies of the department and how it affects the public as well as the employees.
The hardest part was seeing patients demise whilst assisting them.
The most enjoyable was liaising with other stakeholders on behalf of the patients,setting – more... up databases for staff as well as patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and active employees
Senior Administrative Office: Labour Relations (Current Employee), Cape Town, WCSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: basic of employement benefits
Cons: having to dismiss an employee
Every day i give advice to staff members with regards to their rights and grievance process.
on a daily basis i would give advice to Supervisors/ Managers with regards to disciplinary procedures and how to Manage Absenteeism in the work place is it is a big challenge for Supervisors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a bit productive
Nursing (student nurse) (Current Employee), Nqutu, ZNSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: getting blessings from patients who have gratitude.
Cons: long hours
There are a few challenges but it is nice to sleep at night knowing that you helped some one, and you received a thank you from some one. I have learned to understand other people's culture and religions. I have managed critical situations like in one instant my colleagues tried to insert a drip on a severe dehydrated patient and they failed and I came – more... I tried to insert it and I succeeded, that made me feel great. The hardest part of my job is the pressure that we work under, it is a big challenge but it is worth it because I love what I do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My job as Senior Sanitary as trainor and implementors is a very challenging job to help implement good sanitation practices. .
Senior Sanitary Engineer (Former Employee), Manduriao,IloIlo City,PhilippinesAugust 29, 2014
Pros: working with people
Cons: hectic schedules
*Review training programs and evaluation on environmental sanitation programs for implementation.
*Learned how sanitation takes major concern on health for the people.
*Manage to deal with people of all walks of life and teaching how good sanitation deals on health related diseases.
*I also learn a lot with my co-workers specially the doctors,nurses – more... and other health professionals and I enjoy working with them.
*The hardest part of my job but not too much because its more challenging on my part is the politicians and negative attitude of people in the community.
*The most enjoyable part with my job is that when all my trainees are motivated to implement what they have learned and appreciated by the communities saving's peoples life especially the children. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Programme is more challenging and is a priority with demend
MCWH Coordinator (Current Employee), East London, ECAugust 28, 2014
Pros: availability of subsidy vehicles for the qualifying candidates
Cons: hours of working are good
The job is secured but the programme is wide and covers a lot of areas which is difficult to reach all the areas due to limited resources such as transport which is affecting service delivery. Team work is imperative and integration of programmes. I have gained a lot in this department as I am working in the PHC setting where prevention and promotion – more... of health is done to decrease number of admissions to the hospitals. Now there is MDG Countdown and Mom connect which are the strategies used to work towards reaching the targets by 2015 as it is the mandate of National Minister of Health. Management needs some one who is creative. leadership skills ,good communicator and think out of the box so as to loosen the bottlenecks .Ensure quality health care is rendered through identification of risk and development of improvement plans. Subordinates need support, mentoring and coaching. Identification of training gaps through skills audit among the staff so that in service and training can be conducted .to improve their performance .
The enjoyable time when we are conducting campaign reaching the target group out there in the communities. Conduct engagement with them where one can listen to their concerns ,complaints and compliments. Adherence of the department to regulations, policies .protocols and guidelines for the smooth running of the units. Budget is not allocated for the programme as priority so that its performance can improve. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun,condusive and productive working environment
Finance Officer (Current Employee), Mmabatho, NWAugust 28, 2014
Pros: team building
Cons: long hours
It is a very challenging work as it deals with funds and clients but you always have to be focused, i have learned that commitment and time is very important in a workplace, we need a very strong management system to can control other staff members that does not take their work seriusly, the hardest part of the job is having to deal with a difficult – more... client and that again is enjoyable because you tend to meet with different characters and cultures so while you are facing the challenge you also learn. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stimulating and challenging environment where optimal learning occurs while providing appropriate treatment to patients in dynamic conditions.
Community Service Physiotherapist (Current Employee), NCAugust 27, 2014
Each day provides a new challenge whether it be the type of patients seen or the challenge of resources of fighting the most prevalent conditions or ailments i.t.o health promotion.

As a current community service therapist I have learnt a variety of skills which includes effective time and resource management, project planning, therapy interventions – more... or skills as well as working together with the multidisciplinary approach in order to provide optimal treatment for patients. I have had a great experience working with my current colleagues and have learnt a great deal from them and what a big role each discipline plays in the allied health team.

The most enjoyable part of the job would be to feel that satisfaction when all the effort you have put into achieving a certain goal pays off despite the multiple setbacks you have had. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a great pleasure working at this department as it is one of the biggest department amongst the SA Gvmnt Dept and therefore interestly challengin
Human Resources Clerk (Current Employee), Bhisho, ECAugust 26, 2014
Management:
* Very professional
* Open to new ideas
* Provide a learning platferm
* Concern for people and results
There is always pressure in the office but it is managable only if you are a hard/smart worker. There are some distructions that can make you a bad day but with good emotional intelligance that can be handle hence I managed to hadle bad – more... situations. Co-workers: there are always politics in the workplace but that needs some skills to deal with them so as to avoid conflics amongst the co-workers. What I enjoy most is when I am given autonomy, appriciation and corrected where necessary but in a constructive way. Hardest part of the job is when you are having to do a job depending on the information from some your co-workers and they are reluctant to giving you sufficient information – less