Find companies:
DENNYS
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
263 reviews

DENNYS Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dennys was very good to me and the family for a very long time but it was just time for a change.
Kitchen Manager (Former Employee), Calgary, ABApril 20, 2013
A typical day would be me in the kicthen for have the dsy adn me doing other paper work ordering food when needed, talk to the customers.
I learned alot at dennys and i am very proud of that .
Manageemnt was good
Co-workers all look up to me as there older brother and always came to me for advice.
The job wasnt really that hard.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, working independently, working with a great team
Server (Former Employee), Clearwater, FlOctober 28, 2012
Pros: good money not based on hourly rate
Cons: seasonal
\One on one customer relationships, working as part of an amazing team and at the same time working independently, I very much enjoyed the fast pace. Great experience with problem solving.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not so great
Server (Former Employee), Horseheads, NYDecember 22, 2014
I did not enjoy much of my time at Denny's. This being the reason why I left. Due to an unreasonable general manager I was not able to keep a job there and play soccer in college or even go to college for that matter. The day I quit I was demanded to come into work or I would be fired when I had classes all day long, they had my schedule and knew when – more... I had class. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dennys
Server (Current Employee), Boiling Springs, SCDecember 22, 2014
Pros: more tables
Cons: no benifits not alot of guests
some days are really slow they got new managers who changed alot of things, i learned that working as a team is the best way to go, the managers there aint that good but its something i deal with, some of the co workers or lazy and some are team players, the hardest part of the job is sitting there hoping you get people to come in because thats how – more... you make your money, the best time on the job is having tables and being able to talk and listen and share stories everybody is laughing and its a great time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Denny's was a stressful job, but at least it was never boring.
Server (Former Employee), Mount Jackson, VADecember 18, 2014
Pros: gained a lot of experience, made a lot of great friends, got to meet new people everyday
Cons: unprofessional amount of workers
A typical day at Denny’s was by no means boring. It wasn’t uncommon that we would be frighteningly understaffed for weeks on end; the restaurant only had two managers running the place anyway. Days were challenging as a server trying to keep up with all the tables. Ordinary in restaurants servers are assigned a section of tables that they will be responsible – more... for, however we didn’t do that much. Whenever we saw a table we would always try our best to take it, just to make sure everyone was getting waited on. Sadly, sometimes we just couldn’t keep up and there were people who never got served. It wasn’t uncommon for a server to take care of twelve tables all at once, and this can be very overwhelming. I’ve heard from severs of other restaurants that they usually take care of about four tables at once, meaning this job was a bit more stressful than other others. Servers weren’t the only ones under pressure either; the poor kitchen was full of new, inexperienced cooks and was still understaffed too. Whenever it got like this it became obvious that the food was going to come out slow. The kitchen would frequently push food out after 50 minutes to an hour and a half. There was also this rule that we weren’t allowed to have people wait unless every table was occupied. These days became so intense; however they taught me so much. They made me into a better server and taught me how to manage my time in the most effective way possible. My co-workers at Denny's became a large part of my life when I started this job. I would spend around 50 hours a week working and this gave me a significant amount of my time with them. I had gained strong relationships with everyone and we all loved working with one another. We were always able to maintain professional relationships with one another too; keeping Denny's a positive environment to work in. My managers worked really hard in trying to improve conditions at Denny’s, however there were only two of them. They needed help and knew it. However, the district manager never found anyone for the spot. My favorite part of working at this restaurant was having the opportunity to get to meet new people daily while waiting on tables. I enjoyed getting to know their unique stories, especially ones who were just traveling through the area. My least favorite thing about this job was how understaffed we were. We didn’t even have enough dishwashers and this is a 24 hour restaurant. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and excellent work environment
Server and Cashier (Former Employee), Norcross, GADecember 18, 2014
Pros: kids eat free, honord birthdays
A friendly environment. The management is understanding and patient. I learned about team-work, we were appreciated as employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a fun place to work
Dishwasher/Busser (Former Employee), Schenectady, NYDecember 17, 2014
Pros: good place to work
it was a fun work place. every body got alone and worked together.to give the people an good place to eat .all the people I worked with we all spend time together after working hours. the manager is a real good guy. he will work just as hard as every body else
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved
Server and Cashier (Former Employee), Torrance, CADecember 16, 2014
loved working for this company and loved the hour 10 pm to 6 am
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its an okay place to work
Service assistant (Current Employee), Soledad, CADecember 11, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: unprofessional
If you like to wash dishes and get free food then this is the job for you
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Got to meet lots of nice people from Kaufman, customer that is.
Waitress (Former Employee), Terrell, TXDecember 11, 2014
Pros: no free meal, 50 precent off on low cost meals only
Cons: no breaks when we were busy.
Maintained knowledge of current menu itms, garnishes , ingredients preparation methods
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and fast paced work place
Server (Former Employee), Jasper, INDecember 2, 2014
Pros: free food, people, unlimited drinks, tips
Cons: benefits
Never a dull moment working in this place, EVER! There were always people hustling and bustling, and we never closed, I worked night and it was usually hopping from the time i got there til about the time i was leaving. Night shift, it was just you and a manager, so nothing really to complain about there and didn't really work with coworkers except – more... on the weekends, and when i did have a coworker, usually the complaint was side work not being done. The hardest part of the job was picking up the slack from the other coworker you had when side work was not done, the most enjoyable, was getting to meet so many different people and connect with old friends when they came in. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace
Hostess/Server (Former Employee), Burien, WADecember 1, 2014
loved working at dennys very fast pace environment and enjoyed working with my co workers as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place to work ever
Food Server and Cashier (Former Employee), Lawrenceville, NJNovember 27, 2014
great teamwork, fun, friendly, nice people, and mangers are concerned with guest and employee needs!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CAN BE FUN
SERVER/HOST (Current Employee), Salinas, CANovember 21, 2014
Pros: 50% of your meal while working
Cons: ruthless managers
I HAVE WORKED AT 2 DIFFERENT DENNYS AND IN BOTH TAKING A BREAK WAS NOT REALLY ENFORCED. I HAVE WORKED THROUGH COUNTLESS UNPAID BREAKS. UNDER STAFFED MOST OF THE TIME. AND I AM ALWAYS SEEING MANAGEMENT TAKE ADVANTAGE OF THEIR POSITION.
THE HARDEST PART OF THE JOB IS DEALING WITH CUSTOMERS THAT JUST COME IN TO COMPLAIN AND GET A DISCOUNT.
THE MOST ENJOYABLE – more... PART OF THE JOB IS GOING HOME WITH A WALLTE FULL OF MONEY.
FROM THIS JOB I HAVE LEARNED TO BECOME VERY PATIENT. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to work here
Part time in North Richland Hills (Current Employee), North Richland Hills, TXNovember 17, 2014
Pros: 50% on duty, 20% for family
Cons: stupid policies, and irritating employees
Dennys is easy to work for but the relationships are a mine field you have to be careful around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE AND FUN WORK PLACE
Cook/Prep (Former Employee), Federal Way, WANovember 14, 2014
Pros: like a family
I LOVED THE WORK CULTURE AT CHILI`S IT WAS VERY FAMILY STYLED EVERY CO WORKER WAS LIKE EXTENDED FAMILY WE GOT SHIFT MEALS HAD A SOFTBALL TEAM IT WAS GREAT
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Server (Former Employee), Mooresville, NCNovember 10, 2014
Pros: they had a great employee meal plan.
Cons: only thing i didn't like was the fact that there was no healthcare plan.
I walk in the door with a smile. we worked together as a team. I helped out to the fullest of my capabilities. I never argued with any of my coworkers or any of our guests.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
strong and hard working
Hostess/Cashier (Current Employee), Riverside, CAOctober 30, 2014
A day on the job is an okay day for me. Wake up early have to be in by 9am, clock into the computer right when I get to work. Ask the manager what I am assigned to do that specific day if he or she wants to put me as cashier, seating or drinking hostess. As soon I am assigned a job I go straight to work no time wasted with me. The co-workers do love – more... me as being the drink hostess some make comments that I'm better then the last. Only because I'm very fast past. The co-workers and everyone who is apart of the Denny's work place works as a team and I do think that's one of the highlights of the diner cause everyone helps one another. I don't believe there is hard parts about Denny's or any other job. I like to look at the hard parts as challenges and over come that obstacle, therefor if it was to ever reappear I would already know what to do and how to handle it better then the first time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my co workers were awesome
Cook/Dishwasher (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAOctober 29, 2014
Pros: vacation pay, friendly co workers
Cons: open kitchen, healthcare, overworked
It was good work atmosphere,
The co workers were easy to get along with, an made working there fun..
A lot of miss communication amongst managers an issues with favoritism towards senior employees,
The hardest part of this job was taking on the responsibility of more than one job code; especially on the late night shift when I'd be expected to cook – more... my whole shift usually from 10pm until 6/7 am.
and the dishwasher leaves at 2am
Advancement in this job was very difficult for me because it wasn't just based on how many certifications and job codes you acquire.but was also based on being able to handle all job codes an that was overwhelming to me.
The most enjoyable part of being with Denny's was learning more techniques an furthering my knowledge of culinary skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Company, Friendly Enviroment
Waitress (Former Employee), Durango, COOctober 28, 2014
Pros: free lunches, wonderful management
Cons: working with food
This was my first job, and it was a great place to learn about customer service. They trained me well, and helped me become the employee i am today.

1 2 3 4 5