Find companies:
Covidien
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
387 reviews

Covidien Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a very good place to learn and they have good teams
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Ville St-LaurentSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: dealing with customers
Cons: different shifts
Very busy on the phone taking order, giving the proper technical information, taking care of issues from the different departments such as credits, invoicing, promotions, quotes, transportation and emergencies for hospitals and home patients. I developed a ledger system with Ste-Justine Hospital for their orders and deliveries and emergencies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
production was fast pass and fun to work with other people
production worker (Former Employee), Gananoque, OnNovember 4, 2013
Pros: lots of over time
Cons: to much chit chat
Perform duties with little to no supervision, welded belts for medical production, maintained a clean and safe environment, worked as a important member of a manufacturing team
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive/fun
Production worker (Current Employee), Gananoque, ONAugust 25, 2013
Cons: long commute/ rate of pay
Can have little fun while you work. One benefit in working there is you do get paid for the 8 hr shift, your break and lunch are paid. Rate of pay is not the greatest for what you do. You only get a certain percent of benefits paid. My co-workers are great to work with. There is a lack of communication between management and the production workers. – more... The hardest part of the job for me is commuting from Smiths Falls to Gananoque. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low paying and you have to 'encourage' (I call it babysitting) your co-workers!
Assembler (Former Employee), Gananoque, ONJune 24, 2013
Pros: pretty much guaranteed to get a job because they cant keep people from quitting!
Cons: minimum wage, mandatory overtime (50-60hr work weeks)
During my time at covidien I spent most of my work days trying to convince my co-workers to actually work. When I brought it to my lead hands attention that I was constantly trying to get people back to work, she told me to 'deal with it'. I told her I was getting paid to do my job, not to babysit grown people who are supposed to be there to do the – more... same thing. Which resulted in ME getting wrote up (the people who were not doing their jobs never even got talked too). Also, while working there my co-worker (who worked without having to be told to do so) was 'let go' because he 'missed too many days' yet I had missed 6 days more then him. Management sucks, at least it does at the Gananoque facility. I would not recommend Covidien jobs to anyone unless it was an in between job until they can find something else.. Absolutely horrible place to work! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
OEM Electrode Assembler (Former Employee), Gananoque, ONNovember 25, 2012
Fast paced, and organized work place.
Good training methods.
Enjoyable co-workers.
Shift work, and overtime.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company was sold
Project Manager (Former Employee), Ottawa, OntarioAugust 9, 2012
Company is no longer is Ottawa. Great company to work for, but was sold as Covidien wanted out of the sleep diagnostics business
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and healthy workplace sadly i relocated for my kids benefits
Assembler (Former Employee), Gananoque ontJuly 24, 2012
Pros: free lunches snacks for saturday workers bonuses for good performers
Cons: small town single company no transit
good worknig ethics very healthy work enviorment managment is very supportive co workers excellent location just not workable for me at the moment
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Activities
HR Training Coordinator (Former Employee), Seneca, SCOctober 22, 2014
This is a fast pace work environment.
• Helped create, design and implement a new on the job training for Covidien employees – Lead Kaizen event for two departments for OJT
• Conducted orientation for new employees and prepared all required paperwork for this process
• Revised and improved orientation process
• Collected all necessary information for – more... completing the I9 Form and E-Verified employees
• Managed on the job trainers for two departments
• Collected and maintained confidential information for 600+ employees
• Maintained personal files for employees
• Assisted with benefit enrollment
• Managed the bid process for all internal postings-Verified eligibility of candidates
• Worked as a key player on the team responsible for transferring product lines to the Dominican Republic
• Worked with the Seneca Team and the AccuMED DR Team to complete this transfer successfully
• Traveled to the Dominican Republic to get lines up and running and verified all procedures and policies were being followed correctly
• Developed and designed Covidien Leadership Program
• Gatekeeper for the electronic training system
• Assisted employees with various questions from benefit questions to everyday general questions-Directed them to the proper resources when questions could not be answered
• Headed Philanthropy Committee – March of Dimes, Relay for Life, Ronald McDonald House, and Red Cross – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional work environment
Process Improvement Manager (Current Employee), Mansfield, MAOctober 21, 2014
Great dynamic workforce that keeps you on your toes. Professional atmosphere where you are allowed to make important decisions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student Intern
Senior Project (Former Employee), North Haven, CTOctober 19, 2014
Worked with Covidien to redesign and build medical device. It was a team project that lasted an entire year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the longer I worked there the more the place became a secong home
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee), Commerce, TXOctober 17, 2014
Pros: company picnics
Cons: unable to leave for breaks
I started with this company in 1984 and worked there til 2013. I have done everything from production operator, maintenance, sterilization operator, material handler, QA inspector, QA lab tech, environmental tester, calibrations, fork lift driver, lead QA,. A typical day would include qa inspections, mold repairs, testing incoming materials, calibrations, – more... reviewing and filing completed lot histories. I liked my job but there were times when decisions had to be made that were not popular with all that were involved. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good place to work
IS Manager MEA "Middle East and Africa" (Current Employee), Cairo and Middle EastOctober 13, 2014
Very good place to work, flexible work times, flat organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The culture is a challange
Medical Affairs Analyst (Current Employee), Bedford, MAOctober 12, 2014
Favoritism, cliques and lots of bureaucracy stand in the way of this company. Promotions are awarded to those that do the least and those that do the most are ignored. They're also based on whether management personally likes you or not.

Problem employees' behavior is ignored, even when it's behavior that goes against the code of conduct. But there – more... are rules for some and rules for others. If you run into bad behavior it's best not to say anything because there will be retaliation, even though that is also against their code of conduct.

It's a sink or swim atmosphere so if you are new to the industry be prepared to struggle without help. But, if you're lucky enough to become part of the "favorites" then you'll be a VP in no time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Team Environment
Production Supervisor (Former Employee), Commerce, TXOctober 10, 2014
Learned a lot about the medical device manufacturing industry very quickly. Great team atmosphere.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was only fun during break time
Medical Assembler (Former Employee), Plymouth, MNOctober 9, 2014
Pros: free lunch, monthly awards, gift cards, company health care programs and educational benefits
Cons: standing all day long, hard to understand co-workers at time due to accents, overtime hours occurred too much, 3am shift
I worked Monday-Thursday 1st shift. I woke up at 3am every morning and worked til 2:45pm-a full 10 hour shift. Overtime was mandatory depending on situations, but it was almost all of the time. I'd go to work and punch in with my given badge and went straight to work at my assigned station. I stand mostly throughout the day washing and polishing small – more... and flexible medical parts. Then I weigh them out on the electro scale to be sure that its the right weight according to station manual. I then pass it down for inspection, which is the station next to me. My co-workers were good to work with, there was never any issues, except for the fact that I couldn't understand my trainer's words due to his accent. The hardest part about this job was making my number or goal for the day because there are so much parts going back and forth due to extra cleaning and machine errors that occurred often. Standing all day long made it all the more frustrating. The only enjoying part of my job is when i get to sit down. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding work environment, fast paced
Sr. Plant Sourcing Agent (Current Employee), DeLand, FLOctober 6, 2014
Pros: large innovative company
Cons: difficult, demanding environment
Highly regulated company making it difficult to implement change.
High energy required to accomplish demands of the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very fast pace place to work
Material Handler/Fed-Ex Specialist (Current Employee), Greenwood, SCOctober 3, 2014
Pros: great salary
Cons: dont know if i will have a job are not in janurary.
I've been employed at Covidien for 8 years and I've enjoyed every moment there. But at this point we are left with a lot of uncertainity with the sell of the company to Medtronics a company that dosent make are sale Adult Briefs so we dont know as of yet what will come of our company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed my positions with this company!
Warehouse Coordinator (Former Employee), Greenwood, SCOctober 2, 2014
I started as a product transporter and within 5 years, I moved into Logistics as a Logistics Coordinator. I enjoyed working for this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fair place to work
Sr. Manager, Marketing, Sustainable Technologies (Current Employee), Mansfield, MASeptember 29, 2014
nice pay. different workload depending on the department you work for. Change structure every one or two years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Covidien is a fantastic place to work
Human Resources Administrative Coordinator (Current Employee), Mansfield, MASeptember 29, 2014
Covidien has many opportunities and a management staff who encourages their workers to succeed both professionally and personally.

1 2 3 4 5

About Covidien

Covidien is a leading global healthcare products company that creates innovative medical solutions for better patient outcomes – Read more