Denny's Employee Reviews

Found 212 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i will never work here again. nor will i eat here
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON28 June 2017
owner at the time was extremely rude. i was pregnant and had to take a weekend off due to morning sickness and the smell of eggs didnt help, he proceeded to tell me that i must be caring one sick baby.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place for a job
Hostess/Busser (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB26 June 2017
The job at Denny's was sloppy and I couldn't say I would want to work there again or eat there again. Working there had changed my outlook completely on eating there.
Pros
Free drinks
Cons
The employees weren't friendly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing staff but varying hours
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON24 June 2017
It was a fun time working here because of the staff everyone was very nice and welcoming, but the hours were never set and you could be sent home after 3 hour shifts sometimes.
Pros
free lunches sometimes
Cons
no set hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was fun to work there
Hostess/ Server (Former Employee) –  Greater Toronto Area, ON20 June 2017
There isn't much to say. The Mississauga Denny's has a racist worker on the night shift. No room for advancement depending on what you are doing there.Brampton Denny's is much better.
Cons
Night hours mess with your cycle
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learned about breakfast menus.
Cook (Current Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB13 June 2017
Friendly management staff.
Flexible time mangement regarding the scheduling.
Very Cleaned Restaurant inside and out.
Good tips
Very bussy during weekends.
Pros
tips
Cons
flexible time schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing staff and a good work enviroment
Host/Bus (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB7 June 2017
Was a good first job, learned a lot of things from my coworkers and always loved how the place was at a fast pace. There was always something for you to do and the people were always friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work!!!
Waitress/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC31 May 2017
They are so unorganized with everything. The literally put the schedule out the night before and it changes daily. The managers just sit in their office and they provide zero help, as they have no clue what they are doing at all. They also take time of your time cards. They will also take a break off your time card even if you didn't take one. They always are short staffed when they schedule, causing the waitresses to be running around non stop. Overall this is not a good place to work at all. There is no benefits at all and there is always shady things going on. The managers also say inappropriate things while working about costumers which is really unprofessional. They also just disappear and go for hour long smoke breaks in the middle of shift. Very unprofessional.
Pros
Free meal ( If you ever actually get a break)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad managment
Server (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 May 2017
the work itself is easy and simple but the management and the employees are rude and it's not a good place to work, tips are good though and you can move up in the company
Pros
job advancement
Cons
rude manager rude owner
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Denny's is really a fun place and all the staff and management is very cooperative
Cook, Kitchen Staff (Current Employee) –  Delta, BC19 May 2017
Everyday is a learning process. Always busy place for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Best co-workers at workplace. Management is always supportive and ready to lead your hand whenever we need them.
Pros
They always reward us at occasion example Christmas and mother's day
Cons
less hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very good
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Whitby, ON16 May 2017
Denny's is an interesting place to work. A lot of the other employees don't enjoy it there and i find that the management team favours coloured people over Caucasian people.
Pros
none
Cons
Long hours and no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prefer not commenting
kitchen (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 May 2017
not a very good overall experience, lots of ppl quitting, not feeling respected,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A strange work environment
Server (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC7 May 2017
I work at the denny's in Downtown, so i get an array of characters. Unfortunately, management finds it difficult to kick out troublemakers and guarantee shifts. I found my working hours would increase during events, then plummet down to nothing the following week.
Pros
half off food
Cons
24 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this job.
Server (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK2 May 2017
Would work at another dennys. Anyday! Was the best place I have ever worked at. It is too bad I had to move provinces. Maybe one day get another job at dennys or a place like it.
Pros
Constant
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Job
HOST (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON30 April 2017
-Helps your time management
-Pushes you to the edge with constant workflow
- really long hours, judging that it is a 24 hour flowing workload and its quite repetitive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temporary
Host / Kitchen Help (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON29 April 2017
Served as a host as I would welcome and guide people to their seats. I
collected and washed dishes as I also took care of the garbage at the
end of every shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy tasks
Server and Hostess (Current Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC25 April 2017
Not bad for starting place, not the best place to work at but if it's close to your house then it's a convenient plus easy going place to work. Average tips but it's individual which makes it good for servers.
Pros
Individual tips
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working with others.
Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB24 April 2017
worked hard during job and never got complaint from anybody. workplace was also good and staff members were also helpful. the hardest part of job was working for less hours during a day . the most enjoyable part of job was working under a professional and getting knowledge about different dishes .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best experience
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB12 April 2017
Its fun working in denny's. My skills were improved and learn some smart techniques which were time saving. I worked hard than yesterday that helped me to built a good rapo
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer focused service
Server and Hostess (Former Employee) –  Vernon, BC7 April 2017
Very welcoming environment with customer-focused service. I learned how to serve and host in a fast-paced work place, how to work hard and show commitment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love the people there
Server/ Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 April 2017
It a very busy restaurant i like my co-workers
custemers are great.
I can always go back to Denny`s it`s like going back to your family
my manager was the best.
Pros
half off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Denny's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 3,700 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4

CEO Approval

72%
1,115 ratings
Add your rating