Dairy Queen Employee Reviews

Found 614 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management horrible
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Victoria, BC28 February 2017
I've worked at dq couple years, used to love my job. Management changed last year and its become a horrible place to work. New manager is aweful, treats staff like garbage, and doesn't really know her job. Everyone is quiting..which has made it hard to enjoy your job.
Pros
Repeat customers, fun making ice cream
Cons
Managers are brutal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summer student
Summer Student (Former Employee) –  Okotoks, AB27 February 2017
The manager is the worst person I have ever come across. She is rude and doesn't care about her staff. I would never work there again
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dq' body
SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 February 2017
This job improve my team cooperated ability. It is a efficiency job when you treat in ,because you can feeling that rhythm by everybody.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chef
Chef (Former Employee) –  Renfrew, ON25 February 2017
Working at dairy queen was a good spot for my first job the reason why i was working there was to save my money to attend college and to also save for a vehicle.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dairy Queen
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saint John, NB22 February 2017
Good people to work with, decent hours, and great management. I only left Dairy Queen to go to school, to advance my life. it is a very friendly environment.
Pros
Good schedule understanding
Cons
Most staff are Phillaoppino with not the best english
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work but rewarding
Kitchen Manager (Former Employee) –  Thunder Bay, ON17 February 2017
the dairy queen i worked at was ran by a very nice lady but we had trouble keeping a steady staff. lots of room for advancement and opportunities to go further.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nice and funplace to work with
Food Service Counter Attendant (Former Employee) –  Lloydminster, SK16 February 2017
All employees does their specific functions according to duties and responsibilities. During the busy or rush hours, everybody cooperate and develop teamwork within the groups.
Pros
50% discount for the meals
Cons
8 hours or full-time working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Tottenham, ON15 February 2017
Working at dairy queen was a disaster. The systems are outdated and the interview was in a group setting. Not to mention the crazy rushes you get from the high school students coming in for lunch hour.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place
Server (Current Employee) –  Barrie, ON15 February 2017
Excellently run. I learned how to multitask in an environment that was very adaptable. The workplace culture is positive, for the most part. The hardest part of the job is learning how to respond to "difficult" customers; it is also, as with any minimum wage job, difficult to move up to a higher position. The most enjoyable part is interacting with staff.
Pros
Free fries, drinks, and cones per shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to be work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vancouver, BC14 February 2017
good place to start your Canadian work experience, someday its very busy but most of the time you love to work here make very good contacts.a Manager was very friendly and supportive
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with amazing people
Crew Member (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON13 February 2017
Working at Tomken Dairy Queen was the best thing that ever happened to me. Such a welcoming environment, with amazing people. Managers are super nice and will help and guide you through everything. I learned how to patiently deal with customers. I have gained a lot of patience with his job. Just coming into work with a such positive environment would put a smile on my face.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair Bosses Good place to work
Customer service, cashier duties, food preparation (Former Employee) –  Rothesay, NB13 February 2017
Dairy Queen was a very good place to work for a starting out job. It teaches fundamental work skills and team ethic. Hours are good and time of is very well organized. Scheduling methods are some what outdated. Over all a great first job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work palce
Cook (Former Employee) –  Nipawin, SK9 February 2017
It was a fun workplace as you were working with alot of friends you went to school with and people you may know throughout the community. Great place to work if your into sports.
Pros
great if you play sports
Cons
wage.drama
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and fun!
Cook (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 February 2017
Working at Dairy Queen was a pretty great time for me! I was able to be constantly busy, but still able to make relations with those I worked with and was constantly learning new things. While some days were harder than others, it kept me engaged and trying to come up with new ways to do things to make the processes I went through easier.
Pros
Free lunches including dessert, good hours, never the same
Cons
Too much to do for one person
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical day at the ice cream store in summer
Sales Associate, Cashier (Former Employee) –  Gloucester, ON7 February 2017
Huge lineups start to appear around 7pm from the soccer teams close to the store. It constantly involves messy chocolate spills and ice cream on clothes. There is a lot of refilling toppings involved.
Pros
free food, free ice cream, free ice cream cake on bdays
Cons
very busy, heavy manual workload
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No opportunities to grow
Restaurant Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Okotoks, AB6 February 2017
learned few management skills and leadership skills
most enjoyable part was to communicate with guests and helping them with their orders and providing the best food service experience at the premises
Pros
WORKING ENVIRONMENT and dealing with customers (guests)
Cons
No career growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Sudbury, ON6 February 2017
It was my first job I seemed to like it I worked 3 till closing I was the janitor so it was a productive job I'd show up early every day the employees were good kept to them selves
Pros
Free pop & sundeas
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great work place with wonderful team members.
SHIFT SUPERVISOR/CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON6 February 2017
I learned many great things well working here. I really enjoyed working with great team members. The management appreciated your work and paid us accordingly.
Pros
Half price ice-cream well working.
Cons
Extremely busy in the Summer time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My coworkers made it enjoyable
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB6 February 2017
Serve guests, costumers always come first.
how to prepare ice-cream, make cakes and cook
The management wasn't the best at being fair, and were often verbally abusive.
Pros
50% off food with Cash
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy going, easy to learn jon
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB6 February 2017
this job was great to have while in school, it was very flexible and allowed for me to take the days that I needed off without trouble. it was very easy to learn and it was a great first job.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
messy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dairy Queen. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 4,979 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5