Find companies:
Department Of Health
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
350 reviews

Department Of Health Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun with joyful officemates
Architect (Current Employee), Palo, SKSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: free foods
Cons: distant main office
i usually start my office day at 7:30 am and and it all started with the a scan on my memo for the "to do's" for the day it may be planning and designing or if not i will on travel for monitoring of on going projects. on certain day of the month i'll be doing some reports on the
travels made, it may be a project accomplishment, validate structures reported – more... for some defects or damage.
form this office i have learned to manage my time in office and on site projects. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Registered nurse (Former Employee), Barugo, PhilippinesMarch 20, 2014
This was a good experience and a chanllenging one. I learned a lot from this experience and is very excited for a new exciting job that will help me grow as a professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun busy
Nurse (Former Employee), philippinesFebruary 21, 2014
busy everyday.. a lot of patient coming in and out. many doctor's demand
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Department of health rn heals- quite fun
Rn HEALS ( NewCabalan RHU) (Former Employee), PhilippinesSeptember 21, 2013
Cons: long hours
We have a bulk of jobs but not properly paid in terms of amount of salary and time of payday
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My typical day at work
Receptionist (Current Employee), Fredericton, NBApril 17, 2013
Pros: free parking
Cons: salary is not enough to subsides myself.
On a typical day we receive about 50 to 80 calls for transferring, mutiple couriers and Canada Post mail.
Translation requests are frequent as well.
My manager is a doll, he understands me very well. My co-workers are great! The hardest part of my job is remembering all of the 300 - 400 employee names in the building but i'm getting better everyday – more... (only started this job in January of 2013). The most enjoyable part of my job is being able to work with the public and helping them find what they request or direct them to the correct information or person. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informative and a learning environment to work in
Procurement Analyst (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 31, 2013
Pros: experience and informative
A typical day at the department of Chief Financial Operation Branch at Health Canada included an analysis of the procurement activities performed within the branch. Most of such analysis were done through Microsoft Excel. However, the data was collected from the program SAP.
The most enjoyable part of such position was the learning material that was – more... provided from the managers and supervisors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Health Department
Certified Medical Assistant (Former Employee), Sarasota FloridaSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: great people
Cons: no merit raises
Great organization. Able to learn from the many different types of people and procedures
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very good experience with Mentally disabled adults.
Auxiliary of Activities (Former Employee), PRSeptember 12, 2014
Every morning I received the participants calling them by their names and smiling at them. The majority of them have to go directly to the restrooms and I assisted them. Almost always, they have to go to their classes assigned. I instructed the class of Art and Craft. Sometimes I have to led them to the classrooms they had to be. The most enjoyable – more... part of the job was went there were some days we all went to some therapy trips. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and steady
Licensing Administrator (Current Employee), Providence, RISeptember 12, 2014
This position I held here was very fast paced, detailed job. I enjoyed working for this employer because I was always kept busy in a friendly environment.
Also I gained a lot of book keeping skills and organization with files and archiving, etc..
Overall great work experience!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my work is productive driven by results
Assistant director (Current Employee), Cape Town, WCSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: petrol claim, and accommodation
Cons: work overtime
The job is challenging , I have learned about policy development skills.
I also learnt about strategic thinking and management
The team is supportive and is a good working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love working here
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), New York, New YorkSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: relaxed atmosphere
Cons: no benefits
The people at this company was so nice and helpful. Loved going to work every morning knowing that I will be working with such a good group of people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is quite an experience to work for goverment especially underlimited resources and that has enabled me to be innovative
DIETITIAN (Current Employee), Kwamhlanga, MPSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: job security
Cons: limited resources, staying in one position for long
I meet different characters at work with different work ethics which also allows/assist me to have a diversified mind at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and need to be able to work with all cultures ,have empathy towards the patients
Administration Clerk (Former Employee), Pietermaritzburg, ZNSeptember 6, 2014
Typical day at work is dealing with staff and public wishing to speak to the unit manager.
I learned a lot about policies of the department and how it affects the public as well as the employees.
The hardest part was seeing patients demise whilst assisting them.
The most enjoyable was liaising with other stakeholders on behalf of the patients,setting – more... up databases for staff as well as patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and active employees
Senior Administrative Office: Labour Relations (Current Employee), Cape Town, WCSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: basic of employement benefits
Cons: having to dismiss an employee
Every day i give advice to staff members with regards to their rights and grievance process.
on a daily basis i would give advice to Supervisors/ Managers with regards to disciplinary procedures and how to Manage Absenteeism in the work place is it is a big challenge for Supervisors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a bit productive
Nursing (student nurse) (Current Employee), Nqutu, ZNSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: getting blessings from patients who have gratitude.
Cons: long hours
There are a few challenges but it is nice to sleep at night knowing that you helped some one, and you received a thank you from some one. I have learned to understand other people's culture and religions. I have managed critical situations like in one instant my colleagues tried to insert a drip on a severe dehydrated patient and they failed and I came – more... I tried to insert it and I succeeded, that made me feel great. The hardest part of my job is the pressure that we work under, it is a big challenge but it is worth it because I love what I do. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My job as Senior Sanitary as trainor and implementors is a very challenging job to help implement good sanitation practices. .
Senior Sanitary Engineer (Former Employee), Manduriao,IloIlo City,PhilippinesAugust 29, 2014
Pros: working with people
Cons: hectic schedules
*Review training programs and evaluation on environmental sanitation programs for implementation.
*Learned how sanitation takes major concern on health for the people.
*Manage to deal with people of all walks of life and teaching how good sanitation deals on health related diseases.
*I also learn a lot with my co-workers specially the doctors,nurses – more... and other health professionals and I enjoy working with them.
*The hardest part of my job but not too much because its more challenging on my part is the politicians and negative attitude of people in the community.
*The most enjoyable part with my job is that when all my trainees are motivated to implement what they have learned and appreciated by the communities saving's peoples life especially the children. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Programme is more challenging and is a priority with demend
MCWH Coordinator (Current Employee), East London, ECAugust 28, 2014
Pros: availability of subsidy vehicles for the qualifying candidates
Cons: hours of working are good
The job is secured but the programme is wide and covers a lot of areas which is difficult to reach all the areas due to limited resources such as transport which is affecting service delivery. Team work is imperative and integration of programmes. I have gained a lot in this department as I am working in the PHC setting where prevention and promotion – more... of health is done to decrease number of admissions to the hospitals. Now there is MDG Countdown and Mom connect which are the strategies used to work towards reaching the targets by 2015 as it is the mandate of National Minister of Health. Management needs some one who is creative. leadership skills ,good communicator and think out of the box so as to loosen the bottlenecks .Ensure quality health care is rendered through identification of risk and development of improvement plans. Subordinates need support, mentoring and coaching. Identification of training gaps through skills audit among the staff so that in service and training can be conducted .to improve their performance .
The enjoyable time when we are conducting campaign reaching the target group out there in the communities. Conduct engagement with them where one can listen to their concerns ,complaints and compliments. Adherence of the department to regulations, policies .protocols and guidelines for the smooth running of the units. Budget is not allocated for the programme as priority so that its performance can improve. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun,condusive and productive working environment
Finance Officer (Current Employee), Mmabatho, NWAugust 28, 2014
Pros: team building
Cons: long hours
It is a very challenging work as it deals with funds and clients but you always have to be focused, i have learned that commitment and time is very important in a workplace, we need a very strong management system to can control other staff members that does not take their work seriusly, the hardest part of the job is having to deal with a difficult – more... client and that again is enjoyable because you tend to meet with different characters and cultures so while you are facing the challenge you also learn. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stimulating and challenging environment where optimal learning occurs while providing appropriate treatment to patients in dynamic conditions.
Community Service Physiotherapist (Current Employee), NCAugust 27, 2014
Each day provides a new challenge whether it be the type of patients seen or the challenge of resources of fighting the most prevalent conditions or ailments i.t.o health promotion.

As a current community service therapist I have learnt a variety of skills which includes effective time and resource management, project planning, therapy interventions – more... or skills as well as working together with the multidisciplinary approach in order to provide optimal treatment for patients. I have had a great experience working with my current colleagues and have learnt a great deal from them and what a big role each discipline plays in the allied health team.

The most enjoyable part of the job would be to feel that satisfaction when all the effort you have put into achieving a certain goal pays off despite the multiple setbacks you have had. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a great pleasure working at this department as it is one of the biggest department amongst the SA Gvmnt Dept and therefore interestly challengin
Human Resources Clerk (Current Employee), Bhisho, ECAugust 26, 2014
Management:
* Very professional
* Open to new ideas
* Provide a learning platferm
* Concern for people and results
There is always pressure in the office but it is managable only if you are a hard/smart worker. There are some distructions that can make you a bad day but with good emotional intelligance that can be handle hence I managed to hadle bad – more... situations. Co-workers: there are always politics in the workplace but that needs some skills to deal with them so as to avoid conflics amongst the co-workers. What I enjoy most is when I am given autonomy, appriciation and corrected where necessary but in a constructive way. Hardest part of the job is when you are having to do a job depending on the information from some your co-workers and they are reluctant to giving you sufficient information – less

1 2 3 4 5