Find companies:
CVS/pharmacy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
4,019 reviews

CVS/pharmacy Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Is not like it use to be
Certified Pharmacy Technician/Inventory Specialist (Current Employee), Chicago, ILApril 11, 2014
Pros: some
Cons: alot
The people at corporate suck! They cut hours and overwork you to death.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
LEAD PHARMACY TECHNICIAN (Current Employee), Alexandria, VAApril 11, 2014
the customers our like family, and its little staff for a lot of work so you need to be able to multitask
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Photo Tech
Photo Technician/Cashier (Former Employee), Natchez, MSApril 11, 2014
Develops photos, cashier, customer service. The co workers are ok. Didn't get enough hours
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Company
Cashier (Current Employee), Macon, GAApril 11, 2014
A typical day at work is very productive and I have learned a lot in the company. My management as well as co-worker are pleasant to be around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place for professional advancement,and daily learning experience.
Pharmacy Manager (Current Employee), Arlington, VAApril 11, 2014
Pros: good pay and benefits, learning opportunities.
Cons: no break
CVS is a good place to learn even though very challenging due to heavy workload and long schedules.
I had the opportunity through my 10+ years at CVS to completely master all aspect he pharmacy retail business from management, to staff training and development to the most important part of any retail business : CUSTOMER SERVICE.
The hardest part of – more... the job could be heavy workload at some times of the month ( I manage a store of 1600+ prescriptions per week), staffing ( hiring the right people).
The most enjoyable part of the job is the great learning experience, experiencing the evolution and change of pharmacy business throughout the years, and of course making a difference in people's life. Nothing more rewarding to me than seeing the gratitude in the eyes of my customers after helping them resolve any kind of problems in getting their medications. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Walgreens
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee), Chicago, ILApril 11, 2014
Pros: easy work conditions
Cons: pay was not very good for the amount of work.
Walgreens is a decent company to work for if you are looking for a job to help pay the bills. Typically my work day consisted of assisting customers on the sales as well as ringing out their purchases. I really didn't learn all that much from them because I had been in a previous job that consisted of the same duties and responsibilities. The management – more... at the company was decent they could have been more hands on with dealing with customers. I like and became friends with many of my co-workers and are still friends to this day. The hardest part of the job was being able to get all the work done with very minimum staff. The best part of the job was the day to day interactions with a variety of different people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pretty good
Pharmacy Technician (Former Employee), San Diego, CAApril 11, 2014
pretty good pretty good pretty good pretty good pretty good pretty good pretty good pretty good pretty good pretty good pretty good pretty good pretty good pretty good pretty good pretty good pretty good pretty good pretty good pretty good pretty good pretty good pretty good pretty good pretty good pretty good pretty good pretty good pretty good pretty – more... good pretty good pretty good pretty good pretty good – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive/busy day/job security/excellent benefits
Certified Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), Euclid, OHApril 11, 2014
Pros: exellent pay rate
Cons: undesirable work hours
retail pharmacy, 24 hour location, busy times of the day 12p to 8pm,
close to one of the Cleveland clinic facility and university facility emergency rooms
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT PEOPLE TO WORK FOR
CLERK (Current Employee), SOUTH CAROLINAApril 10, 2014
GREAT COMPANY AND GREAT MANAGEMENT. HIGHEST PAYING JOB I HAVE HAD, AND THERE IS ALWAYS PLACE FOR ADVANCEMENT.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), McCalla, ALApril 10, 2014
Its a good company. If you like fats paced and multi-tasking this is the job for you!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great perfessional enviornment
Cashier/Automated Check Out (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 10, 2014
Pros: constantly being inspired to due my best.
Cons: not enough pay
A typical day at work is greeting every one with smiles and waves and the C.V.S. slogan as customers walked in and out. Taking over the cash register and answering phones being sure to follow the script to excellent customer service as well keeping my space tidy and neat. Sweeping the floor during the end of my shift. Then happily greeting people on – more... my way out.

I learned how to interact with customers and staff and handle a verity of intense situations.

Management was great, very punctual, understanding, and a great pleasure to work with.

My co-workers were awesome. They were always so nice to me and helpful.

The hardest part of the job was leaving to focus more on school.

The most enjoyable part of the job was coming every day and working my hardest. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience working with patients, doctors and your coworkers.
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), New Hyde Park, NYApril 10, 2014
Pros: usually flexible timings for work schedule
Cons: no breaks most of the time. no health benefits provided for part time (30 hours/week)
A typical day at CVS Pharmacy involves dealing with multiple patients and taking care of their requests (i.e. refills for prescriptions, insurance rejections, etc.) and multitasking (i.e. phone calls, production, and utilizing patient data, etc.).
The learning experience is tremendous while working with this company: learned to cope with over stress, – more... compliant with important tasks assigned and completed usually in a timely manner. Also improved multitasking skills including other skills involving medications and their interactions, constituting solutions/suspensions, other compounds (i.e. ointments, creams,etc.).
Management at CVS Pharmacy is well established and organized especially by the RX manager (PIC). Store # 3104 (New Hyde Park) is one of the most busiest pharmacies throughout CVS chain (over 4000 scripts utilized per week).
The Pharmacy team is usually very understanding and assist with unresolved issues when need be. Cooperative to a great extent.
Most hardest part of this job includes patients/customers being very rude even when i'm trying to help them with the best of my ability and usually go out of my way to provide the best service. Patients can get very nasty with their attitudes, but the best part is that I learned to keep my patience and ask them to cooperate with tranquility.
I really enjoy learning about new drugs/medications everyday especially if it's something I can relate to. I certainly appreciate how some customers really feel satisfied with the service I provide them with and how they leave the pharmacy really content. That truly makes me happy to be appreciated for my efforts at work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Customer Relations, Good Training.
Customer Service/Cashier (Former Employee), Miami, FloridaApril 10, 2014
Pros: everyday learning experience.
Cons: very low compensation.
My co-workers were very helpful.
Learn to Assist in RX processing functions and Prescriptions Refills.
Providing detailed information as well as Customer Service .
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place
Cashier (Former Employee), cooperstown, nyApril 10, 2014
a typical day at work was waiting on the customers. learned a lot management was great co workers were good most of them the hardest part was the distance I traveled the best part was seeing all the customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My daily day at CVS.
Shift Supervisor (Current Employee), Torrance, CAApril 10, 2014
My day usually starts at mid day. Come into the store make sure everything in stock on the shells. Receive incoming orders of products that were order. Unload & load orders from & to the store. Help the employees if they need back up at the cashier. Greet customers on a daily basics. Closer out all cash drawer before closing store. Make sure everything – more... is clear before closing store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CVS Workplace
Inventory Manager (Current Employee), Rialto, CAApril 9, 2014
Pros: as of right now close to my house
Cons: work enviorment/ managers
I love what I do but with CVS i feel trapped, over worked, and under paid. The PIC is the slowest in the world without any common sense and the co workers are just the same. With always cutting hours and no other techs to help everything falls on one person. How are we suppose to help the customer if we cant even fill their prescription.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good benefits
Pharmacy Technician (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INApril 9, 2014
I enjoy working with a diverse group of people, the pharmacist were all nice, everyone was always friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not the company you want to work for...HIGH STRESS with LOW PAY
Pharmacy Tech (Former Employee), OhioApril 9, 2014
Pros: company buys books and pays for test to be a licence pharmacy technician.
Cons: low pay and compensations benefits. low hours, standing all day, customers
Standing all day while multitasking non stop. From data entry, administration, inventory, calling doctors, picking-up phone calls, filling prescription. Waiting on customers at the registers in the store and at drive-thru. Sometimes at the same time. You answer a lot of questions daily and fill a lot of prescriptions with a small staff. There is only – more... one pharmacist on staff (who works 14 plus hours straight) and a few techs that all need the help of the pharmacist at the same time. Not enough hours that can be shared. If the particular store does not increase prescription counts then hours will not be increased, but decreased. You have to work long hours in a day because store cant hire more techs. Staff use to not receive a lunch break because there was too much work to be done and nobody to cover shift. Now cvs is enforcing their staffs besides the pharmacist to take lunch breaks. The environment is highly stressful without compensation. Out of all the retail pharmacies cvs pays the lowest for technicians, which is 8 bucks an hours. In addition to work duties the company pushes the staff to meet daily and monthly scores and they continue to add extra job duties that can not be achieved due to the overload of work duties already in place. Co-workers are stress out, and underpaid. Management only cares about customers and not their employees. There is nothing enjoyable about this job besides that you learn a lot about insurance, medications. You get yelled at, abused, belittle,cursed out and threaten by customers daily and cvs reward the customer with a gift card. I have seen pharmacist and technicians crying because of the rudeness of customers and the high demand of job. I found out that this is the culture of other cvs pharmacies as well. If I had a clue about the culture of cvs pharmacy I would have never applied. I hope this review is helpful – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office Job
Operations Development Specialist (Current Employee), Northbrook, ILApril 9, 2014
Perform a quality check on each case completed by co-workers before the case is closed out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Slow paced but gracious workers
Shift Manager/Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Arlington, TXApril 9, 2014
This job has been great so far but I want to climb the ladder to success with a good company. A typical day at work would be doing daily cash transactions. I've learned that being a great supervisor is to not only tell them what to do but to work well together and to be a eye observer over the company. The hardest part of this job would be to get some – more... extra help like more employees. I really like the way people are like family here. – less

About CVS/pharmacy

Size matters to CVS Caremark (formerly CVS), the nation's #2 drugstore chain and a leading pharmacy benefits manager with more – Read more