Find companies:
Darden
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
66 reviews

Darden Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Red Lobster
Red Lobster Chef (Current Employee), Delran, NJApril 16, 2014
Pros: learning
Cons: no hours
Working at Red Lobster has been a great learning experience. Everyday is different and I have worked with many kinds of people. I have a very good relationship with my managers, we get along great. The hardest part of the job is when co-workers do not do their job. As you know working in the line is a group effort, Besides that I have co-workers who – more... I admire and look up to. What I enjoy the most is working with people who love what they do and learning from them. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
watch out!
manager (Former Employee), ColoradoMarch 19, 2014
Pros: people you work with most of the time
Cons: everything else, hours, food is not fresh anymore, benefits as salary, no work life balance as promised
Darden itself is a good company but like many others the corporate side has no idea what goes on it the restaurants. When a company makes decisions to take hourly team members and promote them to manager of the same location that person will play favorites. I also have first hand knowledge of being told to hire with "diversity" in mind. I worked in – more... 3 different locations in my time as a manager and 2 were great and had values and held their core values but that last was the worst working environment I have ever worked in. The GM is a dictator and nothing is done for the better just because the GM wants to control the world. Somehow, the AD just looks the other way. Please don't end up at a bad concept. There are a few good ones. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Breeze Way
SERVER (Current Employee), Daytona Beach, FLMarch 17, 2014
Pros: flexible schedules, work times, management, money, food discounts
Cons: rarely allowed overtime
A ton of guest interaction for sure! I learned teamwork. If it get's hectic during a dinner rush you need to be able to count on someone and they need to be able to count on you. The management team is fantastic the restaurant is new so we never know what to expect they do an excellent job in managing all of us efficiently. The hardest thing is probably – more... knowing the menu back to front as well as the drink beverages. When you get to leave however, you need you did great because people will smile at your table and thank you for the great work you did. That's what makes my day/night at least – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Thumbs Up!
Certified Trainer (Current Employee), Duncanville, TXMarch 4, 2014
Darden has been a great company to me. Honestly I am ready to embark upon another journey in life. However the job market of Dallas is up and coming and has seen constant growth and I honestly feel as though Darden has taught me plenty of consumer skills that will be a great asset to any opportunities that may be forthcoming.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Assistant General Manager (Current Employee), Brunswick, GAFebruary 27, 2014
Pros: great training
great company to work with,great training,good benefits,awesone work culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company in the Restaurant Industy
Server and Certified Trainer (Current Employee), Rochester Hills, MIFebruary 12, 2014
The company is professional and offers benefits to employees where many others do not.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Server (Former Employee), Beaufort, SCFebruary 6, 2014
never a dull moment. love the whole atmosphere. my management was stern but made sure that we were enjoying our time there. one manager use to sing to us. hardest part of the job is the very few guest that come in and try to make you fall. but as a family the team kept you up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Server (Former Employee), Alabaster, ALJanuary 25, 2014
Pros: raise, management, staff, coworkers, experience
Cons: hectic, strenuous, exhausting
Such an amazing place to work, no matter what your position. It has management who genuinely cares about its staff and their needs and the coworkers are all so easygoing and easy to get along with. The job may be a little strenuous and exhausting, but it's such a great company to work for. If you work as anything other than a server, you also get a – more... 10 cent raise every 6 months, and that really adds up, too! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly place to work
Certified Trainer (Current Employee), pennslyvaniaJanuary 15, 2014
A typical daya t work is like meeting new people all the time . As a trainer , teach people ins and outs of the work ethics and help them to move forward.Management team is amazing .co workers are nice and co operating,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for and transition into a career based job.
Server (Current Employee), Mount Juliet, TNJanuary 14, 2014
Pros: 50% of food when you are working, 25% off of food when you are at any one of the darden inc. properties
Fast paced work place
Learned how to multi-task well and learn the in's and out's of the restaurant world
Management was excellent and very much willing to work with the employee's
Hardest part of the job is the physical wear and tear on your body (especially your feet and knees)
Most enjoyable part to me was the people that walked in the door! Both – more... guests wanting to eat to everyone that worked there. There is never a dull moment to say the least. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Place to Work
Design Associate, Capital Grille and Yard House (Former Employee), Orlando, FLDecember 13, 2013
Pros: amazing restaraunt support center! second to none!
Cons: benefits are little to be desired these days.
The collaborative culture at Darden is fun and enjoyable. Everyone is friendly and professional. I enjoyed my time with the company and hope the best for its continued success!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cant complain
Server/busser/DMO (Current Employee), Tacoma, WADecember 4, 2013
Pros: discount food
Cons: short breaks if none.
its not a bad place to work for, just not getting the best of hours right now and looking for a second job. New mangers come and go so fast, each one different in personallites and such make it so you never know what to expect.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Darden continues to be a loyal company even after my resignation.
Certified Server Trainer at Olive Garden (Former Employee), Visalia, CaNovember 28, 2013
Pros: discounts, short hours, tips
Cons: short breaks, high intensity
The training at any Darden restaurant functions to high quality standards. Everywhere I have moved this company was able to transfer and work with me. My schedules were always flexible. My managers always maintained professional behavior but were able to connect with their team really well. It felt like a family, if I were to return they would remember – more... me like family. I enjoyed my experiences with Darden, it is just time for me to get out of the service industry. A typical day serving people endless pasta is exactly what it sounds like. It is one of the best of companies to be an employee under. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment with great people.
Server Assistant (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXNovember 26, 2013
Pros: good hours, fun environment, good pay, great coworkers.
Cons: very hard work, late night, stressful.
Very hard work, a lot of running around and stressful situations. I learned how to work with a team and depend on them when overwhelmed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flip Flop
Server (Former Employee), Snellville, GANovember 20, 2013
I like some things about DARDEN, and others I do not. I feel as if their employees work hard, and still get treated like gum on the bottom of their shoes. If they could treat their employees better, then they would get an A+ from me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work if someone is going to school..
Server (Current Employee), Clarksville, TNOctober 29, 2013
Pros: fast cash, really awsome working with schdueles while in school
Cons: hard to advance in your job, not knowing what you are going to make a week
Serving was a great job for being young and choosing what path to choose in life for your career and also they were awesome with me while I was in school with working with my schduele.. I started working at Olive Garden in Longview, TX , here at home Clarksville, TN and while I was in school in Fort Myers, FL.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate Enviroment
Senior Project Leader (Current Employee), Orlando, FLOctober 26, 2013
Pros: restaurant discount
Cons: health care, micromanagement
Corporate Environment. Top Down Management. High Cost of Benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Job security
manager (Former Employee), wiliamsportOctober 4, 2013
Cons: everything
There is NO JOB SECURITY with this job. They can fire you anytime for anything and they do. Don't take the job. The training is awful, and the district managers are not good. Thats why they are always hiring, because they are always firing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My job
Customer Service (Former Employee), Dallas, TXOctober 3, 2013
Throughout the years of serving my guests at various locations I have bettered my skills in customer service. If I cannot make my guest happy I will not give up, I have saved my guests money giving them the best services at an affordable price for their budget and them having exactly what they want. I create a trusting professional relationship with – more... my guests. I have had so many compliments and very, very few complaints due to not being able to negotiate with that particular guest. With that being said at no point have I ever caused conflict within losing money from the previous businesses I have worked for. In my thoughts I believe it is, make the business grow and maintain the business that is already there. I have an opened mind and always ready to learn new things in order to better myself,”we will never know every-thing but we can strive to know more than before” – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team and Goal focused
Certified Bartender and Server Trainer (Former Employee), Kansas CitySeptember 25, 2013
Great at delivering the Italian dining experience with a focus on 100 percent guest delight. A passion to maintain a high standard of service.

1 2 3 4