Covenant Transport Employee Reviews

Showing all 235 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to start off with
Class A Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN 374192 March 2017
This company was a great stepping stone into my trucking career. They took me in right out of school and gave me valuable experience to use in my trucking career.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to start if you want to drive teams its teams only
CDL Class A Driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN25 February 2017
I had a good experience with Covenant as far as learning the trucking industry and getting to see the country. I drove cross country to California and washing State and back to the east coast and seeing all states inbetween. loved driving for them but the team thing wasn't for me. Dealing with someone eleses issues and breaking hard almost throwing you in the floor when you are trying to sleep wasn't fun. but over all a good place to work. And the constant pay issues and not being able to get ahold of them when you are on the road, due to them only working a few days a week.
Pros
great equipment, frendily people, good training
Cons
far away from home. Teams only at Covenant, not enough pay for the road driving, too
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not compensated for amount of work done
Load Planner (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN22 February 2017
I hated working here. was not compensated well for how much work was done on night shift. Hours were terrible and overtime was not paid. Unrealistic expectations by management so it is impossible to get full bonuses
Pros
none
Cons
terrible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN9 February 2017
The pay of this company could have been better. We had to get a lot of background on OTR drivers. Sometimes the drivers would get aggravated so we had to learn to have patients with them.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not driver freindly
Driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN2 February 2017
does not work as a team between all levels of the company
does not like to answer phone or qualcom in a drivers time of need
dispatchers are rude and hateful when trying to work out home time
Was this review helpful?Yes14NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
advancement unavailable
Fleet Manager (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN31 January 2017
no opportunities to move up on the operations floor. advancement requires a transfer to a different department. this is initially a pay cut until you are able to move up within that department. just not an ideal place for a long term career oriented individual.
Pros
few and far between
Cons
constant repetative time wasting meetings.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Proffessional Driver
Proffessional Driver (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN30 January 2017
average driving, 9.5 Hours
data entry, drop and hook trailers,
travel all 48 states,
smile and reply professionally even if customer is upset
punctial
Was this review helpful?Yes8No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Covenant promises the moon when really handing you a hot light bulb
Class A CDL Driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN29 January 2017
If a trainer does something inappropriate over the road you are promised it will be resolved only to be black balled because they have been there longer. Harassment and disrespect for married couples is permitted if its a long time employee doing it. Do not recommend husband and wife teams being trained by this company
Pros
They will hire pretty much anyone
Cons
little regard for their employees
Was this review helpful?Yes15No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work and a great management system
Logistics Broker (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN23 January 2017
Unbelievable place to work with many opportunities to move up in the company. Incredible benefits and a strong structure to build your career. The employees were very receptive to new perspectives and were eager to help all staff succeed.
Pros
great work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes3No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Truck Driving
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN22 January 2017
I enjoy doing tractor trailer, because it gave me the chance to travel as well as see the country of America. It was exciting while I travel I interact with people.The office supervise me on any suggestions and also assist with direction.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes3No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel and see the country.
Professional Commercial Driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN19 January 2017
Love to drive and see the country side, people are friendly and helpful easy to get along with. The money is there if you want to do your job, it takes some toll on you if you are a family oriented person.
Pros
see the country
Cons
never home
Was this review helpful?Yes6No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great OTR Team Driving Company
Professional Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Tennessee18 January 2017
Peaceful Greetings,

Covenant Transport is a great OTR truck driving company. However, I am looking for a local truck driving company. I will mot likely be staying with Covenant Transport for a while though.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best Truck driving starter company you can work for
COMMERCIAL DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Pamona, CA Terminal18 January 2017
Covenant Transport was an excellent company to drive for. They have excellent trainers who strive to take care of all your training needs and Safety is their number one concern.
Pros
Large Successful company
Cons
Months away from home at a time
Was this review helpful?Yes5No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Truck Driver/Equipment Operator (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN17 January 2017
Covenant Transport is a great place to work. Everyone is very friendly and helpful. I loved my job and truck driving but I missed being away from my family and watching my little girl grow up.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed traveling 48 states. Good equipment, mamagement.
OTR Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN10 January 2017
Good company. Fleet Manager gave me consistent miles. Equipment used was excellent. They stressed safety. But the compensation low.
Pros
Good company. Fun travelling 48 states.
Cons
Low compensation.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive company
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Savannah, GA5 January 2017
Well I learn to be motivated in know how to drive trucks to know skills in professional driving toknow how to use the computer to learn skills in where to go on the road.
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for
Commercial Truck driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN28 December 2016
Good company to work for, everyone at this terminal are super friendly and willing to help and explain. Everything was always said up front from recruiting and orientation to dispatch and your fleet manager. There were mistakes made with payroll but they always fixed it and/or explained the way it works. I recommend questioning everything although the are honest and willing to explain that doesn't mean they're forthright. My fleet manager was good with getting me home.
Pros
Geeat staff, super friendly, they are always willing to work with you and pay is decent
Cons
Team driving is for me
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend
Professional OTR Driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN21 December 2016
Beware of trainers (especially if female).
No "open door" to dispatchers or management.
Facilities were not great (you'd be better off at a truck stop)
Doesn't pay well.
Takes advantage of drivers.
Training (continuing education) not readily available.
Favoritism and clicks prominent.
Pros
its a job
Cons
just about everything
Was this review helpful?Yes13No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CSR at covenant transport
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN15 December 2016
My day at covenant was basically answering calls to add money to the drivers com-data cards , we had many driver that we assisted with all the needs for tags, permits and money

Management was ok
coworkers were wonderful
most enjoyable part was helping people with their needs
Pros
they changed the policies too often
Cons
pay and benefits need updating
Was this review helpful?Yes1No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fleet manager
CDL A COMMERCIAL DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN10 December 2016
Compensation for work was great also my fleet manager where fantastic however Hometime is very few and days as this is the truck driving industry. My biggest complaint would only be their training procedures for beginners.
Pros
Great money great manager
Cons
Not enough home time with family
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Covenant Transport. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 235 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Salary/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.1
Culture
3.2