Dairy Queen Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Environment
Cashier/Food Attendant (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NB14 November 2017
Was a starter job for me my first job ever. Friendly staff happy work environment. Evenings and weekend work hours. Not much for employee perks. Overall a great starter job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Starting job
Crew Member - Chill/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 November 2017
This was a good first job. Amazing co-workers that made me feel like family from day one. Working here introduced me to the world of customer service. Although irregular and limited hours became an issue.
Pros
50% of all items during shift
Cons
lack of hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prodcutive and fun workplace, easy going.
CASHIER/FOOD SERVER (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC7 November 2017
easy going days at work mixing blizzards and sending out various orders. cake writing was a high light responsibility of the day for the ratio of cakes sold versus other products, twas a fun change from just being a cashier food clerk.
Pros
play with icecream
Cons
long nights
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good place to grow
Manager (Current Employee) –  Camrose, AB7 November 2017
Very happy and fun place to work. People are nice. But winter is bad for the business. Sales are bad and we have to cut off hours. Sales is very inconsistent.
Pros
Free Lunch and family discounts
Cons
Its hard to handle the bussiness in the winter
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work while also going to school.
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  London, ON7 November 2017
This was a fun place to when just starting out. I had a lot of fun working here while saving money for school. It gave me a lot of experience with different responsibilities and customer service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB7 November 2017
My best experiences at Dairy Queen were because of the people I worked with. I've been treated like family since day one and am so happy that this was my first job.
Pros
The people
Cons
not sure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Shift Leader (Current Employee) –  Smiths Falls, ON6 November 2017
I enjoy my time working at Dairy Queen. All of my duties are very to-the-point which allows me to complete them efficiently. Because of my job i have learned customer service and how to deal with rude customers effectively without being rude myself. The hardest part of the job would probably the small are my location has and how difficult it can be to work efficiently during rushes.
Pros
Great staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent first job
Cashier/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Fort Saskatchewan, AB6 November 2017
Minimum wage and irregular hours are expected at a first job. Too many kids working though, and it felt more like babysitting than food service sometimes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and super fun workplace
Drive Thru Cashier (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK6 November 2017
Making ice cream and dealing with customers and taking their oders. Learned to be able to work under pressure. Hardest part was how busy it could get but eventually you got use to it. Most enjoyable working with employees you loved! and meeting new peopel
Pros
50% when working and 20% when you werent
Cons
long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Food Counter Attendant (Former Employee) –  Cold Lake, AB4 November 2017
Because of DQ, I was able to practice my communication skills and customer service skills. It's a struggle working in foreign land at first, some customers were rude and not nice to you but doesn't affect my performance tho. Its because I am surrounded with nice workmates. And my previous job helps me to be flexible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Guelph, ON3 November 2017
Dairy Queen had very poor management. The stores machines and equipment were all broken. We were constantly out of toppings and food. Customers were really mean due to the bad service (Being out of everything, broken ice cream machines, broken headsets, etc).
Pros
Team environment
Cons
mean customers, stressful environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cook (Former Employee) –  Amherst, NS3 November 2017
I had a great time working at dairy queen and would recommend it to anyone. Great staff and management, good memories.good training and time off when needed. Customers very good
Pros
Food discount, great coworkers
Cons
Low wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Front End Associate (Current Employee) –  London, ON31 October 2017
Honestly it sucked, management was horrible, so rude and careless. You get written up for stupid stuff and shes so lazy but gets mad when you dont do what youre supposed to. Discount is 50%. and they watch the cameras like hawks.
Pros
when manager isn't there
Cons
when she is
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gret workplace
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Parry Sound, ON30 October 2017
A typical work day would start opening the store getting everything ready for a work day, making sure everything stayed cleaned and neat. Made sure everything was good for the evening crew. If I was on evening swept and mopped, filled everything did dishes. I learned how to worked fast paste to get things done. Hardest part of the job was nothing I was pretty straight forward. The most enjoyable part of the job was how we made everyone feel like part of the family.
Pros
Great staff
Cons
Long days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool, unique place to work.
Server (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON30 October 2017
Cool place to work, decent discount, great job culture. Wonderful first job for students and young people. Pay was not great but made sense for the job being done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive and nice employes
Grill Cook (Former Employee) –  Wasaga Beach, ON30 October 2017
very nice place everyone is so nice owner isn't to keen on confrontation but everyone does there part and they teach you a lot very easy job to do if you try
Pros
dicount
Cons
very little options on your part
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
making food in team and work in fast paced environment
TEAM LEADER (Former Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB27 October 2017
Making an awesome product and getting a excellent compliment from the customers was the best part
Time goes fast as the work keep you busy.
An amazing team to work with
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional workplace and management
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Portage la Prairie, MB27 October 2017
Many employees had long records of no shows and lates
Management was unprofessional and unorganized
Typical days were slack and not much supervision
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Cake Decorator (Current Employee) –  Bahrain27 October 2017
continues cake decorating, should be 150 pieces. and above we can decorating to supply all 13 stores display everyday. aside from the store display we also do the customer customized
Pros
free meal
Cons
8 hours duty
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and always on your feet
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BC26 October 2017
My review for Dairy Queen was that it was very productive and you were constantly moving and on your feet. The employees were very nice and great to work with. I just thought that I needed to do something different in my work environment. I would recommend it as a job for someone else if that is the kind of work environment that they enjoy doing. Other then that, it was a good experience to gain excellent customer service skills.
Pros
50 % off food when working
Cons
No discount when not working, and smelling like fast ffod and feeling greasy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dairy Queen. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 7,267 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.4
Culture
3.4