Find companies:
Dave And Busters
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
278 reviews

Dave And Busters Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Food Runner (Former Employee), 6010 Richmond Ave.April 4, 2014
Pros: game card with free points and half off on meals
Cons: no breaks and consistently working 10-12 hours on your feet
A typical day at Dave and Buster is fun it's a fun place to work.
I learned on how to work with people in group and customers.
The management team was a good solid team.
My co-workers were friendly and made some friends.
The hardest part of the job is the long hours on our feet with no breaks.
Hanging out and seeing customers enjoy themselves never – more... a dull day there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Winner's circle/Customer service (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZMarch 31, 2014
Pros: fun, good experience with customers
Cons: management, no training
It was fun to work here, unfortunately the lack of management caused me to quit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace with perks
Accounting and Customer Services Coordinator (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHMarch 30, 2014
Pros: free game tokens
Cons: not great benefits
trained in all areas of the store so I never had to work in one place and I was a great asset since I can work anywhere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Volume, Loud atmosphere
Barback (Former Employee), VAMarch 26, 2014
Pros: free meals
Cons: no breaks, bad management
Very high paced bar atmosphere. High turn over rates and demanding job. Constantly on the move and on your feet. Management was barely around to help so you had to be very self reliant. Enjoyed working with some of the guests but most were rude and coworkers were childish and not a team.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work was simple.But around holiday time.
Service Support/Busser (Former Employee), Times Square, New YorkMarch 24, 2014
Pros: tips.
Cons: friendship
When its not around the holiday time its pretty simple work, but once the holiday season came about it got pretty overwhelming.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with a great staff.
Hostess/ Cashier (Former Employee), Hanover, MDMarch 24, 2014
Pros: half off all food, as well as company game card.
Cons: little to no breaks, bad scheduling.
A typical day at work would be to come in, clock in, go to cash-out to get your bank for your register, head to your station, and start selling game cards, gift cards, sitting people in the dinning room, answering all phone calls, and setting up reservations. When your shift ends you collect your bank and sign out of computer, collect all receipts and – more... file them in correct order, separating each by card type, take tips out of register, and place all bills in correct order. Finally, you would take your bank back to cash-out and clock out. While working here I learned strong customer service skills, and how to multitask! The management is very friendly, patient and always willing to listen to a problem you may be having. My co-workers were terrific, each had great personalities, and a good passion for their job. The hardest part of my job was having to help customers who were having a bad experience, while also making sure the guest trying to buy game cards were getting the attention they needed as well. The most enjoyable part of my job, was the environment, and the company competitions, as well as company outings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not what I expected
Game Attendant (Former Employee), Phoenix, AZ.March 23, 2014
Pros: free food, newest games
Cons: bad management, long late hours
I thought working here would have been fun and exciting especially with the newest games on the market. The management is ridiculous. They may be nice and pleasant to the customers but not to the people who just started. I was lied to about the job I was going to do and the hours are extremely long because when you do a closing shift, you don't get – more... home till 2 am and it's frustrating when you have to go to work the very next morning. The food is good and you get unlimited video games but not enough to keep me around. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast and Fun place to work!
Service Support (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAMarch 11, 2014
Pros: 50% off meals.
Cons: not working as a team!!
I start by getting my area set up,check my job for the day. I enjoy meeting people every shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with a great atmosphere
Game Technician (Current Employee), Cary, NCMarch 9, 2014
I enjoy coming to work everyday I'm scheduled. From the time i clock in to start my day till the time its time to leave I'm always learning about how to fix different games and interacting with different guest. I get to meet new people everyday and its great to give them a rememberable experience whenever they come.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment
Front Desk (Current Employee), Albany, NYMarch 6, 2014
Pros: free game card
Cons: 20 min breaks and sometimes no break at all
Everyday is always something different but fun at the same time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lazy, Lying Co-workers- Great Tips (Unless They Get Stolen)
Server (Former Employee), Duluth, GAMarch 5, 2014
Pros: tips
Cons: no breaks unless they're for smoking, unpredictable schedule
I was often left with a load of another person's work. Everyone but me smoked cigarettes and I could not get a break in. My co-workers often stole tip money and reported each other (including me,) for things that did not happen. I was scheduled to leave at 11 pm, and often wouldn't leave until 1 pm or later. The management favors those who have been – more... employed there longest, but for the most part they are nice people. The tips varied, but I could make up to $200 in an 8 hour shift. I was told in the beginning that I would be compensated if I didn't make minimum wage, but that is not true at all. It is $2.13 an hour plus tips if you get them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved Dand B
Line Cook - Fry/Salad (Former Employee), Virginia Beach, VAMarch 3, 2014
Pros: great crew
Cons: no enough hours
We would have a full screen of orders.I learned how to work under pressure without seeing a end to the business just working hardeer to get the job done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place with many games and people
Waitress (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOFebruary 19, 2014
A day at dave and busters was very fun and exciting. Getting the chance to meet new people everyday and all the hyper children running around from all the games was just something that brightens a persons day to see so many smiles. Working there I was able to learn so many different things, from learning how to host a party to being able to make different – more... foods and drinks. I can't say I found anything hard about the job it was always fun and easy and since I am always eager to learn new things it just amazed me to do different things everyday. No day was hard or boring. And the most fun part was all the games and the children. To see their faces light up when they see the games just makes a person smile on the inside and out and it brings the child out in you – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and fun
Server (Former Employee), Farmingdale, NYFebruary 18, 2014
A typical day at work was to ensure satisfaction and a fun environment for the guests. I learned a lot about organization, time management and being able to work in sync with a larger staff. All of my co workers were a ton of fun and created great relationships at work and after work. Hardest part of the job was the long hours and sometimes being able – more... to balance my school work with my long hours at work but with that came my enhanced knowledge of time management and organization. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Front Desk/Hostess (Former Employee), Irvine, CAFebruary 17, 2014
At this job the shifts are long, either working all day or all night. Learned how to sell product, interact with customers, and professionally answer phone calls and speak with guests. Employees of D&B are great! Everyone is so nice and helpful. This is a very enjoyable job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be a lot better
server (Former Employee), Williamsville, NYFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: flexible schedules, quick money
Cons: management and guests
I thought working at Dave and Busters would be great. I loved the commercials that I saw for it on tv and I couldn't wait until I moved to an area that had one. Winter is extremely busy for the location that I worked and sometimes there was a lot of money to be made.

Management was ok. Some were very professional, hardworking, and dedicated to teamwork. – more... Others were lazy, cliquey, and high school like. Most of them did appreciate and applaud you for hard work. Overall I felt appreciated.

The guests are the worst experience when working at D&B, for some reason that place draws lots of scammers. Managers bend the rules too much for the type of negative people it attracts and it has been a steady decline since. Things that are the rules of the establishment, like no one under 21 is allowed without an adult late nights, and 20% auto gratuity applied parties of 8 or more are simply being ignored. People complain about the amounts they are required to tip to management they remove them for absolutely no reason (in turn the servers get nothing and feel like they did something wrong) They show up with parties of 30 or more and sit in the self seating areas, pushing tables together and taking over whole sections meant to be split between 2 or 3 servers for the entire night and management doesn't blink an eye. I've seen guests screaming at servers over how expensive their bills are (not the server's fault) and management comps half if not all of the bill for no reason. These shady people then go tell friends how easy it is to get over on this establishment and that brings more people like that into the place.

Management needs to put their foot down, the customers are not right, most are ignorant fools or drunks past a certain time of night.
I wouldn't be surprised to see that place bankrupt in the next 5 years. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun...Eat... Play...
Runner (Current Employee), albany nyJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: you get 50% off all forod items & employee game card thats refilled every week
Cons: your breaks go by pretty fast
surrounded by great co workers & guest everyday a typical worker day for me would be making sure our guest leave feeling wonderful & making them feel there welcome to come back any time...Making sure the restautant is neat & clean for our guest comfort & happiness. My duties are to make sure all food & beverage reach the guest as quick as possible & – more... that it gets to the table neat & organized to the guest liking. Ive learned many things but the most important is how to deal with unhappy customers & solving there issue when it a comes up...Management @ Dave & Busters are very helpful when needed they do their best to make sure every employees work environment is comfortable as possible. The hardest thing about my empolyment is that we get many rube guest bu ti try to make there experience @ D&B the best they ever had so they leave feeling better then when they came in. The most enjoyable thing i get to help others of ages from children to the elderly its GREAT!!!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting work environment
Server (Former Employee), Earth City, MOJanuary 29, 2014
Ranked with the top 10 servers in the US for having the most responses to “guest pulse surveys” and the highest rank on said surveys.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Dallas, TXJanuary 29, 2014
Pros: half off on lunch menu
Cons: short breaks or no break at all because they were extremely busy on weekends
My co workers were the absolute best and we were all awesome team players.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun-filled place to work
Front Desk Receptionist / Hostess (Current Employee), Houston, TXJanuary 27, 2014
I decline to provide inside information.
I decline to provide inside information.
I decline to provide inside information.
I decline to provide inside information.

About Dave And Busters

Fun and games collide with food and drink at these nightspots. Dave & Buster's Entertainment owns and operates about 55 entertainment – Read more

Dave And Busters Photos