Find companies:
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
361 reviews

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Agricultural Development (Former Employee), Agriculture Development OfficerAugust 6, 2012
Pros: flexible hrs
Cons: no benifits for weeked work hrs
5-6
extension work
good
cooperative
deadlines
talk to people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Potato Break Student (Former Employee), Wicklow, NBJune 25, 2012
It was a great work place and you learned a lot and everyone was amazing and you could work independently as well. Hours are great as well.

I loved working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
there is always a challenging task,learns new things everyday.
Livestock Meat Inspector - Philippines (Former Employee), P07April 30, 2012
Pros: time management, complete control of time, very independent, report to manager if there is something difficult.
Cons: wages are too low for a specialist.
Worked with civil services,conduct pre slaughter inspections and post mortem inspection of animal carcasses if it passess the standard meat inspection set by the department in order to ensure a safe and clean meat for the the consumers.See to it that all abbatoirs and meat vendors and processors will follow the general rule of the National Government – more... meat inspection act it protocols and procedures are being adhere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Office Automation Clerk (Former Employee), Ridgeland, MSDecember 16, 2014
Pros: great benefits and working environment!
Cons: maintaining a full time job while in school
The Department of Agriculture was a great place to work. A typical day at work for me was typing letters, memos, faxes and answering a multiple line telephone. The management team was great. The hardest part of my job was maintaining employment while attending school full time. My co-workers were warm and friendly and the most important part of my job – more... was job security, and great benefits. I resigned from this job to attend school full time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of room for professional growth.
Information Technology Specialist (Current Employee), Harrisburg, PADecember 15, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
Excellent career stepping but no upward mobility. Co workers are great to work with and are very supportvie.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has a great mission to manage public lands
Forester (Former Employee), Munising MIDecember 11, 2014
Pros: good retirement, satisfaction of public service
Cons: meetings and inadequate supervisors
Working for the Federal government has many benefets.
Maxi flex working day
Poor to very poor management
great co workers
snowshoes in the winter
working outdoors
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not take a job unless it is permanent
Ecologist (Current Employee), Bend, ORDecember 9, 2014
I have been a "temporary" hire at the USDA Forest Service since 1997 (18 years). My supervisor would love to hire me "permanently" so I can have full benefits and job security, however the hiring practices for the Federal government, and for USDA Forest Service in particular, are horrendously unfair in the name of being uniform and unbiased.

I would – more... advise anyone interested in a job with the Federal government to take a permanent job, but the temporary jobs absolutely do NOT lead to a permanent job. They really don't. Instead, take the permanent job in the outer reaches of society, and then apply for the permanent job in the place you want to end up once you are in the system.

The USDA Forest Service, at least, hires in two ways: they advertise in-house, and they advertise nationwide. Supervisors who are hiring must select either from the in-house list, which is all of the current permanents, or must select from the nationwide list. However, if they select from the nationwide list they must first offer the job to military veterans even if they barely qualify for the job. Staff officers of the hiring supervisors also get a good rating on their job performance if they hire minorities, so some will look at ethnic-sounding last names (because it's illegal to ask someone if they are a minority). But if the hiring supervisor doesn't want a barely qualified veteran, or pressure to hire someone based on their last name, they go to the in-house list of job candidates. This is why most of the jobs in more popular locations go to those who already have a permanent job within the Forest Service. They can actually review applicants credentials, interview several people, and hire who they'd like to hire if they do it from the in-house list.

If you already have a family, mortgage and husband's job to consider, then you're out of luck... but if you're mobile, the method above could work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great learning experience
Land Use Officer (Former Employee), Pretoria, GPDecember 9, 2014
Pros: travelling
Cons: job security
We worked well under pressure inspite of the back log that was present. My co-works were hard working people. The only negative part was the lack of job security
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government Career
Senior Special Agent (Former Employee), New York, NYDecember 7, 2014
Government structure; highly organized hierarchy; clear expectations and clear career pathways to all employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A wonderful experience
Observation (Former Employee), Niagara Falls, NYDecember 1, 2014
My time at the USDA was very short, but it was very interesting. The head vet, as well as the traveling vet were very helpful and insightful for my future endeavors. They were always offering me more opportunities to learn and gain more experiences.
Being that I was only there one day a week, they would often call me to come in when a delivery was scheduled, – more... so I can gain experience being around the animals, and accounting for the animals in a delivery. I wish I would have been able to extend my time there, and do more with the USDA. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Allowed to develop and impliment new initiatives.
Division Administrator (Former Employee), Sparks, NevadaDecember 1, 2014
Pros: operational latitude.
Cons: budget constraints during certain periods of year.
24 by 7 job; immediate response to director and governor required.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Agricultural Technologist (Former Employee), Tanza, 04ANovember 24, 2014
Pros: pressure free
Cons: hot temperature in the office's location
I was able to use and apply my knowledge acquired with my Master's study in agriculture and RD & E. I had nice co-workers. The management is fine. I acquired additional knowledge on developing research proposals.

The hardest part of my job is during the first month of duty. I have no idea how the office works. But due to my co-workers' guidance, I – more... was able to cope up. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I got to get out and see new scenery and go to different states.
AD Driver (Former Employee), London, KyNovember 24, 2014
I was always going to different states and travel seeing new scenery.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Agricultural Economic Advisor (Intern) (Former Employee), Polokwane, LPNovember 18, 2014
Pros: lot of travelling
Cons: long hours
It was a very good experience, i had the opportunity to work with different stakeholders at differrent levels. i enjoyed the site visits a lot to farms, and my co-workers were very suppotive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive environment with team emphasis
Mail Clerk/Supply Clerk, GS (Former Employee), Fort Collins, CONovember 17, 2014
Pros: maxi flex schedule
Cons: no opportunity to advance
Worked opening and closing entrance doors, loading dock
Received all incoming packages in shipping and receiving
Received, sort, processed and distributed mail
Ordered, distributed supplies
Maintained and updated supplies inventory
Operated, maintained fax machines, copiers and printers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
biological science technician (Former Employee), Catron County NMNovember 14, 2014
I worked closely with local ranchers, county, state and federal employees to ensure a balance between wildlife and ranching, and farming. I performed depredation investigations and removals thru lethal and non-lethal methods. The hardest part of my duties was working within the Mexican Wolf Program as there was a lot of emotion with locals and animal – more... activists within that program. I really enjoyed working in Catron County as it was a beautiful place. I also enjoyed being outside most of the time and working with wildlife. I guess what I miss most about the job was being able to help my cooperators by solving their depredation problems. The most important thing I guess that I learned working in this position was being able to work with people that had very different ways of life and values than that of mine. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first Job
Senior Auditor (Current Employee), Beltsville, MDNovember 13, 2014
I was recruited fresh out of college and I can say that being an auditor in such a large department exposed me a variety of industries. Very flexible work schedules, great managers who want to see you advance and excellent benefits. In the beginning, the travel was alluring, but once you have a family, it can become a bit demanding. Overall, amazing – more... experience and I'm thankful for it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very business like atmosphere due to sensitive cases.
Deputy Regional Director (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCNovember 12, 2014
Pros: great benifits
Cons: bureaucracy of government
Arrive to work at 6:30am to read and answer emails received over night. Contact Field Supervisors as to updates on sensitity investigations. Update Management Team on any issues that might need attention. Meet with Intell personnel as to critical requests made by field. The hardest part of my duties was the large area covered by my responsibilities. – more... I enjoyed the people and assisting them in achieving their goals within the organization. Managing the Eastrn Region field operations(all states east the Mississippi including MN) was a challenge. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over time was a must to complete reports
Clerk-Typist, GS (Former Employee), Washington, DCNovember 5, 2014
Pros: you get paid holidays. you were also given an hour for lunch
Cons: must work over time
It was important to send out survey ti framers as to how their corps was doing and also will they be able to sale at the store they send them to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good place to work
Intern (Current Employee), Pretoria, GPNovember 4, 2014
it is a fun place to work at, the co workers are friendly and helpful at all times

1 2 3 4 5

About DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

The Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries strives towards a united and prosperous agricultural sector, with the aim – Read more

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Photos