Find companies:
CSX
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
146 reviews

CSX Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Freight Conductor (Current Employee), Augusta, GANovember 26, 2014
typical day starts with reading dispatcher messages, then a safety briefing is hedl to make sure eveyone full understands job. after that get on the train and go to your destination. unless switching cars in a yard then you just follow the switchlist
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CSX ok to work for management not very much at certain locations
Utility Worker (Current Employee), Avon INNovember 23, 2014
CSX is a decent company, but very political and management at the location I worked at liked to play games.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning oportunities & evolving job duties
Market Strategy and Development Analyst (Current Employee), JacksonvilleNovember 13, 2014
Pros: being in the hq is great for visability & networking
Cons: downtown location = expensive parking & long commutes
This group is always changing and our team does something new every day which allows for development and networking. The Market Strategy team deals with many groups within and without side of CSX. Travel, training, reporting, and making decisions with data are just a few of the things this group does for CSX.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Telecommuitcations/Transportation
Locomotive Engineer (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHNovember 11, 2014
Pros: decent benefits and pay.
Cons: hours required to work were extreme
A typical day in the Telecommunications department including planning and installation of telecommunications equipment. Planning included a safe working environment and execution of that plan with updates as needed. I was usually the management on site sometimes with several other subordinates as well as working by myself. Co-workers also were trained – more... and usually their input in planning was highly advised creating a team like environment. The hardest jobs usually was building telephone communications lines which required setting utility poles in extreme weather conditions i.e. heat, cold, rain and inclement weather. Most enjoyable part of the job was the work environment itself with usually a friendly and sometimes fun situations.
A typical day in the Transportation Department, included a job briefing covering train orders that covered safe train operations. Job briefings included safe operation over track segments where an extreme attention to detail was a must. I learned how to operate various types of trains with consideration of length of train, weight of train, various ways to start train, increase speed, slow train and stop trains. Had to know various signal indications from a centralized dispatching office that required highly skilled operations. Management was poor at best as was indicated by various studies made by the media and stock exchange studies. Co-workers were usually train conductors who's main responsibility was ground work, train documentation and knowing the various rules required by the Federal Railroad Administration. Hardest part of the job was the adjusting to working anytime 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year. Enjoyable parts of the job included working with various people that was mostly enjoyable, however there were people that were hard to work with requiring making adjustments according to different personalities. Usually a delightful environment considering that we worked together as much as 18 hours at a time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I have always loved meeting my employers expectation.
Carman/Welder (Former Employee), Nashville, TNOctober 30, 2014
Pros: we were fed lunch every month for working injury free.
Same as before very safety minded working in and around heavy equipment. I learned how to weld and torch cutting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good start to a good career
Locomotive Engineer (Former Employee), Chicago, ILOctober 27, 2014
Pros: great pay and benefits
Cons: adjudting to being oncall anytime of the day
A lot to learn as far as incite on learning all the different territories that you'll be traveling over.
Coworkers are great to work with and very helpful.
Hardest part is adjusting to various start times.
Enjoyable part is being able to provide for your family
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Csx is a good place to work as far as pay and benefits. plan to be on call 24 hrs / 6 days per week for at least the first 15 yrs of your career.
Locomotive Engineer (Current Employee), West Springfield, MAOctober 24, 2014
good place to work if your single and have no children. Most days are twelve hours on nights. weekends, and holidays. Your coworkers are an enjoyable part of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and dangerous
Conductor (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 23, 2014
Pros: good benefits
Cons: poor working conditions
This was a good job and it was often enjoyable. I could be called to work at anytime in addition to my regular work hours, but I had wonderful co-workers who made the day easy. There were many rules and regulations I had to learn in order to do my job and to pass
required tests. The hardest part of the job was that lower management would often require – more... me to do tasks that were in conflict with the rules I had to be familiar with. However, I did get great satisfaction out of completing any job assignment. It was my intent to retire from this job. A temporary illness caused me leave this job, and
when I fully recovered, I decided to not return to it.
Nevertheless, I am thankful for the opportunity to have worked there
and to get to know all the good people I met. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent pay, horrible supervisors
Mechanical Manager Trainee (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 14, 2014
Pros: training, pay, & benefits
Cons: horrible supervisors
I was initially excited about starting a career with CSX. Their trainee program was excellent as well as the pay and benefits. Unfortunately there are supervisors that need to learn what leadership is and that threatening employees with their bonus is not an effective management technique. Due to the hostile work environment in the field I decided to – more... part ways with CSX and seek other opportunities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You are just a number with this company 35yearys
Maintainer (Former Employee), JaxOctober 7, 2014
Pros: like my job
Cons: hated the management gps big brother watching 24/7
I gave them 35years 24/7 when I hurt my back they attacked me personally and made me look like a villain. Do Not Trust Management . They say they care about you and safety is first, But you better get the job DONE! I have had two back surgery and still can not function . My live is done!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was only in training
Conductor Trainee (Former Employee), Massena, NYOctober 6, 2014
Work on call, with 10 hour rest. I was almost done with OTJ training when 2 people moved from down state to work the position I was hired for, so I was released!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was only in training
Conductor Trainee (Former Employee), Massena, NYOctober 6, 2014
Work on call, with 10 hour rest. I was almost done with OTJ training when 2 people moved from down state to work the position I was hired for, so I was released!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No home life
Freight Conductor (Former Employee), Parkersburg, WVSeptember 29, 2014
This is a company for someone who isn't married and doesn't have kids. Excellent pay and benefits but little to no home life. Always on call can turn your life upside down.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Employer Doesn't Care about People
Intermodal Service Worker (Current Employee), Fairburn, GASeptember 29, 2014
I have never worked at a job where management blatantly mistreats its employees and the corporate headquarters turns a blind eye. There is a culture of employee retaliation and hostility. We work in scorching heat with no air conditioning, most of our equipment is inoperable, and there is a manager who continually brutalizes and intimidates employees – more... and is constantly promoted. It is a modern slave, sweat shop and I am surprised that this company has not been sued out of business. I hate to be so negative but one day I am afraid that there will be an instance of workplace violence because of the harsh and unfair work conditions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a job for everyone, more of a lifestyle. 0 home life 100% at mercy of company
Engineer/Conductor (Former Employee), Buffalo, NYSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: everything else
This company makes high demands on its employees and their families. Time at home is limited. It is a all or nothing job. Pay does not quite cover the hostile treatment of employees and threats of suspensions or terminations for infractions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Won't Hire Without a Degree
Contractor (Current Employee), FloridaSeptember 27, 2014
Pros: apparently a nice place to work if you can get in
Cons: no jobs for the common person
Forget about working for this company unless you have at least a bachelors degree. Even the the customer service/administrative jobs require high level degree. Too bad I never got my masters in customer service. It seems a 4 year degree and no experience trumps 20+ years experience. Some of the job titles sound made up as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Locomotive Engineer (Former Employee), Garrett, INSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: good schedule
Cons: administation
Good company overall. There are a few people in the company that can make it a bad work experience, but overall the structure of the company is solid and a good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company with quality benefits
Logistics Coordinator (Former Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 23, 2014
Well run company with high standards. The work environment was pleasant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only the most fun job I ever held, and we actually got paid for it!
Special Projects Manager/Sales & Marketing Manager (Former Employee), Huntington, WV/Chicago, IL/ Baltimore MarylandSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: large salaries and bonuses for exceeding your sales goals; a collegial atmosphere, great benefits and healthcare.
Cons: long hours when you're doing a big deal, or putting together or analyzing the annual fiscal year's budge.
I am not kidding when I say that late on Friday afternoons, after a week of working hard, in the Coal Department, we all used to stand around and marvel at how we could actually get paid for something we loved to do so much. The typical day starts out at 0700 to be on the call with the Operating staff, because they're much closer to what's going on – more... on the ground than you are, and you'd better know if something's gone wrong, or if things are operating the way they should. You have to learn everything - not only how the railroad operates, the time tables, where it runs, your competition's prices (and most of the time, it's not another railroad), what the utility pays for both fuel and transportation, broken out for each element, and you have to learn how the utilities or industries in your district operate, what coal they use, how is it unloaded, and a vast amount of other facts. And it's endless, because you're always trying to get that next customer. CSX Management is fabulous! Their philosophy is to push decision-making down to the lowest logical level, where the most facts are known. The hardest part of the job, is just learning the above for the first time - after that, it's not bad. The most enjoyable part of the job is that you are truly a "family", so everyone helps out everyone else when they need it, and everyone knows the basics of everyone else's personal lives, so that when a tragedy happens, you mourn with your work family as well as your blood family. I would not have traded a minute of my time at CSX because I got to do so many fun things all the time. A wonderful place for a young person to start what is probably a lifetime career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On call environment
Conductor (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLSeptember 9, 2014
Good pay but always on call and not much management support.

1 2 3 4 5

About CSX

CSX, based in Jacksonville, Fla., is a transportation company providing rail, intermodal and rail-to-truck transload services. – Read more