Find companies:
Dairy Queen
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,625 reviews

Dairy Queen Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Each store is different
Manager (Current Employee), Vancouver, BCApril 1, 2014
Pros: no
Cons: yes
In 3 different location, the most enjoyable part of the job is to have good connection with co-workers and customers. The hardest part is some the owner is hard to communicate with, so is hard to meet the stander.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dairy Queen In The Workplace
Cashier (Former Employee), Dartmouth, NSMarch 24, 2014
Pros: free ice cream cake on your birthday
Cons: owner was very rude, no vacation time, very little hours
A typical day at Dairy Queen would be going in and given your instructions for your shift and seeing what's going on, like how busy it is that day. I had learned how to be quick yet give the customer what he/she needs. The management was good, they were very easy to get along with, management is all together different then the owner of the store however. – more... My co-workers were amazing and I could not have asked for a better team to work with. In my opinion the hardest part of the whole job was when it is lunch hour and the owner comes out and the nice smooth running lunch our become a madness mayhem. Over all I enjoyed the job because of the customers and who I worked with. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
DISCILINE
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABMarch 23, 2014
I LEARNT A LOT WITH DISCIPLINE. IT WAS VERY GOOD MOMENTS OVER THERE.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of hours, and understanding
Cashier (Former Employee), Portugal Cove RoadMarch 23, 2014
Management was not the best or understanding, work was fine, typical part time job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast food.
Cashier - Cook (Former Employee), Sydney, NSMarch 20, 2014
Pros: you get money for being there
Cons: you have to be there.
Its a fast food, doesnt take imagination to figure it out. bottom of the barrel, only if you really need the pay cheque.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beneficial, Skill developing job
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee), Mississauga, ONMarch 20, 2014
Working at Dairy Queen has helped me develop many essential skills that have been of great support to me in, both, my personal and work life. Dealing with customers has allowed me to improve my level of confidence and customer service skills. The job required a lot of work however engaging in conversations with the customers made it very enjoyable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment
Cashier (Former Employee), Calgary, ABMarch 2, 2014
Once staff started a shift, there would be some prep work and getting everything ready for open. It was a fast paced work environment that took time to learn and perfect, but with help of the management it was quite easy. All the co-workers were very nice and kind. I learned how to pace myself to work at the fast pace that we did for 8 hours. Hardest – more... part of the job was making sure you stay calm when so much things are happening at once. Most enjoyable parts were probably when we weren't so busy, we would all joke around and have fun. This job taught me a lot in terms of how I should approach certain situations and how to keep a calm head during intense times. it was fun, but at the same time very tough. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sucked
cook (Former Employee), st.johns nlFebruary 27, 2014
hated working customer service. im not a people person and the managment sucked, it was alright at the time because they worked around my school schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dairy Queen
Opener/Closer (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBFebruary 26, 2014
Pros: enjoyed the other staff
Cons: air conditioning was awful
I loved working at Dairy Queen. Being able to work with the public was very enjoyable to me. A typical day at work included making treats and cakes. It went by quickly, and it was a great part time job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to practice and accumulate work experience
Cashier (Former Employee), Saskatoon SKFebruary 22, 2014
A typical day at work is like: I need to check if all stuffs are refilled or not once I started my shift, after that I need to clean tills and tables, however, customers always have priorities, and serving customers is always the most important thing as a cashier.

I learned pretty much from Dairy Queen, such as efficiently communicating with customers – more... and quickly adapting to fast-paced environment, avoiding mistakes every single minutes etc.

I love working with my coworkers, it is a lot of fun workingwith them, it is an awesome working environment and it's the most enjoyable part of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and busy place to work.
Cook,and customer service representive. (Former Employee), Miramichi, NBFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: got to have free ice-cream on a hot day.
Cons: dealing with customers who were ugly about something.
The day was cooking ,cleaning and waiting on customers.Management was good.Enjoyed serving the customers.Had fun making the ice-cream treats
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different Province
Cashier (Former Employee), Strathmore, ABFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: free ice cream
Cons: messy and sticky!
I had a great time working at dairy queen , My co-workers made it a pleasure to get up in the morning and want to go to work. My manager was very nice and was willing to work with me and she took her time teaching me everything about the job , I wasn't rushed into anything blindfolded. The most enjoyable part was being able to have a job in a different – more... province – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Making IceCream for Kids.
Manager (Former Employee), Decatur, ILFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: making schedules, ordering food/products, working with amazing workers and customers
Cons: there is no cons i could list for this job.
Again, I loved working with the public and I honestly loved having such big responsibilities to take on. I opened the store so I had to be there by 4:45 AM everyday and wouldn't open until 6 AM. I enjoyed working with all of my employees but kept a very professional appeal to it all. I wanted my employees to be able to come to me with any issue they – more... were having so I could do everything I could to fix it, correctly. I learned how to decorate ice-cream cakes and figured out I was actually good at it and loved being able to put my own twist on decorating. The hardest part of my job was just making sure everything/everyone ran smoothly everyday, whether it be the money, customers, or employees. I never had any issue with any of those the 6 years I worked for this company. I would even volunteer my weekends to go work at other stores, out of town. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place
Food Service Supervisor (Current Employee), Claresholm, ABFebruary 1, 2014
Pros: free meals
nice place to work, customers and staffs are friendly, the employer gave us lots of hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Any day shift
Supervisor (Current Employee), Fredericton, NBJanuary 31, 2014
A typical shift at Dairy Queen is usually a lot of fun, co-workers are awesome, a good range of ages and maturity levels. I was able to learn different positions, like being trained then a normal employ, to a supervisor and recently know how to work grill. There is a lot of memorization in this job with how to handle situations and how to make many – more... different items on the menu. The hardest part of the job would be dealing with customers or my co-workers who are still in high school. Overall it is a great place but kind of simple once you get the hang of it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice co-workers
Caissier, au service des clients (Former Employee), Montreal northJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: long hours
I loved working at dairy queen. I learned that pushing yourself to be the best you can is good, not only for yourself but for the customers as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Having a work environment where it is enjoyable and productive; at the end of the day, you are proud of what you do!
Manager (Former Employee), Cornwall, ONJanuary 21, 2014
Pros: as manger, i set the "tone & atmosphere" for the business, making it an enjoyable place to work for the staff, control over selecting and training a great team, great salary, free food
Cons: 24hr / 7 day a week responsibility
A typical day at Dairy Queen would mean arriving each morning around 8 am ( my scheduled hours 9am -5pm); I would check the overall appearance of the business, to ensure that the closing staff did their job correctly and make note of changes/ corrections to be addressed. Communicate with Day Staff as to what is necessary for food prep., store cleaning, – more... ordering of supplies, etc. to ensure all tasks are set in an organized manner. All Company Standards must be met on a daily basis and this was my responsibility. Review previous daily sales and prepare bank deposits. Continuously monitor and work with the staff to achieve good customer service.
The best part of being a Manager is having your team totally respect you; I believe that when you work "side by side" with your employees, praise and encourage them, plus do some of the unpleasant tasks yourself, you can create a wonderful staff. I also earned their respect by accommodating their work schedule around their important personal activities (dance, hockey, soccer, base ball, etc.) Having employees that can still participate in their hobbies while juggling a work schedule, makes a happier worker! A great Manager or Leader should interact with his/her staff so they know that you are approachable.
The hardest part of the job was unreasonable customers. Trying to control irate people can be frustrating when "the customer is always right"!
As a Manager, I learnt that you can "make or break" someone's day. An upset customer can quickly have their mood turned around when you show compassion and great service. An employee with low self esteem can build confidence with a great Leader. Being a Manager at Dairy Queen was an awesome career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Stepping Stone
Full Time Storefront/ Drive-Thru/ Stock (Former Employee), Burlington, ONJanuary 20, 2014
Working at Dairy Queen was a great start to my working career, they had a great working environment with a happy atmosphere. Who doesn't like to serve people ice cream!?

A typical day at work involved:
Opening the store
Working Drive-Thru
Making and preparing food (Cones, Blizzards, Shakes, Cakes etc.)
Cleaning the store
Stocking frozen food
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with a laid back attitude.
Manager (Former Employee), Toronto, ONJanuary 20, 2014
I had fun there and it was good for awhile but its no career. The management is alright and the hours are okay but outside free ice cream this place is like any other fast food restaurant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun & working place
Server (Current Employee), Niagara Falls, ONJanuary 6, 2014
Pros: discounts on the food and ice cream
Cons: rude customers
Dairy Queen was and still is one of the best places I work they treat me like a great worker they value me just like any one else they employ and everyone there is on their game we all pitch in and have each others backs, everyone is a team player and we help each other when we need too & cleaning is done fair and done by everyone.

About Dairy Queen

Dairy Queen, often abbreviated DQ, is a chain of soft serve and fast food restaurants owned by International Dairy Queen, Inc, – Read more