Dematic Employee Reviews

Showing all 31 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technical Installations Supervisor
Mechanical Engineer (Former Employee) –  United KingdomNovember 4, 2015
Responsible for a team to carry out daily installation of specific projects. Projects changing to different site/country at times.
Supervise technical installation support on site.
Provide Mechanical Engineering expertise and technical advice to my team.
Coordinate team and site schedule.
Responsible for coordinating and planning daily installations/maintenance and repair activities.
Responsible for health and safety acts on site.
Maintain good client relationships at all times
.
Pros
Paid breaks
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a fun place to work,they want dematic to be your life,not your family
Powder Coat Painter (Current Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIOctober 17, 2015
I've worked at dematic for almost 30yrs, I enjoyed my first 25yrs It was a great place to work, then new management took over, and in my opinion there running the place into the ground. they built a factory in mexico, I'm guessing 1 yr from now they will be doing business from there.
Pros
pizza lunches twice a year
Cons
mandatory saturdays and sundays
Was this review helpful?Yes12No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
SENIOR FINANCE ASSISTANT - A/R + A/P (Former Employee) –  Banbury, PAOctober 5, 2015
Fun work place with supportive management. Decent amount of red tape and politics,but this is expected of a big company.
Was this review helpful?YesNo5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical old fashioned tech company
Software Engineer (Current Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJune 12, 2015
- 25% Travel (Hardest part of the job)
- Not the best place to develop skills
- Easy to move up in the company
- Friendly co-workers and good management
Was this review helpful?Yes6No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great start
Manufacturing Manager (Current Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIApril 6, 2015
I thoroughly enjoyed working there. It was a family business, but the ownership of running your own business taught me a lot to take responsibility and get ahead in life.
Was this review helpful?YesNo8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance
Program manager (Former Employee) –  grand Rapids, MichiganApril 1, 2015
Decent salary but long hours and lots of travel. No real understanding that people have a life outside of work. Rules arbitrarily applied
Good benefits
Pros
good benefits
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management. Unreliable job securtity
Layout Welder (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIMarch 30, 2015
Outsourcing work to mexico, mandating people work weekends for "posible work". over the top management and safety crew, placed cameras everywhere. No respect for employees or their personal space.
Was this review helpful?Yes10No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
logistics facility for Cat.
Facility Services Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Chillicothe, ILMarch 18, 2015
working in the maintenance dept. means that a typical day here is usually gone before you know it. I have acquired some new knowledge of cranes and conveyors since I have been here. most all employee's are good people here in the facility. the management here needs flushed out and replaced but hey that's why there are new jobs out there for us to find and move into.
Cons
short lunches and breaks.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Logistics company with lion share of market
Mechanical Systems Engineer (Current Employee) –  New Berlin, WIMarch 15, 2015
Dematic is a growing company and expanding quickly. They are becoming at global company in the logistics market and offer great job security. There is 25% travel and good compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNo5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place to work
Assembler I (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJanuary 26, 2015
Dematic is a great place to work and It also help you in many areas to improve yourself.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No12

Want to know more about Dematic?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Manufacturing Operator (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIJanuary 15, 2015
I was a production worker who operated varies machines. You were excepted to run 100% although I did not hit the goals everyday. I was never written up for a lack of production or was I ever written up for anything including Attendance. I worked at the company for eighteen years an made friends out of my supervisors for they knew I was a dependable worker who put his best foot forward.
Pros
good bosses, execellent employees
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes3No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work for advanced assembler.
Assembler/ Fitter (Current Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIOctober 30, 2014
This job position always made me do better and opened my eyes to farther my education.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe work envirament
CNC Operator (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIOctober 26, 2014
I really enjoyed what I was doing I felt like I was making a difference. I enjoyed the safe environment. I always make sure that I work safe. Learning to work a CNC machine was easy because I had a lead man that new a lot about the machines show me how to work them. Dematice has a great friendly work environment.
Pros
excelent pay
Cons
work 7 days straight
Was this review helpful?Yes3No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
layout welder (Current Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIOctober 17, 2014
it was a good place to work for they employed me for three years I cant complain about the insurance. the only thing I don't like is the work load is not steady year-round meaning I was laid off twice.
Was this review helpful?YesNo4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for, They rarely ever run out of work
lead man/Installer (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIOctober 12, 2014
100% traveling job as an installer, Mobile tool trailers, long hours, safe fast pace work environment.
Pros
paid gas, hourly job to job, great weekly perdeim, great beinifets
Cons
100%travel away from family to long
Was this review helpful?Yes1No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job has good pay but is traveling all the time so theres no family interactions.
Laborer (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MIAugust 1, 2014
good pay but is traveling all the time so there is not family time.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mechanical installer
Mechanical installer (Former Employee) –  Hebron, KYJuly 31, 2014
Learn so Much that I am gladly to say nice working place and love the people in there they are energetic and hard working people
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was long hours and not always enough work to keep everyone busy. So there was a lot of down time,and everyone was required to stay there.
INSTALLATION MECHANIC (Former Employee) –  Sutherland,Virginia (Walmart Distribution Center)May 26, 2014
Long days/nights

Learned about conveyor belt systems

Management was not the greatest, could of been a lot better.

Co-workers all worked well together, but did not speak English.

The hardest part of the job was mandatory being there when there was nothing at all to do, and waiting hours for deliveries or other trades. I thought it was a waste of company money and time.

Most enjoyable part of the job is when there was plenty of work to do, and the days/nights flew by.
Pros
paid breaks/lunch breaks
Cons
long days/nights 6 days a week, with lots of down time. too much man power, not enough work.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard Working enviornment
Gravity Conveyer Assembler (Current Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MINovember 6, 2013
A good place to work, especially if you love working overtime and a fast paced work enviornment.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A dynamic and well managed business.
Senior Administrator and Purchasing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Banbury, ENGSeptember 11, 2013
A very well structured and organised business as expected from the efficiencies of a German company.
A highly skilled work-force enabled competition for the best tenders.
Pros
a well structured and progressive business.
Cons
warehouse moving off-site
Was this review helpful?Yes5No16

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 31 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture