Dairy Queen Employee Reviews

Found 403 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team atmosphere
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABSeptember 13, 2016
A typical day at work included working with friends. So that made the job a great experience. Management was fine in terms of being there when I needed them the most, for example when taking time off for a family experience. The hardest part of the job was closing the store, which made you stay for additional extra 30 mins or so.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast food
Cashier/Cook (Former Employee) –  Moncton, NBSeptember 12, 2016
Dairy Queen has a friendly environment, however fast food service was not for me , I would recommend it for students as it is a great place to start learning about customer service
Pros
friendly
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and hard working workplace
Cashier/Cook (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, ABSeptember 11, 2016
Great to be around co-workers customers and managers. Typical work day is semi-busy but most days is alright. Management is really helpful and friendly and will accommodate any of your needs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Did not enjoy this place
Food server/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Victoria, BCSeptember 9, 2016
Managers were blinded to most situations that needed to be corrected. Co-workers were slacking off to leave jobs for me to do.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boring
Cahsier (Former Employee) –  Moosomin, SKSeptember 7, 2016
To much favoritism in the workplace. Not enough staff to cover shifts so some employees where working double shifts. Supervisor had to much power and it went straight to their head and believed they were the boss of everyone including the manager and owner
Pros
50% off lunch if bought for restaurant
Cons
Changing of hours with notice, cut back of hours with notice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Cashier/order processor (Former Employee) –  Strathmore, ABSeptember 5, 2016
A fast paced environment that gave me the opportunity to learn many new skills. I enjoyed seeing many regular customers and got to know their orders.
Pros
Free treats
Cons
Working drive through when its cold
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Grill Cook (Current Employee) –  Orangeville, ONSeptember 3, 2016
It's not a bad place to work just not much room to move forward as most jobs like these are. Great people make or break how you enjoy your work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upbeat, Fast Paced Workplace.
Cashier/Food-Runner (Former Employee) –  Invermere, BCSeptember 3, 2016
Dairy Queen was one of the best places I've worked at, my managers/store owners were amazing and jumped at every chance to make the our location the best! Our store won a couple to awards and actually made it into the newspaper. Loved my co-workers and would jump at a chance to work with the team/company again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Front Clerk (Former Employee) –  truroAugust 29, 2016
served customers and made delicious ice cream treats. Was a fun place to work. Enjoyed being in a team environment. It was a busy place in the summer, which I loved
Pros
discounts
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fake salary offer
Cake Decorator (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ONAugust 28, 2016
I was asked to come for interview. She interviewed me and no doubt she was a nice lady but here they say they are offering $14 but its a big big lie. They are offering basic salary 11.25 so dont waste your time going there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and friendly environment.
Server (Current Employee) –  Lloydminster, ABAugust 26, 2016
One of the busy food place in town. Very friendly and cheerful people staff. Working with standard hours as possible or requested. Start with preparing stocks and checking all the tables, chairs and cash tills.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was amazing experience
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Beamsville, ONAugust 25, 2016
-It was fun as a high school job, to pass time and create new relationships.
I enjoyed creating routine and valuing my time.
Barely any co-workers but the ones I had were amazing.
Hardest part of the job was making the ice cream so mostly the training.
Most enjoyable part of the job was making and decorating cakes.
Pros
Free birthday cakes.
Cons
no customers during cold seasons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and over all a fun place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, ABAugust 23, 2016
A normal day at work would be busy or slow, And everyone was so great with the cosumers and willing to help out even if they had other things they had to do. The management was another story they would push you around and only teated people that they liked with respect and talked about other employes behind there back, I also think that was the hardest part of the job. The most enjoyable party of the day would have to be seeing the kids face light up when you brough there food or icecream over. On a day to day bassis i had to learn that cosumers are number one no matter what sometimes it was hard and other times it was easy.
Pros
love the co-workers
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dairy Queen
Employee (Current Employee) –  Yarmouth, NSAugust 22, 2016
Good staff, fast-paced lunch hours. Learned to stay on top of tasks throughout the day, took care of my stations. Loved making friends with my bosses, managers, and fellow co-workers.
Pros
50% off food (good on breaks)
Cons
Week notice schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people orientated
customer service (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABAugust 19, 2016
- started from 9:00 am till 5:00 pm
- ive learned how to deal with customers and associated staff
- management was very unprofessional
- co-workers were indifferent
- hardest part was dealing with angry customers but that also became a good part as i have learned how to manage an ddeal with said customers
Cons
bad staff, unprofessional work place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work if you have an unbalanced life
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABAugust 15, 2016
Dont really consider school hours there and expect you to just know the stuff your first day when you walk through the door. Arent very helpful and do not have any sympathy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun to work with my staff.
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Red Deer, ABAugust 13, 2016
Working at Dairy Queen is fun for me, I get to encounter different people(costumers) from day to day. Any concerns addressed from my costumers, I do my best to meet their satisfactions and give them a reason to come back in my store. My co-workers are fun to work with, we get along, and we love making ice cream for our costumers. The hardest part in my job is to keep my staff in line when they start to escalate but overall I love my job, I like making ice cream.
Pros
Free Drinks
Cons
full 8 hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is for party time inflatables
Ride Technician (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONAugust 12, 2016
He is extremely hard working and cares about his workers more than anything. He manages to earn everyones respect in every way shape and form.
Pros
everything
Cons
heavy lifting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy fun and active
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Oromocto, NBAugust 9, 2016
loved working with great people, it was never a boring day at work. It was great seeing soccer teams come in on a hot day and although it got busy it was great for me as I enjoy a job where I'm constantly moving.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Markham, ONAugust 9, 2016
It was a seasonal job, it was fun being able to work around others your age, but customers got too passionate about ice cream so it was a bit of a headache going into work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 3,523 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.6
Salary/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.4
Culture
3.5