Find companies:
DELTA BEVERAGES
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
31 reviews

DELTA BEVERAGES Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very demanding work place
Millwright Technician (Former Employee), HarareMarch 13, 2014
Pros: monthly beverage allocation
Cons: unpaid overtime
* Every day is a new day with fresh targets, more demands and you need to excel in all your duties.
*Do things right the first time
*Management is very demanding and supportive
*Co-workers are supportive, they help one another and carry each others burdens
*Hardest part of the job......to be expected to complete a job without spares
*Seeing the results – more... of your work and things working smoothly – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working and keen in learning new technologies
Line Electrician (Current Employee), Bulawayo, ZimbabweFebruary 19, 2014
Installation work of a 42000c/h returnable container bottling lines from Krones.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe workplace that values the employees safety around the plant
laboratory assistant (Current Employee), BulawayoJanuary 20, 2014
Pros: free beverage coupons at the end of the month
Cons: unpredictable working hours
The day starts with a quality meeting going through the previous days processes and quality scores. it will then go through the days activities and responsibilities of individuals. Senior chemist is available for any queries with testing methods or results out of specifications if co workers are unable to help. interaction with management is minimal – more... and will only happen if there is a crisis that junior staff is unable to take care of.
Working in quality assurance laboratory makes you realise that teamwork is very important as you get to deal with various areas in the plant. The hardest part of the job will have to be when there is a parameter that is difficult to fix and you get department heads that would want to still push the product even if quality parameters are out of specifications but as a quality assurance analyst it results in possible conflict if the issue is not handled cautiously. Enjoyable time of the day for me when you get your batch of product being released with all parameters within required specification, again there is the tea break which is 10 minutes long and us as laboratory staff get to interact more on a social level to distract a little from a hectic work day – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, strict and well mannered workplace
Boilermaker (Former Employee), BulawayoJanuary 13, 2014
Pros: subsidised lunch, free tea, free laundry
Cons: long hours, polluted work environment
Wielding being an everyday activity. On busy days like Fridays where most jobs have to be closed down, elevated work were the most challenging. Management were strict on downtime on machines when there is a breakdown. Fastness and accuracy has to be taken note of. Communication on every activity you do was important. Work colleagues were very important – more... to me for help, ideas and important notices. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a good firm with high professionalism levels
Resident Account Developer (Current Employee), Mutare Zimbabwe (Manicaland Povince )December 21, 2013
Pros: provision for free lunch was there
Cons: healthcare was provided we were given health schemes
Each day was a learning experience new challenges popped up but thanks to the great teamwork spirit that we had we managed to overcome .My typical day involved checking sales performance against set daily targets and finding ways to reach targets for the following day ,this way archived through ensuring good preselling ,100% brand visibility in the – more... market, handling customer complaints .The enjoyable part was when we conducted Sales promotions in trade .Difficult part was that at times sales figures could not come out as per plan due to unseen forces. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Maintenance Planner (Former Employee), HarareDecember 18, 2013
Pros: free lunches, teas and adequate ppe. a zero harm culture
Cons: inadequate remuneration
A place to be when one has a sense of learning more and advancing as an individual in an environment of totally fun to be with co-workers. The organisation has a policy of enabling everyone and all who want to do more and rise in their different feilds. The job is made easy through an enabling enviroment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Technical ,hardworking and result driven
Fitter and turner (Current Employee), HarareDecember 18, 2013
To be, highly an achievement driven and results oriented Engineering expert who understands the dynamics of
change. Be able to influence and adapt to the engineering environment through continuous learning. And also to find
a challenging job that will enable me to exploit my skills, be innovative and make a positive impact on my job whilst
acquiring – more... new ideas in an environment that will facilitate my professional growth. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
delta beverages is the biggest manufacturing company in Zimbabwe, it prides itself as the best trainer for graduates as evidenced by the exposure gain
Information Security Officer (Current Employee), HarareNovember 20, 2013
Cons: healthcare, education, schoolfees
delta beverages as the biggest company offers many interesting opportunities since everything done is always urgent and very important to the business. assisting users on IT Security issues, risk assessments and mitigation, compiling reports and monitoring systems, audits and systems troubleshooting constitutes some of my day to day activities. its – more... a well balanced environment with proper management from specialists to the IT Director.working with the best qualified co workers is interesting since it offers a learning opportunity. the best part is learning new things everyday which gives a sense of achievement. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
educative and productive workplace
proccess artisan (Former Employee), HarareNovember 12, 2013
Pros: free drinkages
Cons: long hours
a typical day at work would start with a team breafing on the previous day of production & the planning of the jobs that need to be tuckled that day ahead ,in breafing l learnt that it is neccessary to share information on how to handle things & give each others ways on how to handle things easly, this made the working environment more comfotable & – more... workable with co-workers ,also this made my job easier & mostly l enjoyed tuckling new challanges & working under less or no supervision .the hardest part was working under intense pressure for long hours under the spot light of management – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and challenging work place
Engineering Internship Student (Former Employee), zimbabwe,kwekweNovember 12, 2013
each day had its own challenges.but team work and dedication helped the workers sail through.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well efficient manufacturing organisation with good workshops and practicing safety all times
Instrumentation and control mechanic (Current Employee), BulawayoNovember 2, 2013
Pros: there are meal tickets r25 a week.
Cons: 9 working hours plus overtime sometime if the machine is not performing as desired.
We work from monday to friday then on sutarday is maintenance day.
Subordinates report to their respective supervisors.
Always provide hazardous work permit when working at height or comfined space.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rather productive environment
Instrument Technician (Former Employee), BulawayoAugust 23, 2013
Pros: free lunch, free transport
Typical day started with the "plant walkabouts" - random checks for suspected imminent problem areas followed by a meeting that reviews tasks for the day, some emanating from the findings of the random checks.There after the jobs discussed would be assigned to individuals.

Being exposed to cutting edge technology almost induced "techno phobia" in me. – more... I learnt a lot on PLCs and automation tecnology.Internal worker-to-worker relationships were good.

The most enjoyable part was that there was room to explore in the field – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, Job satisfaction, results driven work place and accountability is clear and personal
Plant Engineer (Current Employee), BulawayoAugust 16, 2013
Pros: personal development
Cons: poor work life balance
The organisation is a faced paced organisation with high speed bottling lines, the operation runs 24hrs a day 7 days a week. The Typical day starts at 0730, with a plant walk, reviewing the previous day performance. Attending meetings to review previous day performance, developing action plans to improve and discuss current day production and resources – more... availability. What i have learnt is World Class Manufacturing, Problem solving, Performance management, Project Management Asset Management and Management skills, Team work, communication upwards and downwards. The hardest part of the job is change managent and getting people to buy my vision. Enjoyable part is achieving results – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High daily prodution targets. room for personal emprovements and learning, with availability of modern equipment for production .
boiler operator - Electrician Class 1 (Current Employee), Bulawayo- ZimbabweJuly 26, 2013
23-11-2013 : A 350kw variable frequency drive[VFD] for air compressor went on breakdown .

Rise in ambient temperatures can cause costly damage to electronic components.

management was not supportive of the idea to replace the VFD and need for modifications to lower ambient temperatures and extract hot air quickly from the compressor cabinet

Co-workers – more... reminded management that the new air compressor was installed in winter of the same year and hence rising summer temperatures were a concern

Accessing the VFD firing - power components was very difficult

I was delighted to prove to the management and manufacturer that the VFD firing components and phase monitoring components were shorted out and was grounding. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive,Challenging and competitively fun place to work at.
Utilities Artisan (Former Employee), BulawayoJuly 26, 2013
Pros: best benefits one can ever ask for, and support even after work was tremendous.
Cons: lond hours of hard work but enjoyable.
Attending breakdowns
Doing maintenance works on machines and production lines
Management very supportive,firm and fair.
Teamwork was very essential for the downtime on breakdowns.
Challenges that come with breakdowns are always an eye opener to avoid such occurrences in the future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Microbiology Laboratory Technician (Former Employee), BulawayoJune 19, 2013
Pros: creative environment
Cons: long hours
My day started with environmental hygiene monitoring where i swabbed the manufacturing equipment for microbial contamination. Then proceed to analyse in-line samples for quality conformation.

At Delta Beverages i was able to develop these skills:

Special skills and laboratory techniques:

1. Microbiology skills: Aseptic and sterile techniques, optical – more... microscopy, bacterial staining, plating methods (streak, spread, pour, replica), enumeration and identification of microbes, use of biological safety cabinets, media and buffer preparation, diagnostic biochemical tests for enteric bacteria, use of selective media, Staph latex agglutination tests, serotyping, plaque assay, conjugation.

2. Biochemistry and Molecular skills: DNA extraction, plasmid DNA preparation, restriction enzyme digests, PCR, agarose gel eletrophoresis, SDS-PAGE fractionation by differential centrifugation, thin layer chromatography, gas chromatography, solution preparation, titrations and extractions.

Professional skills:
1. Communication and interpersonal skills strengthened by being responsible of presenting quality control results to different production departments and explaining their relevance in regard to the quality of the product.
2. Team work skills gained from working in team oriented environments both as an undegraduate, in projects like determining the level and source of pollution in water bodies around our community and as an employee.
3. Problem solving ability developed through brainstorming sessions on how to maintain the standard of cleanliness around the plant and ways to avoid microbial contamination.

I related well with management and co-workers. They management provided a conducive environment to foster individual talent and growth. The downside to the job were the long hours. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Busy workplace
Warehouse Manger (Current Employee), Harare, ZimbabweMay 9, 2013
Pros: free lunches, free offices drinkage, education allowances for management children
Cons: work very long hours.
I start work at 0700hrs to review yesterday's Warehouse productivities. I attend a Warehouse/Packaging/Sales section Manager's joint meeting at 0800hrs which reviews yesterday's performance and maps out plans for the day. At 0900hrs I attend a feedback and alignment meeting with my section Executive. This lasts for 15 minutes. I then visit each Warehouse – more... section supervisor to briely discuss yesterday's performance, key learnings and align each one of them for the seamless execution of the day's tasks. The Warehouse accounts for over 70% of Zimbabwe's lager beer sales volume and so stock reconciliations for the preceeding day is the most taxing part of the job. I enjoy walking around, chating and joking with shop floor workers.

I have learnt to mobilise and motivate employees to work as teams to achieve common company goals. I have also learnt the skills of setting up effective warehousing systems and controls. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The workplace is very busy and valeu adding in every activity
Line Specialist (Fitter and Turner) (Current Employee), Southerton Brewery, HarareApril 22, 2013
Pros: lunch is for r2, 50 per plate, monthly we receive 3 cases of beer office drinkage
Cons: tea break at 10&3 and lunch at 1pm
Every day i start by chairing an Asset Care Morning Meeting which is attended by 1 maintenance Planner, 4 machine Specialists,3 process artisans and 1 team leader where we discuss the previous run,top 3 down time issues,5why/job cards review and today's targets.
On the packaging line i am the 5s gem champion, the Packaging hall EMS gem champion and – more... the line asset care gem champion
the hardest part of this job is that i am accountable for quite a number of things, its good exposure but its quite a job
i enjoy problem solving sessions where we do 5why review,FFAs – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a company with good core values and has focus
process attendant (Former Employee), KwekweMarch 8, 2013
Pros: free meals on holidays if on duty
Cons: late issuing of protective clothing
a typical day there was a very busy one and everyone was assigned to his or her duty until one knocks off. I learned leadership skills, good quality control skills, process control, inventory control, presentation and communication skills. with the good management at Delta I do not regret all the days I worked there. team work was the tool i grasped – more... at this company with help of the other co workers, it was nice experience. I did not have the hardest part of my job but the most challenging part was the quality control because one would have to be dedicated to produce good results. I enjoyed every bit of my job to be honest. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong company values and culture
sales representative (Former Employee), Harare ZimbabweFebruary 14, 2013
Pros: medical aid
Cons: long hours
We started the day at 6am,debrief with the driver and set route for delivery for the driver. Sales meeting begins at 7am and review previous day sales and other matters. Leave plant at 8am into the market and generate orders,collect debts,customer complaints. I managed to learn how to work under pressure to achieve sales targets. I managed to learn – more... how to conduct a market visit. The management was passionate about the company and was hands on in all aspects of the day to day sales. I worked well with my co workers and as a team. The hardest part of the job was the long hours and working 7 days a week however it all paid off when we achieved the target be it sales or market visit. – less

DELTA BEVERAGES Photos