Find companies:
Covidien
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
413 reviews

Covidien Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
.
SENIOR OPERATIONS QUALITY SUPPLIER ENGINEER (Current Employee), North Haven, CTNovember 4, 2014
Too many organizational changes in the company. Fast turn over of new hire employees.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Production Operator (Former Employee), Redruth, ENGNovember 3, 2014
good company but moved to costa rica leaving myself redundant
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cost accountant II (Former Employee), North Haven, CTNovember 2, 2014
Great people , great benefits , overall a great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work.
Employment Law Department (Current Employee), St. Louis MOOctober 30, 2014
I LOVE this job. Its too bad they were acquired and most will be outplaced but Covidien was a wonderful place to work!
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical Manufacturing Facility
QA Inspector III, Warehouse Person (Former Employee), Oriskany Falls, NYOctober 29, 2014
Fast Paced Manufacturing Environment
Multi Faceted Environment
Most enjoyed Aspect of my job as an employee was working in the warehouse, preparing shipments, meeting new people from different companies
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place, Great place to work if you like a lot of overtime.
Quality Control Inspector. (Former Employee), Irvine, CAOctober 29, 2014
Pros: free in-n_out sometimes for everyone
Cons: not enough time to gown up and ungown breaks are only 15 min. it takes 7 min to gown up, leaves you with 8 actual min for you breaks
Typical day consist of inspecting chathaters per QP and MP. Everyone was really nice, made it easy to go to work and enjoy the day. Constantly learning something new. Witch keeps you on your toes. What i enjoyed the most was the activities Covidien has, like jog a thon for stroke awareness, at Angel Stadium.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Learning Environment, Limited Promotion Potential
Senior Supply Chain Planner (Current Employee), Boulder, COOctober 28, 2014
Pros: a lot of exposure to different parts of the business, competitive pay and benefits, flexible work schedule
Cons: limited promotion potential, high stress, heavy work load
This position has proven to be challenging with a lot of opportunities to learn the business, however promotion potential is very limited. Senior leadership seems to be promoted in place with little to no change in status of employees. It is a big company though, so there are opportunities to relocate for other jobs / promotions. Also, management is – more... fairly flexible on schedules and working remotely – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineering Work
Biomedical Engineering R&D Intern (Former Employee), North Haven, CTOctober 27, 2014
Engineering work.
Great team and very very helpful co-workers
Hardest part of the job is to learn past work without much guidelines.
Friendly summer hours for employees to fit their schedule.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people on the production floor
MFG Associate IV (Former Employee), Irvine, CAOctober 27, 2014
typical day tracking WIP on the floor.i have learned a lots from lots of people here. Learned how to manage the production line, identify problem early.i enjoy working with the people on the production floor. there nothing hard about the job. i enjoy spending my time helping out other.
"Teamwork makes the dream work, but a vision becomes a nightmare – more... when the leader has a big dream and a bad team." – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Activities
HR Training Coordinator (Former Employee), Seneca, SCOctober 22, 2014
This is a fast pace work environment.
• Helped create, design and implement a new on the job training for Covidien employees – Lead Kaizen event for two departments for OJT
• Conducted orientation for new employees and prepared all required paperwork for this process
• Revised and improved orientation process
• Collected all necessary information for – more... completing the I9 Form and E-Verified employees
• Managed on the job trainers for two departments
• Collected and maintained confidential information for 600+ employees
• Maintained personal files for employees
• Assisted with benefit enrollment
• Managed the bid process for all internal postings-Verified eligibility of candidates
• Worked as a key player on the team responsible for transferring product lines to the Dominican Republic
• Worked with the Seneca Team and the AccuMED DR Team to complete this transfer successfully
• Traveled to the Dominican Republic to get lines up and running and verified all procedures and policies were being followed correctly
• Developed and designed Covidien Leadership Program
• Gatekeeper for the electronic training system
• Assisted employees with various questions from benefit questions to everyday general questions-Directed them to the proper resources when questions could not be answered
• Headed Philanthropy Committee – March of Dimes, Relay for Life, Ronald McDonald House, and Red Cross – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Profesional and productive work place
Production Supervisor (Current Employee), Irvine, CAOctober 22, 2014
Great personal, and business development opportunities to hard working goal oriented people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional work environment
Process Improvement Manager (Current Employee), Mansfield, MAOctober 21, 2014
Great dynamic workforce that keeps you on your toes. Professional atmosphere where you are allowed to make important decisions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Intern
Senior Project (Former Employee), North Haven, CTOctober 19, 2014
Worked with Covidien to redesign and build medical device. It was a team project that lasted an entire year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the longer I worked there the more the place became a secong home
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee), Commerce, TXOctober 17, 2014
Pros: company picnics
Cons: unable to leave for breaks
I started with this company in 1984 and worked there til 2013. I have done everything from production operator, maintenance, sterilization operator, material handler, QA inspector, QA lab tech, environmental tester, calibrations, fork lift driver, lead QA,. A typical day would include qa inspections, mold repairs, testing incoming materials, calibrations, – more... reviewing and filing completed lot histories. I liked my job but there were times when decisions had to be made that were not popular with all that were involved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
IS Manager MEA "Middle East and Africa" (Current Employee), Cairo and Middle EastOctober 13, 2014
Very good place to work, flexible work times, flat organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The culture is a challange
Medical Affairs Analyst (Current Employee), Bedford, MAOctober 12, 2014
Favoritism, cliques and lots of bureaucracy stand in the way of this company. Promotions are awarded to those that do the least and those that do the most are ignored. They're also based on whether management personally likes you or not.

Problem employees' behavior is ignored, even when it's behavior that goes against the code of conduct. But there – more... are rules for some and rules for others. If you run into bad behavior it's best not to say anything because there will be retaliation, even though that is also against their code of conduct.

It's a sink or swim atmosphere so if you are new to the industry be prepared to struggle without help. But, if you're lucky enough to become part of the "favorites" then you'll be a VP in no time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Team Environment
Production Supervisor (Former Employee), Commerce, TXOctober 10, 2014
Learned a lot about the medical device manufacturing industry very quickly. Great team atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was only fun during break time
Medical Assembler (Former Employee), Plymouth, MNOctober 9, 2014
Pros: free lunch, monthly awards, gift cards, company health care programs and educational benefits
Cons: standing all day long, hard to understand co-workers at time due to accents, overtime hours occurred too much, 3am shift
I worked Monday-Thursday 1st shift. I woke up at 3am every morning and worked til 2:45pm-a full 10 hour shift. Overtime was mandatory depending on situations, but it was almost all of the time. I'd go to work and punch in with my given badge and went straight to work at my assigned station. I stand mostly throughout the day washing and polishing small – more... and flexible medical parts. Then I weigh them out on the electro scale to be sure that its the right weight according to station manual. I then pass it down for inspection, which is the station next to me. My co-workers were good to work with, there was never any issues, except for the fact that I couldn't understand my trainer's words due to his accent. The hardest part about this job was making my number or goal for the day because there are so much parts going back and forth due to extra cleaning and machine errors that occurred often. Standing all day long made it all the more frustrating. The only enjoying part of my job is when i get to sit down. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding work environment, fast paced
Sr. Plant Sourcing Agent (Current Employee), DeLand, FLOctober 6, 2014
Pros: large innovative company
Cons: difficult, demanding environment
Highly regulated company making it difficult to implement change.
High energy required to accomplish demands of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very fast pace place to work
Material Handler/Fed-Ex Specialist (Current Employee), Greenwood, SCOctober 3, 2014
Pros: great salary
Cons: dont know if i will have a job are not in janurary.
I've been employed at Covidien for 8 years and I've enjoyed every moment there. But at this point we are left with a lot of uncertainity with the sell of the company to Medtronics a company that dosent make are sale Adult Briefs so we dont know as of yet what will come of our company.

About Covidien

As a global healthcare leader, we drive advances in medical devices and medical supplies. Thanks to our scale, scope and pioneering – Read more