Crowe Horwath LLP Employee Reviews

Showing all 104 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start your career as a consultant
Senior Technical Consultant (Current Employee) –  Indianapolis, IN11 June 2017
Good company great work and life balance. Been working here for 5 years and really like the team environment. Only thing i do not like is it is not enough diversity.
Pros
Work from home. Jeans are promoted to be worn in the office.
Cons
Needs more diversity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional audit service provider
Senior Auditor (Current Employee) –  Dubai10 June 2017
The Company is located at Business Bay Dubai and hold a portfolio of more than 700 clients in UAE. The main service of the Company is external audit. With all the controls and planned work you can enjoy a professional and efficient work performance. The applicable audit software also helps you get the job done accurately.

However, the work conditions and the limitations established by the management would sightly affect the work environment in a negative way.
Pros
International Audit Firm
Cons
Work environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Washington, DC office very sparse
Risk Management BU Intern/Junior Analyst (Former Employee) –  Washington, DC5 June 2017
A typical day involved coming into the office and choosing a cubicle from one of about thirty. People are rarely in the office so it can get very lonely and quiet.
Pros
free coffee and snacks
Cons
little DC presence
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente Laboral Bueno y Oportunidades de Crecimiento Intelectual
Analista Contable I de Outsourcing (Current Employee) –  Bogotá, Distrito Capital, Cundinamarca22 May 2017
El ambiente laboral es muy buen, muchas personas jóvenes y horarios flexibles por estudios o para permisos personales.

La oportunidad de crecer internamente son muy buenas y celebran logros alcanzados y celebran ascensos. Adicionalmente de servicios preferenciales que regala la empresa a sus empleados como Medicina Prepagada, convenios con entidades financieras, con entidades para ponerse en forma física, entre otros.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Option away from big 4
Staff Auditor (Former Employee) –  South Bend, IN19 May 2017
I can't say too much bad or great about Crowe. I went into the company expecting to work in one or more areas and was confined to a single area that didn't match my goals. People were pretty good people and the atmosphere has improved since I left.
Pros
Casual Attire
Cons
Stressful work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Manager (Current Employee) –  Chicago, IL18 May 2017
You will work hard, but you will be well compensated and the culture is great. The company is leading in its industry as far as work life balance, encouraging employees to work from home when it makes sense, flexible on when you work if you meet your deadlines, dress for your day policy, etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Environment
Audit Assist (Former Employee) –  Kuala Lumpur11 May 2017
Good workplace culture, the most enjoyable job. Learn a lot knowledge and skill. Very helpful colleague. Good team work and management. Provide staff gathering to release stress after work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Tax Staff (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FL4 May 2017
Great place to start one's career. They have an excellent training program for those out of college. The are a great alternative to the Big Four CPA firms.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at with some great professionals
Staff Tax Accountant (Current Employee) –  South Bend, IN2 May 2017
Crowe Horwath is a great place to work at. One will be able to acquire a lot of different skill set and knowledge by working there. The environment is professional in the office but also laid back. People there are great to work for and understand the need for life and work balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working env
senior consultant QA (Former Employee) –  Noida, In26 April 2017
good working env. good management. But lot of workload
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked there as a temporary contractor, not an employee
Instructional Designer (2009) (Former Employee) –  Oak Brook, IL19 April 2017
I was part of a 4-person project team hired to create a training program for some of Crowe's employees. The people were friendly and helpful, but our contact with them was fairly limited. The course was completed on time and delivered by their own staff.
Pros
Good, stable company
Cons
The accounting industry is not my cup of tea.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Time never to forget
Assistant Manager - Audit & Assurance (Former Employee) –  Dubai16 April 2017
A good day is a good and bad day is a good day.
Every day entering the office gave me satisfaction that i m part of this family. Having good relations with client boosted my confidence and attire.
Meetings every day was fun with new people, organizations, regulators, financial institutions and others.
Managing the pressure every day is the part of the job and its something which was always there. But at the end of the day, going through the schedule to mark completed assignments, gave a job sanctification like no other in the world
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel and Challenging Review
Business Risk Consultant Intern (Former Employee) –  New York, NY14 April 2017
-Extensive travel to clients across the East coast
-Focused on the Finance Institutions Group
-Experienced working with different teams from different locations, which helps build team orientation skills
-Process and documentation to understand the business' risk
-Engaging management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good firm offering great opportunities for growth.
Internal Auditor (Current Employee) –  Dubai25 March 2017
A very friendly environment to work, providing continuous source for learning in supervision of qualified management.

Offering the market competitive salary package.
Pros
Feel to work freely and independently.
Cons
Work Life balance - Long hour for sitting to meet the dead lines.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Peor empresa para trabajar
Auditor senior (Former Employee) –  Bogotá, Distrito Capital, Cundinamarca21 March 2017
Es una empresa que se aprovecha de situaciones difíciles de los empleados, por ejemplo: es usted madre soltera, salio egresado de una universidad mediocre, es su primer empleo y no tiene ninguna experiencia... ok es ud bienvenido... sin embargo las condiciones laborales son pésimas!!

Lo único que les interesa es ser negreros y cumplir con horas de trabajo BASTANTE elevadas sin un verdadero balance entre la vida personal y la laboral!!
La excusa de esta empresa es "así se trabaja en este tipo de firma", si realmente esta necesitado, trabaje allí, pero si tiene dignidad y amor propio... es mejor buscar una mejor opción laboral!!

Pésima empresa!!No tiene ninguna consideración por el trabajador y solo les interesa que se cumpla un horario, pero si usted trabaja mas allá de ese horario, JAMAS le va a ser reconocido y no hay ninguna posibilidad real de crecimiento!!!

No se deje engañar, las "altas" calificaciones que tiene son de personas necesitadas o del grupo de "talento humano" de la empresa, con opiniones falsas!!!

NO se dejen engañar!!
Pros
Ninguno, es la peor empresa de Colombia
Cons
Todo es un mero engaño!!
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong team members
Partner, Senior Manager, Manager (Former Employee) –  Oak Brook, IL17 March 2017
Depending on the role, each day can bring curveballs. There are roles for dynamic individuals and individuals that want to have an idea of what they are going to be doing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It all depends on what area of the firm you work in.
Assistant Director (Former Employee) –  Chicago, IL20 February 2017
Firm leadership is forward-looking and inspiring. Crowe is an accounting and consulting firm, and I assume that the reality of the work is relatively close to the ideals espoused at the firm. However, the people in the "support" groups, such as Marketing, Human Resources, IT, etc., live a different reality.

Because these groups are considered cost centers, their resources are less than what is necessary to bring about the expected results in any reasonable manner. In addition, the firm bureaucracy presents difficulties with accomplishing anything substantive or bringing about real change. The stress leads to a lot of complaining and backbiting and not enough trust and effective teamwork. It also leads to people taking the easy route (e.g., cutting corners, pleasing only a particular partner, saying what people want to hear) rather than doing the right thing (what is right for the firm as a whole, telling the naked truth).

The overall culture is fairly conservative. More flamboyant, creative, or otherwise unusual types are not encouraged to be themselves and don't necessarily fit in. There's a nice "Midwestern" vibe - which can be a good thing but often results in passive aggressive behavior when people choose to be polite and not say directly what they mean.

I honestly believe that the accounting and consulting professionals do excellent work that brings value to the companies the firm works for. They don't stay with the firm long if they're not incredibly smart and hard-working. However, the support groups suffer from the daily stress of being undervalued and subject
  more... to unrealistic demands for good work done quickly without the resources needed to deliver it.  less
Pros
Nice people, smart people, growing firm that's in good financial health; very good benefits
Cons
Stressful every single day
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Places to Work
Partner (Former Employee) –  Sherman Oaks, CA10 February 2017
After merging with Crowe, Horwath ("Crowe") in 2008 I found it to be a fantastic place to work. They are an expanding national CPA and consulting firm employing over 2,400 employees. I was a partner in Grobstein, Horwath & Co., LLP until the merger at which time I was retained as a partner in the bankruptcy and litigation consulting practice. The firm was very much people oriented and constantly received Best Places to Work awards in several states. In terms of the bankruptcy practice I really enjoyed the work, particularly with the professionals in the various law firms. Unfortunately, our work was negatively impacted by the improving economy and it resulted in making the decision to retire in March, 2015,
Pros
The professional environment, the caring for its people and most importantly working with our clients
Cons
Nothing with respect to the firm itself.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Internship trainee (Former Employee) –  Pulau Pinang3 February 2017
My workplace culture is quite fun and competitive. Everyone has a positive working attitude and quite friendly, they willing to teach and help me when i meet some unsolved problems.

The management in that company is systematic. Besides, the hardest part in my job is when clients ask me some tax issues that i'm not really understand, so i have to seek some advice from my senior in order to help my clients.
Pros
Gain a lot of experience
Cons
A lot of files need to handle
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent firm to start your career at
Audit Senior - Business Risk, Internal Audit (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GA28 January 2017
I learned a lot and gained a lot of valuable experience. It is an excellent work-place. The people are excellent and the environment is really nice. Everyone is very helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Crowe Horwath LLP. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 104 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Salary/Benefits
3.4
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4