Covenant Transport

Covenant Transport Employee Reviews

Showing all 193 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good Place to work if you love to drive over the road
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN8 September 2016
Every day was different and fun, i learned how to be a good, courteous and safe driver, how to work with big teams,the management is very good and my co-workers very hard workers. The hardest part of the job, be away from home for too long,the most enjoyable part of the job for me was to be driving that truck every day over the road and it¨s views
Was this review helpful?Yes6No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't believe a word they say
Team Drivers (Current Employee) –  Truckstop waiting for another 500 mile load15 September 2016
$1000 minimum pay guarantee is nothing more than a payday loan. You will not earn 1000 a week.

We get you home on time or we pay you $100 per day and add those extra days to your home time. Another bald face lie.

There's plenty more but if that's not enough then by all means go to work for them and find out for yourself.
Pros
Hahaha... Are you kidding?
Cons
Covenant Transport is a con
Was this review helpful?Yes19No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Driving Company
Truck Driver (OTR) (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN6 July 2016
It's one of the best otr company out there who hires student without experience and probably one of the best pay to make good money u have to be in team driving and gotta have hazmat endorsement i don't really like the home time the most enjoyable thing u get to see all 48 states.
Pros
best no experience pay
Cons
not a solo company
Was this review helpful?Yes20No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and comfortable work place with great benefits and coworkers
Weather Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN1 October 2016
Overall management was excellent. A very productive and efficient place to work. The best part of the job was the friendly co workers and supervisors.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Periods of high stress
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
racist trainer
Cable Technician (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN31 May 2016
I worked at this company for my internship, but my experiences wasn't expected. My trainer was very rude and did not explain everything before getting over the road. The company was not trying to pay me what I worked either, I am lucky to have all my receipts to get compensated.
Pros
I get to see the country.
Cons
away from family, driving to worse weathers, and homesickness.
Was this review helpful?Yes17No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive environment
Freight Consolidation Specialist (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN5 October 2016
Good company to work for. I learned a lot about the transportation industry and logistics as a whole. I was also exposed to the corporate workplace environment.
Pros
corporate environment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work place
Driver (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga3 September 2016
ill just jump right in
•they never gave me the 200.00 for not getting me home on time
•they never answer the phone after day shift go home
•night and weekend dispatch do not answer phone/qcal
•they do not have enough trailers to cover the volume of freight
•they Force you to attend a class that new drivers sit and ask dumb questions
•we have a cancelled load almost weekly
•we are a good team averaging 3,000 miles per week, not 5,000-6,000
•receiving your lay over pay is like getting a wisdom tooth pulled
•THEY TOOK AWAY OUR HAZMAT PAY BUT BOTH DRIVERS STILL HAVE HAzmat on their licenses(yeah, explain that one to us)
•we sat 2 days waiting for a road runner load. Not one dispatcher would give us another load
•we sat two days on a fresh express load(no trailer) surprise, surprise
•who can you talk to about your pay raise? Payroll told me that they could not look up my pay raise. What are you here for?
•minimum pay is a rip off
Pros
It's a steady pay check.
Cons
Feeling like you are in jail while at the yard in Chattanooga. It's easy to get in, but difficult to get out
Was this review helpful?Yes17No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OTR driving
Tractor-trailer Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN21 September 2016
Seeing all parts of the country and meeting people was rewarding. Difficult being on the road for months not seeing family. Some organizational problems involving dispatch.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pretty Awesome
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN15 May 2016
This is a company worth being at working for and never leaving. Career driven, family oriented and great staff. First company to work for right out of trucking school. Loved how they took care of my as I took care of my family. I could go on and on; you would just have to see for yourself.
Pros
Traveling
Cons
weekend dispatch
Was this review helpful?Yes27No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of work if your up for it!
Company Driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN17 October 2016
Covenant transport I drove in all 48 states driving with a co-driver. Driving short runs and long runs. Lots of miles under your belt is the most enjoyable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to start off for nut not long term
OTR Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Pomona, CA8 September 2016
They say they care about your family i really couldn't tell i lost two people while in training and sat in California for a month straight
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
independent
Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN12 November 2016
Well I can say that i got alone with few of my dispatchers but mostly is over the phone communication as a truck driver you work alone but good company to work for
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
1 OTR Driver (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN11 September 2016
drive over the road picking up and delivering goods all over the country. training new drivers to be productive and make money over the road
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exellent Career
Licensed OTR (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN14 July 2016
A+ benifits
Great dispatchers
I would definitly recommend this company to anyone who wants to succeed in life. good pay, also a chance to improve endorsements for a CDL
Pros
travel
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes11No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate America at its Finest!!
Professional Driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN16 March 2016
This company is good only if you have your Hazmat if you do not they treat you like you do not exist and bring it up every day "you should get your Hazmat".

I resigned because every load we got was cancelled.

Make sure you do not live paycheck to paycheck. When you resign they hold your last paycheck for up to 21 days. I resigned two weeks ago and I still have not received mine. Horrible company. I have never heard of such a thing. I usually recommend past trucking companies to other people especially as I am also a carer coach, but this company will go as one of the worst trucking companies to work for.

This company also has a horrible safety record, because of that you have to go into 98% of open scale houses. You also get stopped at all roadside inspections.
Pros
Cant think of any
Cons
The whole company is a con artist
Was this review helpful?Yes36No10Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company does understand the drivers side
TRUCK DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Tennessee6 April 2016
Loved to work for this company. They trained me, they gave me a truck and where up to date with technology making it easy for me to deliver payloads safely and accurately even if I had never been to the area.
Pros
Caring Company
Cons
Never let them send you on grehound
Was this review helpful?Yes38No11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience and resource full
Diesel Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN 3741923 May 2016
Working on trucks, learned to repair trucks, work well with others, and learned to efficiently finish projects.
Management could be better, but co workers are 5 star.
Was this review helpful?Yes6No6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok company to work for
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN19 July 2016
i can not give a good review of this company because I did not work for them long enough except the company was to religious for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes11No18Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of driving
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN31 May 2016
I enjoyed being on the road for the 3 months I worked with this company, I was able to see a lot of the country delivering loads and picking them up
Was this review helpful?Yes8No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recruiting Clerk
Assisting recruiters (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN5 January 2016
Typically day includes meeting drivers and verifying employment and driving history. Very fast paced and goal driven company. The hardest part of the job was having too many drivers in one weeks time. The most enjoyable part of the job was the people. The owner and family are very nice people and allow the employees to have a spiritual meeting every Wednesday at lunch. Great environment to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes23No13Report

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 193 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.0
Culture
3.1