Find companies:
Department Of Health
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
382 reviews

Department Of Health Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Productive and alive workplace
Nurse (Current Employee), P09November 8, 2014
Well, a typical day for me during at work is a quite busy because a lot patients I've encountered each day and I've learned their different personality as well. In terms of management, i think i did my best to give health care services to the clients. To my co-workers, i must say they were great in a sense that they were absolutely good when it comes – more... to their work performances, they really gave their effort just to render services to the clients and i really love their company as well...I think the hardest part of my job is when there's a rain every time i will go to my assigned area "far flung areas".. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun with joyful officemates
Architect (Current Employee), Palo, SKSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: free foods
Cons: distant main office
i usually start my office day at 7:30 am and and it all started with the a scan on my memo for the "to do's" for the day it may be planning and designing or if not i will on travel for monitoring of on going projects. on certain day of the month i'll be doing some reports on the
travels made, it may be a project accomplishment, validate structures reported – more... for some defects or damage.
form this office i have learned to manage my time in office and on site projects. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Registered nurse (Former Employee), Barugo, PhilippinesMarch 20, 2014
This was a good experience and a chanllenging one. I learned a lot from this experience and is very excited for a new exciting job that will help me grow as a professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun busy
Nurse (Former Employee), philippinesFebruary 21, 2014
busy everyday.. a lot of patient coming in and out. many doctor's demand
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My typical day at work
Receptionist (Current Employee), Fredericton, NBApril 17, 2013
Pros: free parking
Cons: salary is not enough to subsides myself.
On a typical day we receive about 50 to 80 calls for transferring, mutiple couriers and Canada Post mail.
Translation requests are frequent as well.
My manager is a doll, he understands me very well. My co-workers are great! The hardest part of my job is remembering all of the 300 - 400 employee names in the building but i'm getting better everyday – more... (only started this job in January of 2013). The most enjoyable part of my job is being able to work with the public and helping them find what they request or direct them to the correct information or person. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informative and a learning environment to work in
Procurement Analyst (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 31, 2013
Pros: experience and informative
A typical day at the department of Chief Financial Operation Branch at Health Canada included an analysis of the procurement activities performed within the branch. Most of such analysis were done through Microsoft Excel. However, the data was collected from the program SAP.
The most enjoyable part of such position was the learning material that was – more... provided from the managers and supervisors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Retired (Former Employee), Sydney, NSJanuary 12, 2013
Pros: working with people
Cons: trying to send people for the right kind of treatment if needed
My work day consisted of assessing clients who have lost their drivers licenses due to drinking/ drugging driving or refusal of the breathalizer.I would have to also put them through a two day educational program as well as referring some for further treatment if a problem with alcohol or drugs excisted.
I have learned that the majority of people i – more... saw were fantastic people who just made a mistake and took responsibility for that mistake.
Management have always treated me with the utmost respect and that respect was returned.
The same goes for 99% of my co-workers.
The hardest part of my job was making decisions that affected someones life for example : when someone shouldn`t (in my opinion)get their license back because of alcohol,drugs, dementia or other illnesses without the proper help.My role was to report these things to Motor Vehicles.
The most enjoyable part of the job was talking and listening to these same clients.People are just people and although we all are different i found we are all much the same. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patience with your patient.
RN Heals (Former Employee), P05November 24, 2014
Pros: free food.
Just a usual things get vital signs. i have learned here is in handling with alzheimers, since you actually experienced their tantrums. at first that you experienced you'll become afraid but as you go along you know how to handle such situation. with my co workers i Have no problem they were good. sometimes its just you argue with them whats good for – more... the patient and its ok. The hardest part i think theres none. most enjoyable is, anyone who has a birthday your employer treat you or give some things – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun because you are reaching out with the Community.
NURSE 1 (Current Employee), Ilog, Region 6November 23, 2014
We are working 8hours per day. As a Nurse under the DOH, I learned to be sensitive and effective Community Health Nurse. I do not have problems with my co-workers because we are dealing each other professionaly. The hardest part of the job is when we are assigned to go to remote areas or mountainous areas and we do not have service car and we have a – more... difficulty in transportation. The most enjoyable in my job is when we reached the peak of the mountain just reaching out with the disadvantage people. We felt the satisfaction on it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A facility dedicated to service delivery
Dietician (Current Employee), Port Shepstone, ZNNovember 23, 2014
I see a lot of children with severe acute malnutrition. It is challenging to experience this on a day to day basis but it is very rewarding when I see that I have made an impact on improving my patients' lives.
Management allows us to manage our patients independently but they are available for consultation should we require further guidance.
The Rehab – more... Team is great to work with. We are Dietetics, Physiotherapy, Occupational Therapy, Audiology and Speech Therapy. We have Comm Serves in each of these departments that are very actively involved in wards and clinics. Working with a multi-disciplinary team on complex cases is very rewarding.

The biggest lesson that I have learned in the govt sector is that although there is a lot to achieve in order to make one's job/department function optimally - ROME WAS NOT BUILT IN A DAY. Sometimes projects or plans are delayed due to a number of reasons but it is important to ensure good communication and to identify the correct channels to approach when following up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A state agency committed to providing benefits to needy individual. Working in this arena is both challenging and rewarding.
Surveillance Utilization Review Manager (Former Employee), Cheyenne, WYNovember 22, 2014
A challenging yet rewarding group focused on reducing provider fraud and abuse through billing practices and ensuring eligible clients receive quality servcices.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I've learned how to be a good public health nurse...
NURSE I (Current Employee), Dagupan City, Pangasinan, PhilippinesNovember 17, 2014
Pros: program incentive (measles-rubella opv mass immunization)
Cons: health care insurance excluded in our benefits, no transportation allowance, etc
The most hardest part I've experienced was when I endorsed my 1 community barangay to our new hired fellow public health nurse. It was really hard for me to give up that most organized and self reliant community, indeed, but I had no choice.

I believed, it would be fair enough for our new co-worker if I'l give him my most organized community barangay, – more... considering the fact that he's just new to our world.

Just hoping that he would maintain or improve what I started. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive, educational ,busy and fun.
SUPERVISING PHARMACIST (Current Employee), Philippines, Region 3 ZambalesNovember 11, 2014
Pros: trainings, workshop and seminars
Cons: long hours
A typical day like monitoring and supervision of retail pharmacy and making & submission of report, I learned that most of the program of the Department of Health is relevant to the Filipino people. Management and supervision of Pharmacy is very interesting with my co-workers they are very supportive. Hardest part of the job is when there is disaster – more... and outbreak disease, we have to work very hard to assist the people in need for the medical assistance and allocation of disaster medicines. And the most enjoyable part is when we have the Training to other place or out of country with my collea
gue. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall
Staff Assistant (Current Employee), Washington, DCNovember 6, 2014
A typical day at work consist of ordering office supplies,nutrition education materials, entering requisitions into the PASS System to convert into Purchase Orders. Coordinate staff meetings and trainings for staff. Preparing travel documents on a daily basis and purchasing materials with the government purchase card. The hardest part of the job is – more... when employees are slow in answering emails that pertains to a specific document that is due. The most enjoyable part of the job is when you answer the telephones and clients are on the other side asking for help with food and you can refer them to the appropriate site to apply. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Carreer path
Enrolled Nursing (Current Employee), Witbank, MPOctober 30, 2014
Pros: benefits & job security
Cons: the hospital is in an isolated area
Growth opportunities are really limited especially with regard to sending staff members to school
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was unorganized
Finance Officer (Former Employee), Kimberley, NCOctober 29, 2014
Pros: co-workers was nice to work with, learned a new program
Cons: no equipment to work with
Dont have to much to say. It was not was expected and Batho Pele Principles was not followed by most of the people. My co-workers and I hit it off on the first day already. I was first relocated to the one hospital where I could make use of my abilities and learned a new program.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very challenging kind of work
MONITORING AND EVALUATION OFFICER (Current Employee), Manila, P00October 27, 2014
Pros: benefits, able to travel
Cons: with deadlines
It brings out something about yourself you thought you don't have. It will help you know yourself and your purpose.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Soccer and singing
Senior Admin Clerk (Current Employee), Rustenburg, NWOctober 27, 2014
Pros: bring my own lunch box
Cons: tea time
Daily basis I overcome some challenges whereby some employees don't want to change or learn new things, resistance to change.
Different cultures and behaviors
Each and everyday I treat it as a new productive day
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
everything was wonderful except when deadlines not meet
DATA CAPTURE (Former Employee), Lusikisiki, ECOctober 27, 2014
Pros: retreat
Cons: 8
Deadline days
Spirit of workers
Wonderful Management
They were wonderful
Working towards deadlines
When the deadlines are meet
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Workplace
Principal Personnel Officer (Current Employee), Nelspruit, MPOctober 24, 2014
Pros: monthly garthering
Cons: work long hours with no overtime
Normal work routine everyday with difference activities.
I have learned much about how to deal with diverse cultures and managerial skills.
Management its a good performance all supervisors are looking after their workers.
my co-workers have a relationship it feels like home. You even miss them when its weekend. They play an encouraging role in work – more... environment and personal relation.
the hardest part of the work its when you don't get feed back from the Head Office and Institutions. Especial when you are not rated in the Three months term.
The most enjoyable part its when you have stress and get encouraged by your super visor and create the same stress as a Joke. While being encouraged it makes you feel better after a while. – less

1 2 3 4 5