Find companies:
Denny's
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,019 reviews

Denny's Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Denny's
Hostess, dishwasher. (Former Employee), Bradenton, FLJune 18, 2014
Pros: great discounts on food, great people, fun.
Cons: scrubbing walls and floors etc, being sent home early because too many employees
I enjoyed Dennys because I did different things on my days working. Some things harder then others but I liked it. As a hostess I learned the computer way to put in customers orders, as this was not the way it was done back when I was a waitress, years ago. I liked the managers as they would work with you and help you when you needed it. My co-workers – more... were funny and I got along with all of them, even when things got stressful, we all managed to be ok. Taking the big barrels of garbage out was hard at times because it was so heavy, but a co-worker or a manager would help me. The one thing I liked a lot was you felt like family and could laugh at each other no matter what. Friendly place to work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice co-workers and friendly enviorment
held was a hostess (Former Employee), Pittsburgh, PAJune 18, 2014
I liked helping the customers have a good experience and hoped that they would like to come back.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive.
Hostess/ Waitress (Former Employee), Westminster, MDJune 17, 2014
I would greet customers with a smile and then sit customers where they preferred to sit. I would take their order and give them everything they needed. I suggested anything they may like. I gave them food and beverages and started conversation to make them feel comfortable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place.
Waitress (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COJune 13, 2014
Pros: regular customers
Cons: healthcare, owner and some assistant managers not treating us with respect.
I would arrive at 5:30-5:45am for my 6am shift, side work from previous shift that was not done, I would have to do to make sure restaurant was ready for day shift.

I learned how to work a Point of Sales system.

My immediate manager is a great person, could not of asked for better, the franchise was sold to someone in the Colorado Springs area, was – more... not a good transition.

Co-workers were hard working, day shift was strong, everyone was there for years, and pretty much got along, doesn't happen all the time though.

Hardest part of the job was when regular customers or co-workers passed away. Dealing with customers that no matter what extra mile you went, were not happy.

Most enjoyable is going through regulars having kids and watching them grow, knowing that I can brighten customers day with a smile and conversation. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work
Restaurant Manager/Restaurant General Manager (Current Employee), Texarkana, ARJune 12, 2014
Pros: coworkers, guests, work enviroment
A typical day at work starts with putting the previous shifts numbers into the system, making sure everyone has shown for scheduled shifts, pep talks to ensure a positive atmosphere to work in, counting product, cleaning, prepping and pulling product, assisting in any department needed, etc. I truly enjoy working with the public and seeing new faces – more... often. My co workers are absolutely awesome and make the job more enjoyable, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to gain experience in customer service.
Waitress (Former Employee), Oak Park, ILJune 12, 2014
Pros: you can learn the ropes as you go along.
Cons: hours i had to work conflicted with school.
A typical work at Denny's included setting up the tables, cleaning stations, greeting customers, taking orders, serving and sometimes prepping food. At close, time marking food and cleaning up is all that entailed. Management was great except with sympathizing with school schedule. The workers were great, helpful and easy to get along with. The hardest – more... part of the job was accurately carrying the heavy serving trays the way you were supposed to. The most enjoyable part of the job was setting up the food, serving it and getting to know some of the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place with opportunities for advancement
Volunteer (Former Employee), Richmond, VAJune 11, 2014
This Job helped to further my customer service and communication skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was alright to work there but felt so uncomfortable and nothing was done about it
Waitress (Former Employee), GREAT SOUTH ROAD, Manukau CityJune 10, 2014
Pros: free preveges when we earned moer then we were suppost to earned
Cons: not enough hours
i was a really good enviroment to work. but i felt like i was being bullied to do all the other workers jobs after hours that i dont get paid for...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced atmosphere
Server (Former Employee), Schaumburg, ILJune 10, 2014
Pros: tips
Cons: management
I typically worked the night shifts. The manager that was normally on duty was awful. After going to the owner with all of the issues, he failed to resolve anything. Great customers, always a fun atmosphere to work at. Very long shifts, but I loved it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun co-workers and productive business
Server/Cashier (Former Employee), Redding, CAJune 8, 2014
Pros: food discounts, tips
Cons: physically demanding, rude people
A typical day consists of greeting guests and taking their orders. You take food and beverage orders, input them into the point-of-sale system and send them to the cook. Then while your food is being cooked you take care of other guests, handle cash, and prepare stuff for your orders. You also are to maintain customer satisfaction with multiple tables – more... at a time. Most of the co-workers are great and easy to get along with. The hardest part about the job is sometimes the people and the working conditions. But the best part about the job is the people as well. You meet people of all different backgrounds. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive, all day team work, stability and oppurtunities
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Denver, COJune 6, 2014
Pros: free lunch and promotions oppurtunities
Cons: health care, vacations
being an assisstant manager at dennys was a very good and productive experiance for me. I am a very sociable and supportive individual, i love learning new things,expecially when i can utilize them to motorvate my employees. Through some hard times i learned to seek the positive cause we will always indure stress, using it positivly is what makes the – more... differance. i loved my crew there we shared alot of very good times together – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambitious, Level Centered Managers
Server/Waitress (Current Employee), Maywood, CAJune 6, 2014
Pros: meeting many business people
Cons: no teamwork, no bonuses, no benefits
managers really do not care about their employees, even less for their restaurants and customers. a typical day is non stop work but not due to many customers. it is mostly due to the pressure of health inspection coming in or from managers themselves. a typical day usually consists of no team work. most of the employees do not get along with each other, – more... including management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Diner Style restaurant
Server/Cook (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJune 5, 2014
A typical day of work included greeting, and serving guests from all over the world. The hardest part of the job was working hard and not receiving tips sometimes. The most enjoyable part of this job was seeing the guests walk out happy and with a smile.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work :)
Expo/Cashier (Current Employee), Washington, DCJune 5, 2014
A typical day at work is just attending and finishing things up to get the job done.
I learned how to multitask extremely better and It's great.
Management skills are awesome .
My co-workers were easy going and willing to get things done.
Hard part ...none
getting things done greatly
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow graveyard shift but busy weekends
Server (Former Employee), Sacramento, CAJune 5, 2014
Management wasnt the best, the crew was amazing and the customers were even better. Serving them was a pleasure
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GOOD
Kitchen Manager (Current Employee), Northfield, NJJune 5, 2014
been working here for years. i was a cook and became manager. the customers could be nice. but everyone is different
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced friendly workplace.
Dishwasher/Host (Former Employee), Janesville, WIJune 4, 2014
Pros: great co-workers and very hard working managers.
Cons: very stressful while we were busy.
Typically the day started off slow and business progressed over the course of the day. I learned how to work well with others and work very well under pressure. The management was very hard working and were never lazy or nowhere to be found. My co-workers were easy going and very hard working with great work ethic all around. The hardest part of my – more... day was the early morning rushes because the whole restaurant would be full and we would have an entire lobby of customers waiting to eat. I enjoyed being able to get along with every single person I worked with and never have a single confrontation with any co-workers or managers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place had its moments.
Waitress/Cashier (Former Employee), Nampa, IDJune 4, 2014
Pros: we got food.
Cons: it took .95 out of our salary an hour, made no money
At my specific location we had to much drama, and management getting in the middle of it instead of trying to help solve the problems. I loved my job, but I am not a drama kind of person so I left the situation and moved to start my life over.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Restaurant
PIC (Former Employee), Cortland, NYJune 3, 2014
Used to be a great place to work. I like a lot of the people I worked with, Management is needs of a change .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good service and good food
Dishwasher/Prep Cook (Current Employee), Billings, MTJune 2, 2014
Pros: good food, friendley servers
Cons: do not know of any
I have had excellent food and service when I have eaten at your restaurant. There is always a friendly atomosphere.