Find companies:
Department Of Health
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
319 reviews

Department Of Health Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Roxas City, P06May 29, 2014
Pros: free lunch sometimes, travel
Fun, not much work to be done but fun since it is related to my studies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Registered nurse (Former Employee), Barugo, PhilippinesMarch 20, 2014
This was a good experience and a chanllenging one. I learned a lot from this experience and is very excited for a new exciting job that will help me grow as a professional.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun busy
Nurse (Former Employee), philippinesFebruary 21, 2014
busy everyday.. a lot of patient coming in and out. many doctor's demand
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great sense of team work, stressful work environment
Social Worker (Former Employee), Dublin, IrelandFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: working with children and families to work towards positive change
Cons: long hours and a stressful work environment
my role was a busy one with a high level of tasks to be achieved. There was a difficult balance to be struck between available resources and the needs of the client. this added to the work pressure. the service was going through a lot of structural changes which were difficult to adjust to in an already stressed work environment.
i had the pleasure – more... of working directly with children and families which was a positive part of the job for me. i conducted in dept assessments with families and supported parents to better meet the needs of their children in a safe way. i liaised with a number of services involved with the child/family and build positive long term working relationships with the clients and professionals alike.
i also had the benefit of working within a team which was a positive to the job also. being able to support and get support from a colleague is a great help in the working environment. i feel i am an excellent team player, a good support to my colleagues and have supervised two students in my position to date.
my work day could be very varied from office work to direct engagement with the clients or other professionals. i would have engaged in on going assessments, written reports on families for court, case conferences etc, attended meetings, met with the clients, supervised accesses between children and parents, met with foster carers and residential centers.
i worked under the supervision of my team leader who was my direct line manager. i also would have had contact with the Principal Social Worker and Alternative Care Manager in the management of cases i worked.
on my team there were five other social worker of varying levels of experience. i had the second highest level of experience on the team and found the my colleagues would have come to me for advice and direction on their cases when the team leader was unavailable. there was a great spirit of team work and support on the team which was punctuated by staff safety. all persons on the team knew each others cases and provided support and co-working when needed both for moral support and if there was any threat to the worker from the client.
the most enjoyable part of the job was the direct work with the clients and building a positive relationship with the clients. i work with some of the clients for long periods of time and was able to see through positive changes with the families. at times the changes i envisaged for the clients or needed to occur for the safety of the children did not occur which led to difficult decisions being made. this was a down side to the job however was necessary where concerns of safety existed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my productive work place is working in the hospital at present i work in department of health
rhmpp (Current Employee), San Fernando, P03June 18, 2013
Pros: they give us allowance
Cons: we also have free transportation
well,right now i'm presently working in department of health as rural health midwife placement program.I learned a lot of things in this job the life of the poorest of the poor .Time management is very important so that i can do my job properly and of course the co-workers has a big role if you will work as a team everything will be done very well ,the – more... hardship is going to their place because their home is very far their home are in the middle of farm no neighborhood .But because they see us were so sincere upon helping them that's why all our hardship all gone because they cooperate ... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very credible government department.
Office Administrator (Former Employee), Manila, PhilippinesMay 27, 2013
Pros: continuing education experience
Cons: requires hard and extended time and work
I have worked with this company from the time I started my jobs and I have exceeded all my expectations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working with patients gives satisfaction doing something for society
Nurse (Former Employee), Amritsar IndiaMay 5, 2013
Pros: job security
Cons: no significant promotions
Large Government healthcare company
provides secondary and tertiary care services to the patients
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed my 1 year contract as a Nurse of Department of Health.
Nurse (Former Employee), Tacloban CityMay 3, 2013
Pros: free allowance
Cons: 1 year contract only
Assist the patients to get their vital signs.
Assist the Physician if there is a minor injury.
Assist for delivery if there will be a mother in active labor.
Took care for the eldery in the Rural Health Unit.
Working in the Rural Health Unit is challenging I've learned how to deal different kinds of patients,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a day at work
nurse (Current Employee), Butuan, P13April 20, 2013
typical day at work would be assisting for patients, filling out their records, establishing rapport to the patients as well as health assessment. I have learned to adapt to a changing environment fast and to relate to different people I met everyday at work.I find my co-workers pleasing to work with. They didn't give me a hard time adjusting to the – more... workplace. I think the hardest part of the job is to think about the hardest part because there wasn't any at the moment. The most enjoyable part of the job would be meeting new people, being able to carry out your responsibilities as an employee. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My typical day at work
Receptionist (Current Employee), Fredericton, NBApril 17, 2013
Pros: free parking
Cons: salary is not enough to subsides myself.
On a typical day we receive about 50 to 80 calls for transferring, mutiple couriers and Canada Post mail.
Translation requests are frequent as well.
My manager is a doll, he understands me very well. My co-workers are great! The hardest part of my job is remembering all of the 300 - 400 employee names in the building but i'm getting better everyday – more... (only started this job in January of 2013). The most enjoyable part of my job is being able to work with the public and helping them find what they request or direct them to the correct information or person. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Informative and a learning environment to work in
Procurement Analyst (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONMarch 31, 2013
Pros: experience and informative
A typical day at the department of Chief Financial Operation Branch at Health Canada included an analysis of the procurement activities performed within the branch. Most of such analysis were done through Microsoft Excel. However, the data was collected from the program SAP.
The most enjoyable part of such position was the learning material that was – more... provided from the managers and supervisors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Retired (Former Employee), Sydney, NSJanuary 12, 2013
Pros: working with people
Cons: trying to send people for the right kind of treatment if needed
My work day consisted of assessing clients who have lost their drivers licenses due to drinking/ drugging driving or refusal of the breathalizer.I would have to also put them through a two day educational program as well as referring some for further treatment if a problem with alcohol or drugs excisted.
I have learned that the majority of people i – more... saw were fantastic people who just made a mistake and took responsibility for that mistake.
Management have always treated me with the utmost respect and that respect was returned.
The same goes for 99% of my co-workers.
The hardest part of my job was making decisions that affected someones life for example : when someone shouldn`t (in my opinion)get their license back because of alcohol,drugs, dementia or other illnesses without the proper help.My role was to report these things to Motor Vehicles.
The most enjoyable part of the job was talking and listening to these same clients.People are just people and although we all are different i found we are all much the same. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace. Learned how to enter Survey Results into the Access Database
Customer Service/Survey Taker (Former Employee), Cleveland, OHJuly 19, 2014
Pros: excellent learning environment
Cons: position was temporary
I was able to work from 12 noon to 4pm everyday. I would first sort out all my Surveys that were completed and enter them into the Access Database, then I would begin calling the customers on my list and start the surveys. My Co-workers and Management were very helpful. I was able to learn a new skill which was entering surveys into the Access Database. – more... This was also my most enjoyable part of the job because I am always open to learn new things. The hardest part of the job was when my contract ended, position was Temporary. But I was offered to return if my help was needed in the future. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work and challenges different every day
Professional nurse - Assistant manager nursing (Current Employee), Worcester, WCJuly 16, 2014
Pros: benifits such as medical, pension, rural allowances, housing allowances
Cons: staff challenges - understaff
It is a challenge working for Department of Health but a challenge that I took because of my passion for my work.It overs great oppurtunities for further studies and Professional growth.Understaffing is a problem in the rural areas.Dissiplinary matters is a hard p[art of my job but neccesary .I was blessed to work with colleques who was teamplayers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a hard job, because the violence and corrupt sistem in my country
Director Attention service for the community) (Former Employee), Villavicencio, METJuly 15, 2014
Pros: health care, good co workers
Cons: violence and corruption
For my as a person, was a great experience, because I learned to deal with people and difficult situations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very big, open workplace that was always clean and neat.
Health Promoter (Former Employee), Cape Town, WCJuly 15, 2014
Pros: lots of benefits as befitted a government organization
Cons: no career advancement in the field of work.
Counselling and testing patients for HIV. Individual and group information and counselling sessions with regards to primary health care and chronic care and dental care. Assisted with the health and safety of the facility and all who entered. Worked well with all my colleagues in the various departments of the facility. The most difficult part was to – more... change people's mindsets with regards to their health as most of them were elderly and set in their ways. Some of them were open to change as they saw the health benefits, not only for them, but for their families as well. The most enjoyable part of my job here was to bring a smile to everyone and to make their day as pleasant as possible as most of our patients had long waits ahead for the day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive like to work with people
Income Maintenance Specialist (Current Employee), Milwaukee WIJuly 14, 2014
Pros: i love working with people
Cons: very far to drive
Answering phones and processing Food Share and Health Care application, conduct phone interview or face to face, I like my co-workers, hardest part of the job is the drive, most enjoyable is working with the people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like working with the kids
Childcare Provider (Former Employee), Manchester, NHJuly 11, 2014
teaching then Learning skills like ABC an the Numbers. Singing an writing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A busy work environment
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), New YorkJuly 6, 2014
Cons: no benefits
This is a very fast past job, that has high demands of attending and catering to the supervisors and other individuals. Within the time that I have worked in the Department of Health I have learned to work under pressure, and I have managed to work thoroughly with others from other government agency. The hardest part about the job is having a meeting – more... cancelled at the last meeting, or having to deal with the system shutting down on a busy day. My coworkers are very nice and understanding. The most enjoyable part about this job is having to deal with many challenges from day to day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to learn and grow while facing challenges and working alongside many disciplines
Community Service Physiotherapist (Current Employee), Port Elizabeth, ECJuly 6, 2014
I enjoy being in close working relationship with many different health professionals and this job grants me that opportunity. The hours are definitely reasonable and allow for a healthy balanced lifestyle. My colleagues challenge me to increase my knowledge daily and are a welcoming group. The hardest part of my job would be to stretch my skill from – more... theoretical to actually applying the theory into the life of the individual. This may be challenging but it is definitely rewarding and stimulating, so then this is also the most enjoyable part of my experience. – less

1 2 3 4 5