Find companies:
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
304 reviews

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and have some sports fun and parties
Agriculturist II (Former Employee), Iloilo City, PhilippinesJuly 27, 2014
Pros: with travelling and per diems allowance, transportation is provided in going to farms and other venues, provided with the driver
Cons: no overtime pay despite long hours work sometimes
In Department of Agriculture

My work is in the day time and I learned a lot in terms of technical skills because the company send us for trainings and workshops to enhance and upgrade our technical knowledge related to Agriculture. The management is very good and I enjoyed my co-workers. I had never experienced hard time in my job for I enjoyed working – more... with my clients such as farmers, students and professionals like me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
more productive in works,training, and seminars attended
Farm laborer (Former Employee), Dalwangan, Malaybalay City, Bukidnon, PhilippinesJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
gather agronomic data, submit reports,do works as assigned by the supervisor, working under green house condition with other, and enjoying attending training and seminars conducted by the Department of Agriculture.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal day work.
Member, 4-H Club of the Philippines (Former Employee), Buenavista, Agusan del Norte, PhilippinesOctober 15, 2013
Pros: free snacks sometimes.
Cons: no overtime.
Sweep surroundings, grafted mango seedlings.

Proposals are the primary procedure on every projects.

Salary is low, the Office is under the Local Government Unit.

I felt awkward to regular employees but they are nice.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
any agriculture jobs
animal technician (Former Employee), Cebu City, PhilippinesAugust 17, 2013
Pros: working visa
Cons: 2 yrs contract
any agricutural jobs that i mention below;

*animal husbandry
*dairy farm
*poultry farm
*broiler production
*layer production
*incubation
*animal technician
*green and leafy vegetables
*crops production
*fruits
*harvesting and picking friuts
*planting any vegetables
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i learned how to respect and to be respected
Irrigation Development Officer A (Current Employee), Tomana East Rosales PangasinanMay 9, 2013
the most enjoyable part of job is to assist farmers with all my heart .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Agricultural Development (Former Employee), Agriculture Development OfficerAugust 6, 2012
Pros: flexible hrs
Cons: no benifits for weeked work hrs
5-6
extension work
good
cooperative
deadlines
talk to people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Potato Break Student (Former Employee), Wicklow, NBJune 25, 2012
It was a great work place and you learned a lot and everyone was amazing and you could work independently as well. Hours are great as well.

I loved working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
there is always a challenging task,learns new things everyday.
Livestock Meat Inspector - Philippines (Former Employee), P07April 30, 2012
Pros: time management, complete control of time, very independent, report to manager if there is something difficult.
Cons: wages are too low for a specialist.
Worked with civil services,conduct pre slaughter inspections and post mortem inspection of animal carcasses if it passess the standard meat inspection set by the department in order to ensure a safe and clean meat for the the consumers.See to it that all abbatoirs and meat vendors and processors will follow the general rule of the National Government – more... meat inspection act it protocols and procedures are being adhere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Statistics
Research Greenhouse Specialist (Former Employee), HomeJuly 14, 2014
Had to be a self starter ready to interview Farmers over the phone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Steady work with good benefits.
Poultry Inspector (Former Employee), Springdale, ARJuly 13, 2014
Pros: steady work with decent pay and benefits.
Cons: non caring, no ethic coworkers.
Inspected beef and poultry 8 hours a day. We worked with a variety of different cultures in the plants which was interesting.
Management at the level I was at was horrible. My last supervisor only liked to stay in his office and feel important. His actual job was to be out in the plant supervising the employees,which he rarely did. Consequently we had – more... inspectors that slept on the line,singing and dancing and just general horse play.This was very hard for me to tolerate as i believe we had a very important job to do,keep food safe for consumers.This was a wide spread problem nearly everywhere I worked, supervisory veterinarians not caring about what was being passed on to the consumer,very disturbing!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice job culture
Equal Opportunity Student Trainee (Current Employee), Washington, DCJuly 10, 2014
A typical day at work is working directly under a Equal Opportunity Specialist. Writing reports, working on the webpage design is part of my internship duty.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work & I learned a great deal about the industry
Office Support Assistant (Current Employee), Lakewood, COJuly 10, 2014
Pros: teamwork and special proejcts
Cons: office closing
There was a good variety of work to be done, incoming email messages that needed to be printed, entered into different systems, and saved for reference; supply requests disbursement, requisitioning, and financial control; secure mail handling and distribution; producing training manuals (IMPS, Division instructions, Child Nutrition, COOL, Union/Management – more... contract, ect.) brochures, and assorted employee handouts, reviewed incoming and outgoing check registers and procedures; suggested and created new forms to streamline procedures; vehicle fleet management reports; USPS daily reports for return mail costs, reproduction services, and postage meter; verifying and reconciling UPS and FedEx weekly billing (hard and electronic copy); management of UPS database of address; 3-day detail to USDA, Forest Service, Job Corps National Office; assisting in closing the QAD Lakewood Office including scheduling and shipping supply stockpile, inventory supplies and equipment, packaging and shipping museum-quality antiques, converting serveral years of files and data into electronic format for long-term storage. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging
Assistant Director (Assistant Manager) (Current Employee), Capetown, Western CapeJuly 3, 2014
Pros: bursaries granted to those willing to further their studies
Cons: long hours, extensive travelling both local and internationally
Highly productive environment that requires individuals to be innovative, creative and come up with new ideas as opposed to other government departments which have the same routine of activities.

We constatly engaged on new projects as the sector is still its development stages therefore it required a lot ideas on how to facilitate growth and development – more... for our stakeholders.

The environment was a big learning curve for me and it exposed me to a lot of opportunities and challeged me to constatly develop myself in my area of work because its highly technical, specialised with a combination of scientific, engeneering, finance, production etc.

The position gave an opportunity to interact with various experts in the different fields and this allowed to be more diverse in terms of my thinking ability. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have only ever worked as a temporary employee... ok.. once as a term.
GS5, Trails (Former Employee), Safford, AZJune 28, 2014
Pros: getting laid off after six months, beautiful scenery, outdoors
Cons: getting laid off after six months, lack of health care, no retirement
As a temp you work 6 months or less. Usually 6 months on... 6 months off. No health care. No retirement. No uniform. No getting 3 hours a week to exercise like the permanents do. No getting part of your gym membership paid for like the permanents do... Overall I have really enjoyed working for the US Forest Service. Beautiful areas. Hard work, but some – more... really awesome experiences. After ten years as a temp though.... hard not to feel like a throw away person in a throw away culture. Like most of the public land agencies.... more and more emphasis is being put on people with Degrees being in management. And those people want a decent life and salary. Can not blame them. But much of the day to day business of a public agency is dirty, hard, no appreciation kind of work. People with Masters degrees or PHDs are not going to clean the toilets, arrest the timber thieves, keep the trails open... etc, etc. Like most of the public land agencies... paper seems to mean as much or more than people these days. Forest Service is too often the Office Service. Our forest full of trash.... used needles, garbage...

Get your degree. Masters preferable. Then you can get a cost of living increase while talking of how hard to manage it all is.... Only work as a temp if you love the outdoors more than money, and can afford to have a job without healthcare or retirement. Average these days is ten years... ten years as a seasonal before you will make permanent. If you make permanent... I will probably go back to seasonal sooner or later. Great way to make some cash for the summer, see some cool scenery and then go on unemployment. You can do it till your too old to work... then you can live illegally in the Forest you used to patrol. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strength building and determination.
Forest Service Technician (Former Employee), Sonora, CAJune 16, 2014
Loved the experience.
Loved the traveling.
Extremely like my crew members and work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship program
Internship (Former Employee), Miami, FLJune 12, 2014
Great experience, learned a great deal about the NAFTA countries, trade, and the ERS systems used to analyze the data.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good place to work
Program Clerk/Automation Clerk (Former Employee), Lincoln, NEJune 10, 2014
Pros: atmosphere, everyone was hurried but they knew that they could only do so much at a time
Cons: budget, they are limited by budget and regulations on what they can do
I would go in and check my email then Update and maintain records of all lenders and borrowers in various file formats.
Scan and save records to the USDA webpage
Prepare and assemble Single Family Housing Dockets and other materials for scanning into the Central Servicing Center’ database
Created PowerPoint slides for presentation
Maintained confidentiality – more... of documents and papers of the organization
Review, record and store documents for proper use
Sort Compliance Reports by program and date
Prepare and affix labels to files with appropriate destruction information
Sort and compile Budget Reports
Update and organize the SOP for scanning
Work with Administration, Housing, Business Programs, Community Programs
Format Budget Object Classification Codes
Conduct equipment inventory for the entire state
Work with Business Energy on a project that included adding 200 recipients of Renewable Energy Education Assistance Program(REAP,REDA) into GLS (Guaranteed Loan System) database system
Work with the Civil Engineer and entered data for the Nebraska Rural Water Association, metered water rates
Work with Business Energy Specialists in entering data into GLS computer database system
Continued to work as a volunteer basis after paid position expired on 10/2012
I learned how to multi-task.
The management and co-workers wanted to help out in any way they could.
I enjoyed the job and the challenge of learning new things – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Duties - Administrative (Former Employee), bartlett, tnJune 4, 2014
I was not happy working in an agency which had leadership that would not listen, help or monitor anything in the lab area. We had employees cheating, talking, leaving their post - without any problems from the management. Co-workers constantly talked about other employees - and caused harm to people who wanted to keep to themselves.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An important mission!
Area Specialist (Former Employee), Devils Lake, NDMay 27, 2014
Committed to helping improve the economy and quality of life in rural America - a very important mission and a really great, hard-working group of people to see that there is a real positive impact on the rural communities in our country.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Above average
CONSTRUCTION INSPECTOR (PROGRAM SPECIALIST) (Former Employee), Pohnpei, FSMMay 26, 2014
This is where I first embarked on my work experience beginning with a Construction Clerk followed by being promoted to Inspector.

1 2 3 4 5

About DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

With the stony faces of Mount Rushmore serving as a constant reminder to civic duty, the Office of the Governor of South Dakota – Read more

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Photos