Find companies:
Department Of Health
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
353 reviews

Department Of Health Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun,condusive and productive working environment
Finance Officer (Current Employee), Mmabatho, NWAugust 28, 2014
Pros: team building
Cons: long hours
It is a very challenging work as it deals with funds and clients but you always have to be focused, i have learned that commitment and time is very important in a workplace, we need a very strong management system to can control other staff members that does not take their work seriusly, the hardest part of the job is having to deal with a difficult – more... client and that again is enjoyable because you tend to meet with different characters and cultures so while you are facing the challenge you also learn. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stimulating and challenging environment where optimal learning occurs while providing appropriate treatment to patients in dynamic conditions.
Community Service Physiotherapist (Current Employee), NCAugust 27, 2014
Each day provides a new challenge whether it be the type of patients seen or the challenge of resources of fighting the most prevalent conditions or ailments i.t.o health promotion.

As a current community service therapist I have learnt a variety of skills which includes effective time and resource management, project planning, therapy interventions – more... or skills as well as working together with the multidisciplinary approach in order to provide optimal treatment for patients. I have had a great experience working with my current colleagues and have learnt a great deal from them and what a big role each discipline plays in the allied health team.

The most enjoyable part of the job would be to feel that satisfaction when all the effort you have put into achieving a certain goal pays off despite the multiple setbacks you have had. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a great pleasure working at this department as it is one of the biggest department amongst the SA Gvmnt Dept and therefore interestly challengin
Human Resources Clerk (Current Employee), Bhisho, ECAugust 26, 2014
Management:
* Very professional
* Open to new ideas
* Provide a learning platferm
* Concern for people and results
There is always pressure in the office but it is managable only if you are a hard/smart worker. There are some distructions that can make you a bad day but with good emotional intelligance that can be handle hence I managed to hadle bad – more... situations. Co-workers: there are always politics in the workplace but that needs some skills to deal with them so as to avoid conflics amongst the co-workers. What I enjoy most is when I am given autonomy, appriciation and corrected where necessary but in a constructive way. Hardest part of the job is when you are having to do a job depending on the information from some your co-workers and they are reluctant to giving you sufficient information – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working environment helps a lot in productive workplace, we hav a good relationship with other allied workers and doctors, we have birthday clubs
Occupational Therapist (Current Employee), Middelburg, MPAugust 20, 2014
Pros: working hours are good, good relationship with co-workers
Cons: limited budget for the hospital which leads to not having resources to help a patient
I start working at 7h30 to 16h00, Monday to Friday
I try my best to see all patients either booked for the day or inpatients
I have learned to treat different patients with different diagnosis from different backgrounds
i have a supervisor who deals with most management tasks, she is a good teacher,always involve me when ordering/ doing other management – more... tasks. I do statistics and record keeping all the time
I work well with my colleagues and other co-workers, i ask other co-workers when i do not know what to do or for any advice
The hardest part of the job is when you know there is something you can give that will make a big difference but is not available,due to hospital budgets and when you have to deal with complications from patients who were never referred earlier.
The most fulfilling part of my job is when i see improvements in a patients due to activities i did with them, getting positive feedback and achieving what i planned with my patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed going to work as I believe I have yet to experience a work day in my career
Clerk Specialist (Former Employee), Silver City, NMAugust 19, 2014
Pros: benefits, advancement
.
I enjoy the interactions of my bosses, co-workers and all those who cross my path on daily basises.
I enjoy being part of a team to resolve issues.
I enjoy multi tasking and have become a pro with juggling appointments/schedules to fit everyone's needs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Care Giver (Former Employee), Polokwane, LPAugust 18, 2014
Pros: free lunches and tea
Cons: long hours
* at a work place we meeting people with no patient.
* How to reports and record
* Strict Management: they need people who communicate and observe
* They rely on the PNA (Pupil Nursing Auxiliary) and PCG (Pupil Care Givers) (Students)
* Lifting patients
* Bed Making
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working environment
Speech Therapist (Current Employee), Calvinia, NCAugust 18, 2014
Pros: to work in a multidisciplinary team.
Cons: offices need to be shared with another therapist
This year has not only taught me much about myself and how to work in a multidisciplinary team, but also how to productively work, refer patients, assess, provide intervention and make a diagnosis.

I love my work!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life
Principal Network Controller (Former Employee), Bloemfontein, FSAugust 14, 2014
Pros: leave, benefits
Cons: mundane, tedious and monotonous work
A typical day at work could be anything from heavily busy to not doing anything all day. And the not doing anything all day became a norm more than it was an exception, so I had to leave. It was a nice environment but it was too relaxed. I didn't feel challenged. The benefits were great but the work growth was slow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MEETING NEW FACES
PATIENT ADMINISTRATION (Former Employee), Polokwane, LPAugust 14, 2014
Pros: sometimes during awareness
Cons: when emegencies arrived we work long hours.
MY FIRST DAY AT WORK NOT KNOWING ANYONE.
GOOD COMMUNICATION SKILL IS VERY IMPORTANT.
WORK UNDER PRESSURE.
ABILITY TO WORK AS A TEAM.
COMMUNICATING WITH SOMEONE WHO DOES'NT KNOW YOUR LANGUAGE AND ENGLISH.
WORKING AS A TEAM.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive workplace
Midwife (Former Employee), Sri LankaAugust 13, 2014
Pros: seeing happy families as a new baby is born.
Cons: sometimes in difficult situations, baby has problem with birth is hard to see.
I was a Midwife back home in Sri Lanka. I loved educating mothers on how to care for their newborn and delivered many babies as well. It was a great environment and made me very happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they move thier employees for various occupation for experience on different jobs, as motivation
Accounting Clerk (Current Employee), Bethal, MPAugust 13, 2014
Pros: sleeping out and playing soccer
Cons: travelling alot and meetings
pressure to keep up with payment dead lines

I learn to be patient and show good memory about the client

Its wonderful to work with co-operating co-worker, well placed assistance.

Hardest part pay accurate figures and not miss place orders.

Reconciling and understanding of suppliers. paying client on time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Epidemiologist (Current Employee), Polokwane, LPAugust 13, 2014
Currently I’m working at the Department of Health in Limpopo Province under Public Health Programmes as an Epidemiologist managing Epidemiology Services sub directorate where I’m coordinating the Disease Surveillance systems, Communicable Disease Control, Monitoring and Evaluation of HIV & Syphilis Survey and disease outbreaks in the Province. Also – more... responsible for providing the provincial epidemiological health profiles and involved in various training activities with District Health Programme Managers and Public Health Program coordinators on Epidemic Preparedness and Response. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Internship (Former Employee), Messina, LPAugust 11, 2014
it was learning. how to dress when u go to work and the co workers the where very nice
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working place
Principal Personnel Officer HRD (Current Employee), Queenstown, ECAugust 4, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: long hours
Productive
I learned how to train large amount of people and how to do reports.
I supervised interns and managed to give report to managers on monthly basis.
I have good relationship with co-workers
The hardest part of the job is to cost pmds amounts when it time for payment.
My most enjoyable part of my job is when I train employees or assisting where – more... m needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Speech-language therapist (Current Employee), Durban, ZNAugust 1, 2014
Time management is required and a different variety of patients were seen.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, learned alot, great work experience
Intern (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLJuly 31, 2014
Great place to work, meet a lot of people from within the community. Great coworkers, who are enthused to teach new hires. Most enjoyable part of the job is the ability to give back to the people of the community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Health Assistant (Former Employee), washington dcJuly 31, 2014
I like this job I wish I was there full time but I was just there as a temp but If I could go back I would
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to learn about regulation of professions and more
Regulatory Analyst I (Former Employee), Tallahassee, FLJuly 22, 2014
Pros: wonderful opportunity to learn and grow in state government.
Cons: pay isn't great.
I worked in the bureau of Medical Quality Assurance (MQA) in the Testing Services Unit. I learned a lot about the professional examination process and the regulation of several professions. Although I only worked there for a short period of time, I learned a lot and had many resources to gain information from.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Human Resource Officer (Inservice training) (Former Employee), KZNJuly 21, 2014
Almost the same as agriculture but there was less pressure as compared to Agriculture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace. Learned how to enter Survey Results into the Access Database
Customer Service/Survey Taker (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHJuly 19, 2014
Pros: excellent learning environment
Cons: position was temporary
I was able to work from 12 noon to 4pm everyday. I would first sort out all my Surveys that were completed and enter them into the Access Database, then I would begin calling the customers on my list and start the surveys. My Co-workers and Management were very helpful. I was able to learn a new skill which was entering surveys into the Access Database. – more... This was also my most enjoyable part of the job because I am always open to learn new things. The hardest part of the job was when my contract ended, position was Temporary. But I was offered to return if my help was needed in the future. – less