Denny's Employee Reviews

Found 220 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced high volume business environment
Restaurant Manager (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC15 July 2017
Managing day to day operations at 24 hours restaurant.
Payroll management of a multi skilled task force.
Inventory & Par stock management.
Challenges with spontaneous nature of business.
Supportive company with PR documentation.
Pros
Flexible schedules.
Cons
Disorganized & spontaneous operations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not impressed
Hostess, Red Deer (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB12 July 2017
Working here I did not have the best experience as my co-worker which was a male did make me feel uncomfortable in my work area, not directly so i did not make complaints. Instead family advised me reassign to avoid more trouble and continue to seek new employment opportunities.
Pros
free meals
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a family friendly environment
Hostess and Server, 24hr (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 July 2017
i greeted guest , sat them to there tsbles most days, other days i was the server took orders and served food and drinks made sure the customers were satisfied
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Server (Former Employee) –  Penticton, BC5 July 2017
I had a good experience working at Denny's. The management in the restaurant are awesome, however, I do not care for one of the higher up managers as it seems like he does not care about the well being of the employees under him, seems like he is solely worried about the labor costs.
Pros
team D and staff discounts
Cons
Lack of communication at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent management , benson st location
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Kingston, ON4 July 2017
The general manager is organized, well mannered, fair and honest. Confident in his ability to run a team and complete tasks. It is very comfortable to work for someone who is taking good care of the workplace you are in.

Benson street location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and casual workplace
Server/Waitress (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC3 July 2017
greeting and serving with guests in a "family" type environment on a day to day basis.
learned how to manage the till, work independently and how to work in a fast paced environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good job
Dishwasher/Kitchen Helper (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB28 June 2017
i started to wash dishes then i did hosting than i started to cook i didnt mind the job it had its moments of bad days and good days i learned that i needed to work harder
Pros
free food
Cons
always wet
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i will never work here again. nor will i eat here
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Whitby, ON28 June 2017
owner at the time was extremely rude. i was pregnant and had to take a weekend off due to morning sickness and the smell of eggs didnt help, he proceeded to tell me that i must be caring one sick baby.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place for a job
Hostess/Busser (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB26 June 2017
The job at Denny's was sloppy and I couldn't say I would want to work there again or eat there again. Working there had changed my outlook completely on eating there.
Pros
Free drinks
Cons
The employees weren't friendly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing staff but varying hours
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON24 June 2017
It was a fun time working here because of the staff everyone was very nice and welcoming, but the hours were never set and you could be sent home after 3 hour shifts sometimes.
Pros
free lunches sometimes
Cons
no set hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was fun to work there
Hostess/ Server (Former Employee) –  Greater Toronto Area, ON20 June 2017
There isn't much to say. The Mississauga Denny's has a racist worker on the night shift. No room for advancement depending on what you are doing there.Brampton Denny's is much better.
Cons
Night hours mess with your cycle
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learned about breakfast menus.
Cook (Current Employee) –  Lloydminster, AB13 June 2017
Friendly management staff.
Flexible time mangement regarding the scheduling.
Very Cleaned Restaurant inside and out.
Good tips
Very bussy during weekends.
Pros
tips
Cons
flexible time schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing staff and a good work enviroment
Host/Bus (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB7 June 2017
Was a good first job, learned a lot of things from my coworkers and always loved how the place was at a fast pace. There was always something for you to do and the people were always friendly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work!!!
Waitress/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC31 May 2017
They are so unorganized with everything. The literally put the schedule out the night before and it changes daily. The managers just sit in their office and they provide zero help, as they have no clue what they are doing at all. They also take time of your time cards. They will also take a break off your time card even if you didn't take one. They always are short staffed when they schedule, causing the waitresses to be running around non stop. Overall this is not a good place to work at all. There is no benefits at all and there is always shady things going on. The managers also say inappropriate things while working about costumers which is really unprofessional. They also just disappear and go for hour long smoke breaks in the middle of shift. Very unprofessional.
Pros
Free meal ( If you ever actually get a break)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad managment
Server (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON23 May 2017
the work itself is easy and simple but the management and the employees are rude and it's not a good place to work, tips are good though and you can move up in the company
Pros
job advancement
Cons
rude manager rude owner
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Denny's is really a fun place and all the staff and management is very cooperative
Cook, Kitchen Staff (Current Employee) –  Delta, BC19 May 2017
Everyday is a learning process. Always busy place for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Best co-workers at workplace. Management is always supportive and ready to lead your hand whenever we need them.
Pros
They always reward us at occasion example Christmas and mother's day
Cons
less hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very good
Hostess (Current Employee) –  Whitby, ON16 May 2017
Denny's is an interesting place to work. A lot of the other employees don't enjoy it there and i find that the management team favours coloured people over Caucasian people.
Pros
none
Cons
Long hours and no breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prefer not commenting
kitchen (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 May 2017
not a very good overall experience, lots of ppl quitting, not feeling respected,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A strange work environment
Server (Current Employee) –  Vancouver, BC7 May 2017
I work at the denny's in Downtown, so i get an array of characters. Unfortunately, management finds it difficult to kick out troublemakers and guarantee shifts. I found my working hours would increase during events, then plummet down to nothing the following week.
Pros
half off food
Cons
24 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this job.
Server (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK2 May 2017
Would work at another dennys. Anyday! Was the best place I have ever worked at. It is too bad I had to move provinces. Maybe one day get another job at dennys or a place like it.
Pros
Constant
Cons
Non
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Denny's. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 3,800 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4