Dairy Queen Employee Reviews

Found 568 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organized workplace, fast-paced, great team members.
Food Prep (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB17 December 2016
While working at Dairy Queen, I learned the burger basics! i was a kitchen member for over a month. good people and a good work environment, safety and cleanliness were always kept under tight restrictions.
Pros
good exp. + knowledge gained.
Cons
shady schedules + Ignorant manager.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Enviroment
Front Counter Staff (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 December 2016
A Typical Work Day
- Customer Service
- Food Prep

What I Learned
- How to Work as a Team
- How to Make Blizzards

Management
- Good
- Nice

Co-Workers
- Good
- Nice

The Hardest Part of the Job
- Customer Service

The Most Enjoyable Part of the Job
- Work Enviroment
Pros
Good Food
Cons
Minimum Wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work starting out
Cook (Current Employee) –  Sydney, NS13 December 2016
Great place to work starting out
minimum wage
Benefits to working in a place like this are perfect for team building and learning to deal with the public
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work days, sometimes entertaining
Shift leader/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 December 2016
Working at Dairy Queen has taught me a lot about what it means to provide excellent customer service to people. I have also built relationships with some customers who regularly came in and as well as the team I work with every day. Mostly, I enjoy making at least one persons day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, Family environment.
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 December 2016
I loved my 11 years at Dairy Queen. It was a great team. The owners and management were incredible. There was a real sense of loyalty to each other. Sadly, the owner sold the business.
Pros
Fun place to work
Cons
They sold the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 December 2016
this work place made me uncomfortable, and very disrespected by the people around me. never felt welcomed, the other workers always tried to start unnecessary drama. i tried my best to stay far away.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dairy Queen
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC12 December 2016
working on cash register, making blizzards and other foods for customers, cleaning counters and busing tables, I learned how to operate a cash register and different recipes for making various food merchandise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work expirence at DQ
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON9 December 2016
Nice environment, friendly co-workers.However, did not receive the hours I asked for. Other than that, everything is good.
Pros
Friendly co-workers
Cons
Wrong shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place with friends
Counter Staff (Former Employee) –  Dryden, ON7 December 2016
I enjoyed working their a lot and caught on very quick. I got a long with everyone around me and it was fun experience. I would for sure work there again.
Pros
Good Co workers
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Cashier/Server (Former Employee) –  Maple Ridge, BC5 December 2016
Working at Dairy Queen was fun,easy job. I learned to work fast in the fast food restaurant and taking orders. Management was okay and co-workers were friendly and helpful. The hardest part of working at Dairy Queen was memorizing the different ingredients to put in the ice cream. Th most enjoyable part was working with some of my co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dairy Queen
Crew Trainer (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 December 2016
overall easy job, it's a franchise company so not all Dairy Queen's run the same. Co-workers are easy to get along with when a solid team environment is formed.
Pros
Flexible Schedule
Cons
Franchise company so all stores don't run the same
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Preferential treatment towards some employees
Employee (Former Employee) –  Ville Emard29 November 2016
Typical days were decent, though the management shows favoritism to family members who are sometimes far from good employees and if they were in any other place would have been fired or warned. Ruined the environment.
Pros
Free ice cream while on shift
Cons
Preferential treatment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good
Server/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Smiths Falls, ON27 November 2016
I enjoyed working with the people I worked with, and had a very psoitive summer working experience for the past two summers.
Pros
fun
Cons
girl drama (all girls)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great shift life
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Kitimat25 November 2016
Every shift was a blast co-workers are friendly, outgoing and just overall good people. You were never put down, management was great. Learning was a steep curve from cooking to operating the tills, to working the super fast drive thru.
Pros
50 % off while working
Cons
being in a union
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Cook (Current Employee) –  Kamloops, BC25 November 2016
Nice environment to work and all the staffs are helpful. Location is very good. Many employee benefits. Good work culture. Supervisors are super cool.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job
Supervisor/Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, AB23 November 2016
It was my first job and I absolutely loved it but when I became a supervisor it didn't suit my needs and wage to survive with my family in this economy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my time there.
Cook/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Creston, BC23 November 2016
Dairy Queen was a nice place to work my boss and almost all of my coworkers were very nice. My favourite part was preparing the novelty treats, I also enjoyed working with people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting and an overall learning experience
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Tottenham, ON19 November 2016
Diary Queen was a job that taught me many skills in working in customer service, handling complaints and how to keep the generalized population of Tottenham happy. I learned much from my employers on the overall knowledge of running, owning, and maintaining a business. also, by having a hands on experience with the machines located at diary queen i was able to learn a great deal about hands on manual labor as well as the safety precautions needed in order to handle these machines properly. I also learned a great deal in food safety, ll of this included how o handle food properly when delivering it to a customer, as well as how to cook, prepare, and deliver food.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Enjoyable
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Sault-Sainte-Marie, ON18 November 2016
Good place to work, and learn skills firsthand. The balance of work between you and your co-workers will give you respite throughout the shift. Great place to enter into the workplace.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Server (Current Employee) –  Brampton, ON16 November 2016
In my opinion, DQ is a great environment to work in because you are able to build essential relationships with co-workers and customers. It's a fun and happy place to be in especially during the summer.
Pros
Great Managing
Cons
Lack of hours during cold months
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 4,613 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Salary/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5