Denny's Employee Reviews

Found 205 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad managment
Server (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 May 2017
the work itself is easy and simple but the management and the employees are rude and it's not a good place to work, tips are good though and you can move up in the company
Pros
job advancement
Cons
rude manager rude owner
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Denny's is really a fun place and all the staff and management is very cooperative
Cook, Kitchen Staff (Current Employee) –  Delta, BC19 May 2017
Everyday is a learning process. Always busy place for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Best co-workers at workplace. Management is always supportive and ready to lead your hand whenever we need them.
Pros
They always reward us at occasion example Christmas and mother's day
Cons
less hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very good
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Whitby, ON16 May 2017
Denny's is an interesting place to work. A lot of the other employees don't enjoy it there and i find that the management team favours coloured people over Caucasian people.
Pros
none
Cons
Long hours and no breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A strange work environment
Server (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC7 May 2017
I work at the denny's in Downtown, so i get an array of characters. Unfortunately, management finds it difficult to kick out troublemakers and guarantee shifts. I found my working hours would increase during events, then plummet down to nothing the following week.
Pros
half off food
Cons
24 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this job.
Server (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK2 May 2017
Would work at another dennys. Anyday! Was the best place I have ever worked at. It is too bad I had to move provinces. Maybe one day get another job at dennys or a place like it.
Pros
Constant
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Job
HOST (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON30 April 2017
-Helps your time management
-Pushes you to the edge with constant workflow
- really long hours, judging that it is a 24 hour flowing workload and its quite repetitive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
temporary
Host / Kitchen Help (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON29 April 2017
Served as a host as I would welcome and guide people to their seats. I
collected and washed dishes as I also took care of the garbage at the
end of every shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy tasks
Server and Hostess (Current Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC25 April 2017
Not bad for starting place, not the best place to work at but if it's close to your house then it's a convenient plus easy going place to work. Average tips but it's individual which makes it good for servers.
Pros
Individual tips
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working with others.
Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB24 April 2017
worked hard during job and never got complaint from anybody. workplace was also good and staff members were also helpful. the hardest part of job was working for less hours during a day . the most enjoyable part of job was working under a professional and getting knowledge about different dishes .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best experience
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB12 April 2017
Its fun working in denny's. My skills were improved and learn some smart techniques which were time saving. I worked hard than yesterday that helped me to built a good rapo
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer focused service
Server and Hostess (Former Employee) –  Vernon, BC7 April 2017
Very welcoming environment with customer-focused service. I learned how to serve and host in a fast-paced work place, how to work hard and show commitment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I love the people there
Server/ Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 April 2017
It a very busy restaurant i like my co-workers
custemers are great.
I can always go back to Denny`s it`s like going back to your family
my manager was the best.
Pros
half off
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced work environment
Cook (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON1 April 2017
The work is fast paced, challenging, and at times, overwhelming. But its a restaurant so its to be expected. Sometimes you dont get breaks its that busy. The tips are great which makes up for some of the downsides.

Would still recommend this job!
Pros
Good tips
Cons
Long hours on your feet in the heat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON29 March 2017
It has a great location next to movie theaters and other restaurant's. Very clean and organized. staff and management very friendly and knowledgeable customers are friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
hostess and expo manager (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON29 March 2017
Denny's it self is really a nice working place with a comfortable and learning environment. The staff and management was very supportive in every manner.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job, with great discounts
Food server (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 March 2017
I worked at dennys for about two months and had to resign due to school. It was a fun job.Id start work at about and end at 4. The workplace had a great atmosphere.
Pros
Great benefits
Cons
Nothin
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive work place
Host/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB27 March 2017
best part about working was learning new things such as, taking to go orders through phone or in person. Very flexible hours where given. What i enjoyed at dennys at the most was the people customer, and management staff was very nice and very helpful. If ever i wantd to learn they would help i served customers with great welcoming greeting when walked into the restaurant. what i didnt like about the job was i was attending high school at the moment and was a bit far for me to come to work but i really loved working at dennys its was like we were all a big family.
Pros
free lunch meal/dinner meal
Cons
Far from school and home
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, family restaurant
Restaurant Hostess (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB14 March 2017
Lots of guest interaction, even as a host, never a shortage of odd jobs or duties to perform. You can gain experience running food and drinks, and busing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place to start out in
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB14 March 2017
It is a good place to startat but if making g a career then one has to be able to handle every and all kinds of characters at any time day or night...
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Dishwasher and Hostess (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB10 March 2017
They were very willing to employ me and give extra shifts when needed, as well as being completely flexible with my second job as a housekeeper in the mornings. I learned how to be a hostess, one of the few jobs in the service industry I hadn't ever held. Typical day at work was very upbeat and fast-paced, especially during the dinner rush. Started at 4pm and normally finished my shift around 1am. Most enjoyable part of the job was my clients and coworkers, everyone was very friendly and got along very well and we very rarely had any issues or complaints.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Denny's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 3,505 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5