Find companies:
Darden
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
90 reviews

Darden Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better pay than most restaurants
Hostess/Server & Certified Trainer (Current Employee), Fayetteville, NCDecember 4, 2014
Pros: good pay
Cons: poor management
Worked here for 2.5 years and have been through THIRTEEN different managers. This only includes those who stayed long enough to have a business card.

I stayed so long because you won't find another restaurant who pays their hourly employees this much.

There used to be room for growth as every manager had to start as a standard employee but not anymore.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent company but very unstable.
Service/ Staffing and Training Manager (Former Employee), Orlando FlaNovember 29, 2014
I overall enjoyed my job. I loved the guests and most all of my peers. I learned quite a bit about managing in a corporate restaurant. The hardest part of my job was the fact that I was transferred 4 times over a two year period. I did not mind the transfers but it was difficult to continuously have to establish myself as a manager to hundreds of team – more... members. I was able to do so but I feel as it left me with less time ti grow than I would have liked. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice clean place to work
buser/ Dish Washer (Current Employee), Wilkesboro, N.C.November 25, 2014
A typical day at work I come in clock in and prepare for the shift.
i learned how to make bread and how to run a dish machine.
management is good.
most co-workers work hard other slack off.
there is no hard part.
break time is the most enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meh
Corporate Trainer (Former Employee), College Station, TXOctober 27, 2014
Was at one time a great place to work. With changes at the upper levels it has really become just a mere step above a drive through.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Bartender (Former Employee), Largo, MDOctober 20, 2014
I enjoyed my time at Longhorn. Trying to get back there. I had to relocate.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family friendly environment!
Hostess (Former Employee), Plano, TXOctober 14, 2014
Pros: managers were friendly, playful yet extremely professional
Cons: saw 6 managers come and go in the time i worked here.
A typical work day weather calm or not would always turn out great because of the great communication between my co-workers and I.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Food service industry.
Host (Former Employee), Burleson, TXOctober 5, 2014
Pros: free meals, strong relationships.
Cons: poor management, long stressful hours.
A typical day at Darden Red Lobster is generally slow unless it's Endless Shrimp season, in which case the wait to be seated begins around 11 AM and ends at 9 PM during the week, 11 PM weekends. Management is scarce and unhelpful, much more interested in the happiness of guests, rather than the happiness or productiveness of employees. Co-workers are – more... helpful and friendly. The hardest part of the job is the stress of the guests and demanding attitudes, and the most enjoyable part is the relationships with co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to work
Serevice Professional (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHOctober 2, 2014
Pros: hours
Cons: slow days
Open at 11 get first guests by 1105 wow them .Stay busy all day and love it.I learned that every person is important and should be treated the same way.Our management team is awesome.My co-workers are my friends.The hardest part of my job is not being able to correct an issue.The most enjoyable part of my job is making someone smile when they are having – more... a bad day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
waiter (Former Employee), Portage, Mi.September 30, 2014
Pros: great health care
Cons: not enough hours or money
very good management/
learned about Italian fast food
nice co- workers
Start at 11am work until 2pm if a split back at 4pm til close
most enjoyable the differrent guests
hardest difficult guests
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was my first job, and therefore a huge learning experience
Busser (Current Employee), Maplewood, MOSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: being recommended to by customers by other customers for my attitude and hospitality
Cons: short breaks, managements lack of communication, 90% guests were /very/ ghetto
A typical day could be busy or slow. I preferred the handling the inbound phone calls to maintaining an assigned section (which was not easy)
I'll remain professional and say that Management and myself generally didn't see eye-to-eye. I tried to work smart, not hard and keep my prescence below-the-radar unless necessary
A few of my coworkers were nice, – more... but overall a very rough and tumble group of people. Would recommend the job I had only to the desperate to work type.
The hardest part of the job was dealing with Management. One person would tell you to do a task, and as you rush to complete it, another member of managment would come over and tell you to do something else. If you were to tell the latter that you were already working on something assigned by the former, they would be confused or upset. It became apparent very quickly that the lanes of communication between management were blurred at the very least.
The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing the look on customers faces when you actually help them find what they were looking for. If not the very product, then a good imitation. Also, when people would come in looking for me specifically because I was so helpful and polite last time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Manager, IT and Information Security (Former Employee), Orlando, FLSeptember 3, 2014
Pros: discount to resturaunts
Cons: healthcare
Technology & Security focus... Social Media focus

Great Culture and teamwork
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great opportunity.
Olive Garden (Former Employee), Wilson, NCAugust 27, 2014
A day at Olive Garden was always busy. I was held accountable for most of the employees and I enjoyed every second. The Managers were good although there were many General Managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Food Preparation/Hostess/Server (Former Employee), Mount Pleasant, MIAugust 20, 2014
Red Lobster is a great college job! They will work around your schedule and give you as many hours as you want or as little as you want. As long as you work hard, they treat you amazing!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work, low pay, bad management.
New Restaurant Opening Staff Member (Current Employee), Winder, GAAugust 13, 2014
Pros: it's work. it's for sure money.
Cons: short breaks if any, and no hours for those who really need them, i.e, those with families.
Poor management that thinks it's better than it is, poor training besides the corporate assistances with the store opening, and a poor culture and environment adds to the hourly employees general dislike of their job.

LongHorn operations accounting milks labor, so instead of four people closing the kitchen and getting out at a decent hour (11:30 p.m. – more... is decent), three people have to close the kitchen and stay on average to 12:30 to even 1:30 a.m. on weekends. Keeping labor low means bonuses for managers and an increasing earnings per share for Darden at large, but strife for hourly employees. Strife for hourly employees makes them hate their jobs and seek work elsewhere, which adds to a increased labor capital turnover. Increased turnover means hourly employees have to pick up gaps in labor, and LongHorn seems to always have to be training some new entrant.

If you're a hard worker, your labor will be exploited.

Whether or not this reflects LongHorn as a whole organization is another question. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
server for red lobster
SERVER (Former Employee), Naples, FLJuly 30, 2014
good place to work was a lot of fun. management was a lot of help with training servers and making sure table selection was fair.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
see resume
Employee Relations Manager (Former Employee), OrlandoJuly 21, 2014
Pros: wellness/fitness center on site, monthly celebrations of bdays and anniversaries
Cons: small possibility for advancement in the employee relations dept, one third of the cooperate staff relased with no notice within the last year
The best part of the job for me was the people I worked with. Every day I was able to work in a state of the art facility and call center. Although at times the calls would be relatively routine there were always cases that I had never heard of and needed to research with other departments looking for legal advice or some other information.

The team – more... I worked with was excellent. All have a good sense of humor and were able to manage the stress that can come with a position like this.

A typical day was from 8:30am - 5:00pm.

The hardest part of the job was when I would investigate an issue with an employee or manager and have to recommend to the Director or Regional Vice President that termination was the correct course of action.

Talking with these employees/managers who made a mistake like not remaining within arms length away from the back door when put in charge of that function would be terminated unless there are special circumstances and their career at Darden ended.

It is important to stay focused on the facts and past precedent/policy and keep the emotion out of the decision making. Always keeping an eye on the risk involved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy work atmosphere
Server (Former Employee), Secaucus, NJJuly 18, 2014
My managers were amazing. They genuinely cared about you and worked with you to excel. Typically, a dinner shift would be busy with every person working 3-4 tables. I learned how to prioritize and manage multiple tasks at once. You really need to work as a team to get things done in a place like this. Any personal issues you have with someone can be – more... taken care of later but at that moment you have a job to do. The hardest part of the job by far is getting triple sat with a large party. Which means you have three new tables all at once and one of them includes more than seven people. That is when team work is most essential. The most enjoyable is meeting and interacting with different people and personalities, and building those ties with your coworkers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not feeling secured under Corporate
Olive Garden (Former Employee), Smyrna, GAJuly 8, 2014
Pros: discounted meals
Cons: no overtime, no breaks during 6/7 hours shifts, lack of team work within management
I was sexually harassed during my shift by another employee(server) when I reported it to my general manager, I wrote a statement, and explained what happened. My GM insisted that it was an accident, disregarding how I felt. I found out during an investigation from the GM's boss(district manager), that there was another woman harassed by the same offender, – more... yet he felt as though suspending the offender would be enough discipline. My general manager failed to report to the other managers on the flood that this situation was going on, therefore I ended up having to work with the offender side by side. Eventually, I quit because I could no longer feel comfortable in my work setting. I also expressed how unlawful it would be to have the offender still work the restaurant. I also called corporate to try and get some help, yet they failed to reach out after I expressed my situation.

Other than that, it was a very competitive working atmosphere. Most people who are hired don't stay longer than six months.
The positive thing about working there was that you made your regulars, so even if it's a slow day, you will still have friendly familiar faces. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Company to Work For!
Olive Garden (Current Employee), Wichita, KSJune 17, 2014
Pros: half off food when working, 25% off when walking in
Cons: long hours, fluctuation in daily pay.
The new GM hired me two days after he was given the responsibility of bringing the restaurant’s ratings back up. I can proudly say I have worked my hardest to help his company goals. As his employee, I have no complaints and absolutely enjoy working there. Walking in and always being greeted with a smile (working or not) is one thing I look for. Constructive – more... criticism is given in a professional manner and he always wants the best. Benefits are good. All of the employees there support each other. When one is down, everyone lifts them up! Its extremely hard to find a place where the employees are like family. On a hard day, all management steps in when needed, as well as fellow employees. We do random games to keep sales up and goals met. Always a positive part of my day! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loyal company
❸ Certified Trainer (Current Employee), Zanesville, OHJune 13, 2014
I have been with darden from the age of 16 they will work with you to make you a better employee. They hire from within for hardworking, team orientated employees.

1 2 3 4 5

Darden Photos