David Aplin Group Employee Reviews

See reviews about:
Work-Life BalancePay & BenefitsJob Security & AdvancementManagementCulture
Showing all 14 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had a great thing
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONAugust 4, 2016
Worked here for 2 years - things started off well but most (all) of the attention gets placed in Western Canada. Managers and Senior Mangers didn't even talk to us easterners at the AGM or when they came to visit. Management locally was a joke- went from 3 people to about 18 then all the good people left and down to 3.

What this company misses IS David Aplin.
Pros
AGM, comp plan, flexibility
Cons
room for advancement, management
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Team I have ever worked with
Recruiter (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABSeptember 22, 2016
Have been part of the Aplin Family for over 5 years and have never worked in a better place.
Respect for their employees, genuinely care about the business we are in, which is refreshing.
Encourage you to build a business within a business.
Management is supportive and provide training when needed.
Pros
Comp plan
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong Corporate Culture
Accounting & Finance Recruiter (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBJuly 10, 2016
Excellent training, strong corporate culture, an inclusive environment. One of the best (if not the best) recruitment firms in the city. Management cares about you on a personal level, and has an open door policy regarding concerns.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
placement agency
Bookkeeper (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBJune 13, 2016
this is a placement recruitment agency not where i actually worked, i was placed as a temp to probably be hired full timee for the third time in a row. It wasn't permanent as id hoped. placement was shoddy at best
Was this review helpful?Yes8No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, fun and friendly people.
Accounting Assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABApril 4, 2016
Small family run business. People are friendly and passionate about there roles with each individual striving for success in achievement of a common goal.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABAugust 21, 2015
General Reception duties, answering phones, emails, couriers, data entry and typing. Co workers were awesome, very friendly and easy to get along with. Loved going to work. Hours were great.
Pros
Great hours
Cons
Only temp position, would like to have a permanent position.
Was this review helpful?Yes29No17Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Recruiter for job hunters
Candidate / Job Hunter (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AlbertaJuly 10, 2015
Works fast on finding jobs for job hunters! The Recruiter who handled my account, Rachael is so aggressive and is definitely an ideal person to trust when it comes to finding job for you. Highly recommended!
Pros
Proactive Recruiter
Was this review helpful?Yes25No24Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best or worst place to work
CONSULTANT (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ONJune 25, 2015
Had good team in place but many have left, locally and nationally. Slow to update technology
Comp plan significantly lower than other firms
Friendly atmosphere
Very rewarding work but not financially
Was this review helpful?Yes41No14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
snotty people
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  edmontonMarch 19, 2014
I was not impressed with the staff. They made me feel inadequate and unskilled and I know better. They were all much younger and seemed to think your skills were reflected by how expensive your outfit was. They were not helpful at all. I would not waste my time on their interview or their stupid tests.
Pros
can't think of anything
Cons
if you like to be looked down on this is the agency for you
Was this review helpful?Yes192No19Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Social and hard working
Records Clerk (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NSAugust 13, 2012
Working contracts through the David Aplin Group was always enjoyable. They found places that were a good fit for both parties. I worked with and around great people.
Pros
social aspect
Cons
in ns, the contracts did not become full-time work
Was this review helpful?Yes42No45Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp Agency
Data entry (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, ManitobaJanuary 22, 2014
Work varied depending on where I was at. Meeting people was the best part of the job. I learned lots about different types of work places out there.
Pros
meeting new people
Cons
temporary
Was this review helpful?Yes55No57Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible
admin (Former Employee) –  edmonton, AlbertaJuly 27, 2014
Stuck up recent graduates who want to prove something. Stay away find another agency.
Cons
disrespect uncaring
Was this review helpful?Yes141No25Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was a temp
Temp (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABApril 15, 2012
I got some extra office experience and I appreciated the opportunity.
Was this review helpful?Yes37No56Report

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 14 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
3.0
Job Security/Advancement
2.4
Management
2.5
Culture
2.8