Find companies:
Department Of Health
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
365 reviews

Department Of Health Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun with joyful officemates
Architect (Current Employee), Palo, SKSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: free foods
Cons: distant main office
i usually start my office day at 7:30 am and and it all started with the a scan on my memo for the "to do's" for the day it may be planning and designing or if not i will on travel for monitoring of on going projects. on certain day of the month i'll be doing some reports on the
travels made, it may be a project accomplishment, validate structures reported – more... for some defects or damage.
form this office i have learned to manage my time in office and on site projects. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Registered nurse (Former Employee), Barugo, PhilippinesMarch 20, 2014
This was a good experience and a chanllenging one. I learned a lot from this experience and is very excited for a new exciting job that will help me grow as a professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun busy
Nurse (Former Employee), philippinesFebruary 21, 2014
busy everyday.. a lot of patient coming in and out. many doctor's demand
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Department of health rn heals- quite fun
Rn HEALS ( NewCabalan RHU) (Former Employee), PhilippinesSeptember 21, 2013
Cons: long hours
We have a bulk of jobs but not properly paid in terms of amount of salary and time of payday
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My typical day at work
Receptionist (Current Employee), Fredericton, NBApril 17, 2013
Pros: free parking
Cons: salary is not enough to subsides myself.
On a typical day we receive about 50 to 80 calls for transferring, mutiple couriers and Canada Post mail.
Translation requests are frequent as well.
My manager is a doll, he understands me very well. My co-workers are great! The hardest part of my job is remembering all of the 300 - 400 employee names in the building but i'm getting better everyday – more... (only started this job in January of 2013). The most enjoyable part of my job is being able to work with the public and helping them find what they request or direct them to the correct information or person. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informative and a learning environment to work in
Procurement Analyst (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 31, 2013
Pros: experience and informative
A typical day at the department of Chief Financial Operation Branch at Health Canada included an analysis of the procurement activities performed within the branch. Most of such analysis were done through Microsoft Excel. However, the data was collected from the program SAP.
The most enjoyable part of such position was the learning material that was – more... provided from the managers and supervisors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Retired (Former Employee), Sydney, NSJanuary 12, 2013
Pros: working with people
Cons: trying to send people for the right kind of treatment if needed
My work day consisted of assessing clients who have lost their drivers licenses due to drinking/ drugging driving or refusal of the breathalizer.I would have to also put them through a two day educational program as well as referring some for further treatment if a problem with alcohol or drugs excisted.
I have learned that the majority of people i – more... saw were fantastic people who just made a mistake and took responsibility for that mistake.
Management have always treated me with the utmost respect and that respect was returned.
The same goes for 99% of my co-workers.
The hardest part of my job was making decisions that affected someones life for example : when someone shouldn`t (in my opinion)get their license back because of alcohol,drugs, dementia or other illnesses without the proper help.My role was to report these things to Motor Vehicles.
The most enjoyable part of the job was talking and listening to these same clients.People are just people and although we all are different i found we are all much the same. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
• Display a high degree of integrity, compassion and responsibility towards the client population
Staff Nurse/Nurse Educator (Former Employee), St Croix USVIOctober 16, 2014
• Assessed, planned, implemented, and evaluated professional nursing services in clinic and community settings.
• Administered medication and treatments in accordance with prescribed medical instructions.
• Provided specific instructions in community setting and clinics regarding the prevention and control of communicable diseases.
• Maintained clinic – more... and field records in accordance with standard protocol for documentation.
• Evaluated education/outreach program operations and recommended changes in organization and procedures as required meeting program objectives.
• Served as facilitator for Spanish speaking patients, and provided translation for clinicians.
• Participated in quality assurance activities, developed reports based on findings and recommended corrective measures.
• Obtained a comprehensive health history and performed appropriate tests when applicable to identify individual and family needs and facilitated treatment plan of care.
• Developed and implemented education and outreach services in accordance with regulations.
• Liaison with community organizations to carry out health education programs and other services as deemed appropriate.
• Delivered contraceptive methods counseling, education and assessment for initial use as well as ongoing evaluation for method continuation.
• Provided scientific based and culturally acceptable health education within the clinic, field or telephone based with a focus on disease prevention, wellness, and management
• Provided education on reproductive health and sexually transmitted infections, abnormal laboratory results, and initiate referrals when appropriate.
• Accrued new clientele through conducting targeted in–reach, community outreach, and promotion services.
• Aided in the initiation of rapid HIV testing in the program, performed testing/counseling, and monitored continuous effectiveness of tests and documentation requirements.
• Provided the follow-up care needed for patients with abnormal Pap results through the coordination of scheduling appointments and assisting in procedures ensuring that client’s needs are met.
• Assisted with orientation of new clinical personnel. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOV WORK IS SOMETIMES NOT GOOD AS YOU ARE FORCED TO WORK ACCORDING TO THEIR PACE
HUMAN RESOURCE SUPERVISOR (Current Employee), Richards Bay, ZNOctober 16, 2014
Pros: staying in the nice hotels durring my trainings
Cons: driving long distances alone
WORKING FOR A COMPANY THAT IS NOT FROFIT SEEKING IS CHALLENGING, CAUSE WHEN THER IS NO RESOURCES TO PERFORM YOU DUTIES, IT IS CHALLENGING, AND DEMOTIVATING. YOU STRIVE TO COMPLETE YOUR PROJECT BUT THERE IUS ALWAYS STUMBLING BLOCK. YOU ARE MOSTLY AT YOUR OWN TO COME UP WITH IDEAS AND WAYS TO SOLVE PROBLEMS. RECRUITMENT TAKE LONG WHICH MAKES IT HARD TO – more... MEET YOURKEY RESULT AREAS. I REALLY ENJOY TRAINING, YOU GET TO MEET DIFFERENT TYPE OF PEOPLE. THE HARDEST PART OF MY JOB IS WHEN I WORK HARD AND THERE IS NO ONE TO AUTHORISE THE WORK, BECAUSE THE ONE PERSON IS ON LEAVE AND THERE IS NO ONE ALSE. IM MOSTLY SUPERVISING CLERKS, MEETINGS ARE OFTEN TO ADDRESS CHALLENGES – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Communication intern (Current Employee), Polokwane, LPOctober 13, 2014
Pros: free branding material
Cons: long meetings
A typical day at the office is always productive due to the fact that the organization can not flow thoroughly if the communication is not effective at all. Therefore, playing a crucial role the department's flow of information is of essence to the communication division. We work hand in hand with management because management has to know everything – more... that is happening in the department and the only division capable of holding such information is the communication office. We report directly to the District Manager on a daily basis to keep him abreast with factors affecting the organization. The hardest part of this job is planning and organizing an event with external stakeholders involved but on the contrary, on the day of the event is the most enjoyable one. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Social Worker III (Current Employee), New Albany, MSOctober 8, 2014
Great co-workers and hours. Very rewarding being able to help a patient.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
• Has a wide and excellent background in nursing education and disaster nursing course • A nurse trained by the Department of Health – Heath Emergency
Emergency Officer On Duty (Current Employee), Department of Health CentralOffice PhilippinesOctober 8, 2014
Pros: acquired great skills and knowledge in emergency and disaster response operations.
Cons: long hours of work (72 hours the most).
Acted as an Emergency Officer On Duty at the Department of Health- Health Emergency Management Bureau with the following functions:
Monitor minor and major health and health related emergencies and disasters thru all types of media and provide such information to the Secretary of Health
Dispatch or mobilizes medical teams whenever emergencies needing – more... human resources from the national government was monitored
Review, analyze, and evaluate reports submitted by reporting offices and make such reports available for the consumption of the Secretary of Health, other government agencies and partners
Answer public queries related to health and refer accordingly when necessary
Acted as one of the Supervisor of the Health Emergency Management Staff- Operation Center with the following functions:
Oversee the day-to-day management of the Operation Center as a monitoring, communications, and coordinating arm of the agency in emergencies and disaster nationwide
Review and formulate policies, guidelines and protocols of the HEMS Operation Center
Accomplish and lead in the data gathering, collection of information, processing, analysis, preparation, dissemination and documentation of all reports and information of the Operation Center to decision makers and stakeholders on a regular basis and as the needs arise
Initiate capability building strategies for Operation Center staff
Lead in the conduct of monitoring and evaluation activities to enhance Operation Center systems
Represent Operations Center in meetings or activities of various clusters and working groups
Provide technical supervision to staff
Ensured all necessary situation reports on Health Emergency Management are prepared
Reviewed reports from the field and ensures proper use of information and storage
Proposed and accomplished protocols, guidelines, and office orders for the continuous evolution and improvement of the system in the HEMS-Operation Center
Among the technical working group which provided draft for the third edition of the HEMS Operation Center- Manual of Operation
Rendered professional services during the most disastrous events that struck the Philippines.
Accomplished reports and power point presentations in every emergencies and disasters that struck the Philippines for the use of the HEMS Director and Secretary of Health in various National Staff meeting with the President of the Philippines and Cabinet Secretaries – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic and fun workplace
Nurse I (Former Employee), Baguio, P15October 8, 2014
Pros: free board and lodging, free meals and snacks
Cons: too few employees of the company
I was deployed to a community with more than a thousand constituents where I used to attend to client's health issues and do home visitations. I have learned to become more independent and responsible enough in dealing with my clients. The management and my co-workers were accommodating and supportive. The hardest part of the job is not being able to – more... attend to everybody's needs because I was alone and there is scarcity of needed equipment. Being able to cope up and eventually live with the customs, traditions and culture of the place was my most treasured enjoyable moment during my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
System Support
Desktop and LAN support Technician (Learnership) (Current Employee), Giyani, LPOctober 6, 2014
Pros: free transport
Cons: free stationary
- Learned on how to install a network Printer
- My manager is a hardworking person who allways incourage us to come with solution through different problem in the working invironment.
- We learn and exchange skills,knowledge to overcome a certain problem.
- Working with unco-operative users

- To learn and to assist
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
QUITE NO FURTHER SPACE FOR PERSONAL DEVELOPMENT
PORT HEALTH OFFICER (Current Employee), Durban, ZNOctober 4, 2014
Pros: december gifts from agents
Cons: no incentives
DOING VESSEL CLEARANCE AND COSIGNMENT INSPECTION, ROUTINE CHECK UPS.
I HAVE LEARNED TO INTERPRET REGULATION ACCORDING TO THE SITUATION.
GOOD AND ALWAYS GIVE EVERYONE OPPORTUNITY TO DO TASKS.
QUITE BUT THEY ARE WILLING TO ASSIST.
IF THERE IS A COMMUNICABLE DISEASE ON THE SHIP AND I HAVE TO CONVINCE OTHER STAKEHOLDERS ABOUT SERIOUSNESS OF THE DISEASE.
GOING – more... OUT OF THE OFFICE DOING INSPECTIONS AND MEET NEW PEOPLE. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Department of Health is a stimulating environment to work in. It is an environment that seeks to improve the lives of the old and sick.
Project Manager (Current Employee), Johannesburg, GPOctober 2, 2014
Pros: it is 9-5 job, with no homework!
Cons: the premisis is situated in the middle of town with no opportunity to enjoy the outdoors.
Although it is a challenging environment, the work involved is fulfilling. It has broadened my self confidence and interpersonal skills. The opportunities for personal development are immense. I have had opportunities to teach and motivate my co-workers and have learned how to win over difficult clients and co -workers. The most difficult part of the – more... job is negotiating with co-workers to change work habits to those that will be more effective. The most rewarding part of the job is seeing the relief on clients faces when they have received their long awaited compensation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
dentist (Current Employee), Johannesburg South, GPSeptember 28, 2014
the main treatment rendered at the clinic is exodontia, but this is mainly because it is the preferred treatment by patients. the day starts off with exodontia followed by patients that have been booked for other treatments such a restorations, prosthetics and cleanings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & very good place
Risk Management Internship (Former Employee), Jane Furse, LPSeptember 25, 2014
Enjoyed my self at the Dept of Health
To work with different people from out side also different directorates,
very good Management to our relationship,
Good relationship with employees
Hardest part: learning on how to handle problems from different people,
Enjoyable part: doing Investigation to protect state property
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable workplace
Accountant III (Current Employee), Butuan, P13September 18, 2014
Pros: free medical check up, medical assistance, sent to workshops and trainings for free, with extra hazard pay and longevity pay
Cons: presence of corruption in some high officials, employees with crab mentality
For almost ten(10) years working at the Department of Health - ROXII, four(4) of my staff left without having been replaced because of the rationalization plan, therefore I have been assuming the tasks that they left behind. In spite of that fact, I was able to meet deadlines and there was no one in our office who complained because their claims were – more... delayed because of me. A career driven person, I have been very consistent in my performance because I love what I am doing no matter how taxing the work may be. Furthermore, I can proudly say that I can still find time for zumba as my means of exercise and to attend to the needs of my family since I am a single parent of four(4) children. In this office, I was able to meet different types of persons, a main contributory factor to my maturity. I feel so lucky though that I was able to get staff in my unit who are highly dependable and enjoyable to be with. The hardest part of my job in the Department of Health was when I was given the task of an Internal Quality Audit Team Leader. The task was so new to me I was having hard time to grasp the principles behind it. But after a while, I was able to learn after having been sent to many workshops and trainings. Although I consider myself not yet an expert but I can proudly say that the External Auditor praised me for a job well done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Complex work that included making immediate decisions that will provide better service to citizenship
Administrator (Former Employee), San Juan, PRSeptember 17, 2014
Working in the Demographic Registry of Department of Health  was intense, with many daily challenges. At that time the law that changed the birth certificate to one with higher security codes was signed. This law required the citizens born in Puerto Rico to obtain a new certificate for a specific date because the one that was used  _ until the present – more... would be invalidated. Working the logistics of how to address this change was very enriching for my career because we had to use all the tools available in the field of administration. Since hiring employees through employment agencies to open new offices in the most popular shopping centers in the country, create new shifts and hire security agencies to control the crowd. Although it was a work of greater responsibility, gave me the opportunity to work in coordination with various agencies both government and private.

It was an experience of complex and successful work which left much satisfaction and open doors to new opportunities for jobs of high responsibility. – less

1 2 3 4 5