Find companies:
Dairy Queen
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,851 reviews

Dairy Queen Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starting job for students
Shift leader (Former Employee), HamiltonMay 1, 2014
Pros: great staff
Cons: minimum wage
It was great to work on a team and learn sanitation skills, preping food and time management. Don't expect to make a fortune, but for sure a great social working opertunity
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So much fun
Fast Food Worker (Former Employee), Kamloops, BCApril 28, 2014
Always enjoyed going to work. My co-workers and supervisors were great!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starter Job
Cashier/Front (Former Employee), St. AlbertApril 24, 2014
Pros: free ice cream, enjoyable coworkers
Cons: bad pay, boring days
I dont remember much of this job because I was fourteen, but i worked here until i was sixteen and it was a pretty good starter job with alright pay at the time. The coworkers were great and i usually had a good time there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical fast food environment
Cashier (Former Employee), Taber, ABApril 23, 2014
A typical day would include taking orders from various customers, creating said orders and cleaning up restaurant. I learned how to clean the ice cream machine, how to clean the bathrooms, how to use a cash register and debit/interact machines. Management wasn't terribly flexible considering I was in high school at that point in time. My co-workers – more... were fun and very easy to get along with! The hardest part of the job was just getting used to having a job (it was my first job). The most enjoyable part was seeing different people every single day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work but there is no future for me in this company
Full - Time Food Service Supervisor (Current Employee), St. Albert, ABApril 16, 2014
Pros: free meals
Cons: less hours
its a good place to work,but for me i need to move on and find better opportunites and a more stable career for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dairy Queen
Crew Member/Cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, OnApril 12, 2014
Pros: long hours
Cons: management
Over all it was a really good environment, the customers were awesome. The only thing I would change is management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Each store is different
Manager (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCApril 1, 2014
Pros: no
Cons: yes
In 3 different location, the most enjoyable part of the job is to have good connection with co-workers and customers. The hardest part is some the owner is hard to communicate with, so is hard to meet the stander.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dairy Queen In The Workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), Dartmouth, NSMarch 24, 2014
Pros: free ice cream cake on your birthday
Cons: owner was very rude, no vacation time, very little hours
A typical day at Dairy Queen would be going in and given your instructions for your shift and seeing what's going on, like how busy it is that day. I had learned how to be quick yet give the customer what he/she needs. The management was good, they were very easy to get along with, management is all together different then the owner of the store however. – more... My co-workers were amazing and I could not have asked for a better team to work with. In my opinion the hardest part of the whole job was when it is lunch hour and the owner comes out and the nice smooth running lunch our become a madness mayhem. Over all I enjoyed the job because of the customers and who I worked with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DISCILINE
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 23, 2014
I LEARNT A LOT WITH DISCIPLINE. IT WAS VERY GOOD MOMENTS OVER THERE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of hours, and understanding
Cashier (Former Employee), Portugal Cove RoadMarch 23, 2014
Management was not the best or understanding, work was fine, typical part time job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast food.
Cashier - Cook (Former Employee), Sydney, NSMarch 20, 2014
Pros: you get money for being there
Cons: you have to be there.
Its a fast food, doesnt take imagination to figure it out. bottom of the barrel, only if you really need the pay cheque.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beneficial, Skill developing job
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONMarch 20, 2014
Working at Dairy Queen has helped me develop many essential skills that have been of great support to me in, both, my personal and work life. Dealing with customers has allowed me to improve my level of confidence and customer service skills. The job required a lot of work however engaging in conversations with the customers made it very enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Cashier (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 2, 2014
Once staff started a shift, there would be some prep work and getting everything ready for open. It was a fast paced work environment that took time to learn and perfect, but with help of the management it was quite easy. All the co-workers were very nice and kind. I learned how to pace myself to work at the fast pace that we did for 8 hours. Hardest – more... part of the job was making sure you stay calm when so much things are happening at once. Most enjoyable parts were probably when we weren't so busy, we would all joke around and have fun. This job taught me a lot in terms of how I should approach certain situations and how to keep a calm head during intense times. it was fun, but at the same time very tough. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sucked
cook (Former Employee), st.johns nlFebruary 27, 2014
hated working customer service. im not a people person and the managment sucked, it was alright at the time because they worked around my school schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dairy Queen
Opener/Closer (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: enjoyed the other staff
Cons: air conditioning was awful
I loved working at Dairy Queen. Being able to work with the public was very enjoyable to me. A typical day at work included making treats and cakes. It went by quickly, and it was a great part time job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to practice and accumulate work experience
Cashier (Former Employee), Saskatoon SKFebruary 22, 2014
A typical day at work is like: I need to check if all stuffs are refilled or not once I started my shift, after that I need to clean tills and tables, however, customers always have priorities, and serving customers is always the most important thing as a cashier.

I learned pretty much from Dairy Queen, such as efficiently communicating with customers – more... and quickly adapting to fast-paced environment, avoiding mistakes every single minutes etc.

I love working with my coworkers, it is a lot of fun workingwith them, it is an awesome working environment and it's the most enjoyable part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and busy place to work.
Cook,and customer service representive. (Former Employee), Miramichi, NBFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: got to have free ice-cream on a hot day.
Cons: dealing with customers who were ugly about something.
The day was cooking ,cleaning and waiting on customers.Management was good.Enjoyed serving the customers.Had fun making the ice-cream treats
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different Province
Cashier (Former Employee), Strathmore, ABFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: free ice cream
Cons: messy and sticky!
I had a great time working at dairy queen , My co-workers made it a pleasure to get up in the morning and want to go to work. My manager was very nice and was willing to work with me and she took her time teaching me everything about the job , I wasn't rushed into anything blindfolded. The most enjoyable part was being able to have a job in a different – more... province – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
Food Service Supervisor (Current Employee), Claresholm, ABFebruary 1, 2014
Pros: free meals
nice place to work, customers and staffs are friendly, the employer gave us lots of hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Any day shift
Supervisor (Current Employee), Fredericton, NBJanuary 31, 2014
A typical shift at Dairy Queen is usually a lot of fun, co-workers are awesome, a good range of ages and maturity levels. I was able to learn different positions, like being trained then a normal employ, to a supervisor and recently know how to work grill. There is a lot of memorization in this job with how to handle situations and how to make many – more... different items on the menu. The hardest part of the job would be dealing with customers or my co-workers who are still in high school. Overall it is a great place but kind of simple once you get the hang of it. – less

About Dairy Queen

Dairy Queen, often abbreviated DQ, is a chain of soft serve and fast food restaurants owned by International Dairy Queen, Inc, – Read more