Find companies:
Dairy Queen
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
2,496 reviews

Dairy Queen Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place
cashier (Former Employee), edmonton abJuly 27, 2015
the people were grate loved working here.Had a great experience lots of happy people the managers were so helpful and friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Messy
Cashier (Former Employee), Camrose, ABJuly 22, 2015
Pros: somewhat free food
Cons: messy
This job was very messy from what I can remember. Yea we got food and I guess a good wage, but it all wasn't that organized. Foreign people took over more than half of the workers there so it got very frustrating on how to understand what they wanted,
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job that does not offer what i need at this stage of my life.
Store Manager (Former Employee), Peterborough, ONJuly 20, 2015
Pros: love the people I work with
Cons: not enough hours, too many days, not enough of a balance between work and home.
A typical day consists of serving customers, doing cleaning jobs, making product to sell. I also do the order twice a week and inventory at months end. I would also do some grill work if need be. I have – more... learned a great deal from this company. I ran the store for 2 years doing everything from scheduling, making sure store was up to health and safety regulations to hiring and firing of staff. The management/owner is difficult at times and changes his mind constantly about what he wants and how he wants it done thus confusing me and the employees and how to proceed with certain things.My co-workers quite hionestly are the main and most often the only reason i am still there. Most of them are personal friends of mine and they work well for me and respect me as thier manager. The hardest part of my job is the fact I am on my feet all day, I have to work 6 days a week for the most part and still do not get 40 hours a week. We are open year round but because of the business we are in the winter months are slow and hours get worse. The most enjoyable part of my job is the fact I am comfortable with the knowledge and know what i am doing and i think i do it well, also i love going into work to see my fellow co-workers, but honestly i do not enjoy it as much as i used to and things are changing and for me i need more. I am approaching 50 and i want a full-time position 5 days a week that balances my work with family time, especially at this stage in my life that balance is important. I am not getting that now and i feel like i live at my place of business and less at home. I believe i have learned enough and have the skills that would benifit any company who is willing to hire me and train me. I am loyal and eager to start the next chapter in my life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managing the store
Manager (Current Employee), WaterlooJuly 17, 2015
Pros: the staff
Cons: seasonal work
making sure store is up to health and safety codes i would endorse if it was not a seasonal position .The most enjoyable part of my job is the customers and staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Team Member (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONJuly 12, 2015
Great place to work, great people, great atmosphere, great food, great working environment in general, good training, only con for me personally was my inconsistent hours.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly staff, fun to work, fast paced
Supervisor (Former Employee), 6888 North Island HighwayJuly 10, 2015
Co-workers were friendly, fun, fast paced environment. Boss was very friendly and understanding Convenient location and hours. Overall a pretty good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
AWESOME
Cook basic (Former Employee), Winnipeg, ManitobaJuly 7, 2015
Pros: Free food and ice cream.
Cons: No cons
I really should have never quit working at Dairy Queen. I enjoyed every shift and every co-worker. The food was great, and I made a lot of friends working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Supervisor/Food Counter Attendant (Current Employee), Calgary, ABJune 30, 2015
I used to work with enthusiasm at Dairy Queen, working typically either day or night depending on the shifts that usually provided. Working hard is the best issue in order to succeed in a specific job – more... your longing to be in a part. The things that I learned in this job is to be more patient, be responsible in all actions, know how to mingle with co-workers, go with the flow not too hot headed, following rules and regulations of the store/management and most all the dedication and love your work.. Hardest part of this of this is that the blame is on you because you are superior than others but you need to defend yourself. And of course dealing with the customers' complain needs more patient. But one thing that I enjoyed is having some circle of friends you can rely on and the used of skills in designing of cakes. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work but bad management
Cashier (Former Employee), Montréal, QCJune 25, 2015
I had a good experience overall. It was a fun place to work but the boss was very unorganized and irresponsible. I would love to work there again but perhaps a different boss and location.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, enjoyable environment to work in.
Customer Service (Current Employee), Greenwood, NSJune 22, 2015
I enjoy being able to serve customers a fresh meal, and provide friendly service. I work with my co-workers to help maintain a clean environment that allows customers to enjoy their visit at Dairy Queen.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced especially during the Summer, Hardworking team
Shift supervisor (Former Employee), Waterdown, ONJune 22, 2015
Pros: 50% Discount, Great Employees
Cons: Broken Chocolate Ice Cream Machine
Working hard makes you eligible to receive more hours as desired. Great hardworking team, fast paced but friendly environment. Customers are always the highest priority
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work environment
Cashier (Part-time) (Former Employee), Hamilton, ONJune 18, 2015
- stocking of food
- making of ice cream cakes
- operations of front cashier and drive thru
- responsible for making deserts
- dishes and cleaning
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty good
Cook (Current Employee), Saint John, NBJune 15, 2015
Pros: 50% off during break
Cons: no direct deposit
The typical day at work involves a lot of customer service and cooking. i learned that you need to work hard in order to succeed in the workplace. the management could be a bit better its a little slack – more... but it is alright. My co-workers are awesome I loved every single one of them, we have our differences but i still enjoy them. the hardest part is just when it gets super hectic and busy. the most enjoyable part however is just having such great co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment,
Customer service (Former Employee), Victoria, BCJune 9, 2015
Pros: discount on food, my coworkers were great
Cons: closing shifts, only because of less frequent bus hours
Work day to day were great, especially working with my co-workers.
We had such a fantastic team work going.

My manager was very understanding when I asked for time off, very flexible if we needed – more... to have to switch shifts with someone else.

Typical day at work is helping customers, answering questions about the drinks we provide. Mix smoothies and julius, mix blizzards, let customers know of allergens if asked. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Server (Former Employee), Grimsby, ONJune 8, 2015
typical day at work was going through stuff they needed to be done such as duties of refilling candy, changing milk machine etc.
I learned communication skills, dealing with money, interpersonal skills
coworkers all very nice and willing to teach
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good introduction to the restaurant industry.
Grill cook (Former Employee), Halifax, NSJune 5, 2015
Pros: free lunches
Cons: non specif closing hours
Working at dairy queen I learned that any job no matter how small, is worth taking your time and doing perfectly even in a fast paced environment. The management was excellent always on top of all problems – more... seemingly before they even began. The work was difficult it demands an ability to effectively multitask many things at once. Such as making the food, cleaning the kitchen, and stocking the fridge. with a stop to wash your hands in between each station to prevent cross contamination. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult
Front End Cashier (Former Employee), Kincardine, ONJune 5, 2015
Pros: Free Ice cream
Cons: Threats
This was my first job in a store front place. I had good times and bad times. I was working late nights all the time never days. I was able to get along with my other co-workers and we were able to maintain – more... a friendship through the time we were all there. I learned how to make ice cream and all the different ways to create a desert. As well I was able to maintain a somewhat clean environment. It got sticky after two blizzards. But always made sure my food area looked good. The Management there was not at all good. The head manager was so rude and disrespectful that I was not the only one who wanted to get out of there. When she called me in to fire me she gave a very petty excuse and let me walk out of the store that night not knowing what had happened that day. She also threaded us on more occasion then one and made sure we were her slaves when she was on duty. The other managers where so calming and just made sure everyone was doing there jobs right and having fun while doing it. We where never yelled at or threaded and by the end of the night we were all laughing and throwing jokes around while cleaning. The hardest part about this job I could never have a real smile when the head manager was around and always being treated like I was at the bottom of the food chain. The best part was that i got to meet some really cool people not only from Canada but People from Europe and the USA. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good summer job
Cashier (Former Employee), Emerald Park, SKJune 4, 2015
Pros: Discounted foods
Cons: you had to be inside during nice days
Nice place to work for the summer.
I would make the cool treats, work the cash register, and deal with customers.
Most people who worked there were nice and friendly,
I found mastering the ice cream swirl on top a challenge, but I mastered it.
I found serving the customers very enjoyable, especially seeing the look on the little children's faces when you give them their ice cream.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best.
Grill Cook (Former Employee), Nanaimo, BCMay 29, 2015
Dairy Queen didn't have the best job environment to work in. Most of the machines were either broken or slightly broken.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High stress enviroment
Bus Boy and Prep Cook (Former Employee), Kelowna, BCMay 27, 2015
Pros: Free lunches, Alot of friendships.
Cons: High stress
I would clean tables, bathrooms, counters, and dishes. I would also help stock make the ice cream bars and keep up Buns and Burgers through the grill during rush hour. All my co-workers were really nice and fun. My manager was a good guy. The hard part of the job was stress, the more enjoyable parts were cooking.

1 2 3 4 5

About Dairy Queen

Dairy Queen, often abbreviated DQ, is a chain of soft serve and fast food restaurants owned by International Dairy Queen, Inc, – Read more