Find companies:
CSX
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
131 reviews

CSX Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Won't Hire Without a Degree
Contractor (Current Employee), FloridaSeptember 27, 2014
Pros: apparently a nice place to work if you can get in
Cons: no jobs for the common person
Forget about working for this company unless you have at least a bachelors degree. Even the the customer service/administrative jobs require high level degree. Too bad I never got my masters in customer service. It seems a 4 year degree and no experience trumps 20+ years experience. Some of the job titles sound made up as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Locomotive Engineer (Former Employee), Garrett, INSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: good schedule
Cons: administation
Good company overall. There are a few people in the company that can make it a bad work experience, but overall the structure of the company is solid and a good place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company with quality benefits
Logistics Coordinator (Former Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 23, 2014
Well run company with high standards. The work environment was pleasant.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only the most fun job I ever held, and we actually got paid for it!
Special Projects Manager/Sales & Marketing Manager (Former Employee), Huntington, WV/Chicago, IL/ Baltimore MarylandSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: large salaries and bonuses for exceeding your sales goals; a collegial atmosphere, great benefits and healthcare.
Cons: long hours when you're doing a big deal, or putting together or analyzing the annual fiscal year's budge.
I am not kidding when I say that late on Friday afternoons, after a week of working hard, in the Coal Department, we all used to stand around and marvel at how we could actually get paid for something we loved to do so much. The typical day starts out at 0700 to be on the call with the Operating staff, because they're much closer to what's going on – more... on the ground than you are, and you'd better know if something's gone wrong, or if things are operating the way they should. You have to learn everything - not only how the railroad operates, the time tables, where it runs, your competition's prices (and most of the time, it's not another railroad), what the utility pays for both fuel and transportation, broken out for each element, and you have to learn how the utilities or industries in your district operate, what coal they use, how is it unloaded, and a vast amount of other facts. And it's endless, because you're always trying to get that next customer. CSX Management is fabulous! Their philosophy is to push decision-making down to the lowest logical level, where the most facts are known. The hardest part of the job, is just learning the above for the first time - after that, it's not bad. The most enjoyable part of the job is that you are truly a "family", so everyone helps out everyone else when they need it, and everyone knows the basics of everyone else's personal lives, so that when a tragedy happens, you mourn with your work family as well as your blood family. I would not have traded a minute of my time at CSX because I got to do so many fun things all the time. A wonderful place for a young person to start what is probably a lifetime career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
On call environment
Conductor (Current Employee), Jacksonville, FLSeptember 9, 2014
Good pay but always on call and not much management support.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a productive, safety oriented atmosphere
Machine Operator, , Foreman, Track Laborer (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLSeptember 9, 2014
Pros: worked outside, had good people whom had your best interest in mind
Cons: could be a very race bias atmosphere.
Your day starts with a safety briefing, then morning moment of silence for prayer, then you line up your work for that day and go to work.

I learned to work safely and have a safety oriented outlook.

Some management was enjoyable but, at the same time there were those who simply didn't know there job.

I enjoyed co-workers for the most part but, there – more... are always exceptions to the rule.

The feeling of accomplishment was the biggest enjoyable part for me, knowing I was apart of this work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
conductor trainee (Former Employee), Arbutus, MDSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: you get a paycheck
Cons: many
A typical day with CSX is in one word terrible. The actual job itself isn't the problem, if you like being outside and doing semi- physical work its not bad. The problem is with management and coworkers. First we will start with everyone you come in contact with is paranoid that management is " watching you" and that you shouldn't trust anyone. Management – more... on the other hand bashes coworkers and places the blame on everyone else besides themselves. Lets talk about training. You will constantly keep asking for a schedule that you will get hours before you will be expected to be at work. Once you're at a yard and assigned to a crew thats it you will just keep hearing about things that have nothing to do with the actual work and more of "Management is watching you" and tired stories from the "glory days of railroading". you will be part of the union which is a complete joke and waste of your money because if you do something wrong while in training or before a 90 day period after training they will do nothing fort you. All in all wasn't the job for me or any reasonable thinking competent human being. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back kind of job
Transportation PTI (Current Employee), Newport News, VASeptember 5, 2014
Pros: flexable schedules
Cons: low pay, no team work, lack of benefits
No supervision, very unorganized, very unprofessional. Co-workers are not team players. The hardest part of working with PTI is staying awake on third shift.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
railroad ties
railroad ties (Former Employee), McKees Rocks, PAAugust 31, 2014
Pros: hrs
Cons: nothing
busy and loved the work. steady and enjoyed who i worked with
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing company, they take care of their people well
Carman (Current Employee), Newport News, VAAugust 30, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: hard to get hired
CSX is 2nd to none in the area of taking care of their people. Would recommend the job to anyone.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Train Conductor (Former Employee), Greenwood, SCAugust 11, 2014
great place to work
great benefits
everyday is something different and enjoyable
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job with good pay, away from home alot.
Conductor (Former Employee), Mobile, ALAugust 10, 2014
Pros: good pay, stable company
Cons: manual labor outdoors, working away from home alot
After running some tests we take a train from Mobile to New Orleans. Standard runs is you work on the lines. As for working in the yard, we build trains by operating the engines with remotes and communicating with switchmen on radios to rearrange tracks.
The hardest part of working on the line is being away from home half the week or more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great pay/ bad schedule
Freight Conductor (Current Employee), Indianapolis, INAugust 5, 2014
freight conductor can be an enjoyable job. hardest parts of the day may include working outside and high stress situations. I have gained a vast knowledge of mechanical experience I did not have.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent wages!
Clerk (Current Employee), Grafton, WVAugust 4, 2014
CSX is an excellent company regarding compensation. However, job security does not exist.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bittersweet Career
Freight Conductor (Current Employee), Hagerstown, MDAugust 1, 2014
Pros: health and retirement benefits
Cons: way too many to name; no holiday pay, on call 24 hours 6 days a week, harassment by management, the list goes on.
Although I appreciate and take pride in my railroad career and enjoy working outdoors while knowing that my efforts keep our economy moving, I also have to consider the work environment provided by local and regional management is deemed hostile. Ask any employee of this railroad and they will tell you, CSX "hires to fire". From local management hiding – more... in the bushes (literally) watching you as you work with sole intentions of trying to catch you making a safety infraction, to the Company's blatant disregard to honoring contracted union agreements, there's no wonder why many of its employees are literally there for the money, not the quality of life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Married to the job
Roadmaster/Supervisor (Former Employee), Social Circle, GAJuly 21, 2014
Pros: pay
Cons: family/home life
CSXT provides fantastic pay and benefits and opportunity for advancement. However, the work to family time ratio is very stressful on the home life. Safety is an issue with any railroad and must be top priority for the company and employee. CSX offered a great opportunity to learn a new field of engineering and management, for which I am grateful. I – more... met a lot of great people and built relationships with clients in management that I still maintain today. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place for a family
Locomotive Engineer and Safety Representative (Current Employee), Birmingham, ALJuly 15, 2014
Not where you want to work if you have a family. Long hours away from home, on call, and no consideration for things that come up out of the blue
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
drive all the brand new vehicles before anyone else does
Driver (Former Employee), jessup MDJuly 3, 2014
good place to work, the pay rate is great , great benefits, learn alot about vehicles
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and up tempo.
Switch Crew Operator (Former Employee), Jacksonville floridaJune 30, 2014
this was a very hard working job. I prepared for each day as if it was my if it was my first day at work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my job duties
Railroad Conductor (Former Employee), Orlando, FLJune 22, 2014
• Supervise the switching, loading/uploading, breaking or making up of trains.

• Travel with the train its assigned route. Inspect all equipment on cars prior to departures. Receive and review instructions from instructions from dispatchers, Yardmasters, and station agents and ensure all train orders, signals and railroad rules and regulations are – more... complied with.

• Prepare required reports, including train bulletins, switch industry work order, etc. Utilize onboard computer systems to process payroll and other information.

• Assist and instruct crews to couple and uncouple cars, operate switches, and make minor repair to car railcars. Including replacing heavy couplings or air brake hoses. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About CSX

CSX, based in Jacksonville, Fla., is a transportation company providing rail, intermodal and rail-to-truck transload services. – Read more