Find companies:
Department Of Health
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
356 reviews

Department Of Health Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun with joyful officemates
Architect (Current Employee), Palo, SKSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: free foods
Cons: distant main office
i usually start my office day at 7:30 am and and it all started with the a scan on my memo for the "to do's" for the day it may be planning and designing or if not i will on travel for monitoring of on going projects. on certain day of the month i'll be doing some reports on the
travels made, it may be a project accomplishment, validate structures reported – more... for some defects or damage.
form this office i have learned to manage my time in office and on site projects. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Registered nurse (Former Employee), Barugo, PhilippinesMarch 20, 2014
This was a good experience and a chanllenging one. I learned a lot from this experience and is very excited for a new exciting job that will help me grow as a professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun busy
Nurse (Former Employee), philippinesFebruary 21, 2014
busy everyday.. a lot of patient coming in and out. many doctor's demand
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Department of health rn heals- quite fun
Rn HEALS ( NewCabalan RHU) (Former Employee), PhilippinesSeptember 21, 2013
Cons: long hours
We have a bulk of jobs but not properly paid in terms of amount of salary and time of payday
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My typical day at work
Receptionist (Current Employee), Fredericton, NBApril 17, 2013
Pros: free parking
Cons: salary is not enough to subsides myself.
On a typical day we receive about 50 to 80 calls for transferring, mutiple couriers and Canada Post mail.
Translation requests are frequent as well.
My manager is a doll, he understands me very well. My co-workers are great! The hardest part of my job is remembering all of the 300 - 400 employee names in the building but i'm getting better everyday – more... (only started this job in January of 2013). The most enjoyable part of my job is being able to work with the public and helping them find what they request or direct them to the correct information or person. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Retired (Former Employee), Sydney, NSJanuary 12, 2013
Pros: working with people
Cons: trying to send people for the right kind of treatment if needed
My work day consisted of assessing clients who have lost their drivers licenses due to drinking/ drugging driving or refusal of the breathalizer.I would have to also put them through a two day educational program as well as referring some for further treatment if a problem with alcohol or drugs excisted.
I have learned that the majority of people i – more... saw were fantastic people who just made a mistake and took responsibility for that mistake.
Management have always treated me with the utmost respect and that respect was returned.
The same goes for 99% of my co-workers.
The hardest part of my job was making decisions that affected someones life for example : when someone shouldn`t (in my opinion)get their license back because of alcohol,drugs, dementia or other illnesses without the proper help.My role was to report these things to Motor Vehicles.
The most enjoyable part of the job was talking and listening to these same clients.People are just people and although we all are different i found we are all much the same. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
dentist (Current Employee), Johannesburg South, GPSeptember 28, 2014
the main treatment rendered at the clinic is exodontia, but this is mainly because it is the preferred treatment by patients. the day starts off with exodontia followed by patients that have been booked for other treatments such a restorations, prosthetics and cleanings.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & very good place
Risk Management Internship (Former Employee), Jane Furse, LPSeptember 25, 2014
Enjoyed my self at the Dept of Health
To work with different people from out side also different directorates,
very good Management to our relationship,
Good relationship with employees
Hardest part: learning on how to handle problems from different people,
Enjoyable part: doing Investigation to protect state property
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable workplace
Accountant III (Current Employee), Butuan, P13September 18, 2014
Pros: free medical check up, medical assistance, sent to workshops and trainings for free, with extra hazard pay and longevity pay
Cons: presence of corruption in some high officials, employees with crab mentality
For almost ten(10) years working at the Department of Health - ROXII, four(4) of my staff left without having been replaced because of the rationalization plan, therefore I have been assuming the tasks that they left behind. In spite of that fact, I was able to meet deadlines and there was no one in our office who complained because their claims were – more... delayed because of me. A career driven person, I have been very consistent in my performance because I love what I am doing no matter how taxing the work may be. Furthermore, I can proudly say that I can still find time for zumba as my means of exercise and to attend to the needs of my family since I am a single parent of four(4) children. In this office, I was able to meet different types of persons, a main contributory factor to my maturity. I feel so lucky though that I was able to get staff in my unit who are highly dependable and enjoyable to be with. The hardest part of my job in the Department of Health was when I was given the task of an Internal Quality Audit Team Leader. The task was so new to me I was having hard time to grasp the principles behind it. But after a while, I was able to learn after having been sent to many workshops and trainings. Although I consider myself not yet an expert but I can proudly say that the External Auditor praised me for a job well done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Complex work that included making immediate decisions that will provide better service to citizenship
Administrator (Former Employee), San Juan, PRSeptember 17, 2014
Working in the Demographic Registry of Department of Health¬† was intense, with many daily challenges. At that time the law that changed the birth certificate to one with higher security codes was signed. This law required the citizens born in Puerto Rico to obtain a new certificate for a specific date because the one that was used¬† _ until the present – more... would be invalidated. Working the logistics of how to address this change was very enriching for my career because we had to use all the tools available in the field of administration. Since hiring employees through employment agencies to open new offices in the most popular shopping centers in the country, create new shifts and hire security agencies to control the crowd. Although it was a work of greater responsibility, gave me the opportunity to work in coordination with various agencies both government and private.

It was an experience of complex and successful work which left much satisfaction and open doors to new opportunities for jobs of high responsibility. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
theres progress but its very slow in terms of equipment,retaining of staff
Professional Nurse (Current Employee), East London, ECSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: recieving good equipment
Cons: lack of support, still using old equipment
fare hours to work a day
a lot eg supervision,problem solving, drug management etc.
management poor
some are good, they know what it means to be nurse, while some cane in just to be paid and are lazy with bad attitudes. they do not equip themselves with information
lack of cooperation, managers not giving workers what is rightfully theirs but giving – more... themselves for the work done by employees.seeing improvement after attending the client, positive feedback from clients and staff – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Training Ground
Staff Nurse (Former Employee), philippinesSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: helpful and approachable senior staff
Cons: night shifts
-A very busy government hospital that caters most of the poor citizens of the region.
-I encountered a lot of rare diseases which I'd known only in the nursing books.
-My co-workers were very helpful and approachable.
-I find night shifts the hardest part of the job.
-I made new colleagues and was a service to my poor fellowmen.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Health Department
Certified Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Sarasota FloridaSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: no merit raises
Great organization. Able to learn from the many different types of people and procedures
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good experience with Mentally disabled adults.
Auxiliary of Activities (Former Employee), PRSeptember 12, 2014
Every morning I received the participants calling them by their names and smiling at them. The majority of them have to go directly to the restrooms and I assisted them. Almost always, they have to go to their classes assigned. I instructed the class of Art and Craft. Sometimes I have to led them to the classrooms they had to be. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job was went there were some days we all went to some therapy trips. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and steady
Licensing Administrator (Current Employee), Providence, RISeptember 12, 2014
This position I held here was very fast paced, detailed job. I enjoyed working for this employer because I was always kept busy in a friendly environment.
Also I gained a lot of book keeping skills and organization with files and archiving, etc..
Overall great work experience!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my work is productive driven by results
Assistant director (Current Employee), Cape Town, WCSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: petrol claim, and accommodation
Cons: work overtime
The job is challenging , I have learned about policy development skills.
I also learnt about strategic thinking and management
The team is supportive and is a good working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working here
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New York, New YorkSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: relaxed atmosphere
Cons: no benefits
The people at this company was so nice and helpful. Loved going to work every morning knowing that I will be working with such a good group of people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is quite an experience to work for goverment especially underlimited resources and that has enabled me to be innovative
DIETITIAN (Current Employee), Kwamhlanga, MPSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: limited resources, staying in one position for long
I meet different characters at work with different work ethics which also allows/assist me to have a diversified mind at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and need to be able to work with all cultures ,have empathy towards the patients
Administration Clerk (Former Employee), Pietermaritzburg, ZNSeptember 6, 2014
Typical day at work is dealing with staff and public wishing to speak to the unit manager.
I learned a lot about policies of the department and how it affects the public as well as the employees.
The hardest part was seeing patients demise whilst assisting them.
The most enjoyable was liaising with other stakeholders on behalf of the patients,setting – more... up databases for staff as well as patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and active employees
Senior Administrative Office: Labour Relations (Current Employee), Cape Town, WCSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: basic of employement benefits
Cons: having to dismiss an employee
Every day i give advice to staff members with regards to their rights and grievance process.
on a daily basis i would give advice to Supervisors/ Managers with regards to disciplinary procedures and how to Manage Absenteeism in the work place is it is a big challenge for Supervisors.

1 2 3 4 5