Find companies:
Dairy Queen
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,739 reviews

Dairy Queen Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Dishes, promoted to prep and line cook (Former Employee), Devon AlbertaNovember 20, 2013
Pros: ice cream
cooking,cleaning dealing with customers.
would go to work after school and start cooking making food
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good first job
Caissière (Former Employee), Laval, B5November 18, 2013
Pros: free food
i worked the cash and made the desserts as well. my co-workers were nice, so were my managers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun places
cashier (Former Employee), edmonton albertaNovember 11, 2013
Pros: free drinks
Cons: long lunch
dairy queen was a fun place to work at . i learned how to work with the soft serve area such as ice cream , cones and soomthies, the management was good the boss was friendly. my co workers were friendly, fun respectful of others's feelings , the hardest part of the job was working at the tilt for the first time . the most enjoyable part of the job – more... was learning how to work in the chill area and the people – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible management
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONNovember 6, 2013
Management was sexist in that they believed men must be in the kitchen and not greet the customers. There was no room for advancement in the company. Little training was received. I had learned to improve my multitasking.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), ottawa ontarioNovember 5, 2013
Friendly co workers and friendly customers.I was responsible for opening the store and getting the cashes ready,cleaning of the equipment and decorating cakes.Dairy queen was a great place to work at.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
making ice cream is fun
Restaurant Team Member (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBOctober 31, 2013
learned a lot of new stuffs like being creative on making cake decorations
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A little bit too hard
Kitchen Helper (Current Employee), Golden, B.C.October 22, 2013
Pros: 50% off for the food
Cons: long hours
the work requires lots of patience and stamina which i believe i possessed. the hardest part of the job is when you do your job in the kitchen/fryer which is so hot, then you go inside the freezer & cooler to get your stuff. My co-workers were all good and easy to be with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
cook (Former Employee), Maple ridgeOctober 18, 2013
Pros: 50% off food and icecream
Cons: not many shifts
learned a lot about being punctual and work in a fast paced environment. Managers helped where they could and were understanding about scenarios. Good co-workers. Getting the preferred shifts was the hardest part. working hard and learning as I went on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job for work/life balance
Shift Manager (Former Employee), Fredericton, NBOctober 7, 2013
Pros: paid breaks
Cons: a lot of younger people
I worked with a lot of great people at Dairy Queen. I was shift manager there for about a year and a half. I had a lot of responsibilities as shift manager such as counting floats before and after every shift, making sure I was making decisions based on what was best for the company, making sure everyone was staying busy. I also learned a lot of skills – more... while I was there; I got the opportunity to further advance in customer service skills, social skills, math skills. I was always on time for work. Very prompt. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Fun Place
Customer Service (Current Employee), Brantford, ONOctober 3, 2013
Nice co workers
good place if your trying to go to school
good first job experikence
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medium-high volume fast food location.
Supervisor (Former Employee), Thunder Bay, ONSeptember 26, 2013
Pros: above average pay, reliable hours.
Cons: unpredictable at times.
Well structured, well organized and accounting for the unexpected that occurs day to day, well run.

Entrusted me with a supervisory position, plus coaching and training in several new responsibilities of store operations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a really enjoyable job.
Cake Decorator (Former Employee), Newton, BCSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: free lunch.
Cons: not enough shifts or even full shifts, not enough days.
A day at work would go like this..
I would start work 8 or 9 am. Fill in icing bags, make sure my work area was clean. and i would take special cake orders as well as decorating the cakes and dealing with customers and handling thier problems (if they had any). It was a lot of fun working with my co-workers. everyone got a long well and it just made – more... work a lot easier. as for for my job there wasnt really anything hard about it, sometimes it would be a little bit more challenging than other days.. where I would have to decorate more cakes in a short period of time but i still got it done.
the most enjoyable part would have been meeting new people and just the job itself dealing with customers satisfaction.. never really saw a customer leave without a smile on there face. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at DQ is great. Nice people, good atmosphere, lots of fun.
Grill worker (Current Employee), Young Road, ChilliwackSeptember 24, 2013
Orders come in, we make them, clean up frequently. Always stay stocked, and still have time to have conversations between co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical chain restaurant, great staff, minimal pay.
Cashier (Former Employee), Golden, BCSeptember 16, 2013
I really enjoyed working at Dairy Queen because the staff was always efficient and fun to be around. I took orders and made ice cream and answered the phone and did dishes. Clean-up was mandatory three times a day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and lots of opportunity for advancement.
Brazier and Frontline, Supervisor (Current Employee), Mission, BCSeptember 8, 2013
Pros: supervisors get free break meals.
Cons: 8 hour shifts with one 30 min break.
A typical day at work would be stocking and daily and weekly duties including various tasks involving cleaning and organizing. All of the managers are quite young, making it hard to communicate your desires to change or make something better. The managers that are older don't understand that it's hard for all teenage girls to be running a fast-paced – more... and stressful fast food restaurant and get angry and upset when something goes wrong. My co-workers are friendly and get the job done, we all seem to have the same mind-set and work towards like goals. I've learned all about customer service and how to deal with an unhappy customer in a courteous and polite manner while trying to satisfy their wants and needs. The hardest part and the most enjoyable part of my job leans toward the same category and that's connecting with customers. I have a connection with those that come in every day and order the same thing and they're happy because you know them so well, but the customers that give you a hard time and get upset with you, it's hard to keep your cool and at the end of it to smile and say have a nice day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Experience
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Richmond Hill, ONSeptember 6, 2013
Working regular full time 8 hours a day.
Learned how to deal with the customers and ability to maneuver around the store.
Easy to get along with and train newly hired employee.
There's no hard job if you know how to deal with courage and patience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an okay workplace
Cashier/Cook (Current Employee), MarkhamAugust 19, 2013
-its an okay workplace
-i'm not looking forward to stay here for a longer period '
-management is really poor at this location
-co worker are okay
-way too much cleaning and rules that have to be followed
-happy customers are the only enjoyable part of this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a huge support.
Cook/Prep cook (Former Employee), Airdrie, ABAugust 12, 2013
Very fast paced, everything is timed and being late is harder on yourself. your team is so supportive they will get where you need to be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place with very few working hours
Food Maker (Former Employee), Hope, BCAugust 8, 2013
Pros: discounts
Cons: few hours
would often come in and be sent home a couple hours early due to not busy enough in restaurant
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Cook/Front end (Former Employee), Victoria, BCAugust 7, 2013
Pros: good staff funn atmosphere
Cons: not a very good owner he did not care about his store
It was a ok place to work but the owner brought too much of there personal life into the store the staff were not able to do there jobs because managment could not figure out there stuff and things in the store were always breaking i would say the store was ok to work at for teenagers who do not no any better but for adults it is not a good envirment

About Dairy Queen

Dairy Queen, often abbreviated DQ, is a chain of soft serve and fast food restaurants owned by International Dairy Queen, Inc, – Read more