Find companies:
Department Of Health
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
340 reviews

Department Of Health Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My typical day at work
Receptionist (Current Employee), Fredericton, NBApril 17, 2013
Pros: free parking
Cons: salary is not enough to subsides myself.
On a typical day we receive about 50 to 80 calls for transferring, mutiple couriers and Canada Post mail.
Translation requests are frequent as well.
My manager is a doll, he understands me very well. My co-workers are great! The hardest part of my job is remembering all of the 300 - 400 employee names in the building but i'm getting better everyday – more... (only started this job in January of 2013). The most enjoyable part of my job is being able to work with the public and helping them find what they request or direct them to the correct information or person. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informative and a learning environment to work in
Procurement Analyst (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 31, 2013
Pros: experience and informative
A typical day at the department of Chief Financial Operation Branch at Health Canada included an analysis of the procurement activities performed within the branch. Most of such analysis were done through Microsoft Excel. However, the data was collected from the program SAP.
The most enjoyable part of such position was the learning material that was – more... provided from the managers and supervisors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Retired (Former Employee), Sydney, NSJanuary 12, 2013
Pros: working with people
Cons: trying to send people for the right kind of treatment if needed
My work day consisted of assessing clients who have lost their drivers licenses due to drinking/ drugging driving or refusal of the breathalizer.I would have to also put them through a two day educational program as well as referring some for further treatment if a problem with alcohol or drugs excisted.
I have learned that the majority of people i – more... saw were fantastic people who just made a mistake and took responsibility for that mistake.
Management have always treated me with the utmost respect and that respect was returned.
The same goes for 99% of my co-workers.
The hardest part of my job was making decisions that affected someones life for example : when someone shouldn`t (in my opinion)get their license back because of alcohol,drugs, dementia or other illnesses without the proper help.My role was to report these things to Motor Vehicles.
The most enjoyable part of the job was talking and listening to these same clients.People are just people and although we all are different i found we are all much the same. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My job as Senior Sanitary as trainor and implementors is a very challenging job to help implement good sanitation practices. .
Senior Sanitary Engineer (Former Employee), Manduriao,IloIlo City,PhilippinesAugust 29, 2014
Pros: working with people
Cons: hectic schedules
*Review training programs and evaluation on environmental sanitation programs for implementation.
*Learned how sanitation takes major concern on health for the people.
*Manage to deal with people of all walks of life and teaching how good sanitation deals on health related diseases.
*I also learn a lot with my co-workers specially the doctors,nurses – more... and other health professionals and I enjoy working with them.
*The hardest part of my job but not too much because its more challenging on my part is the politicians and negative attitude of people in the community.
*The most enjoyable part with my job is that when all my trainees are motivated to implement what they have learned and appreciated by the communities saving's peoples life especially the children. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Programme is more challenging and is a priority with demend
MCWH Coordinator (Current Employee), East London, ECAugust 28, 2014
Pros: availability of subsidy vehicles for the qualifying candidates
Cons: hours of working are good
The job is secured but the programme is wide and covers a lot of areas which is difficult to reach all the areas due to limited resources such as transport which is affecting service delivery. Team work is imperative and integration of programmes. I have gained a lot in this department as I am working in the PHC setting where prevention and promotion – more... of health is done to decrease number of admissions to the hospitals. Now there is MDG Countdown and Mom connect which are the strategies used to work towards reaching the targets by 2015 as it is the mandate of National Minister of Health. Management needs some one who is creative. leadership skills ,good communicator and think out of the box so as to loosen the bottlenecks .Ensure quality health care is rendered through identification of risk and development of improvement plans. Subordinates need support, mentoring and coaching. Identification of training gaps through skills audit among the staff so that in service and training can be conducted .to improve their performance .
The enjoyable time when we are conducting campaign reaching the target group out there in the communities. Conduct engagement with them where one can listen to their concerns ,complaints and compliments. Adherence of the department to regulations, policies .protocols and guidelines for the smooth running of the units. Budget is not allocated for the programme as priority so that its performance can improve. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun,condusive and productive working environment
Finance Officer (Current Employee), Mmabatho, NWAugust 28, 2014
Pros: team building
Cons: long hours
It is a very challenging work as it deals with funds and clients but you always have to be focused, i have learned that commitment and time is very important in a workplace, we need a very strong management system to can control other staff members that does not take their work seriusly, the hardest part of the job is having to deal with a difficult – more... client and that again is enjoyable because you tend to meet with different characters and cultures so while you are facing the challenge you also learn. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stimulating and challenging environment where optimal learning occurs while providing appropriate treatment to patients in dynamic conditions.
Community Service Physiotherapist (Current Employee), NCAugust 27, 2014
Each day provides a new challenge whether it be the type of patients seen or the challenge of resources of fighting the most prevalent conditions or ailments i.t.o health promotion.

As a current community service therapist I have learnt a variety of skills which includes effective time and resource management, project planning, therapy interventions – more... or skills as well as working together with the multidisciplinary approach in order to provide optimal treatment for patients. I have had a great experience working with my current colleagues and have learnt a great deal from them and what a big role each discipline plays in the allied health team.

The most enjoyable part of the job would be to feel that satisfaction when all the effort you have put into achieving a certain goal pays off despite the multiple setbacks you have had. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a great pleasure working at this department as it is one of the biggest department amongst the SA Gvmnt Dept and therefore interestly challengin
Human Resources Clerk (Current Employee), Bhisho, ECAugust 26, 2014
Management:
* Very professional
* Open to new ideas
* Provide a learning platferm
* Concern for people and results
There is always pressure in the office but it is managable only if you are a hard/smart worker. There are some distructions that can make you a bad day but with good emotional intelligance that can be handle hence I managed to hadle bad – more... situations. Co-workers: there are always politics in the workplace but that needs some skills to deal with them so as to avoid conflics amongst the co-workers. What I enjoy most is when I am given autonomy, appriciation and corrected where necessary but in a constructive way. Hardest part of the job is when you are having to do a job depending on the information from some your co-workers and they are reluctant to giving you sufficient information – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working environment helps a lot in productive workplace, we hav a good relationship with other allied workers and doctors, we have birthday clubs
Occupational Therapist (Current Employee), Middelburg, MPAugust 20, 2014
Pros: working hours are good, good relationship with co-workers
Cons: limited budget for the hospital which leads to not having resources to help a patient
I start working at 7h30 to 16h00, Monday to Friday
I try my best to see all patients either booked for the day or inpatients
I have learned to treat different patients with different diagnosis from different backgrounds
i have a supervisor who deals with most management tasks, she is a good teacher,always involve me when ordering/ doing other management – more... tasks. I do statistics and record keeping all the time
I work well with my colleagues and other co-workers, i ask other co-workers when i do not know what to do or for any advice
The hardest part of the job is when you know there is something you can give that will make a big difference but is not available,due to hospital budgets and when you have to deal with complications from patients who were never referred earlier.
The most fulfilling part of my job is when i see improvements in a patients due to activities i did with them, getting positive feedback and achieving what i planned with my patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed going to work as I believe I have yet to experience a work day in my career
Clerk Specialist (Former Employee), Silver City, NMAugust 19, 2014
Pros: benefits, advancement
.
I enjoy the interactions of my bosses, co-workers and all those who cross my path on daily basises.
I enjoy being part of a team to resolve issues.
I enjoy multi tasking and have become a pro with juggling appointments/schedules to fit everyone's needs
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
Care Giver (Former Employee), Polokwane, LPAugust 18, 2014
Pros: free lunches and tea
Cons: long hours
* at a work place we meeting people with no patient.
* How to reports and record
* Strict Management: they need people who communicate and observe
* They rely on the PNA (Pupil Nursing Auxiliary) and PCG (Pupil Care Givers) (Students)
* Lifting patients
* Bed Making
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working environment
Speech Therapist (Current Employee), Calvinia, NCAugust 18, 2014
Pros: to work in a multidisciplinary team.
Cons: offices need to be shared with another therapist
This year has not only taught me much about myself and how to work in a multidisciplinary team, but also how to productively work, refer patients, assess, provide intervention and make a diagnosis.

I love my work!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life
Principal Network Controller (Former Employee), Bloemfontein, FSAugust 14, 2014
Pros: leave, benefits
Cons: mundane, tedious and monotonous work
A typical day at work could be anything from heavily busy to not doing anything all day. And the not doing anything all day became a norm more than it was an exception, so I had to leave. It was a nice environment but it was too relaxed. I didn't feel challenged. The benefits were great but the work growth was slow.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
MEETING NEW FACES
PATIENT ADMINISTRATION (Former Employee), Polokwane, LPAugust 14, 2014
Pros: sometimes during awareness
Cons: when emegencies arrived we work long hours.
MY FIRST DAY AT WORK NOT KNOWING ANYONE.
GOOD COMMUNICATION SKILL IS VERY IMPORTANT.
WORK UNDER PRESSURE.
ABILITY TO WORK AS A TEAM.
COMMUNICATING WITH SOMEONE WHO DOES'NT KNOW YOUR LANGUAGE AND ENGLISH.
WORKING AS A TEAM.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive workplace
Midwife (Former Employee), Sri LankaAugust 13, 2014
Pros: seeing happy families as a new baby is born.
Cons: sometimes in difficult situations, baby has problem with birth is hard to see.
I was a Midwife back home in Sri Lanka. I loved educating mothers on how to care for their newborn and delivered many babies as well. It was a great environment and made me very happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they move thier employees for various occupation for experience on different jobs, as motivation
Accounting Clerk (Current Employee), Bethal, MPAugust 13, 2014
Pros: sleeping out and playing soccer
Cons: travelling alot and meetings
pressure to keep up with payment dead lines

I learn to be patient and show good memory about the client

Its wonderful to work with co-operating co-worker, well placed assistance.

Hardest part pay accurate figures and not miss place orders.

Reconciling and understanding of suppliers. paying client on time.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Epidemiologist (Current Employee), Polokwane, LPAugust 13, 2014
Currently I’m working at the Department of Health in Limpopo Province under Public Health Programmes as an Epidemiologist managing Epidemiology Services sub directorate where I’m coordinating the Disease Surveillance systems, Communicable Disease Control, Monitoring and Evaluation of HIV & Syphilis Survey and disease outbreaks in the Province. Also – more... responsible for providing the provincial epidemiological health profiles and involved in various training activities with District Health Programme Managers and Public Health Program coordinators on Epidemic Preparedness and Response. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Internship (Former Employee), Messina, LPAugust 11, 2014
it was learning. how to dress when u go to work and the co workers the where very nice
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working place
Principal Personnel Officer HRD (Current Employee), Queenstown, ECAugust 4, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: long hours
Productive
I learned how to train large amount of people and how to do reports.
I supervised interns and managed to give report to managers on monthly basis.
I have good relationship with co-workers
The hardest part of the job is to cost pmds amounts when it time for payment.
My most enjoyable part of my job is when I train employees or assisting where – more... m needed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Speech-language therapist (Current Employee), Durban, ZNAugust 1, 2014
Time management is required and a different variety of patients were seen.

1 2 3 4 5