Dalhousie University Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 50 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible hours and aimed towards student lifestyle
Undergraduate Neuroscience/Psychology Proctor (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NSApril 1, 2016
- Given enough responsibly to work independently or alongside professors and fellow students
- Allows students to become familiar with various professors in the Neuroscience/Psychology department and network
Pros
Pick your own hours
Cons
Not enough hours, too many employees
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to learn and meet people
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NSMarch 22, 2016
My job as a Research assistant involved developing few mobile application as part of a research study. The workplace diversity in terms of the variety of projects people are working on is a great motivational factor and encourages one to learn more.
Pros
fun place
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Culture, Better City
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dalhousie UniversityMarch 2, 2016
Dalhousie is a very inclusive and welcoming organization. They go above and beyond to help both their students and employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and easy work
Audio Visual Technician (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NSDecember 26, 2015
The best thing about Dalhousie is the work hours which are pretty relaxed. Here you get to meet a lot of faculty members and learn something new everyday. The co workers are really helpful and provide great support.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Offering you thousands of free sources for your researches
Research/Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NSDecember 5, 2015
As a research assistant, you will have my own study area (a table in a lab with a good computer) and you can reach any online source for free for your researches. People are there awesome, everybody is helpful
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great university
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NSOctober 29, 2015
it is not hard to be a TA at Dal if you are good at some courses. teacher is nice, and it is a good experience to review my knowledge and practise the communication skills
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment with supportive management
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NovascotiaOctober 14, 2015
Understood working culture in Canada and different aspects of work environment in Human Resources and other departments.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New experience as a teaching assistant
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NSOctober 10, 2015
It is good thing to enter new job atmosphere. the salary was not enough even for rent however i needed to try such a part time job
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bullying occurred regularly
Visa and Electives Clerk (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NSSeptember 16, 2015
Here is make take on my last job at Dalhousie:

My supervisor got away with bullying me on a regular basis and I had to take medical leave because of it. The managing director didn't do anything to stop him.

I did not enjoy working there at all. The people who had been there for many years treated newcomers like second class citizens.

Someone else may disagree but this is my perception of this institution.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
About Work
Graduate Project - Industrial engineer (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NSSeptember 6, 2015
• Ability to understand and design modern safety control systems and to understand and troubleshoot machine problems
• Proficient in 5’s, continuous improvement, Kaizen, Six Sigma (DMAIC & DMADV), Value Stream Mapping, TPM, Line balancing, Cycle Time Reduction, FMEA (Design and Process), Design Verification Plan and report & ISO Standards.
• Over 2 year of experience in reducing and/or eliminating unplanned downtime on equipment.
• Responsible for the identification, development and implementation of continuous improvement techniques and best practices focused on improvements in Safety, Quality, Delivery and Productivity
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Learning Experience
Instructional Technologies Support (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NSSeptember 1, 2015
I got to work on the new learning management system for Dalhousie University. Help my coding skills in web development shape up. Great team work, friendly work area. Co-workers are nice and respectful.
Pros
Gain a lots of experience
Cons
Early mornings
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching French-speaking Canadians English
Instructor (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NSAugust 28, 2015
Lived on Dalhousie University Campus and was worked for the Explore Canada language emersion program. I Planned and developed curriculum for Journalism Module. I supported students of various ages and cultural backgrounds by finding an individual approach. I Conducted two daily workshops for students and was Chief Editor of two final publications
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going and stress free job.
Phonathon Fundraiser( Annual Funding Office) (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NSJune 5, 2015
You learn some vital skills neccessary in every organisation. this includes integrity, honesty and a strong work ethic.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NSApril 7, 2015
Very productive environment where pool of talented people are working. I benefited from this position technically with hand full of experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work with Balance
Postdoctoral Fellow (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NSMarch 4, 2015
Develop electrolyte additive for energy storage device. Develop electrolyte for High voltage Li-ion batteries. Develop cathode and anode materials for batteries.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NSFebruary 4, 2015
Love the people, good research facility, excellent university to attend. Really enjoyed the experiences that I gained in this University. Sad there are not many permanent positions there
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic work enirvonment
Customer Service/Funzone Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NSDecember 15, 2014
-The student staff are energetic and eager to learn
-Friendly interaction with customers make work rewarding
-Team collaborations are key to organizational development
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and productive workplace
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NSNovember 18, 2014
A separate and comfortable desk was allotted to each person. A local server was dedicated to develop projects. Any time access to the working environment. Easy to interact with other colleagues. Switching to new technologies from existing technologies. Learning new technologies and frameworks.
Pros
any time access to working space.
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My Summery of Dalhousie University
Circulation Clerk (Former Employee) –  Halifax, NSNovember 17, 2014
I Believe Dalhousie University is an excellent place to work. You come to work in the morning and you work for a couple of hours and then you meet up with co-workers during coffee break. Management is fair and reliable and quick to act if you have a question or concern. I would say the hardest part of the job is getting used to change and the most enjoyable part of the job is getting to know new people.
Pros
having a good paying job
Cons
none that i can think of right now
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Help Desk Technician (Current Employee) –  Killam LibraryNovember 6, 2014
Great co workers. Excellent working environment. Most enjoyable part is that you get to help people and the feeling you get after solving their issues.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 51 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture