Costco Wholesale

Costco Wholesale Employee Reviews in Canada

Found 514 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Good Workplace for students
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ONJanuary 4, 2016
an articulate workplace with high stress scenarios assisting students to realize evident parts of the average workplace in our world today, and adjust to trends and form.
Pros
good breaks, excellent employees
Cons
bad training, no benefits for students
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Hard and cool
Cashier/ Packer (Permanent Part time) (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABFebruary 10, 2016
Working at Costco is fun and cool even if its hard and so busy.
All Managers and Supervisors are very kind and friendly. I am looking forward to have work again in Costco.
Pros
sometimes free snacks
Cons
enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic
Front End Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Halifax, NSDecember 30, 2015
Facilitate outcomes, event planning, Customer Service,Management
I have enjoyed working with Costco, the Members and staff.
I am seeking employment in New Glasgow area as I have relocated my home.
Pros
Flexible schedule, full time, benefits, renumeration, pension plan
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company understand values.
Trainer for buying offices (Former Employee) –  Ottawa, ONDecember 14, 2015
This company has the potential to demand and force suppliers to work with them however they continue to work in a respectful way and manage the relationship to higher level.
Pros
Best place to work
Cons
once you leave the company they will not hired you back
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Night Merchandise Stocker (Former Employee) –  Kamloops, BCMarch 22, 2016
Pays very well especially for a job of it's simplicity. Take safety precautions very seriously making it feel like a very safe place to work.
Pros
extra pay on sundays
Cons
Strict policys
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive & fun loving work place
Stocker (Current Employee) –  Calgary, ABJanuary 27, 2016
Work load was perfectly balanaced among team mates and for fun we used to enjoy by watching Tv
Management & co-workers were quite helpful in resolving our problems and they always present for you when you need them.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Front End Cashier (Former Employee) –  Nepean, ONMay 2, 2016
Great place to work, co-workers are very nice, extra hours available. It is busy enough that the day passes quickly, supervisors are readily available to help and answer questions.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, Fun, Challenging, friendly
Stocker/Forklift (Former Employee) –  1411 Warden AveOctober 17, 2015
A typical day at work varied every day depending on departments. I learned lots of teamwork skills and various problem solving skills. The management at the beginning was very good. Things got done, everyone was happy; then management changed and people managed departments they've never worked before. Co-workers were always friendly, not always good but in a big place not everyone will be. The hardest part of the job was having to stay back and complete someone else's work when they left it unfinished. The most enjoyable part of the job was that you were always busy and had something to do.
Pros
Fast paced. Busy. Fun. Co workers. Able to learn new things. Some of the management.
Cons
Some of the management. Staying later to finish others unfinished work.
Was this review helpful?Yes7No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable workplace, good people.
Merchandising (Former Employee) –  Woodbridge, ONJanuary 27, 2016
If I ever needed a helping hand with a customer carry out or question there was always someone there to help. Very hard working people and excellent discounts.
Pros
Good staff parties and bbqs
Cons
Very very busy
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Oakville, ONMay 26, 2016
In my experience it is a good and Positive workplace. Good part time job for students. Workload is manageable however very labour intensive.
Pros
higher than min wage
Cons
graveyard shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to get along with staff, Management was great
Front End Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, ABOctober 14, 2015
I enjoyed this job a lot, staff was easy to get along with and Management really broke down how and what they expected. When i started at the warehouse it wasn't too popular but as time past more and more people would come in, because of this i learned how to function better in stressful situations. Fast and effectively.
Pros
Great hours and very flexible to my schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes5No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Front End Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABApril 22, 2016
when ever i didnt understand something a member of management or co worker always helped me

enjoyed going to work everyday

made new friends
Pros
very flexible
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and excellent workplace
Front End Assistant (Former Employee) –  Regina, SKJanuary 28, 2016
Costco's typical day at work consisted of me helping customers with their grocery and also carrying loads of grocery. The management was very kind and my co-workers were very welcoming.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very clean work space
cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary/ABOctober 1, 2015
Worked as a cashier. I helped very many people everyday, Being polite and respectful is the key factor when dealing with a large amount of people. I was also apart of pirouetting the Capital One Mastercard. That included talking to over 100 people a day about what product was and how it could work for them, I and a few of my co-workers has to learn everything about it and work together to ensure are customers understood what it was.
Pros
Costco membership
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place to work
Sorter (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ONMarch 6, 2016
a typical day at work would included sorting boxes onto various sikds. it was a pleasure working with some and a nightmare working with many
Pros
finish working during the day
Cons
had to get up early
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for personal growth
Seasonal Packer (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ONJanuary 12, 2016
very supportive environment for new employees
flexible shifts
nice atmosphere to work in
very professional staff
clear instructions from the leaders/ supervisors
Pros
membership card
Cons
hard to get in
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace with a free Costco membership
Stock Person (Former Employee) –  Toronto, OntarioJanuary 7, 2016
I was only a seasonal employee and I was not pleased with the overall culture of the workplace and their hiring practices involved nepotism!
Pros
Sunday shift premium
Cons
4:30 AM start time
Was this review helpful?Yes5No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment.
Food Demonstrator (Former Employee) –  Markham, ONApril 28, 2016
Wonderful co-workers, very approachable management. The team was always willing to help all new members, and provide as much assistance as required.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working for Costco
Food Court Attendant (Former Employee) –  Sherwood ParkJanuary 22, 2016
I enjoyed the fast paced environment. The shifts seemed to fly by because there was always something to do. I work well under pressure and am a quick learner.
Pros
the people
Cons
seasonal position
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good coworkers, and comfortable work place
Front End Assistant (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, ABFebruary 19, 2016
Easy job to work your way in to and to get comfortable with. Large variety of career paths to follow and different jobs to do.

Overall a good experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 2,784 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture