Find companies:
DHL
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,194 reviews

DHL Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team atmosphere
Help Desk Support Engineer (Former Employee), NorcrossJune 10, 2014
Great place to learn and experience new technology.
A-1 Team of IT professionals
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
HR Assistant (Former Employee), Walpole, MAJune 7, 2014
Pros: the increased challenge in the role
Cons: the longer hours since it was a 24 hour facility
I enjoyed my time here for sure. It was an accident that I become an HR assistant as I was hired to be a receptionist. When both the HR manager and the general manager left at the same time, I was handed the role of HR assistant and told "Go!" It gave me the opportunity to take on a difficult role and see how I would do under an intense amount of stress – more... with little-to-no training. Within a month I was able to orient myself to the tasks at hand and find my footing. I think I did well because our retention rate was quite high and the staff seemed quite happy. I left in the end because I had finished school for medical assisting and I wanted to pursue that role but if I hadn't, I think I might have continued in human resources because I enjoyed being able to help people with their employment related issues. I felt like people trusted me and I was able to be a confidante for them and it was a nice change to go from a retail worker to someone who was able to be trusted in a higher position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and safe work enviroment( warehouse)
Fork Lift Operator, Floor Support (Current Employee), Elkridge, MDJune 6, 2014
I work the 3rd shift (Overnight). HR and management are very big on safety which i like everyone follows the safety rules in affect. I have got a lot of training from DHL such as Forklift, Hazmat in shipping and TSA. My co works are nice and easy to get along with there are no conflicts and everyone does a good job every night. I like that we have meetings – more... where we can give ideas or concerns and they listen. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In DHL there are so many activities done by him. They organise every month sports activity for his employee.
Warehouse Assistant (Former Employee), PuneJune 5, 2014
Pros: they always provide different traings to his employee to his work related
Cons: no time limit for working
There is good atmosphere to work for every employee but compare with salary it is very less.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Driver (Former Employee), Norwalk, CTJune 4, 2014
Pros: travel all over the world for pennies on a dollar, the ability to ship my personal packages at a very low rate, pay raises were terrific
Cons: layoff
Awesome people I worked for. I enjoyed what I did. I hated when the company decided to terminate domestic freight. I lost my job due to that. Unfortunately they let go of close to 10,000 employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Internship (Former Employee), C12June 4, 2014
Working environment is awesome, and co-workers are friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leaning how to work in a high pace industrial enviroment of air cargo
Handler (Former Employee), Oakland, CAJune 2, 2014
Pros: job advancement and union benefits
Cons: emlpoyment is temporary and on call when needed
Handler, reading, sorting, and processing large and small items with an electronic hand computerized inventory device. Also, loading and unloading items up to 75lbs from short and long truck containers and from air cargo bins to and from a conveyer belt while maintaining a fast pace alone and if needed with assists from co-worker's from adjacent truck – more... containers during a three to four hour shift. The work is physically demanding but, has internal opportunities for advancements within the company and under their Union that offers good employment benefits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Operations Processor, I (Former Employee), Swindon, ENGJune 2, 2014
A typical day at work would consist of going through emails and solving any request possibly ring a few customers and resolve there situation. Looking for undelivered parcels on computer systems. Either sending out sms text or ringing or emailing customers trying to arrange a re-delivery of the undelivered parcel for as soon as possible. Looking at – more... what jobs and parcel need dealing with and prioritizing what needs to be done first. updating different systems with what have done with certain parcels. also dealing with customers on a face to face basis over reception either sending parcels or collecting parcels. I learned good customer service and confidence skills over the phone and on face to face basis. I also learnt how to deal with big workloads and prioritizing work that ismore important. I enjoyed working with all my co-workers, it was a fun interesting business to work in but also a serious get down to work environment. i enjoyed all aspects of my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Data Entry (Former Employee), Elkridge, MDMay 30, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: short breaks, poor working conditions
Bad management. Poor work conditions. Unprofessional. Short work breaks. Nice pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job but very tedious
Dock Worker (Former Employee), Greensboro, NCMay 30, 2014
Pros: weekly pay, great side job, nice people
Cons: short breaks, no benefits, low pay, bad managment
I don't really have any problems with this job per say but the management could use a lot of work. this is going to be an honest review on things i witnessed and things that happen to me during my employment with DHL. I worked there for a few months and still only had a very big work shirt that didn't fit and one pair of paints they found in the office, – more... still had no log-in that i needed to really do my job and in some cases went to work and did nothing the entire day. management are the nicest people to work around but they really aren't organized or dependable. On one occasion i was even sent home because upper management paid a visit and they still didn't have the proper thing i needed to work there so they escorted me consistently until it was too inconvenient for them. The job overall isn't bad, its pretty mindlessly repetitive and easy and you get paid every week, they even try to get you more hours or switch you to full time as a driver. If your looking for a nice side job where you move boxes on and off trucks, pallets and moving belts for four hours a day in a friendly environment this is a great job to have just don't expect much order, even in my few months working there there was still people who didn't even get a uniform to work in. On your average day at work you show up in the evening, knock on the door then go to a small meeting, after that you set up so the boxes can come in and move on the belt, the boxes are then weighed and checks then put in a container to be placed in an airplane, on weekends its reversed and you place the boxes depending on where they are going on pallets and into trucks. hardest part of the job is working six days a week and one day off and checking the labels to what truck each box goes to and the most enjoyable is the nice people you get to meet and getting paid every week. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team, high energy environment
Team Leader (Former Employee), CrickMay 29, 2014
A good day would be a busy day; high volumes and demanding deadlines kept the team and myself motivated daily.

Management have always been co-operative, and open minded. In some cases going the extra mile to keep employees happy and motivated.

Hardest part of the job; when a small number of employees are not as motivated as the rest, this could cause – more... minor stress amongst the team as the deadlines could be tight and required everyone to work at the same pace.

Most enjoyable part; meeting deadlines, a strong team all on the same wavelength and the drive to complete the job, camaraderie amongst employees. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding and Progressive
Senior Financial Accountant (Global Mail UK) (Current Employee), Ipswich, ENGMay 29, 2014
Pros: good working enviroment
Cons: long hours
DHL is a very fluid company constantly changing which makes working for the company very demanding but also extremely interesting.
There is no such thing as a typical day at work as you can guarantee that what ever you may have planned to achieve that day will change due to the demands of the buisness and it business partners - life is never boring.
Staff – more... at DHL are friendly welcoming and knowledgeable, which is management lead.
Hardest part of the job would be the extremely tight month end reporting deadlines for the monthly financials to Germany, and the most enjoyable is the involvement within the various projects and the opportunities to always learn something new. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Warehouse Operative (Former Employee), doncasterMay 28, 2014
Pros: salary and holidays
Cons: communication
My standard working day consisted of Reach Truck work for a period of a 8 hour or a 12 hour shift, putting pallets away or pallet picking for customers such as Asda and Sainsburys.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people,
picker (Current Employee), swindonMay 28, 2014
Pros: good employer
Cons: nights
you just get to do your work with minimal supervison.
easy job just pick orders with a llop and a scanner then put the cage/pallet to which ever gate it needs to go to.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Individual work/Scheduling
Courier (Former Employee), Houston, TXMay 27, 2014
Pros: long breaks and customer service
Cons: long work day
This job helped build stronger Customer Service skills. Stronger teamwork skills with morning mail sorts. Stronger decision making skills from scheduling deliveries and pick-ups based on traffic and routing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Triage (Former Employee), Coventry, ENGMay 27, 2014
Good company to work for, good management

good blokes

good job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meeting People All Over The City
Courier (Former Employee), Memphis, TNMay 26, 2014
I loved getting the opportunity to meet customers at their homes to provide their packages in an efficient manner. Each day brought a new challenge, but each day was as enjoyable as it could get.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy going workplace with friendly staff
Deliveries (Former Employee), CEMay 26, 2014
I enjoy working with DHL in shannon, the managers are very helpfull and the staff are friendly. Everyone works together in an easy going workplace reaching delivery deadlines.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work space
Sales Manager (Former Employee), BelgradeMay 24, 2014
Represent the company at trade exhibitions, events and demonstrations
· Review your own sales performance, aiming to meet or exceed targets
· Manage all marketing needs of the key clients
· Make recommendation and improve company’s sales policy and increase profit
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I liked feeding information in the laptop i had been provided with.
Tallying Clerk/ Store keeper (Former Employee), NairobiMay 22, 2014
Pros: free lunch and transport to and from work and frequent appraisals.
Cons: long working hours and sometimes distraction from off duties.
Reported on duty early in the morning and took over duties from my opposite shift colleague after a thorough stock take. Interacted with different groups of people as cleaners, fork lift operators, truck drivers and loaders within the warehouse. My management team was overwhelmingly at hand for any queries, support and consultation.

About DHL

DHL Express (USA) is the US arm of express delivery giant DHL, which itself is a subsidiary of Germany's Deutsche Post. The operations – Read more