Cypher Systems Group Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment with great work life balance however salary is in the lower range compared to the workload for a licensed insurance broker.
Client Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON23 June 2017
Great working environment with great work and life balance however salary is in the lower range compared to the workload for a licensed insurance broker.
Pros
Hours
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulltime job yes, money and success, no
Insurance broker (Former Employee) –  Windsor, on6 June 2017
I had worked for cypher systems for 7 yrs.
Within 7yrs as a top performer and continually hitting targets and tiers i was NEVER recognized or treated anyway different than a brand new broker with zero training and lack of knowledge.

Within 7yrs i made 2000$ more in salary than a brand new broker.
You are told that you work days and a rare afternoon shift which is INCORRECT and that there are no saturdays; also 100% incorrect

There are a select few brokers, team leaders or managers that ACTUALLY care about their staff.
The brokers on the phone, working hard, taking calls, listening amd fighting for money are nothing more than a " id number",on a piece of paper.

Sure there is opportunity to grow; if they like you and want you to grow. If not you stay where you are and "deal with it". The owners of the company have no idea of what is actually going on and i feel if they did, things would change. I would hope so anyways being this is a family run company.

They under pay in salary , by 1000s after giving a "career" and the reason there is high turn over is because voices are deflected, youre told to get over it and everyone is rated and treated the same NOT individually.

Hard working staff leave and go where they are appreciated and sadly thats not the case here.your minimalist staff stay and sit around doing nothing because NOBODY is making money anymore

goodluck if you apply, you will regret it!
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Sales Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON5 June 2017
I've been in the sales department for PC insurance for over a year and it's been great! We are a close team and everyone helps each other out. At first it's a lot of information but it's paid training and there's a lot of support. The Team Leaders and Sales Manager are awesome they are involved and very helpful.
Pros
Fun, great co-workers, management cares, potential to make alot of commission after only a few months, leads come to you so no cold calling
Cons
Winter is slow, shifts until 7
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here
Insurance broker (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON30 April 2017
There's a reason this company is always looking for workers. Few people stay. The pay is barely minimum wage and the managers are inexperienced. They are vindictive and love to play mind games.
Pros
None
Cons
Low pay. No support.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a fair environment
Sales Broker (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON31 January 2017
Worked there for five years and always gave it my best. Moved to a sales role at Inova and was fired due to not meeting sales expectations. This company does not value employees. I was continually being picked by my team leader and made to feel like I wasn't going to ever succeed in this role or company. Glad I was fired, working my dream job and I'm doing exactly what I love.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great culture but job is undervalued
Server Broker (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON30 January 2017
If only I had listened to the reviews before I was hired on, I could have avoided an unfit position. The call center environment is not for everyone and you really cannot be sensitive to the verbal abuse from dealing with difficult customers on a daily basis in order to work here. The job is stressful but stimulating as each situation is unique and requires a comprehensive knowledge of each insurance company's policy and the rules are constantly changing. You will have all the training and support you need but the structure is so rigid for quality assurance that you will feel micromanaged and there is no flexibility in solving customer concerns. Legitimate claims and concerns are repeatedly denied and it is no wonder the client's are all upset. But you will scored on your ability to handle the client's unrealistic demands as the program they use will pick up any aggravation in verbal tone, including the client, even when you are following the standard procedure. Your performance is scored unrealistically and is not aligned with the company's expectations. Even when meeting or exceeding the performance standards there is very little compensation. There is little incentive to stay with the compensation not matching the job requirements as well as no dental or vision. If you have the ability to deal with the daily stress and are motivated you will move up in a company with a great team, eventually some years later, but the turnover is high as not everyone is capable of becoming an insensitive drone.
Pros
Leadership, training, teamwork
Cons
Verbal abuse, unrealistic performance goals, pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Active Care Management - Claims Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON28 January 2017
CSG is a leading member of the Windsor/Essex community, Being a part of this team was rewarding on many levels. I enjoyed the customer facing aspect of my role and the behind the lines support I was able to offer my peers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment
SERVICE BROKER (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON14 January 2017
A routine day at work would involve providing customers with assistance towards their auto/home insurance.

I learned how to use customer relationship management software and how to communicate professionally with clients.

Management was very friendly and provided assistance when needed.

Co-workers supported each other, and were polite.

The hardest part of the job was dealing with angry/rude clients.

The most enjoyable part of the job was that it was comfortable hours and very flexible with my school schedule.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace environment
Team Leader/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON4 October 2016
I been here for almost 7 years and I never worked in a place like this before where our constant growth allows you to improve and move up. CSG has a family-like atmosphere; its a team driven by the same goals – to constantly improve and help each other.
The owners are family oriented and for that reason they take care of their employees in many ways , parties, lunches or tickets for sports events but they also have a huge sense of community and like to help when is needed, it could be one employee going through a difficult situation or an institution.
Pros
Company growth which allow you to move up
Cons
Learning curve- you have to stick to it to excel - results- you are going to ended up with a career
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Windsor30 September 2016
I have been with this company now for almost 7 years and have moved up twice because I am very driven and hard working. I am the type of person that needs to continually learn to keep and engaged in my role and there is not a day that does not go by where I don't learn something new.

The owners really take an interest in their employees and reward them in many different ways whether it be free lunch, parties, tickets to various sporting events including tigers, spits and red wing games.
Pros
Continuing education to make you a more rounded employee
Cons
There is a learning curve but if you stick with it you will come out with a wealth of knowledge
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 13Report

Want to know more about Cypher Systems Group?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON23 July 2016
For those qualified, there exist opportunities in IT and Operations with long-term potential and decent salaries; typically such roles are not related to the call-taking jobs the company regularly advertises and so don't require the same 3-week training, RIBO certification, 1-year-until-commission business model and so on.

For everyone else, there's the misnamed account service manager or account sales manager post, which is basically selling insurance plans to random callers who phone into the call center (and thus has no managerial implications from a salary or direct report supervision standpoint). This is preceded by a 20-day training course where groups are split in 2 and parceled out to two trainers. If the exam is successfully completed, you're assigned to one of the brands under the company umbrella and assigned a cubicle, headset, and computer to take calls.
The quality of the trainers is mixed. Some relatively new and easy-going, and others (or at least one of them) are tenured, have dated knowledge, limited patience, no people-skills, and huge egos. Expect to be told to leave the course/property if you dare to question the way the class breaks or end-times are synchronized or any other aspect of the course instructor's teaching method.
-There is a relatively strict dress code (compared to most call center environments) that eschews shorts (even long ones) on men or jeans (even clean ones with no tears or bleaching) on everyone. Women can apparently wear knee-length skirts and wear high heels or flip flops, but men are expected to wear dress shoes. It would be
  more... therefore accurate to describe the apparel proscriptions as discriminatory by gender.
-In the first year, you receive no commission. Instead, your sales are reviewed and closed by "senior" brokers, who get the credit & pay. This status quo is apparently not ended at an exact date in your second year but rather at the discretion of the team leadership crew. There is thus little incentive for performing or ambitious agents to excel early on in their mandate.
-There is little flexibility in terms of scheduling. Moreover, you will be reassigned continuously to different brands/companies based on business needs. Therefore, you may learn your script for one company only to find yourself rehearsing a new one the following week. Agents have no voice in this process and refusal will naturally lead to some form of disciplinary action.
  less
Pros
they'll hire anyone without a criminal record
Cons
terrible, dictatorial trainers, indifferent management, stifling dress code, bad pay, deferred commission in 1st year
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Glorified Call Centre
Service Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON25 June 2016
There's a reason there's so much turnover at this place and why they're always hiring. You're promised that it's a corporate job with opportunity to advance but it couldn't be less true. Everyone is educated and over qualified due to the Windsor job market, advancing up in the company is near impossible due to that. The job itself is taking calls and dealing with client complaints over the rising costs of insurance. You come in 9-5 everyday to get screamed at and disrespected for 8 hours, you have to follow up with these nasty clients and obtain proof of winter tire discounts, ownership etc. Not worth the pathetic salary they pay you and unless you're in sales the commission is a joke. Don't leave your steady full-time job for this, if you don't like constantly getting disrespected and screamed at over the phone for 8 straight hours don't bother. The biggest pro is the supervisors and team leaders are beyond amazing and if you need help they will be there to address your concerns. No dental is laughable and appalling and the wage is truly pathetic, you're a licensed insurance broker making less then an assembly line worker.
Pros
Great management
Cons
Poor benefits, poor compensation, unsatisfying job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Insurance makes people happy
Service Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON10 May 2016
It's a call center. A glorified call center. The only pro is that your co-workers are amazing. But they're all over-qualified to be sitting on a phone all day - thus making any opportunity to advance in the company near impossible. And to top things off - you're dealing in insurance. Who likes paying thousands a year and often having nothing to show for it? So essentially, everyone that calls in is absolutely miserable. There are people that enjoy the job...can't understand why...but it just isn't something I could do for the rest of my life.
Pros
Co-workers
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place for starters
Account Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON4 March 2016
If you are just coming out of school, are young, and are looking for experience - this is a great place to work.

They are really good to employees but for me - I'd rather have the money in my pocket than a nice Christmas Party.

Work environment is ok - if you stick to yourself and don't get into the drama.

Great training, great experience and fantastic owners and management.

Horrible pay for someone who has the experience
Benefits are not wonderful but you get them.
and you don't get a say in the company you want to work for, they just put you wherever

Nothing is perfect in life.....it is what you make it and what you can deal with.
Pros
great entry level
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Administrative Assistance/Junior Broker (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON29 January 2016
A typical day at word was never dull. Learned that every customer is different.
Hardest part of the job was dealing with someone involved in a car accident.
The most enjoyable part of the job making sure a customer had a good customer service and I had saved him some money
Pros
Working Hours
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mediocre Job
Service Account Manager (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON5 October 2015
Good entry level job that will help you enhance your customer service, communication and organizational skills but has little room for growth. Upper management is excellent but direct managers seem to be more social with each other than helpful. Co-workers are amazing, wonderful people. The hardest part of the job is the fact that you are not face to face with your clients and that allows for them to treat you unkindly, which happens often. The pay is minimal and they except a lot of their employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace environment.
Sales Account Manager (Current Employee) –  3600 Rhodes Drive, Windsor, Ontario19 January 2015
Overall a typical day at work consisted of continuous phone calls to clients selling insurance and giving insurance quotes. I learned a great deal about home and automotive insurance.
The hardest part of the job was selling insurance to angry clients.
I enjoyed the in house cafe the most. Excellent highlight to the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great support and respect from fellow co-workers
Sales Broker (Current Employee) –  Windsor Ontario28 November 2014
Training was extensive and paid for. Lots of support during and post training.

Typical day: Answer incoming calls, provide quote and close the sale. Follow up on leads from previous days during the downtime. Ask questions, quote, advise, sell. Relatively simple and laid back.

Management is understanding and helpful. Co-workers are respectful and don't steal your sales. Calls are constantly coming in, and when they're not, there's always a follow up or paperwork to keep busy.

Hardest part of the job would be keeping everything organized and in order. Keeping on top of your leads, sales, paperwork, and incoming calls. Can go crazy trying to juggle all of the tasks. Sucks when disorganization cuts into sales and you end up selling nothing for the day, but there is a solid base salary to cushion it.

Most enjoyable part would be closing the sale. Decent commission with a decent base salary to cushion the bad days. Feels exhilarating when you get to close the bigger sales.

Management is pretty flexible too. Allows for banked time that carries over the year. Standard 8:30-4:30, though management will gladly let you bank more time if you wish to stay later.

Can be overwhelming at the start because there's simply so much to learn, but the support really eases the transition. Asked and still ask so many questions on a daily basis, and they've never once not helped me out.

Also, free cake day every month to celebrate the month birthdays. Free cheesecakes in rare occasions.
Pros
Great support, respectful and friendly environment, good flexibility in hours
Cons
Overwhelming at the start because insurance can get complicated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some good co-workers, terrible pay & cut throat atmosphere
Sales Broker (Current Employee) –  Windsor, Ontario6 September 2014
Paid training while obtaining license was the only positive aside from some of the co-workers. Commission structure makes it impossible to make a living and it is a very cut throat atmosphere which makes for a poisonous work environment. Very high turn over rate and you are not paid overtime and need to work 11-12 hour days to keep pace with the micro management. There are some good people there though most people are looking to move elsewhere the first chance they get.
Pros
Some nice co-workers
Cons
long hours, poor management, salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 26No 10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Windsor, ON20 September 2013
CSG hires en masse and pays for a RIBO training course that you get paid during. That's a bonus. When you get working, it's a shark-tank atmosphere and metrics controlled. When I was there, one program was just starting up and it was painfully slow. No commission coming in meant the low base pay was barely keeping the bills paid. It's an insurance call-center.
Was this review helpful?Yes 41No 9Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Cypher Systems Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 23 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.6
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4

Cypher Systems Group Reviews by Location