Dairy Queen Employee Reviews

Found 567 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
dairy queen (Former Employee) –  Innisfail, AB14 November 2016
i liked it at dq we worked at a fast pace and alot of overtime. i loved taking peoples orders and having a good attitude. the most enjoyable part of the job was making diffrent kinds of blizzards.the hardest part of the jopb was when it got busy and we had to do a whole bunch of things at a time.my coworkers were amazing to me and ive made a few friends form it and still friends to this day.
Pros
working at a fast pace
Cons
got off early sometimes
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Exciting
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  London, ON14 November 2016
This is a fun and exciting place to work where you can learn many customer service skills along with food safety and product knowledge. greatly supportive team environment.
Pros
Discounts! make new friends!
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strathmore Dairy Queen
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Strathmore, AB13 November 2016
Managers are very rude and unappreciative of the work and effort you put into this job, many times the owner has yelled at the staff infront of customers causing a few of them to leave. Owner blows her top way to often and can make it very uncomfortable for staff. Fun is not allowed. Theres a big disconnect on policies between supervisors and managers. However the owner is fairly flexible on working around your schedule if you have a second job, are in school or other extra curricular activities.
Pros
20% of food
Cons
Someone is always on your case.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Memorable
Cashier, Ice Cream Dispenser and Designer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB13 November 2016
Working at Dairy Queen helped me understand and gain critical food safety and handling. It was a great learning experience for food efficiency and customer engagement.
Pros
discounts on food
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, High stress environment, great coworkers
Crew member (Former Employee) –  Okotoks, AB13 November 2016
Dairy Queen is a fast paced job with availability for advancement within the company. You learn to work with deadlines and deal with customers on a daily basis.
Pros
coworkers
Cons
salary
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
gAry
Cashier/Drive-Thru (Former Employee) –  Stony Plain, AB10 November 2016
It was ok. Some of the people were nice, some were not. If the supervisors were more respectful i would have stayed. I'm a teenager, what do you expect?
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work environment
Cleaner/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Stewiacke, NS7 November 2016
wonderful management and coworkers,was trained well n learned a lot of new cleaning techniques,worked on my own cleaning until next shift came in,cleaned friers n grills n ovens,and all areas as well as prepared stuff for the next shift coming in to make it easier.
Pros
worked alone
Cons
parttime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great entry level job, not great management.
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB5 November 2016
The job its self is a great opportunity to enter into the work force, there are opportunities for promotions. Working with customers is fun but the management is not the best
Pros
discount during work hours
Cons
not a lot of shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Food Service Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB3 November 2016
Dairy Queen Orange julius is a fun work place. You can enjoy the work environment and you can able to meet and make new friends out from customers and co workers. Being part of management team, It is very interactive and a lot of learning activities everyday. Sharing of information, thinking of new ideas that can help each other to grow , especially for the benefit of the company.
Pros
Free food, discounts, paid vacation
Cons
Should be available all the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ice Cream and Food
Night Manager (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC2 November 2016
Was great working with the owner and co workers I learned how to make ice cream cakes and blizzards. Hardest parts of the job were difficult customers.
Pros
free sundaes
Cons
long shifts sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly and cooperative coworkers
CASHIER & CREW MEMBER (Former Employee) –  Quebec City, QC2 November 2016
A typical shift at Dairy Queen was pretty straight forward. We were each given responsibilities for closing and what we had to produce when there weren't too many clients. When serving clients we helped each other. There was often tension however seeing as it was not very well organised and there was miscommunication and problems with payment.
Pros
half off for anything on the menu
Cons
every shift ended at midnight
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An amazing first job
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON1 November 2016
Working in the DQ restaurant is great for someone looking for part-time work.

The atmosphere and management are great. They are very accommodating with hours and requests for time off. Even for the full-time employees they offer to work with their personal schedules and are very flexible when things come up.

The team at DQ works like a well oiled machine and everyone does their part to achieve a collective goal. All members and leaders are very positive and proactive. I cannot say enough good things about being a DQ team member.

The hardest part of the job was that even as a full-time employee there is little to no room for advancement once you become a supervisor, and even the full time employees do not receive any kind of benefits. Overall, for part-time employment while you are in school, or looking for less than 30 hours a week I would recommend DQ without question.
Pros
Great teamwork and leadership
Cons
no opportunities for advancement, no medical benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Supervisor and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON1 November 2016
Daily tasks include taking customers orders, making the orders, cleaning the store, and stocking items. During the summer months it can get very busy so you have to keep a steady pace. It is a very enjoyable job and all management and coworkers I've come across have always been very nice and helpful.
Pros
Lots of ice-cream and candy.
Cons
It's always cold in the store.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its was a fun workplace
lobby (Former Employee) –  St. Albert, AB1 November 2016
I loved working at the dairy queen and it was a pleasure being with the other employees. the only problem I encountered was not enough hours per week
Pros
50% off on food
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Challenging
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Canada1 November 2016
It was a very fun environment. Always busy, but manageable. Co-workers were always enthusiastic and worked as a team. Easy to move up in the company and great trainers.
Pros
Free Lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experience
Customer service representative (Former Employee) –  Sault Ste. Marie, ON24 October 2016
Working at Dairy Queen was a beneficial learning experience. However the management needs to better balance out their employees, some employees worked way too much and some very little. In the end i was burnt out and exhausted from being over worked.
Pros
enjoyable
Cons
very late and illegal hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its awesome...
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Emerald Park, SK23 October 2016
It was a very good opportunity for interacting with people or you can say to be social. By working in front you get to serve and deal with different community people. Where i worked, it was really perfect work environment. I learned a lot there. I would give full credit to my managers they gave lots of opportunity to learn.

Tons of thanks to them.
Pros
good work environment, communication..
Cons
when it gets busy misunderstandings happens which i guess happens everywhere.....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to be
Sales Associate and Cashier (Current Employee) –  Moncton, NB22 October 2016
Dairy Queen has been a great place to work at. It is a team oriented place to work. And a great place to recommend. Being my first job experience i do not regret.
Cons
9
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Atmosphere to work in
Shift leader (Current Employee) –  Orleans, ON18 October 2016
The people are really nice and its an overall enjoyable place to work. the hours are flexible and my co-workers are very nice, as well as, my manager.
Pros
50% off discount
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible management .
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB17 October 2016
management isn't good . Managers talks behind workers back . Doesn't confront workers when they have a problem. workers are all Asian. Only hires by reference and then if they don't do well they talk behind their back to other workers..
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 4,596 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5