Dell Employee Reviews

Found 111 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with a great team
Data Analyst Specialist / Administrative Support (Former Employee) –  Limerick, LK21 October 2014
Coordinated between two teams to perform administrative duties. Worked within a Global team.
Updated time sheets and tracked holiday log.
Attended Global meetings as a representative for our regional office.
Provided an update of projects to management.
Ensured smooth running of the department day to day, delegated when needed.
Great team spirit; camaraderie
Pros
quarterly bonus; benefits;
Cons
long commute
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average
Account Manager, Inside Sales (Former Employee) –  Toronto13 October 2014
Mid-level directors are clueless and incompetent. I have no idea how they became the 2nd largest computer company in the world but its clear to me as a former insider and a current-outside observer that they are stagnating.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good learning experience
Technical Support Associate (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 September 2014
This was a good use of my skill set, though I did not enjoy the phone aspect too much
Pros
wage
Cons
location
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
TSR (Former Employee) –  Edmonton Alberta9 September 2014
I worked as a technical support rep in the call center. It was great. The management was smart and friendly. Co-workers were fun. There was really only 2 or 3 places to proceed with my career though which was to move to tier 2 support or to move to a different category of troubleshooting like software. I did neither as Dell pulled up roots and left my town. Sad to see them go.
Pros
fun atmosphere, the management was always helpful
Cons
not much choice in moving up the ladder
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great learning expereince
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  North York5 August 2014
I learned so much and it was not only a great experience but wonderful place to work in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learnt all my troubleshooting skills
Technical Support Representative (Former Employee) –  Kanata23 July 2014
Talking to customers all day
Great troubleshooting skills
Great to work for Dell
Nice coworkers
Sitting all day is the hardest part of the job
Solved people problem makes me happy
Pros
Discount on computer s
Cons
Company close down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not organized, pull from one job to another
HVAC Technician second year apprentice (Former Employee) –  Charlottetown, PE23 July 2014
Co-workers were very friendly and worked as a team, but managment were not organized. More work then what workers could handle therefore lost contracts.
Pros
Health benefits, supplied work clothing.
Cons
Over time hours paid the same as regular work hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nco
Administrative assistant (Former Employee) –  montreal25 June 2014
NCO is a very typical - head down plow through your work ask no questions type of work place... this is a good place for younger adults go to work... if only to learn that every employer will be different and that they have to lear to adjust to higher mamagment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Global Program Manager (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON13 June 2014
Great for work/life balance.
Lots of flexibility.
Many opportunities for career progression.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center.
Customer Support Technician (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON2 June 2014
Took voice initiated customer/internal calls.

Limited breaks and being monitored by multiple managers.
Hard to get feed back on tasks from management.

Good co-workers to work with.

Constant non-confidential surveys (said to be confidential). Managers presenting and asking who wrote each survey.

Job was easy and understood most of the time.

No raises or benefits after 3 years. No job security.
Advance to another department/studying was done with long hours and commute concluding in a 5:30am - 7pm/8pm days, with no extra pay.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
No job security or benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An exciting place to work
Team Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ENG23 May 2014
Come in and log into the phone systems and offer Tier 2 support to the Tier 1 agents. I would read up updates on policies.

The management was very motivating and valued their employees. The hardest part of the job was having to provide the same information to the same individual every week. The most enjoyable part was having the CEO Michael Dell come visit the group.
Pros
Pizza lunches, Recognition for perfect attendance
Cons
Hard to get there with transit
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Less than promised
Customer Support Technician (CST) (Former Employee) –  Burlington, ON17 April 2014
Entry level positions, little opportunity to advance if you're in Canada, even if you get EMC's Proven Professional Certifications.
Management is inexperienced and sloppy, micromanaged from the United States by a "Leadership Team" that is based outside of Boston.
Everyone is a temp contractor, they promise to hire people on, but it takes years (7+ on average).
No raises, health benefits, sick days, vacation is 4% calculated on each pay.
Pros
Easy Job
Cons
Retards your career development
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nature de l'emploi
System engineer in presales mid-market (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC13 April 2014
Un emploi très stimulant et rempli de défi. L'opprtunité de rencontrer des gens intéressant et des clients dans des pme et / ou grand entreprise.
Pros
formation continue
Cons
sécurité emploi
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very pressurizing, and must have multitasking skill with good speed.
Officer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON25 March 2014
my day starts at 8am, I have to report 15 minutes before start time. it is extremly hectic in the morning hours, I have to monitor all the CCTV's and also help all the employee's with their access to campus by creating pass key for them. Meanwhile I also have to maintain contact with building operators and generate work orders for various contractors, after that i have to flag all the work orders and access authorization with their respective orders. We also have celebrity escort very often, so I have to dispatch guards for them and also keep contact with them. In afternoon I start clearing pass keys and update all the employee information. In evening I have to do audits of NVR switches and CCTV routers and attach all the reports at the end of my shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic and Fun place to work
Inside sales (Former Employee) –  North York, ON24 March 2014
I would come in, say hi to my co-workers, set up my laptop, sign in to all my applications and programs. I learned different software and hardware products and protocols.
management was great and co-workers are easy to get along with.
job was not hard or difficult but new challenges would come up regarding different departments and it was exciting learning new things. every day was company lunch and it was great to sit down with the staff and eat and converse.
Pros
free food, company perks
Cons
no security with sales
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Sales (Former Employee) –  toronto14 March 2014
fast paced environment & great co-workers
Learned a lot about IT
Management needs lots of work
Cons
dell bureaucracy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good salary
Customer Care Agent (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON10 March 2014
Many cubicles of workers who are constantly on the phone to clients resolving issues with their purchase.
Pros
Free parking
Cons
Stressfull
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Logistics Technician
LOGISTICS TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Kanata, ON6 February 2014
Outbound Logistics Technician post-sale, ensuring customer service and proper shipping practices.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good company to work , wish they have better Managment
Sr. Network Engineer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON27 January 2014
working as consultant for different capacity including network, security, engineering, data center, day to day operation and project management , I also have on call rotation since we are supporting 24/7.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
L'environnement de travail était bon et satisfaisant
CONCIERGE (Former Employee) –  Saint-felicien, QC22 January 2014
Manque de matériel ,mais le Directeur de l'entreprise est un excellent management . le climat de travail était acceptable et les collaborateurs sont très coopérants .
Pros
Liberté de travail, assistance
Cons
manque davantages sociaux
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dell. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 5,582 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
3.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.4
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8

CEO Approval

84%
1,644 ratings
Add your rating