Find companies:
Denny's
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,060 reviews

Denny's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many hours.
Restaurant manager (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 18, 2014
Pros: talking to the guests.
Cons: long hours, no benefits, franchisee treated me like a servent.
A typical day of work would be to check out the entire restaurant and assign work to employees, make sure the restaurant was ready for an inspection from the health department, direct employees to ensure guest satisfaction, write schedules, do weekly inventory, reconcile cash drawers. We got a new franchisee that replaced me with an hourly employee – more... making a lot less than I made. My co-workers were friendly and knowledgable. The hardest part of the job was the long hours and lack of staff. At times I would work 12 hour shifts with no back of house staff. The most enjoyable part was providing good tasting food to the guests. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place too work!
Waitress/Server (Former Employee), Bellmead, TXJuly 17, 2014
Pros: free food!
Cons: pay, but tips helped as well.
I loved working for this company. The manager's were awesome, whenever you needed help they were right there by your side until you understood it fully.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A HARD AND REWARDING PLACE TO WORK
Manager (Current Employee), Kaneohe, HIJuly 16, 2014
Pros: health care, open door policies
Cons: short breaks, hard work
FUN COWORKERS, GREAT MANAGEMENT, CHALLENGING YOUR ABILITY TO WORK WITH OTHERS,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Help you learn and grow in diferent areas
Gerente (Former Employee), Ponce, PRJuly 16, 2014
Pros: free employee lunches, health insurance
It help you grow in different areas on restaurant but also takes a lot of time and efforts to grow in the business. Is very scarified job that require a 24 hour availability do to the fat that has rotary shifts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BUSY DAY AT WORK
Host and Busboy (Current Employee), Placentia, CAJuly 16, 2014
Pros: tips, discount off food
Cons: short breaks, needy coworkers
EVERY MORNING ROUTINE, WOULD CONSIST OF COMING TO A FULL KITCHEN OF DIRTY DISHES AND WSHING THEM ALL BY MYSELF. I LEARNED THAT I CAN HANDLE MOSTLY ANY TYPE OF JOB EVEN IF IT'S NOT MY TYPE OF IDEAL JOB. THE MANAGEMENT WAS AN ALRIGHT TYPE OF MANAGEMENT, THEY DIDNT MANAGE MUCH LET MY COWORKERS DO PRETTY MUCH ANYTHING WHEN FAVORTISIM PLAYS A BIG ROLL. THE – more... HARDEST PART OF THE JOB WAS CLEANING OUT THE KITCHEN AFTER A BUSY RUSH. THE MOST ENJOYABLE PART OF THE DAY WAS CLOCKING OUT TO GO HOME OR THE NOT SO BUSY MORNING AND HAVING TIME TO INTERACT WITH CUSTOMERS. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy place and fun to work at.
Hostess and Server (Former Employee), Perris, CAJuly 16, 2014
Pros: good hours, great customers, good and fun managment.
Cons: no health care. didnt train long enough.
I started off as a Hostess. Took phone orders. Cash transactions. Money drawer balance. Wiped tables and seats. Set tables with clean linens. Served ice water if asked. Located items requested by customers. I learned how to be a server. Got switched to server position in months. I stocked. Received orders and placed orders as well. Cleaned seats and – more... tables. Set condiments and other supplies. Stacked dirty dishes and carried them to kitchen for cleaning. Maintained adequate supplies such as silverware, glasses, dishes and trays. Served Ice Water, Coffee, Fountain drinks, cold and hot Teas and Juices. Management was good. My co-workers were good as well. There really wasn't any hard part about this job. It always went smooth. The most enjoyable part were my customers. Making them happy with their visit at the restaurant and satisfying them with a fast past to get the drinks out to them and as well as getting their food out to the hot. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
becoming a GM quickly and being the best
General Manager (Former Employee), Honolulu, HIJuly 15, 2014
Pros: good money and insurance, advancement was deffenite in the corp denny's
Cons: louisville franchise, wasnt doing so well at the time
24 hour restaurant in Honolulu Hi, making sure staff was on for all stations, it was the third busiest Denny's in the world at the time in a tourist area, so staffing, food, ordering were a must, I did schedules P&L's everything, also had free hand to get entertainment for waiting customers and trying out new things like mimosas at sunrise. I learned – more... how to market for the tourist, and our store won most profitable for the area, best food cost, best labor, and employee retention we won all the contest from Sunkist to Base ball to pie sales, My managers were fantastic. I started out at that store as a service manager, and three months later General Manager the hardest part of the day was knowing that I could be there 24hrs but that only really happened rarely, The most enjoyable part was every thing from the view to the staff and customers. But my husband had an opportunity to go back to the main land, so I transferred to Louisville franchise, It wasn't doing very well, and got bought out after I arrived there, and was in turmoil that particular store was closed right after I left. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was very productive
Cook (Former Employee), Cottonwood, AZJuly 15, 2014
As a team we worked together to maintain customer flow. The managment also participated in work schedule to ensure everything
worked accordingly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love my job
Server (Current Employee), north platteJuly 15, 2014
I love, love, love my job. However, it's incredibly unorganized and incredibly frustrating to work here bcz you never know what to expect. I wish I could afford to continue here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Server (Current Employee), Nashua, NHJuly 13, 2014
Pros: 50% off employee meal
Cons: benefits only offered to full time employeess
Management is great.Customers are fun to serve. Over all good place to work
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first job
Hostess/Cashier (Former Employee), Arvada, COJuly 12, 2014
Pros: interacting with people
Cons: bad management, not enough hours
Denny's was my very first job. It was not my favorite. I was only a hostess there, I tried to move up into becoming a waitress, but the managers wanted me to stay a hostess. So I wanted to find a job where I had room to move up, so I quit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working place.
Dish washer (Former Employee), Delano, CAJuly 11, 2014
Pros: i did enjoy the 50% employees meal.
Cons: i did enjoy also one hour break time and some insurance.
I like to work as usual monday to friday and also work during week ends.I had learned a lot of experience in prioritizing jobs most of the time.The management is good and friendly to its other. And the workers are just doing their best And the hardest part of the job is when it is very busy time.And the most enjoyable part of the job is when you're – more... very busy,you forgot that its time to go home already. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What a blast!
Line Cook (Former Employee), Essington, PAJuly 10, 2014
Pros: free meals
Cons: very hot in the kitchen
This job was fast paced and always kept me on my toes. I enjoyed the atmosphere of a diner setting and learned a lot about food preparation and cooking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hrfghjtrhjsr
Cook (Former Employee), Monroe, MIJuly 10, 2014
Graet enviremnt managment was terrible and food quality is bad
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Manager (Former Employee), Sunnyvale, CAJuly 10, 2014
Fast-paced; enhanced my customer service skills; I enjoyed everyday because of the customers and co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dennys
Cashier/Waitress (Former Employee), Washington, DCJuly 10, 2014
Pros: discounted lunch
Cons: no break for lunch you had to eat and drink and run while you are working. there were no pay rasie
A typical day of work would be to roll silver ware for the next day, greet, take orders, cash out customers, clean down the kitchen after the work day is done. I learned how to hold trays with food and drinks on them. I learned how to deal with rude or nasty customers that are having a bad day. I also learned that customers look for a smile , how friendly – more... you are and your attentiveness to them will all depend on your tip. The hardest part of the job was keeping a smile on your face and not allowing the guest that was having a bad day rub off on you, because you than ruin it for the other guest you service. The most enjoyable part of the job was was working with the staff and management, as well as meeting and greeting new people. It was like a networking experience. I was able to meet new people everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job To Have
Graveyard Shift Server & Unit Aid (Former Employee), Marietta, GAJuly 9, 2014
I loved interacting with clients, fellow colleagues and mgmt. I was not very good at controlling my emotions at this job, which was my downfall. In my latter years, I learned maturity. This was a job where I could have grown with the company and gone far had I been mature enough as I was responsible to take more of an active leadership role.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to begin a waitress esperience
Waitress/Server (Current Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 9, 2014
Fast paced place to work. learned how to work with other better and how to handle a business. competitive co workers some very helpful. cleaning the restaurant on a weekend after a bar rush. best part of job was interacting with new an regular customers an the satisfaction of helping make their dining experience memorable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Server/Hostess (Former Employee), Pembroke Pines, FLJuly 8, 2014
Grave yard shift weekends
a bit hectic but manageable
learned to muti-task
and get things done in a timely matter
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Denny's,Silver Springs,Fl
Manager (Former Employee), Silver Springs, FLJuly 8, 2014
Pros: great work environment
Cons: new manager came
Denny's was the best job I ever had. The employees were great to work with. Everyone knew what was expected of them and showed pride in their work.It was always a fun place to work even when bad things happened.