Dairy Queen Employee Reviews

Found 454 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience for a first job
Server (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON8 January 2017
As my first job, I probably had my best experience here. I was able to work with customers, thus expanding my knowledge for customer service, handle food, create cakes and also receive incoming products. The hardest part of the job was learning the recipes by heart especially when you need to know it when it becomes a busy day. The only downfall is winter days. Shifts start to lessen and shifts become a bit more slow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB8 January 2017
Was also a positive space, full of smiles and laughter. I would always look forward to work because it always made me happy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good
Part-Time Cashier/Food Prep (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ON7 January 2017
This was a pretty good starting job. I would've stayed if I had the option but it didn't work out. The pay and the work was good and the other employees were nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Server/Cashier/Customer Serive (Former Employee) –  Winnipeg, MB5 January 2017
Overall a good working experience. Get to interact with costumers and learn how to communicate with many types of people. A diverse working community. worst part of the job was closing hours. A lot of cleaning. The mosy enjoyable part was helping customers.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
closing shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experience
1) Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Medicine Hat, AB5 January 2017
I learned lots of things from this job like i got the chance to improve my communication skill,ability as front executive and as a cashier.

All co-workers are very helpful and supportive.

I am enjoying making beautiful cakes over there.
Pros
Free ice-creams.
Cons
not getting enough working hours over there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent co-workers, menial work
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB5 January 2017
There's a social stigma attached to working fast service and dealing with that day in and day out can be frustrating. The shifts are hectic and customers impatient, but most of my co-workers are excellent to work with and made the repetitive task of making the 400th burger of the day much more bearable. You learn a lot about time management and effective communications because of this, but the job is mindless outside of that and provides little avenue for advancement or creative growth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, easy, energetic
Chill crew (Former Employee) –  Hazeldean, ON3 January 2017
Dairy queen was a fun place to work. Although our line ups would reach the entrance door and the odd days where the line ups would continue outside the store, it was very easy to handle. It was definitely a job I could handle at sixteen years old. As long as you memorised all the ingredients for everything the rest was a breeze.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a FunFood experience
Food Service Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB31 December 2016
- its a busy store
- very nice owner (franchisee)
- fun to work with kids
- good working hours
- good benefits
- but there's a need to improve the management
Pros
free lunch, with extra bonus
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relatively easy job with many skills
Front counter staff and cashier (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB31 December 2016
Being a front-counter worker, there are many skills that can be developed. Social skills and multi-tasking are a necessity. The workload is reasonable.
Pros
50% off regular prices food items, varying % discount on novelties. Flexible work hours
Cons
Minimum wage, no free lunch/dinner or drinks. Limited hours (many workers).
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long hours
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC30 December 2016
learned how to manage my time and work quickly co workers were nice and the molst ejoyable part waas interacting with customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but horrible management
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB24 December 2016
If your looking for labour and chaos-this is the right place to look
Horrible managment
unfair payment-no overtime pay unless on hollidays
Horrible owners
Physically and verbal harrasment from managers and owners
Unsafe enviornment
No discounts on food unless you're on break
Cons
low hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tiring but productive workplace
Kitchen Worker (Former Employee) –  Invermere, BC20 December 2016
Everyday is pretty busy, it pretty much teaches you how to manage your time well because of the busy environment. It forces you to multi-task and gets keeps you on your toes at all times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Kitchen Staff (Former Employee) –  Saskatoon, SK17 December 2016
Very awesome people and fun work environment. The my location worked hard when it came to customer satisfaction and also took care of their employees very well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well organized workplace, fast-paced, great team members.
Food Prep (Former Employee) –  Leduc, AB17 December 2016
While working at Dairy Queen, I learned the burger basics! i was a kitchen member for over a month. good people and a good work environment, safety and cleanliness were always kept under tight restrictions.
Pros
good exp. + knowledge gained.
Cons
shady schedules + Ignorant manager.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Enviroment
Front Counter Staff (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 December 2016
A Typical Work Day
- Customer Service
- Food Prep

What I Learned
- How to Work as a Team
- How to Make Blizzards

Management
- Good
- Nice

Co-Workers
- Good
- Nice

The Hardest Part of the Job
- Customer Service

The Most Enjoyable Part of the Job
- Work Enviroment
Pros
Good Food
Cons
Minimum Wage
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work starting out
Cook (Current Employee) –  Sydney, NS13 December 2016
Great place to work starting out
minimum wage
Benefits to working in a place like this are perfect for team building and learning to deal with the public
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work days, sometimes entertaining
Shift leader/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 December 2016
Working at Dairy Queen has taught me a lot about what it means to provide excellent customer service to people. I have also built relationships with some customers who regularly came in and as well as the team I work with every day. Mostly, I enjoy making at least one persons day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, Family environment.
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 December 2016
I loved my 11 years at Dairy Queen. It was a great team. The owners and management were incredible. There was a real sense of loyalty to each other. Sadly, the owner sold the business.
Pros
Fun place to work
Cons
They sold the company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB12 December 2016
this work place made me uncomfortable, and very disrespected by the people around me. never felt welcomed, the other workers always tried to start unnecessary drama. i tried my best to stay far away.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dairy Queen
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BC12 December 2016
working on cash register, making blizzards and other foods for customers, cleaning counters and busing tables, I learned how to operate a cash register and different recipes for making various food merchandise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 3,956 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5