CoSyn Technology Employee Reviews

Showing all 18 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good policies on respect in the workplace, good benefits, opportunities to try different roles.
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 October 2016
Hours: 7:30 am - 5:00 pm. Company was flexible with time off.

Managers and co-workers great to work with. Fast-paced office requiring prioritizing and focus to meet deadlines. Management open to employees taking advantage of opportunities to try different roles. Good teamwork.

Most enjoyable - working with good people.

Hardest part - meeting tight deadlines at times.
Pros
Good people, good benefits.
Cons
Meeting tight deadlines.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5
Accounting Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB23 June 2016
10 years ago Cosyn technology was very busy. the day was going to fast and did worked overtime almost everything week end. The work as slowed down since 2014 . When i start a Cosyn I had great training, but in 2011 when did get bought out by another engineering company we change computer system and no training was provide to me. I learn all by my self. I did enjoyed processing EFT payment and issue cheque the people were great.
Pros
Great award system
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Mechanical Lead Engineer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB4 November 2016
Worked there for almost 10 years. Got a promotion from mechanical team member to plant lead and mechanical lead engineer after that. Working mostly for Syncrude Canada Ltd preparing EWPs (Engineering Work Packages).
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer. Encourages career growth
Procurement Department Head (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB22 August 2016
CoSyn is a good employer, but due to economic conditions have had to downsize by cutting entire departments. I have thoroughly enjoyed my time at CoSyn and am leaving purely because of the economic conditions.
Pros
Encouragement of career growth.
Cons
Only a single client.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a 2nd family
Desk Side Support Analyst (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 October 2016
Enjoy providing technical supports to co-workers. Someday frustrations due to technology issues but challenging is what I go for. Companyalso offers an excellent benefit
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buyout of parent company affected atmosphere
Project Controller (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB7 August 2016
Originally a great place to work with a friendly nurturing environment. After corporate buyout, it became mired in administrative red-tape and a "global vision" that was counter-productive and impersonal.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lacking work
Administrative Assistant (Full-time) (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB27 June 2016
Very slow times, unproductive to work there, very little work and not a great atmosphere at this time with constant lay-offs and everyone on edge.
Pros
great hours
Cons
no work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with!
Project Assistant (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 October 2014
CoSyn is an amazing place to work. I have the opportunity to work with people from all over the world, and learn about many different cultures. The most enjoyable part of the job is the sense of accomplishment when a project is successfully completed. I have learned many skills and attended many training sessions. The downsides to the job are very long hours, leading to a poor work/life balance, and being managed by two separate global companies that don't always agree on policies.
Pros
The people.
Cons
Long hours, few advancement opportunities.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Project Assistant (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB29 March 2016
Each day is different. Some days busy some days not as busy. I have learned a lot about engineering within six different disciplines. I enjoy meeting so many people and building great work relationships with them. The hardest part of the job is learning the terminology and some of the processes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Civil Engineer In Training (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB28 April 2016
This was a productive workplace that was very fast paced when the economy was strong. All people working there were helpful and fantastic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work, with supportive management and colleagues.
Piping Discipline Lead / Senior Piping Designer (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB5 October 2015
Decent amount of red tape and politics which is expected of a big company. The most enjoyable part of the job was working alongside my colleagues. There was always variety in what I did each day which always makes a day challenging and exciting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long term employee
Piping Design / Drafting (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB18 January 2016
Worked for Cosyn for 12 years. Gained many years of experience working on small and large projects for Syncrude. Fast pace, friendly work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Potential is there, but culture sucks
COODINATOR (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB15 January 2014
If you're thinking you're working for WorleyParsons, you're not. CoSyn is very different than WorleyParsons in terms of organizational culture and efficiency.
Pros
Immediate colleagues were nice and helpful
Cons
Poor, dimly lit work spaces; no lunch room
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and fun work place
Sr. Project Controls Specialist (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB9 March 2015
Flexible office hour provided. Can chat with coworkers, walk around, have fun during the lunch time. Opportunity to grow, stability, RRSP benefit, insurance, long term commitments.
Pros
Free coffee, cookies
Cons
Health care
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, lots of different kinds of people
Document control clerk (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB16 April 2015
I learned lots of procedures and processes. Was able to fit into many jobs within the document control area. The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to interact with many co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sociable and friendly people
Janitor (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB2 October 2014
good environment to work at. sometimes its very busy and overwhelming. over all i liked working at cosyn
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Project Management
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 August 2014
Project Execution from award through to completion. Work 40 hours a week.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
3.3
Management
3.3
Culture
3.5

CoSyn Technology Reviews by Location