Find companies:
Dairy Queen
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,966 reviews

Dairy Queen Canada Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Shift Manager (Former Employee), Vaughan, ONJune 17, 2014
Pros: great food.
Cons: good management.
Typically it is very busy. It taught me great customer service skills as well as management skills. Management was fair and understanding, very fun personalities. Co-workers were very outgoing and friendly which helped time go by faster. The hardest part of the job was the excessive heat in the summer working at the "drive thru". It was very enjoyable, – more... however, as it was a very pleasant environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable fast paced jon environment
Cashier/Store Clerk (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJune 11, 2014
Pros: enjoyable work environment
Cons: having to stand for long periods of time
greeted customers
took orders
made desired products
cleaned various areas
re stocked merchandise
directly answered any customer questions or concerns
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical job
Night Supervisor (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJune 6, 2014
Pros: got to work nights
Cons: long unprdictable hours
Only worked here to help out a Friend who was manager at the time
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great coworkers
supervisor (Former Employee), Listowel, ONJune 5, 2014
I loved the fast paced work environment
learned how to work quickly with money
can count money quickly
can deal with customer complaints
can work well under pressure
can be responsible for others
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent work environment, great staff to work with, work was easily attainable
Crew Member (Former Employee), Listowel, ONJune 4, 2014
Enjoyed walking into work every day. Staff and management was exceptional, and the work was easily done even under stressful situations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Payroll Manager and Sales Supervisor (Former Employee), Swift Current, Sask.May 5, 2014
Very busy, lots of staff to pay weekly. good job for young people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe and friendly work environment
Server (Current Employee), Stratford, ONMay 2, 2014
Pros: great staff, winter break
Cons: clean-up, very busy days
Morning shifts included opening for the day, making novelty items such as dilly bars, treatza pizzas, and buster bars. The opportune time to clean the blizzard flavour containers and sauce pumps was during the day shift when it was slower. After every night shift, the store was cleaned: surfaces were sanitized, dishes were washes, and the floor was – more... swept and mopped. Every one took turns doing drive-thru and the front window.

All of the co-workers got along really well - most were friends from before working together. It was a very friendly atmosphere to come into. The bosses were a husband and wife with young children who understood any problems that happened. They were very helpful in setting up the schedule and ensuring everything worked smoothly.

I learned a lot about pressure situations. In the summer, Dairy Queen is a busy place, especially since our store is very tiny. The hardest part of the job is remembering all the different products. Every blizzard uses different ingredients with different scoop sizes. The cones and sundaes are all measured in weight before handed out. However, the most enjoyable part was working with such a great and easy-going staff. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great starting job for students
Shift leader (Former Employee), HamiltonMay 1, 2014
Pros: great staff
Cons: minimum wage
It was great to work on a team and learn sanitation skills, preping food and time management. Don't expect to make a fortune, but for sure a great social working opertunity
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So much fun
Fast Food Worker (Former Employee), Kamloops, BCApril 28, 2014
Always enjoyed going to work. My co-workers and supervisors were great!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starter Job
Cashier/Front (Former Employee), St. AlbertApril 24, 2014
Pros: free ice cream, enjoyable coworkers
Cons: bad pay, boring days
I dont remember much of this job because I was fourteen, but i worked here until i was sixteen and it was a pretty good starter job with alright pay at the time. The coworkers were great and i usually had a good time there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical fast food environment
Cashier (Former Employee), Taber, ABApril 23, 2014
A typical day would include taking orders from various customers, creating said orders and cleaning up restaurant. I learned how to clean the ice cream machine, how to clean the bathrooms, how to use a cash register and debit/interact machines. Management wasn't terribly flexible considering I was in high school at that point in time. My co-workers – more... were fun and very easy to get along with! The hardest part of the job was just getting used to having a job (it was my first job). The most enjoyable part was seeing different people every single day. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work but there is no future for me in this company
Full - Time Food Service Supervisor (Current Employee), St. Albert, ABApril 16, 2014
Pros: free meals
Cons: less hours
its a good place to work,but for me i need to move on and find better opportunites and a more stable career for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dairy Queen
Crew Member/Cashier (Former Employee), Toronto, OnApril 12, 2014
Pros: long hours
Cons: management
Over all it was a really good environment, the customers were awesome. The only thing I would change is management.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Each store is different
Manager (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCApril 1, 2014
Pros: no
Cons: yes
In 3 different location, the most enjoyable part of the job is to have good connection with co-workers and customers. The hardest part is some the owner is hard to communicate with, so is hard to meet the stander.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dairy Queen In The Workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), Dartmouth, NSMarch 24, 2014
Pros: free ice cream cake on your birthday
Cons: owner was very rude, no vacation time, very little hours
A typical day at Dairy Queen would be going in and given your instructions for your shift and seeing what's going on, like how busy it is that day. I had learned how to be quick yet give the customer what he/she needs. The management was good, they were very easy to get along with, management is all together different then the owner of the store however. – more... My co-workers were amazing and I could not have asked for a better team to work with. In my opinion the hardest part of the whole job was when it is lunch hour and the owner comes out and the nice smooth running lunch our become a madness mayhem. Over all I enjoyed the job because of the customers and who I worked with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DISCILINE
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 23, 2014
I LEARNT A LOT WITH DISCIPLINE. IT WAS VERY GOOD MOMENTS OVER THERE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of hours, and understanding
Cashier (Former Employee), Portugal Cove RoadMarch 23, 2014
Management was not the best or understanding, work was fine, typical part time job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast food.
Cashier - Cook (Former Employee), Sydney, NSMarch 20, 2014
Pros: you get money for being there
Cons: you have to be there.
Its a fast food, doesnt take imagination to figure it out. bottom of the barrel, only if you really need the pay cheque.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beneficial, Skill developing job
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONMarch 20, 2014
Working at Dairy Queen has helped me develop many essential skills that have been of great support to me in, both, my personal and work life. Dealing with customers has allowed me to improve my level of confidence and customer service skills. The job required a lot of work however engaging in conversations with the customers made it very enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Cashier (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 2, 2014
Once staff started a shift, there would be some prep work and getting everything ready for open. It was a fast paced work environment that took time to learn and perfect, but with help of the management it was quite easy. All the co-workers were very nice and kind. I learned how to pace myself to work at the fast pace that we did for 8 hours. Hardest – more... part of the job was making sure you stay calm when so much things are happening at once. Most enjoyable parts were probably when we weren't so busy, we would all joke around and have fun. This job taught me a lot in terms of how I should approach certain situations and how to keep a calm head during intense times. it was fun, but at the same time very tough. – less

About Dairy Queen

Dairy Queen, often abbreviated DQ, is a chain of soft serve and fast food restaurants owned by International Dairy Queen, Inc, – Read more