Couche-Tard Employee Reviews

Found 143 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid back Atmosphere
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Riverview, NB24 October 2016
My typical shift at Circle K would be from 3pm-10pm . I learned how to effectively provide great customer service . During the time I worked at circle K management switched over 5 times which was a bit difficult but overall all the managers were great. My Co-Workers were essentially rendered irrelevant because I usually worked alone . The hardest part of the job was doing the essential nightly to-do list due to being alone for the majority of the shift . The most Enjoyable part of the job was the genuine relationships I developed with a handful of customers.
Pros
Customers
Cons
Working Alone
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Experience
Store Attendant (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC6 July 2016
Is a basic job that I believes gives you good experience in customer service and overall store management.

Its not the area I want to work in the rest of my life, but as an immigrant it was the only place where I was hired.
Pros
20% discount in store products
Cons
No stable schedulles. Very Low payments.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to learn about commecial management
Relève Gérant (Current Employee) –  Montreal20 August 2016
It is not an extraordinary place to be , but still a good place to learn management , but in human resources there is still work to do
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mahone Bay, NS3 October 2016
I learned a lot working @ Circle K, it developed me as a person, brought me out of my shell. I learned many new skills, dealing with customers, patience, How to work with a team, and the public, Cash Handling, and stalking shelves. I absolutely loved the people I worked with.
Pros
the people
Cons
wasn't interested in what I was selling
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Caissière (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC3 June 2016
I loved my experience at couche tard, with the environment, and not far from where I live. the only exception of working there is the bad salary.
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good experience.
Store operator (Former Employee) –  Beaconsfield, QC20 April 2016
Open the store, serve customers, close the store.

I learned about the responsibility of operating a store.

Management and co-workers were friendly.

Dealing with customer was difficult at times.

I enjoyed most the learning experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC10 October 2016
This job made me learn on being quick while giving a costumer service. It made me learn a lot on dealing with a lot of costumer waiting for a quick service.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard
Manager (Current Employee) –  West Island, QC30 May 2016
Restocking the store. Learned who to work with a team and by myself, office work, receiving orders, making orders, managing a team and helping out other co-workers. Hardest part is not eating all day and long shift and enjoying being with a co-worker while working.
Pros
Replacing the backstore in order
Cons
not having a lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dynamic team
Caissière, service à la clientèle (Former Employee) –  Hull, QC6 February 2015
typical day at work consisted in serving clients in store and up-selling lottery tickets and merchandise.
I have learned about managing skills, responsibilities concerning the following position and have perfected my leadership as I was promoted to do so.
I am a great team leader with an even greater sense of team spirit.
the hardest part of this job was to adjust with all the management changes that accured within 2months. Having 3managers with each their way of working took some adjustments but was never ignored and was put in practice right away to optimize a good work environment.
the most enjoyable part of my job started every morning and ended every afternoon! (Monday-Friday; 7:30am-3:00pm)
I loved the costumer service I brought to everyone and it was recognized by them, receiving gifts and "thank you's" on the daily.
Pros
employee discount in stores only
Cons
no insurances, no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work independently and know your store.
cashier (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC6 January 2016
day to day stocks and orders.
dealing with money all day and customers in both english and french.
independent work.
hardest part is good management and training.
easiest is being a good salesman and knowing the store.
Pros
10%off
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Focus, productive
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC7 February 2016
you start your day at Couche-Tard with counting your cash,
the hardest part when you have to full up the store
the management is not high education
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience, above average quality workplace.
Clerk-Cashier (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC11 November 2015
It was a fun new experience, learning how to man a cash register and dealing with clients directly. Management was stellar and my co-workers were very helpful and friendly. I didn't find this job had a particularly hard part. Most enjoyable part was interacting with clients.
Pros
Workplace environment was great.
Cons
None to speak of.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace,takes care of employees
Head cashier (Former Employee) –  Dollard-Des Ormeaux, QC16 November 2015
Very nice experience
Customer service was very important within that company
The management was very attentive to the staff's need.
best part of the job was working with the best staff I've ever worked with.
It could get stressful when Gas is at a very good price.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC20 May 2014
Opportunity to grow as an individual resulting from the independent nature of the business model, i.e. manager not always present.
Relaxed business culture.
Horrible salary.
Some chance for advancement.
Pros
Potential for growth
Cons
Poor compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I work the night shift
Clerk (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC30 January 2016
I like to work the night shift for the bonus on the pay and to be in charge of my time. I also like to be the one preparing the store for the day. Cleaning and fulling.
Pros
Rebate on merchandise
Cons
Working at night
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the most enjoyable part of my job
cashier (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC19 January 2016
i learn a lot of stuff in this job . the people i was working with were so nice to me . i never had a problem with any of them . i was always smiling no matter what the day was .
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clerk
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  Pincourt, QC18 January 2016
Serve customers
Refilled products on shelves and fridges
Maintenance of gas pumps
Maintain Store Cleanliness
Counting Cash Register
Balance inventory
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience to pay bills
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  peterborough13 June 2014
No breaks, hectic dealing with almost 400 customers per day. no advancement
Pros
free coffee
Cons
long hours, no breaks, no security, lifting causes back problems
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
What I learned.
Manager assitant (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC5 November 2015
I learned at this job how to improve my customer service skills, how to be more effective with customer's needs.Because, at this work there was a lot of customer and I had to be on my best behavior to make sure that i satisfied their needs. The most important thing I learned is how to handle a situation under stress and how to make sure that my clients always come first.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun place to work
Commis/Caissier/Responsable des commandes (Former Employee) –  Laval, QC8 December 2015
well, if the challenge is not to hard but still demands that i put all my efforts when i get to work i will be satisfied and couche tard provided just that
Pros
gave me hours when i needed some
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 152 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Salary/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5