Covenant Transport Employee Reviews

Showing all 220 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work and a great management system
Logistics Broker (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN23 January 2017
Unbelievable place to work with many opportunities to move up in the company. Incredible benefits and a strong structure to build your career. The employees were very receptive to new perspectives and were eager to help all staff succeed.
Pros
great work/life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes1No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CSR at covenant transport
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN15 December 2016
My day at covenant was basically answering calls to add money to the drivers com-data cards , we had many driver that we assisted with all the needs for tags, permits and money

Management was ok
coworkers were wonderful
most enjoyable part was helping people with their needs
Pros
they changed the policies too often
Cons
pay and benefits need updating
Was this review helpful?YesNo6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The work place
Driver (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga3 September 2016
ill just jump right in
•they never gave me the 200.00 for not getting me home on time
•they never answer the phone after day shift go home
•night and weekend dispatch do not answer phone/qcal
•they do not have enough trailers to cover the volume of freight
•they Force you to attend a class that new drivers sit and ask dumb questions
•we have a cancelled load almost weekly
•we are a good team averaging 3,000 miles per week, not 5,000-6,000
•receiving your lay over pay is like getting a wisdom tooth pulled
•THEY TOOK AWAY OUR HAZMAT PAY BUT BOTH DRIVERS STILL HAVE HAzmat on their licenses(yeah, explain that one to us)
•we sat 2 days waiting for a road runner load. Not one dispatcher would give us another load
•we sat two days on a fresh express load(no trailer) surprise, surprise
•who can you talk to about your pay raise? Payroll told me that they could not look up my pay raise. What are you here for?
•minimum pay is a rip off
Pros
It's a steady pay check.
Cons
Feeling like you are in jail while at the yard in Chattanooga. It's easy to get in, but difficult to get out
Was this review helpful?Yes41No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment!
Truck Driver Class A (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN24 November 2016
Covenant is a great company to start your career, but just like all of the other trucking companies out their u will miss your family when u are an "Over The Road Driver"!
Pros
U get to do alot of traveling & great benifits also!
Cons
Family is important. I really miss my kidos!
Was this review helpful?Yes5No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical work day
CDL Driver (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN26 March 2017
Covenant Transport is a great company to start off your driving career. I had a good trainer that trained me in all the in and outs of being a CDL driver. I learned how to use the electronic logs, trip planning, and how to always stay professional at all times. The hardest part of the jobs was getting stuck in some areas with no communication until they find a load to get u moving. The most enjoyable part my job is driving and dealing with the customers.
Pros
Good Company
Cons
not enough dedicated or regional accounts
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
advancement unavailable
Fleet Manager (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN31 January 2017
no opportunities to move up on the operations floor. advancement requires a transfer to a different department. this is initially a pay cut until you are able to move up within that department. just not an ideal place for a long term career oriented individual.
Pros
few and far between
Cons
constant repetative time wasting meetings.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not compensated for amount of work done
Load Planner (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN22 February 2017
I hated working here. was not compensated well for how much work was done on night shift. Hours were terrible and overtime was not paid. Unrealistic expectations by management so it is impossible to get full bonuses
Pros
none
Cons
terrible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to start if you want to drive teams its teams only
CDL Class A Driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN25 February 2017
I had a good experience with Covenant as far as learning the trucking industry and getting to see the country. I drove cross country to California and washing State and back to the east coast and seeing all states inbetween. loved driving for them but the team thing wasn't for me. Dealing with someone eleses issues and breaking hard almost throwing you in the floor when you are trying to sleep wasn't fun. but over all a good place to work. And the constant pay issues and not being able to get ahold of them when you are on the road, due to them only working a few days a week.
Pros
great equipment, frendily people, good training
Cons
far away from home. Teams only at Covenant, not enough pay for the road driving, too
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend
Professional OTR Driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN21 December 2016
Beware of trainers (especially if female).
No "open door" to dispatchers or management.
Facilities were not great (you'd be better off at a truck stop)
Doesn't pay well.
Takes advantage of drivers.
Training (continuing education) not readily available.
Favoritism and clicks prominent.
Pros
its a job
Cons
just about everything
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fleet manager
CDL A COMMERCIAL DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN10 December 2016
Compensation for work was great also my fleet manager where fantastic however Hometime is very few and days as this is the truck driving industry. My biggest complaint would only be their training procedures for beginners.
Pros
Great money great manager
Cons
Not enough home time with family
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed traveling 48 states. Good equipment, mamagement.
OTR Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN10 January 2017
Good company. Fleet Manager gave me consistent miles. Equipment used was excellent. They stressed safety. But the compensation low.
Pros
Good company. Fun travelling 48 states.
Cons
Low compensation.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to start off with
Class A Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN 374192 March 2017
This company was a great stepping stone into my trucking career. They took me in right out of school and gave me valuable experience to use in my trucking career.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for
Commercial Truck driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN28 December 2016
Good company to work for, everyone at this terminal are super friendly and willing to help and explain. Everything was always said up front from recruiting and orientation to dispatch and your fleet manager. There were mistakes made with payroll but they always fixed it and/or explained the way it works. I recommend questioning everything although the are honest and willing to explain that doesn't mean they're forthright. My fleet manager was good with getting me home.
Pros
Geeat staff, super friendly, they are always willing to work with you and pay is decent
Cons
Team driving is for me
Was this review helpful?YesNo3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good Place to work if you love to drive over the road
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN8 September 2016
Every day was different and fun, i learned how to be a good, courteous and safe driver, how to work with big teams,the management is very good and my co-workers very hard workers. The hardest part of the job, be away from home for too long,the most enjoyable part of the job for me was to be driving that truck every day over the road and it¨s views
Was this review helpful?Yes11No12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Covenant promises the moon when really handing you a hot light bulb
Class A CDL Driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN29 January 2017
If a trainer does something inappropriate over the road you are promised it will be resolved only to be black balled because they have been there longer. Harassment and disrespect for married couples is permitted if its a long time employee doing it. Do not recommend husband and wife teams being trained by this company
Pros
They will hire pretty much anyone
Cons
little regard for their employees
Was this review helpful?Yes10No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to start
Driver (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN8 December 2016
A good place to start your driving career.. You will need to do 180 driving hours with a trainer first then start driving with a team member. Hazmat and tanker endorsements are required.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and comfortable work place with great benefits and coworkers
Weather Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN1 October 2016
Overall management was excellent. A very productive and efficient place to work. The best part of the job was the friendly co workers and supervisors.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Periods of high stress
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company for starters
Professional Driver (Current Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN10 March 2017
Good company, don't run dedicated amazon.
More miles mean more money. Home life has to beat sacrificed in order to see real money. Student pay grades increase over the first year, up to 1000 guaranteed depending on driver's availability.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Sacrifice home life
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Travel and see the country.
Professional Commercial Driver (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN19 January 2017
Love to drive and see the country side, people are friendly and helpful easy to get along with. The money is there if you want to do your job, it takes some toll on you if you are a family oriented person.
Pros
see the country
Cons
never home
Was this review helpful?Yes4No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad for drivers
OTR TRUCK DRIVER (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TN2 April 2016
Bad company bad dispatchers no pay raises in years this company has had a bad reputation for years. Its the management! Stay away from this company
Pros
YOU HAVE A JOB
Cons
rEALLY BAD FOR TRUCK DRIVERS
Was this review helpful?Yes33No23Report

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 220 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.9
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.1
Culture
3.2
75%

CEO Approval

Based on 44 ratings
Add your rating