Find companies:
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
333 reviews

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Agricultural Development (Former Employee), Agriculture Development OfficerAugust 6, 2012
Pros: flexible hrs
Cons: no benifits for weeked work hrs
5-6
extension work
good
cooperative
deadlines
talk to people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Potato Break Student (Former Employee), Wicklow, NBJune 25, 2012
It was a great work place and you learned a lot and everyone was amazing and you could work independently as well. Hours are great as well.

I loved working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
there is always a challenging task,learns new things everyday.
Livestock Meat Inspector - Philippines (Former Employee), P07April 30, 2012
Pros: time management, complete control of time, very independent, report to manager if there is something difficult.
Cons: wages are too low for a specialist.
Worked with civil services,conduct pre slaughter inspections and post mortem inspection of animal carcasses if it passess the standard meat inspection set by the department in order to ensure a safe and clean meat for the the consumers.See to it that all abbatoirs and meat vendors and processors will follow the general rule of the National Government – more... meat inspection act it protocols and procedures are being adhere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great learning experience
OFFICE AUTOMATION CLERK (Former Employee), Mill Hall, PAOctober 9, 2014
This was a 3-month "Girl Friday" position. It wasn't with the Dept of Ag, it was USDA Department of Rural Development Clinton County. This was a brand new experience in that this person had no knowledge of computer work. This where the love of computers was born. The use of computers was taught.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great outdoor work everyday
Forestry Technician (Current Employee), Grand Junction, COOctober 6, 2014
Pros: quality of work
Cons: seasonal/temporary
Working a 10 hour day isn't so bad when your office is in the forest everyday. Its just too bad the job is only temporary.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Benefits
Agricultural Statistician (Former Employee), East Lansing, MIOctober 5, 2014
Great benefits and telework opportunities. Interesting work on agriculture and surveys/research.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work with great benefits
Biological Sciences Technician (Current Employee), Grand Marais, MNSeptember 25, 2014
Love the job just need non-seasonal employment. Learned a lot about plants and animals during my employment here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work place
Mail Clerk (Current Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 23, 2014
I have the best Employees I work with we work as a team to get the job done
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with fire prevention and maintaining
Wildland firefighter (Former Employee), Walla Walla, WASeptember 22, 2014
Pros: good work crew
Cons: dangerous work near fires
Good crew and team working to prevent and stop fire growth. Outdoor work and labor, usually working in remote places in the forest and hills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is good i left the job to complete my M.sc Agriculture
block technology manager (Former Employee), Markapur, APSeptember 20, 2014
it good. dealing with farmers directly. now i am persuing my m.sc agriculture Agronomy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical government atmosphere
Human Resources Specialist (Employee Relations) (Current Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 8, 2014
Great co-workers. Typical federal management for the most part.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
absolutely terrible experience
Food Inspector (Former Employee), TXSeptember 6, 2014
Pros: not many
Cons: short breaks, mandatory overtime on short notice, uneducated, vindictive management
Spend days walking on eggshells because of such a touchy, unstable workforce, each looking for a reason to be offended. Some employees were actually certifiable but the government could not "discriminate" against them to protect the rest of the workforce. Drug free workplace is a joke. Sure the government employees were drug free, we were never checked, – more... but the plants we inspected were full to the top with chemically dependent ex-felons. The very people that America entrusts it's food supply to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
solid work place environment
Information Security Analyst (Former Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: loved working in dc
Cons: goverment employees
was a contractor and learned that the government does know as much as the people under them
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hard worker and will get along with anyone
Lead Maintenance (Current Employee), Fort Simcoe Job CorpsSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: nothing is never the same
Cons: water breaks in the winter
Typical day at work would be take care of grounds, pull up any work orders and complete them which will include things from HVAC to a loose door knob, do weekly and monthly PM `s...
I have learned a lot working here coming from roofing I new about hard work. Things that I learned here is... Water Distribution Certification, HVAC Controls & Air Distribution, – more... and Basic Electricity for the non Electrician.
I have been running this Maintenance shop for 2 years with no help.
The hardest part about this job is getting parts that I ordered.
The enjoyable part about my job is the inter action with the staff and student. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Usda cert
Target Corp (Former Employee), Denton, TXSeptember 3, 2014
inspect fruits an produce all product for damaged miss place unallocated
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Area Technician (Current Employee), Tifton, GASeptember 3, 2014
Great Environment, Great Pay & Learning Experience. I'm not looking to leave this job, just looking for part-time work. I love working for USDA.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked there for about 10 years
Maintenace worker (Former Employee), Orient Point, NYSeptember 2, 2014
Got some good experience there, it was fair to say I picked up some experience in dealing with people there..I was a shop steward for the union, it was more of a figurehead title, the president took care of any greivance problems for any workers..the workload was on the lighter side, I'm more apt to work in the private sector...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Modeler and Analysts (Current Employee), Syracuse, NYAugust 21, 2014
Professors are very knowledgeable. It is a super good place to study and have training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ambitious and goal riven
NATURAL RESOURCES MANAGEMENT ( INTERN) (Former Employee), GyaniAugust 21, 2014
Pros: favours
Cons: overtime
what i have learn is how to run and manage projects sometimes on my own;but my managers help and support me.the hard part of my job is when we deal with the workers they sometimes bring forth questions that are challenging but my superiors jump in and shows me how to handle them and i end up understanding how to handle them.the part i enjoy is going – more... to the field to practically see and do the job and sometimes i help them that lovely. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Hours, Seasonal
PPQ-Aide (Current Employee), Clyde, NYAugust 18, 2014
Pros: working on my own when there is hours
Cons: not enough hours
Seasonal work schedule, there is weeks that I do not work at all.

1 2 3 4 5

About DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

The Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries strives towards a united and prosperous agricultural sector, with the aim – Read more

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Photos