Denny's Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Canadian work environment
cook (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC6 September 2017
I enjoyed the Canadian work environment and I learned the Canadian work culture as well as communication skills with the people have different backgrounds and cultures.
Pros
close to my home
Cons
not related to my accounting career
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
General review
Kitchen Aide (Former Employee) –  Brooks, AB. Canada5 September 2017
I worked here to get some kitchen training. It was a part-time work and I thoroughly enjoyed the time I worked at Denny's. The health benefit was great. I left the job to move back to the States.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Server and Host (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 August 2017
A productive place to work. Employees are all good and easy to work with. A busy restaurant. Management listens to each employees concern. A wonderful place to bring your to treat your family. Promotions are good based on customers satisfaction.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and exciting, different
Server (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 August 2017
I met a lot of great people. It was a very fulfilling job. Due to health reasons I could not continue there. I served customers. I was hostess and server. I made salads, desserts, got drinks, took orders, cleaned, counted cash, served alcohol.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good environment
Dishwasher/Food Preparation (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC18 August 2017
i have been work at Denney's for few months but i like working environment which is friendly, cooperating, fun, better team environment, and good management.
Pros
good environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
opening team
SERVER (Current Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB14 August 2017
dennys is awesome. I had great time working there. the training is really good. management was good, very nice, very accommodating in terms of staff time availability.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Making tips
Waiter (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON10 August 2017
Seeing repeated customer asking for you and willing to stay in line for your area. Always made me feel I have accomplish a great job. Always asked to move up to management from part time from every job I work at part time over the year. Help ustomer and seeing there smile made me feel great.
Pros
tips where great
Cons
unhappy customer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place
Restaurant Manager (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC5 August 2017
Very nice place to work. Job guarantee is there. THEY FOLLOW OPEN DOOR POLICY. As a manger you are required to work 10 hours a day but you enjoy that as you have good staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast workplace.
Hostess and Expedite (Former Employee) –  Belleville, ON31 July 2017
A typical day at work is really busy. I've learned many things such as greeting and seating customers. Many employees working at once. Teamwork based culture. The hardest part of the job is dealing with unexpected maintenance issues or failures.The most enjoyable part of the job is interacting with new people.
Pros
discounted food
Cons
short shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not bad place to work
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Cranbrook, BC25 July 2017
how to wash dishes
clean the dishes fast for the cokes
the hardest part was working on asaturday or sunday mad house
working with the people
what i leared that im not a good dishwaser
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and enjoyable atmosphere
Host (Former Employee) –  Canada, BC25 July 2017
Overall, good work atmosphere, friendly co- workers. The management is fair to everyone and tries their best to accommodate everyones needs and best suit their availability.
Pros
50% 0ff food during breaks
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quick Paced; Enjoyable
Host(ess) (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB24 July 2017
Denny's was always a great place to be. Especially when everyone was on the same page and was a really well built team. Managers were always available to talk, even if it was about personal lives. Every work day ended and began with everyone in a great mood.
Pros
50% off food while on shift; 20% off while off shift
Cons
very busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced high volume business environment
Restaurant Manager (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC15 July 2017
Managing day to day operations at 24 hours restaurant.
Payroll management of a multi skilled task force.
Inventory & Par stock management.
Challenges with spontaneous nature of business.
Supportive company with PR documentation.
Pros
Flexible schedules.
Cons
Disorganized & spontaneous operations
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review by Dustin
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB13 July 2017
Denny's was my first non work experience paid employment, outside of costumer service. Denny's was a wonderful job I learned many things and worked with a highly diverse culture of workers, it was amazing.

it had excellent work place structure. my tasks were by a day to day basis the same. the work was tough, it was extremely fast paced requiring me to be fast and flexible. I was not very good at the start and required a lot of help. however that kind of job made it easy to succeed at many of the other jobs that I would do in the future.

a typical day consisted of bussing tables washing dishes, washrooms and many other things listed and non listed.
Pros
free meal per shift, stong compentent co workers, steady hours.
Cons
exteamly fast paced.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not impressed
Hostess, Red Deer (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB12 July 2017
Working here I did not have the best experience as my co-worker which was a male did make me feel uncomfortable in my work area, not directly so i did not make complaints. Instead family advised me reassign to avoid more trouble and continue to seek new employment opportunities.
Pros
free meals
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a family friendly environment
Hostess and Server, 24hr (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 July 2017
i greeted guest , sat them to there tsbles most days, other days i was the server took orders and served food and drinks made sure the customers were satisfied
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Server (Former Employee) –  Penticton, BC5 July 2017
I had a good experience working at Denny's. The management in the restaurant are awesome, however, I do not care for one of the higher up managers as it seems like he does not care about the well being of the employees under him, seems like he is solely worried about the labor costs.
Pros
team D and staff discounts
Cons
Lack of communication at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent management , benson st location
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON4 July 2017
The general manager is organized, well mannered, fair and honest. Confident in his ability to run a team and complete tasks. It is very comfortable to work for someone who is taking good care of the workplace you are in.

Benson street location
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and casual workplace
Server/Waitress (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC3 July 2017
greeting and serving with guests in a "family" type environment on a day to day basis.
learned how to manage the till, work independently and how to work in a fast paced environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good job
Dishwasher/Kitchen Helper (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 June 2017
i started to wash dishes then i did hosting than i started to cook i didnt mind the job it had its moments of bad days and good days i learned that i needed to work harder
Pros
free food
Cons
always wet
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Denny's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 4,475 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4