Day & Ross Employee Reviews in Canada

Showing all 16 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Vendor Management Specialist (Current Employee) –  Toronto,ONAugust 18, 2016
Multi cultural atmosphere to work. Management and co workers are amazing. I learnt many things here how to wok as a team and work under pressure. My manager is good mentor he showed me path every time.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not terrible
Dock Foreman (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABApril 20, 2016
I would work all shifts up to 70+ hours a week at times working 24-32 hours straight

The salary is competitive but the benefits from blue cross are not as good as they could be

Advancement opportunities are there but that's because job security is terrible...Its just a revolving door...In 4 years I saw 5 different operations managers and 3 terminal managers get hired and fired

Since the management isn't there very long its hard to say how good the management actually is...The lower management are experienced and excellent however the upper management haven't got a clue

As everyone is afraid to lose there jobs the culture is very poor more of a blame game than actually taking responsibility

Overall if they improved there job security it would be a great place to work
Pros
lower management and positions are great
Cons
Job security just isnt there
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Data Entry (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NSMarch 4, 2014
This was a good place to work. The atmosphere was very upbeat at all time which made the day go by fast.
Everyone was a team player and they were always there to answer any questions I had.
Pros
tv to watch while on break
Cons
evening work
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and good honest work
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBFebruary 28, 2014
People were great. Management was fair. I felt appreciated and valued. I like the opportunity to work alone but felt I had the team behind me at all times.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dusty warehouse with bad working conditions
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONFebruary 5, 2014
In the winter work is really hard because it is really cold and sometimes slippery. In the summer its extremely hot. There is a lot of downtime. Management was not good. plenty of times would drivers not show up and they scrambled to find replacements, same with the dock workers Alot of unhappy employees in this company. Co-workers were often coming and going with little interest in the job, 90% of the times alot of the last drivers would be late and you would have to stay longer which is brutal because the shift is already 5pm-1am.
Pros
alot of downtime / breaks
Cons
bad hours, dealing with agency is awful, employees come and go within weeks.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day & Ross
Freight Auditor (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONJanuary 10, 2014
It was was great work place supervisors and managers always made sure safety came first with all employees I learned how to work in fast pace environment and the job was very simple sign on the bills for the forklift ops and then get the supervisor to sign off on it so it would be sent to another department to be processed.
Pros
free lunches and coffee!!! :)
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
data entry position
Data Entry/Dispatch (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONAugust 8, 2013
entered all manifest in the system and assisted dispatch when needed,. I switched to the night shift and dealt with all the US freights. I made sure the drivers got through the boarder and fixed any problems that would arise.
Pros
night shift only had 4 people
Cons
when i needed answers businesses didn't open till morning.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work for the most part.
Long Haul Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  hartland new brunswickJuly 11, 2013
Haul loads all over canada.
management changed frequently
co worker were good to work with
hardest part was the waiting for loads.
enjoyable part was travelling.
Pros
lots of work.
Cons
alot of sitting at terminals
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace with a lot of opportunities
Director of Engineering (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONJuly 8, 2013
Company own by McCain Food wich has a great vision of the future and the leadership distinctions
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed the job, back up support not there
Customer Service Rep & Data Entry (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ONJune 22, 2013
worked evenings offsite, then had customer service parts set up at home location, so it split up the work day. Management was in Brampton, so unable to communicate regarding problems well.
Pros
only had to work out of the home for approx 4 hours daily
Cons
management too far away to be of much help when needed
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you like to sit and are indepentley wealthy its a great place to be
Owner/Operator (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABNovember 22, 2012
Good Company with many good people, but they have to many internal problems that just can't seem to work there way out. So you sit alot at different locations for up to 3 days waiting for a load and as a owner operator we all know that this costs a lot of money. At the end of the month there is very little left for you even with your truck paid for. i like the company but untill they clean up there act my oppinion is stay away unless you want to go slowley broke.
Pros
some very good people
Cons
to much sitting waiting for loads in different citys
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Hartland, NBSeptember 15, 2012
I drove Tractor Trailer Part Time. I travelled to many parts of Canada and the US, while delivering freight.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Dispatcher and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Grand Falls, NBMay 9, 2012
learn alot dispatching system and customer service
managment was good
very good co workers
same thing every day was getting boring
Pros
close to home
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
Office/Admin/Data Entry (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ONMay 2, 2012
I learned a lot about data entry. The hardest part would be remembering all the different systems to use for all the different types of data entry. The most enjoyable part is that I work will great people.
Pros
pays good
Cons
its through a temp agency
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Commis
Commis de bureau (Former Employee) –  LachenaieDecember 8, 2012
Travail que j'adorais mais trop stressant. Je ne retournerai pas dans une compagnie de transport.
Cons
trop stressant
Was this review helpful?YesNo2Report

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 16 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Salary/Benefits
3.1
Job Security/Advancement
2.9
Management
3.7
Culture
3.8