Dairy Queen Employee Reviews for Cashier

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  St. Catharines, ON8 January 2018
While I did have a lot of friends at that job, the boss made the job a lot less enjoyable. Especially when she talks down to you. It made me feel unmotivated
Pros
Free drinks
Cons
Terrible boss
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Vernon, BC6 January 2018
It was a great first job to have, everyone was welcoming and always there to help if you needed it. The hardest thing about working there was making cakes in the back which you don't learn right away
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB4 January 2018
My overall review about dairy queen is low because I didn't have the best experience there. Making ice cream is very fun but there are so many negative employees. The workplace is not very sanitary and I don't believe that I would recommend anyone to apply there.
Pros
50% off all items on menu
Cons
Too many shifts per week and unsanitary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good co workers
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, AB27 December 2017
a good place to work, good people, hard to make sure everything is made to order for everyone but is possible just gotta be patient just not enough hours for me
Pros
discount on food/ice cream
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing staff creates a wonderful work environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Dollard-Des Ormeaux, QC24 December 2017
When the staff member are able to get along so easily, the work becomes fun. Everyone at Dairy Queen is super nice and understanding, we're almost like family. The work is varied and everyone learns to do a bit of everything which makes for an interesting work day.
Pros
Amazing staff, fun work, good hours
Cons
Not a lot of breaks given for long shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work is chill and has a lot of freedom
CASHIER (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON17 December 2017
Employees can take breaks whenever they like. A lot of freedom to be on your phone after work is done, etc. We get a 25% discount which is nice.


The managers can sometimes sound rude but it's just the way they talk sometimes,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual, very fast paced
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cache Creek, BC12 December 2017
I really miss working here. I gained a lot of experience with many different types of customers and had a few people that were really great to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB30 November 2017
good place to work had fun working with the people but at times the management was not organized at all especially on scheduling people to work because at time we would have mo than we need and vice versa
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great staff
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Beamsville, ON28 November 2017
This job is better for teenagers who want a part time job so they can balance work and school. This store gets very busy in the summer months but beware of winters months it gets slow and there is a chance of being laid off especially if the store is over staffed.
Pros
fun work environment
Cons
no hours in winter months .. slow !!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good First Job
Cashier and Food Production (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB17 November 2017
Good first job for a high school student. Very easy work with little skill required to do required tasks. Not somewhere you want to work long term, does not pay great.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Environment
Cashier/Food Attendant (Former Employee) –  Fredericton, NB14 November 2017
Was a starter job for me my first job ever. Friendly staff happy work environment. Evenings and weekend work hours. Not much for employee perks. Overall a great starter job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and super fun workplace
Drive Thru Cashier (Former Employee) –  Prince Albert, SK6 November 2017
Making ice cream and dealing with customers and taking their oders. Learned to be able to work under pressure. Hardest part was how busy it could get but eventually you got use to it. Most enjoyable working with employees you loved! and meeting new peopel
Pros
50% when working and 20% when you werent
Cons
long Hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced environment with good discounts
Front/Drive Thru Cashier (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB18 October 2017
Overall good atmosphere, fast paced environment, need to be a good multi-tasker. Always something to do, good hours, very flexible. Good and understanding management. Often left to do hard tasks on your own, especially if under staffed.
Pros
Free food during shift, 50% off ice cream during shift, flexible hours
Cons
Very fast-paced, often doing hard work on your own
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great First Experience
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK17 October 2017
Working at Dairy Queen was such a fun time, I enjoyed interacting with customers everyday. I learnt leadership, management, and organization skills. I truly miss my old job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Fort McMurray, AB17 October 2017
a typical day at work would be taking customers and serving blizzards, making special ice cream cake orders, and cleaning duties after operation hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Kelowna, BC12 October 2017
Friendly staff. fast paced work environment. they take the time to train you properly. and they don't rush you. plus you get a %50 discount on everything in the store
Pros
Free pop/coffee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad
Work as cashier (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, ON11 October 2017
did not enjoy working here as the owner was unorganized and there were no hours in the winter. Part-time workers had to work 2 jobs at once to get by while in university
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Nanaimo, BC4 October 2017
When I worked at Dairy Queen I worked as a upfront cashier and did drive thru everyday, never got a break from it. The hours were good, got everyday I wanted off basically. But there was so much bullying there and gossiping, I felt so unwelcomed & the mangers did nothing. I got put on 12 hour shifts with only a half hour break & reg pay. Just didn’t like it, but the working part was easy.
Pros
Half off
Cons
Management, bullying, hours, breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good work place
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON3 October 2017
Amazing work place and employees the manger isn't the best and I was not their for long. I would work at any Dairy Queen again besides the one in the mall because of the manger !
Pros
Ice cream half off
Cons
Manger
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job and wonderful environment and staff
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB25 September 2017
Working at Dairy Queen allowed me to gain experience and understand commitment. Also Diary Queen taught me to understand the do’s and dont’s on how to interact with customers. In a way, it even gave me sales experience through interacting with the customer and upsizing their blizzard, or cone by pointing out a small difference in price. The environment and co-workers were amazing and always willing to help each other out for taking over shifts
Pros
Allowed to have anything for free while working/on break
Cons
Long hours relative to what I was able to handle at the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Dairy Queen. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 7,579 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.4
Culture
3.4