Dairy Queen Employee Reviews for Cashier

Found 156 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB19 September 2017
A good place for a first job, not too fast paced.
Learn how to make the "chill" food and take cash/orders.
Fun, easy going environment - workers are very friendly.
Downside: not many shifts given
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Not many shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun family atmosphere great workplace to start out in
cashier (Former Employee) –  Prince George, BC13 September 2017
was a very good job, was respected by the owners and bosses alike.
Made for a very good over all working environment. the scheduling was worked around what you were able to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast paced
Cashier, drive (Former Employee) –  Drayton Valley, AB11 September 2017
A day at work required taking orders at the drive through and the counter. Made ice cream treats, cleaned, managed money locked up at night. my very fist job so learned hoe to interact with customers and other employees and how to prepare food. the managers were always very assertive because they had to make sure all of the employees were doing what they had to do. the hardest part of the job was when someone had more then just one job and if it was busy it would be hard to balance two jobs at a time. the most enjoyable part of the job would be getting to work with people that i know and that were my age, and interacting with customers.
Pros
Discount meals
Cons
going to school from 8am -3pm then working from 4pm-11pm and having no time for school work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  High River, AB10 September 2017
loved working here, great atmosphere with great management and lots of fun people work there. Pay is good and its a very nice job to work if you have to do minimum wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun place to work in highschool
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Colwood, BC1 September 2017
The people were great for the most part, manager was supportive, everyone worked together as a team, and we all found ways to have some fun. Oh yeah, and making ice cream cones for kids was always nice
Pros
Half off lunches
Cons
I was part time and the store owner wasn't all that nice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast place work with good people
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK30 August 2017
Working there has been a new experience that I am forever grateful for. It taught me how to talk to people and how to work quickly and efficiently. The people I work with are nice and fun to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun to work there but the boss is unreasonable
Cashier (Part time) (Former Employee) –  Sudbury, ON26 August 2017
I enjoyed working at DQ, the commute was bad but working was not an issue. Management treated you with respect but the boss didn't take kindly to any mistakes. i got told i needed re-training after nearly a year working there because she seen me mess up once in an 8 hour shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy work environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 August 2017
being able to work quick and beneficently through out the day and being able to keep customer satisfaction when at rush hour. management that was understanding to ever situation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Team Member/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB21 August 2017
Absolutely awful, constantly criticizing, creepily watching you. Never gets breaks, he underpays us saying it's a seasonal job with different government regulations .
Pros
nothing
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a great first job and easy to learn how to make everything on the menu. Everyone is so nice and it's very enjoyable to be around them.
Cashier/Chill (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB20 August 2017
I would recommend working at Dairy Queen for anyone who is looking for a first job. It was a great year and a half of my life but I'm looking for something a little different!
Pros
Free lunches over eight hours. 50% off on breaks and 30% when you don't work
Cons
Collides with school and sports. Long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BAD environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 August 2017
rude staff language barriers because people talked in different languages and about other people, i was always uncomfortable. the management did nothing about any rude behaviour and there was people always stealing there co-workers money etc.
Pros
nothing
Cons
Eveything
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and friendly place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ON5 August 2017
fun and friendly place to work at workers treat you like family good hours . i learned how to make ice cream cake and also designed them a typical day at work would be fast paste around 6 it would be rush hour around 8 it would be slow paste but gives you time to start closing.
Pros
long hours
Cons
working alone
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome for a first job!
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK4 August 2017
I told one of my internet friends I worked at dairy queen. I'm just here to adopt stories and get the knowledge I need to pull this off. Thank you so much :DD *huggie wuggies*
Pros
Free food
Cons
5+ hours so ive heard
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people to work with
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Red deer15 July 2017
Fun place to work lots of friendly people. But you only get a 15min break if you work more then 5 hours. They tend to cancel yoyr shift within less then 24 hours.
Pros
Flexable hours
Cons
Breaks are pretty much non existent (you only get a 15 min break on a 8 hour shift)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good team work, more to learn with good co-workers
Team Member/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Merritt, BC10 July 2017
fun to work
learnt a lot of managing things
good customer service
there was no such thing as hardest part unless and until you do not love it
everyday was a new place for learning skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced but Friendly Environment
Cashier (Current Employee) –  St. John's, NL28 June 2017
I learned how to make a wicked curl, and a delicious blizzard. As well as essential money handling skills and customer service. The most enjoyable part of the job was giving a little kid a few extra sprinkles on her cone.
Pros
Great people
Cons
Unreliable hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment, every day is something new.
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Neepawa, MB16 June 2017
A typical day does get pretty busy around meal times, but there is always time to get cleaning and the like done. I learned a lot about how the fast food industry works best. The most difficult part of the job were days when the restaurant is just packed with people, like on miracle treat day. The most enjoyable part was joking around with the other workers while we clean or do whatever needs to be done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work at layed back
Cashier assistant (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB15 June 2017
it was a good job , reasonable expectations , great staff , good discounts , great location, good challenge, great commute and overall it is a place that I would recommend working at!
Pros
discount
Cons
very little to do
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place with lots of hours in the summer time
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kelowna, BC8 June 2017
it is great place to work especially the DQ l worked at on Highway 33 in Rutland Kelowna BC. They is great job security, good management and friendly employees. The job does not pay great , No benefits
Pros
free lunches discounted
Cons
Bad pay without benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Part-time) (Current Employee) –  Sarnia, ON6 June 2017
Easy to learn how to make the blizzards and meals, shifts aren't to long, close at a decent time if you are in school, two 15 minute breaks, if working food is 50% off and drinks are free.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dairy Queen. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 6,691 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.4
Culture
3.4