Covenant Transport Employee Reviews

Showing all 219 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for
Commercial Truck driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN28 December 2016
Good company to work for, everyone at this terminal are super friendly and willing to help and explain. Everything was always said up front from recruiting and orientation to dispatch and your fleet manager. There were mistakes made with payroll but they always fixed it and/or explained the way it works. I recommend questioning everything although the are honest and willing to explain that doesn't mean they're forthright. My fleet manager was good with getting me home.
Pros
Geeat staff, super friendly, they are always willing to work with you and pay is decent
Cons
Team driving is for me
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend
Professional OTR Driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN21 December 2016
Beware of trainers (especially if female).
No "open door" to dispatchers or management.
Facilities were not great (you'd be better off at a truck stop)
Doesn't pay well.
Takes advantage of drivers.
Training (continuing education) not readily available.
Favoritism and clicks prominent.
Pros
its a job
Cons
just about everything
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CSR at covenant transport
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN15 December 2016
My day at covenant was basically answering calls to add money to the drivers com-data cards , we had many driver that we assisted with all the needs for tags, permits and money

Management was ok
coworkers were wonderful
most enjoyable part was helping people with their needs
Pros
they changed the policies too often
Cons
pay and benefits need updating
Was this review helpful?YesNo6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fleet manager
CDL A COMMERCIAL DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN10 December 2016
Compensation for work was great also my fleet manager where fantastic however Hometime is very few and days as this is the truck driving industry. My biggest complaint would only be their training procedures for beginners.
Pros
Great money great manager
Cons
Not enough home time with family
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to start
Driver (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN8 December 2016
A good place to start your driving career.. You will need to do 180 driving hours with a trainer first then start driving with a team member. Hazmat and tanker endorsements are required.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment!
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN24 November 2016
Covenant is a great company to start your career, but just like all of the other trucking companies out their u will miss your family when u are an "Over The Road Driver"!
Pros
U get to do alot of traveling & great benifits also!
Cons
Family is important. I really miss my kidos!
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
independent
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN12 November 2016
Well I can say that i got alone with few of my dispatchers but mostly is over the phone communication as a truck driver you work alone but good company to work for
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work if your up for it!
Company Driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN17 October 2016
Covenant transport I drove in all 48 states driving with a co-driver. Driving short runs and long runs. Lots of miles under your belt is the most enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive environment
Freight Consolidation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN5 October 2016
Good company to work for. I learned a lot about the transportation industry and logistics as a whole. I was also exposed to the corporate workplace environment.
Pros
corporate environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and comfortable work place with great benefits and coworkers
Weather Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN1 October 2016
Overall management was excellent. A very productive and efficient place to work. The best part of the job was the friendly co workers and supervisors.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Periods of high stress
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OTR driving
Tractor-trailer Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN21 September 2016
Seeing all parts of the country and meeting people was rewarding. Difficult being on the road for months not seeing family. Some organizational problems involving dispatch.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't believe a word they say
Team Drivers (Current Employee) –  Truckstop waiting for another 500 mile load15 September 2016
$1000 minimum pay guarantee is nothing more than a payday loan. You will not earn 1000 a week.

We get you home on time or we pay you $100 per day and add those extra days to your home time. Another bald face lie.

There's plenty more but if that's not enough then by all means go to work for them and find out for yourself.
Pros
Hahaha... Are you kidding?
Cons
Covenant Transport is a con
Was this review helpful?Yes41No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
1 OTR Driver (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN11 September 2016
drive over the road picking up and delivering goods all over the country. training new drivers to be productive and make money over the road
Was this review helpful?YesNo4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good Place to work if you love to drive over the road
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN8 September 2016
Every day was different and fun, i learned how to be a good, courteous and safe driver, how to work with big teams,the management is very good and my co-workers very hard workers. The hardest part of the job, be away from home for too long,the most enjoyable part of the job for me was to be driving that truck every day over the road and it¨s views
Was this review helpful?Yes11No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to start off for nut not long term
OTR Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Pomona, CA8 September 2016
They say they care about your family i really couldn't tell i lost two people while in training and sat in California for a month straight
Was this review helpful?Yes9No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work place
Driver (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga3 September 2016
ill just jump right in
•they never gave me the 200.00 for not getting me home on time
•they never answer the phone after day shift go home
•night and weekend dispatch do not answer phone/qcal
•they do not have enough trailers to cover the volume of freight
•they Force you to attend a class that new drivers sit and ask dumb questions
•we have a cancelled load almost weekly
•we are a good team averaging 3,000 miles per week, not 5,000-6,000
•receiving your lay over pay is like getting a wisdom tooth pulled
•THEY TOOK AWAY OUR HAZMAT PAY BUT BOTH DRIVERS STILL HAVE HAzmat on their licenses(yeah, explain that one to us)
•we sat 2 days waiting for a road runner load. Not one dispatcher would give us another load
•we sat two days on a fresh express load(no trailer) surprise, surprise
•who can you talk to about your pay raise? Payroll told me that they could not look up my pay raise. What are you here for?
•minimum pay is a rip off
Pros
It's a steady pay check.
Cons
Feeling like you are in jail while at the yard in Chattanooga. It's easy to get in, but difficult to get out
Was this review helpful?Yes41No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok company to work for
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN19 July 2016
i can not give a good review of this company because I did not work for them long enough except the company was to religious for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes13No20Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exellent Career
Licensed OTR (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN14 July 2016
A+ benifits
Great dispatchers
I would definitly recommend this company to anyone who wants to succeed in life. good pay, also a chance to improve endorsements for a CDL
Pros
travel
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes11No15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Driving Company
Truck Driver (OTR) (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN6 July 2016
It's one of the best otr company out there who hires student without experience and probably one of the best pay to make good money u have to be in team driving and gotta have hazmat endorsement i don't really like the home time the most enjoyable thing u get to see all 48 states.
Pros
best no experience pay
Cons
not a solo company
Was this review helpful?Yes24No9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of driving
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN31 May 2016
I enjoyed being on the road for the 3 months I worked with this company, I was able to see a lot of the country delivering loads and picking them up
Was this review helpful?Yes9No17Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Covenant Transport. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 219 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.1
Culture
3.2