Find companies:
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
325 reviews

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Agricultural Development (Former Employee), Agriculture Development OfficerAugust 6, 2012
Pros: flexible hrs
Cons: no benifits for weeked work hrs
5-6
extension work
good
cooperative
deadlines
talk to people
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Potato Break Student (Former Employee), Wicklow, NBJune 25, 2012
It was a great work place and you learned a lot and everyone was amazing and you could work independently as well. Hours are great as well.

I loved working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
there is always a challenging task,learns new things everyday.
Livestock Meat Inspector - Philippines (Former Employee), P07April 30, 2012
Pros: time management, complete control of time, very independent, report to manager if there is something difficult.
Cons: wages are too low for a specialist.
Worked with civil services,conduct pre slaughter inspections and post mortem inspection of animal carcasses if it passess the standard meat inspection set by the department in order to ensure a safe and clean meat for the the consumers.See to it that all abbatoirs and meat vendors and processors will follow the general rule of the National Government – more... meat inspection act it protocols and procedures are being adhere. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical government atmosphere
Human Resources Specialist (Employee Relations) (Current Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 8, 2014
Great co-workers. Typical federal management for the most part.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
absolutely terrible experience
Food Inspector (Former Employee), TXSeptember 6, 2014
Pros: not many
Cons: short breaks, mandatory overtime on short notice, uneducated, vindictive management
Spend days walking on eggshells because of such a touchy, unstable workforce, each looking for a reason to be offended. Some employees were actually certifiable but the government could not "discriminate" against them to protect the rest of the workforce. Drug free workplace is a joke. Sure the government employees were drug free, we were never checked, – more... but the plants we inspected were full to the top with chemically dependent ex-felons. The very people that America entrusts it's food supply to. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
solid work place environment
Information Security Analyst (Former Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: loved working in dc
Cons: goverment employees
was a contractor and learned that the government does know as much as the people under them
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very hard worker and will get along with anyone
Lead Maintenance (Current Employee), Fort Simcoe Job CorpsSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: nothing is never the same
Cons: water breaks in the winter
Typical day at work would be take care of grounds, pull up any work orders and complete them which will include things from HVAC to a loose door knob, do weekly and monthly PM `s...
I have learned a lot working here coming from roofing I new about hard work. Things that I learned here is... Water Distribution Certification, HVAC Controls & Air Distribution, – more... and Basic Electricity for the non Electrician.
I have been running this Maintenance shop for 2 years with no help.
The hardest part about this job is getting parts that I ordered.
The enjoyable part about my job is the inter action with the staff and student. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Usda cert
Target Corp (Former Employee), Denton, TXSeptember 3, 2014
inspect fruits an produce all product for damaged miss place unallocated
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Area Technician (Current Employee), Tifton, GASeptember 3, 2014
Great Environment, Great Pay & Learning Experience. I'm not looking to leave this job, just looking for part-time work. I love working for USDA.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked there for about 10 years
Maintenace worker (Former Employee), Orient Point, NYSeptember 2, 2014
Got some good experience there, it was fair to say I picked up some experience in dealing with people there..I was a shop steward for the union, it was more of a figurehead title, the president took care of any greivance problems for any workers..the workload was on the lighter side, I'm more apt to work in the private sector...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Modeler and Analysts (Current Employee), Syracuse, NYAugust 21, 2014
Professors are very knowledgeable. It is a super good place to study and have training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ambitious and goal riven
NATURAL RESOURCES MANAGEMENT ( INTERN) (Former Employee), GyaniAugust 21, 2014
Pros: favours
Cons: overtime
what i have learn is how to run and manage projects sometimes on my own;but my managers help and support me.the hard part of my job is when we deal with the workers they sometimes bring forth questions that are challenging but my superiors jump in and shows me how to handle them and i end up understanding how to handle them.the part i enjoy is going – more... to the field to practically see and do the job and sometimes i help them that lovely. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Hours, Seasonal
PPQ-Aide (Current Employee), Clyde, NYAugust 18, 2014
Pros: working on my own when there is hours
Cons: not enough hours
Seasonal work schedule, there is weeks that I do not work at all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job but hard to advance and seasonal
Forestry Technician (Current Employee), Ferron, UTAugust 16, 2014
Pros: decent pay and working in the mountains
Cons: seasonal and hard to advance
a typical day is a lot of hard manual labor, I really enjoyed working out doors and would like to advance but it is hard to do so. most of the employees have been working there for many years and don't plan on leaving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No room for advancement, Don't care about the "little guy"
Biological Science Aid (Current Employee), Bushland, TXAugust 12, 2014
Pros: learning opportunities, work/personal balance
Cons: pay/benefits, management, advancement opportunities
Lots of good learning experiences but there is no room for advancement and the pay is extremely low. The scientist, not all but most, treat the people below them like peons. Just like anything the government has its hand in, it is very inefficient with a lot of unnecessary spending
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Putting my skills and knowledge every day at the job
Plant Protection Quarantine (PPQ) Technician (Former Employee), Carolina PRAugust 12, 2014
Pros: work in an excellent and comforting place
Cons: spend a lot of hours in overtime
A day at work start when I confiscate prohibit material, plants, plant products and pests to the passengers going to the United States. Every baggage was pass to the x-ray machine to view inside their luggage and after we see some fruits we inspected and if they were contaminated, take it to the lab for final determination when I see them to the microscope, – more... find the scientific name and the name of pests or insects that could be contaminating the fruits or plants that they were carrying in the luggage. After I determined the material was contaminated I start the paper work and fill out the forms and refers suspects to a professional for identification and submission. This work increase my knowledge in the field of science. Made it possible to develop more communication skills and work with a great team in the lab area which enjoyed a lot. I don't think it was an impossible or hard part of the job but when I have to look inside the fruit for pests and insects take me a little bit of time but I really enjoy this part of my job. I learned about nature, plants and different pests that exist on our planet. I could learn different methods and tools that will help me in the field of botany and ecology. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working along side students
TECHNICAL OFFICER (Former Employee), Narrogin, WAAugust 10, 2014
Pros: students graduating thecountry life
Cons: away from family long hours s was farming
early starts to set up the day for the students I am always looking to learn new tings as I go along dealing with a wide range f students from all walks of life seeing students graduate after two years at a college was the biggest part for me
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good places to work
Technician (Former Employee), Aguadilla, PRAugust 8, 2014
Pros: 7% cola
Cons: full medical plan
My work is very good and has good benefits. I like it because it gives me the opportunity to develop my abilities and skills. It has good coworkers and good team of supervisors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Cool co-workers though we had hard times in rush times.
Computer Programmer (Current Employee), Quezon City, PhilippinesAugust 7, 2014
I got to work with a typical schedules. Though it's hard for me to wake early, but I see myself seriously working in this company. I've learned so much in this work unlike in my schooling days. The management is quite bad and quite good in terms of rules/policies. I had a cool co-workers to hang with. The hardest part in my job is during rush days. – more... When is about to rush things. The most enjoyable part of my job is when I was traveling in different cities or provinces within the country. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Playing chess
Rice researcher (Former Employee), Minanga Norte, Iguig, CagayanAugust 5, 2014
Pros: stay in
Cons: hands on farming
Daily visits on the different rice researches within the station. Coordinate to the supervisor when there is an occurence of pest.

1 2 3 4 5

About DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE

The Department of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries strives towards a united and prosperous agricultural sector, with the aim – Read more

DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE Photos