Find companies:
Darden
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
75 reviews

Darden Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
see resume
Employee Relations Manager (Former Employee), OrlandoJuly 21, 2014
Pros: wellness/fitness center on site, monthly celebrations of bdays and anniversaries
Cons: small possibility for advancement in the employee relations dept, one third of the cooperate staff relased with no notice within the last year
The best part of the job for me was the people I worked with. Every day I was able to work in a state of the art facility and call center. Although at times the calls would be relatively routine there were always cases that I had never heard of and needed to research with other departments looking for legal advice or some other information.

The team – more... I worked with was excellent. All have a good sense of humor and were able to manage the stress that can come with a position like this.

A typical day was from 8:30am - 5:00pm.

The hardest part of the job was when I would investigate an issue with an employee or manager and have to recommend to the Director or Regional Vice President that termination was the correct course of action.

Talking with these employees/managers who made a mistake like not remaining within arms length away from the back door when put in charge of that function would be terminated unless there are special circumstances and their career at Darden ended.

It is important to stay focused on the facts and past precedent/policy and keep the emotion out of the decision making. Always keeping an eye on the risk involved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy work atmosphere
Server (Former Employee), Secaucus, NJJuly 18, 2014
My managers were amazing. They genuinely cared about you and worked with you to excel. Typically, a dinner shift would be busy with every person working 3-4 tables. I learned how to prioritize and manage multiple tasks at once. You really need to work as a team to get things done in a place like this. Any personal issues you have with someone can be – more... taken care of later but at that moment you have a job to do. The hardest part of the job by far is getting triple sat with a large party. Which means you have three new tables all at once and one of them includes more than seven people. That is when team work is most essential. The most enjoyable is meeting and interacting with different people and personalities, and building those ties with your coworkers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not feeling secured under Corporate
Olive Garden (Former Employee), Smyrna, GAJuly 8, 2014
Pros: discounted meals
Cons: no overtime, no breaks during 6/7 hours shifts, lack of team work within management
I was sexually harassed during my shift by another employee(server) when I reported it to my general manager, I wrote a statement, and explained what happened. My GM insisted that it was an accident, disregarding how I felt. I found out during an investigation from the GM's boss(district manager), that there was another woman harassed by the same offender, – more... yet he felt as though suspending the offender would be enough discipline. My general manager failed to report to the other managers on the flood that this situation was going on, therefore I ended up having to work with the offender side by side. Eventually, I quit because I could no longer feel comfortable in my work setting. I also expressed how unlawful it would be to have the offender still work the restaurant. I also called corporate to try and get some help, yet they failed to reach out after I expressed my situation.

Other than that, it was a very competitive working atmosphere. Most people who are hired don't stay longer than six months.
The positive thing about working there was that you made your regulars, so even if it's a slow day, you will still have friendly familiar faces. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Company to Work For!
Olive Garden (Current Employee), Wichita, KSJune 17, 2014
Pros: half off food when working, 25% off when walking in
Cons: long hours, fluctuation in daily pay.
The new GM hired me two days after he was given the responsibility of bringing the restaurant’s ratings back up. I can proudly say I have worked my hardest to help his company goals. As his employee, I have no complaints and absolutely enjoy working there. Walking in and always being greeted with a smile (working or not) is one thing I look for. Constructive – more... criticism is given in a professional manner and he always wants the best. Benefits are good. All of the employees there support each other. When one is down, everyone lifts them up! Its extremely hard to find a place where the employees are like family. On a hard day, all management steps in when needed, as well as fellow employees. We do random games to keep sales up and goals met. Always a positive part of my day! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loyal company
❸ Certified Trainer (Current Employee), Zanesville, OHJune 13, 2014
I have been with darden from the age of 16 they will work with you to make you a better employee. They hire from within for hardworking, team orientated employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awsome for my first job in a industry i love, great atmosphier
host (Former Employee), Huntington Beach, CAMay 1, 2014
Pros: expierance, benifits, well established company
Cons: slow shifts, corprate policys
working at the location I did required not much time for error was a very fast paced work place where mistakes had to be as minimal as possible the management and crew got along great everyone worked well together learning all the personality's and change in how each manager like their shift ran the routine of the restaurant only changed with the seasons. – more... the hardest part had to be the slow days that seamed that they would take forever. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Restaurant Trainer/ Server (Former Employee), Colonie, NYApril 27, 2014
Pros: great food
Cons: difficult to juggle home life, school and work
I gained experience in a fast paced environment and valuable management skills that prepared me for the future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
uncaring corporate policies and very few perks
Certified Trainer (Former Employee), hot springs arApril 17, 2014
Pros: daily $$$
Cons: everything
I trained servers and served food drinks and deserts as well. I handled cash, customer service and data entry
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy but fun workplace
Server (Current Employee), San Antonio, TXApril 16, 2014
I love the people I work with. It gets busy at my location and everyone helps everyone else out. Things could be more organized with scheduling, etc. but overall you make good money and have fun doing it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Red Lobster
Red Lobster Chef (Current Employee), Delran, NJApril 16, 2014
Pros: learning
Cons: no hours
Working at Red Lobster has been a great learning experience. Everyday is different and I have worked with many kinds of people. I have a very good relationship with my managers, we get along great. The hardest part of the job is when co-workers do not do their job. As you know working in the line is a group effort, Besides that I have co-workers who – more... I admire and look up to. What I enjoy the most is working with people who love what they do and learning from them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
watch out!
manager (Former Employee), ColoradoMarch 19, 2014
Pros: people you work with most of the time
Cons: everything else, hours, food is not fresh anymore, benefits as salary, no work life balance as promised
Darden itself is a good company but like many others the corporate side has no idea what goes on it the restaurants. When a company makes decisions to take hourly team members and promote them to manager of the same location that person will play favorites. I also have first hand knowledge of being told to hire with "diversity" in mind. I worked in – more... 3 different locations in my time as a manager and 2 were great and had values and held their core values but that last was the worst working environment I have ever worked in. The GM is a dictator and nothing is done for the better just because the GM wants to control the world. Somehow, the AD just looks the other way. Please don't end up at a bad concept. There are a few good ones. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Breeze Way
SERVER (Current Employee), Daytona Beach, FLMarch 17, 2014
Pros: flexible schedules, work times, management, money, food discounts
Cons: rarely allowed overtime
A ton of guest interaction for sure! I learned teamwork. If it get's hectic during a dinner rush you need to be able to count on someone and they need to be able to count on you. The management team is fantastic the restaurant is new so we never know what to expect they do an excellent job in managing all of us efficiently. The hardest thing is probably – more... knowing the menu back to front as well as the drink beverages. When you get to leave however, you need you did great because people will smile at your table and thank you for the great work you did. That's what makes my day/night at least – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thumbs Up!
Certified Trainer (Current Employee), Duncanville, TXMarch 4, 2014
Darden has been a great company to me. Honestly I am ready to embark upon another journey in life. However the job market of Dallas is up and coming and has seen constant growth and I honestly feel as though Darden has taught me plenty of consumer skills that will be a great asset to any opportunities that may be forthcoming.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Assistant General Manager (Current Employee), Brunswick, GAFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: great training
great company to work with,great training,good benefits,awesone work culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company in the Restaurant Industy
Server and Certified Trainer (Current Employee), Rochester Hills, MIFebruary 12, 2014
The company is professional and offers benefits to employees where many others do not.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Server (Former Employee), Beaufort, SCFebruary 6, 2014
never a dull moment. love the whole atmosphere. my management was stern but made sure that we were enjoying our time there. one manager use to sing to us. hardest part of the job is the very few guest that come in and try to make you fall. but as a family the team kept you up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Server (Former Employee), Alabaster, ALJanuary 25, 2014
Pros: raise, management, staff, coworkers, experience
Cons: hectic, strenuous, exhausting
Such an amazing place to work, no matter what your position. It has management who genuinely cares about its staff and their needs and the coworkers are all so easygoing and easy to get along with. The job may be a little strenuous and exhausting, but it's such a great company to work for. If you work as anything other than a server, you also get a – more... 10 cent raise every 6 months, and that really adds up, too! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly place to work
Certified Trainer (Current Employee), pennslyvaniaJanuary 15, 2014
A typical daya t work is like meeting new people all the time . As a trainer , teach people ins and outs of the work ethics and help them to move forward.Management team is amazing .co workers are nice and co operating,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for and transition into a career based job.
Server (Current Employee), Mount Juliet, TNJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: 50% of food when you are working, 25% off of food when you are at any one of the darden inc. properties
Fast paced work place
Learned how to multi-task well and learn the in's and out's of the restaurant world
Management was excellent and very much willing to work with the employee's
Hardest part of the job is the physical wear and tear on your body (especially your feet and knees)
Most enjoyable part to me was the people that walked in the door! Both – more... guests wanting to eat to everyone that worked there. There is never a dull moment to say the least. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Place to Work
Design Associate, Capital Grille and Yard House (Former Employee), Orlando, FLDecember 13, 2013
Pros: amazing restaraunt support center! second to none!
Cons: benefits are little to be desired these days.
The collaborative culture at Darden is fun and enjoyable. Everyone is friendly and professional. I enjoyed my time with the company and hope the best for its continued success!

1 2 3 4

Darden Photos