Dairy Queen Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Chelmsford, ON1 October 2017
Worked at DQ from 15 - 19. Great first job, teaches you alot about work ethic and the ability to move up (server to shift leader to supervisor and cook) really gives you the feel for everything and teaches you communication and having fairly high levels of responsibility.
Pros
Ice cream and advancements
Cons
Depends on the manager; generally night shifts though
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average work place but good friendly enviroment
Fry Cook (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB30 September 2017
Had a lot of fun there as an employee. Learned to train independently at times. Coping with big rushes and hands on training helped. Was trained to think ahead and plan out the day then just winging it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
AB Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 September 2017
Outgoing and very helpful crew members.

I learned disciplinary things like standing up for along time.

The management overall was great

There was different people with different cultures

The best part of the job is helping people with orders.

The hardest part is standing for along time but you get used to it.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Courtice, ON28 September 2017
Dairy Queen is an awesome first job. Very quick paced but a great learning experience, as well as a fun way to make money. My coworkers were amazing, as well as my management, but unfortunately the owner sold.
Pros
50% off on breaks
Cons
Messy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had a lot of fun working with the tamarack Dairy Queen team
Front Counter Attendant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 September 2017
When I first got hired on with Dairy Queen I was very nervous and I didn’t think they would be so open and friendly ! The manAgemebt weren’t like you would expect to be
Pros
Great staff
Cons
Slow days were the worst
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great bosses/co-workers
TEAM MEMBER (Current Employee) –  Sarnia, ON26 September 2017
Working at Dairy Queen has been awesome for me. I have met a lot of new people and some new friends. The owners and management are firm, but fair and everyone works as a team to get things done.
Pros
Half price during your shifts
Cons
Can be very stressful if busy
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's fun to make the ice cream products
Cashier and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 September 2017
I really enjoyed learning how to make the ice cream products. I'm disappointed that I didn't get to learn to make burgers; they didn't keep me long enough. I also enjoyed the customer service experience.
Pros
Free overflow on ice cream products, discounts(employee, friends, family)
Cons
Fast pace, high expectations, lunch rushes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job and wonderful environment and staff
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB25 September 2017
Working at Dairy Queen allowed me to gain experience and understand commitment. Also Diary Queen taught me to understand the do’s and dont’s on how to interact with customers. In a way, it even gave me sales experience through interacting with the customer and upsizing their blizzard, or cone by pointing out a small difference in price. The environment and co-workers were amazing and always willing to help each other out for taking over shifts
Pros
Allowed to have anything for free while working/on break
Cons
Long hours relative to what I was able to handle at the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starter job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Coquitlam, BC23 September 2017
While I worked at Dairy Queen, they were flexible with my hours, which was nice. Unfortunately some of the other staff, who have now since left since I worked there last, didn't take their responsibilities seriously. The overall environment was alright, and the tasks we were given were easy to accomplish and straight forward in their manner.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place
Fort Qu' Appelle Cashier (Former Employee) –  Fort Qu'Appelle, SK19 September 2017
Staff very nice. Always working and having fun. The boss is very giving and fair. No one gets treated bad. Students are encouraged to get jobs there and gain friendships.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 September 2017
A good place for a first job, not too fast paced.
Learn how to make the "chill" food and take cash/orders.
Fun, easy going environment - workers are very friendly.
Downside: not many shifts given
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Not many shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dairy Queen
Dairy Clerk (Current Employee) –  Whitby, ON19 September 2017
A typical day starts with a great greeting and then you are given light easy duties which are great to do. Serving people and getting positive feedbacks customers are great satisfaction.
Pros
organized
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun fast pace simple
Employee (Former Employee) –  Peace River, AB18 September 2017
Good place to start wouldn't want to spend a lifetime there due to poor management and poor authority but they will teach you how to work at any job they will show you how to notice the little details that customers look for in a place to dine
Pros
50% off purchases under 15$
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place for employment
Food Counter Attendant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB18 September 2017
They have a very enjoyable workplace, they always make sure that customers are satisfied with their visit, as well as their employees, they are always striving to make the work place better and more enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational and helpful for future pursuits
Grill Worker (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB15 September 2017
Working at Dairy Queen was the first time I experienced being on an actual payroll, and working under professional superiors on a day to day basis. I learned many skills that will help me in my future work places, and I met many friends.
Pros
Half off on food for breaks, Nice people
Cons
Very hot during the summers, Sometimes understaffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun family atmosphere great workplace to start out in
cashier (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC13 September 2017
was a very good job, was respected by the owners and bosses alike.
Made for a very good over all working environment. the scheduling was worked around what you were able to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly staff, fast pace environment
Customer Service Clerk/Cook (Former Employee) –  Salisbury, NB12 September 2017
Good place to work, face pace environment, you stay busy most of the day. Cleaning, using the cash, making icecream, cooking food. Pretty decent place to work
Pros
Staff discount, free dq cake on your birthday
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good starter job. Hired students for summer and then laid off the students in Sept.
Grill Cook (Former Employee) –  Spruce Grove, AB11 September 2017
Good training, averaged about 25 hours a week, disappointed that they trained a bunch of us to work at the new location in Spruce Grove through the summer for 3 months and then they laid most of the kids off. They hired a bunch of full time workers and then told us they did have enough work for us. Very disappointed in the company.
Pros
Only 50% off of food when you worked a shift
Cons
Managers not experienced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced
Cashier, drive (Former Employee) –  Drayton Valley, AB11 September 2017
A day at work required taking orders at the drive through and the counter. Made ice cream treats, cleaned, managed money locked up at night. my very fist job so learned hoe to interact with customers and other employees and how to prepare food. the managers were always very assertive because they had to make sure all of the employees were doing what they had to do. the hardest part of the job was when someone had more then just one job and if it was busy it would be hard to balance two jobs at a time. the most enjoyable part of the job would be getting to work with people that i know and that were my age, and interacting with customers.
Pros
Discount meals
Cons
going to school from 8am -3pm then working from 4pm-11pm and having no time for school work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I know grill and cashier. Lots of experience
Cashier/grill (Former Employee) –  Calgary ab11 September 2017
Good people. Long shifts. Lots of cleaning. Handling other people's food with care and always washing my handle before my shift and throughout my shift. Practice handling money and being confident and nice when speaking to a customer.
Pros
Practice handling money, food, talking to customers, upselling, being honest
Cons
bad wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dairy Queen. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 7,267 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.4
Culture
3.4