Find companies:
Dairy Queen
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,660 reviews

Dairy Queen Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a really enjoyable job.
Cake Decorator (Former Employee), Newton, BCSeptember 24, 2013
Pros: free lunch.
Cons: not enough shifts or even full shifts, not enough days.
A day at work would go like this..
I would start work 8 or 9 am. Fill in icing bags, make sure my work area was clean. and i would take special cake orders as well as decorating the cakes and dealing with customers and handling thier problems (if they had any). It was a lot of fun working with my co-workers. everyone got a long well and it just made – more... work a lot easier. as for for my job there wasnt really anything hard about it, sometimes it would be a little bit more challenging than other days.. where I would have to decorate more cakes in a short period of time but i still got it done.
the most enjoyable part would have been meeting new people and just the job itself dealing with customers satisfaction.. never really saw a customer leave without a smile on there face. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at DQ is great. Nice people, good atmosphere, lots of fun.
Grill worker (Current Employee), Young Road, ChilliwackSeptember 24, 2013
Orders come in, we make them, clean up frequently. Always stay stocked, and still have time to have conversations between co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical chain restaurant, great staff, minimal pay.
Cashier (Former Employee), Golden, BCSeptember 16, 2013
I really enjoyed working at Dairy Queen because the staff was always efficient and fun to be around. I took orders and made ice cream and answered the phone and did dishes. Clean-up was mandatory three times a day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and lots of opportunity for advancement.
Brazier and Frontline, Supervisor (Current Employee), Mission, BCSeptember 8, 2013
Pros: supervisors get free break meals.
Cons: 8 hour shifts with one 30 min break.
A typical day at work would be stocking and daily and weekly duties including various tasks involving cleaning and organizing. All of the managers are quite young, making it hard to communicate your desires to change or make something better. The managers that are older don't understand that it's hard for all teenage girls to be running a fast-paced – more... and stressful fast food restaurant and get angry and upset when something goes wrong. My co-workers are friendly and get the job done, we all seem to have the same mind-set and work towards like goals. I've learned all about customer service and how to deal with an unhappy customer in a courteous and polite manner while trying to satisfy their wants and needs. The hardest part and the most enjoyable part of my job leans toward the same category and that's connecting with customers. I have a connection with those that come in every day and order the same thing and they're happy because you know them so well, but the customers that give you a hard time and get upset with you, it's hard to keep your cool and at the end of it to smile and say have a nice day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service Experience
Sales Associate (Current Employee), Richmond Hill, ONSeptember 6, 2013
Working regular full time 8 hours a day.
Learned how to deal with the customers and ability to maneuver around the store.
Easy to get along with and train newly hired employee.
There's no hard job if you know how to deal with courage and patience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's an okay workplace
Cashier/Cook (Current Employee), MarkhamAugust 19, 2013
-its an okay workplace
-i'm not looking forward to stay here for a longer period '
-management is really poor at this location
-co worker are okay
-way too much cleaning and rules that have to be followed
-happy customers are the only enjoyable part of this job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a huge support.
Cook/Prep cook (Former Employee), Airdrie, ABAugust 12, 2013
Very fast paced, everything is timed and being late is harder on yourself. your team is so supportive they will get where you need to be.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place with very few working hours
Food Maker (Former Employee), Hope, BCAugust 8, 2013
Pros: discounts
Cons: few hours
would often come in and be sent home a couple hours early due to not busy enough in restaurant
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Cook/Front end (Former Employee), Victoria, BCAugust 7, 2013
Pros: good staff funn atmosphere
Cons: not a very good owner he did not care about his store
It was a ok place to work but the owner brought too much of there personal life into the store the staff were not able to do there jobs because managment could not figure out there stuff and things in the store were always breaking i would say the store was ok to work at for teenagers who do not no any better but for adults it is not a good envirment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
careless management
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 29, 2013
Pros: free meal each shift
Cons: extensive favoritism
very unorganized and minimal cleanliness. there is now new management due to such lack of supervision resulting in a an unhealthy work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
front cashier (Former Employee), Peterborough, ONJuly 26, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: long hours, no extra pay
as long as your willing to work, no matter how late (sometimes 130am) and how much work you put into it then your ok, i personally am not ok with having to be at work 3 hrs past close just to make sure things are spotless
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Cashier (Current Employee), Courtenay, BCJuly 19, 2013
The job is fun but most of the coworkers lack energy and expect you to do most of the work, the typical day is you serve customers and clean and take garbage out and fill ice. I learned how to make different desserts and how to handle customers that have a issue with there food or dessert product. the hardest part is trying to get everything good for – more... your boss especially when you are working with them and also the supervisors and the most enjoyable part is serving customers and having small chats with the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Food Counter Attendant (Current Employee), Peace River, ABJuly 18, 2013
Pros: free meal
Cons: long hours
I work afternoon till midnight, but i can work anytime.
Nothing special like my other work experience
Doing cash out and ordering stock
My co-workers are nice and kind
When i was new in the job
The most enjoyable part is when busy hours and doing break because my meal is free..
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Team Players!
Cashier (Former Employee), Regina,skJuly 7, 2013
Pros: great team players
Cons: salary
I LOVED working for Dairy Queen, the enviroment was awesome, everyone was always in a great mood, and the customers were barely rude! I always had fun serving customers and working in the drive through.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team oriented, mutual respect
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 4, 2013
Pros: free lunchs
Cons: less hours
I liked working with the people there everyone played like a team and respected each other like a family. when i was new everyone was eager to help you out.

there was some unorganization in the management because the boss that hired me on in the first place was fired the week after and there was a process of restructuring, and business was slow in – more... the winter months and everyones hours were cut short as a consequence. i was let go because another manager came off maternity leave. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast place work place
cashier (Former Employee), Calgary, ABJune 27, 2013
Pros: 50% off easy
Cons: repetitive, fast food job.
Unfortunately the one i worked at was poorly managed, but it was a nice experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Work Atmosphere
Night Shift Leader/ Cashier (Current Employee), Stoney Creek, ONJune 21, 2013
I Am able to work well with my work associates and deliver good products to customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being a team player
supervisor (Former Employee), Edmonton,ABJune 14, 2013
Pros: showing up for my job in time.
Cons: had more hours to less hours because boss treated other with respect and others not
I most enjoyable part of my job is to know some staff and helping customer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast faced environment
Supervisor (Former Employee), Grand Forks, BCJune 9, 2013
Pros: my bosses were wonderful people
Enjoyed keeping everything in a organized manner during busy hours an really enjoyed working with the public
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Summer Job
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 6, 2013
The most enjoyable part of the job was dealing with amazing customers. I learned to mutli task and sty calm under pressure

About Dairy Queen

Dairy Queen, often abbreviated DQ, is a chain of soft serve and fast food restaurants owned by International Dairy Queen, Inc, – Read more