Costco Wholesale Employee Reviews

Found 744 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Warehouse Demo
Server (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB15 February 2017
We would set up for food samplings, clean area for customers. we would have a half hour break and be on our feet for 7.5 hours. it was an alright place in the beginning. But as time went on management was not always the greatest. their scheduling was never accurate, so if you thought you had a day off they would actually change the schedule on staff with out your knowledge. And everybody was a boss.
Pros
worked with my schooling
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Costco Oshawa
Front End Associate (Former Employee) –  Oshawa, ON15 February 2017
Busy fast paced environment which makes the hours pass quickly. Need to be able to multitask. Effective customer service skills as well. Schedules released on a Thursday reflecting the next Monday's schedule. Didn't allow for a work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Front End Cashier (Former Employee) –  Kanata, ON15 February 2017
My typical day was hard work pushing carts, helping members with groceries should they need it. I learned how to work in a fast pace environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Surrey, BC15 February 2017
I would come to work at 5am and work till 10am and go home.
My time would pass by really fast and I would have the whole day to myself . The hardest part of the job was just stocking out the items.
Pros
Nice people
Cons
Fatiguing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Work environment
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ON11 February 2017
Amazing work experience.
Very friendly and safe work environment.
Friendly managers.
Flexible working hours.
Employees always help each others.
overall its a great working experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Tire Centre Technician (seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Ancaster, ON9 February 2017
This company is all about their members and the staff, they stick up for their staff 100% they don't treat you like you are just a number you are actually worth something to the... absolute wonderful company to work for!!!!
Pros
When you work 8 hours you actually get 8 paid hours
Cons
Nothin
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON7 February 2017
Learned excellent customer service

Workplace was safe, and I never had any trouble with my coworkers

Being able to work different jobs with in the warehouse made the job interesting, always learning something new

CSRP Program is really good allowed me to be able to go to school and work during summer and winter breaks, and reading weeks.

When I was ready to work part time they switched me over and gave me hours, and when I needed to cut back on hours all I had to do was ask.
Pros
Flexible Hours, Good Management, Competitive Salary, Good Benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible Workplace
Front End Employee (Former Employee) –  Peterborough, ON4 February 2017
great opportunities within Costco to grow and expand
management was great, very understanding and strive for your best intentions
flexible hours & shift bonus opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Tire Installer (Former Employee) –  Vaughan, ON4 February 2017
Work is not overwhelming there was always enough people to help out if needed. Management was always eager to help out and assist in anyway. Awesome locations.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Very busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working here
Security, cashier, deli (Former Employee) –  Lethbridge, AB3 February 2017
I really enjoyed my time working at costco. Fun coworkers and very nice boss. i didn't like going out and pushing carts but it was required of all front desk staff
Pros
coworkers were great
Cons
a lot of lifting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good job
Service à la clientèle (Current Employee) –  Anjou, QC3 February 2017
While working here you learn a lot about how to treat the members of Costco. also there are many positions in which I have done where you use other qualities in order to work.
Pros
Free membership
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You work for your money
Produce Stocker/ Cake Decorator (Former Employee) –  Okotoks, AB2 February 2017
Decent place to work, great benefits, with advancement opportunities. They are a very efficient company and expect their employees to work with the same work ethic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Treat employees well. great place to work.
Front End (Current Employee) –  Kelowna, BC2 February 2017
I was a part time employee and always treated well. Was compensated well and enjoyed being at work. the managers were very helpful and you never felt threatened to ask questions. they were very reasonable with my work schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Regular day at costco
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Pointe-Claire, QC31 January 2017
Starting at 4:30am, until 1:30 pm , shift my responsibilities were to stock the merchandise in every department in the warehouse besides the kitchen. This was a physically demanding job which I enjoyed
Pros
early shifts
Cons
unpredictable schedule
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace friendly to employees and respectful of customers
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC31 January 2017
Costco is a great place where multitasking is key.

Being in one of the most difficult warehouse, various situations occur with time and employees are forced to learn to deal with them as time progresses.

This makes us perfect workers with experience dealing with stress and customer service.
Was this review helpful?Yes3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, Not to physically demanding
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB31 January 2017
I Learned a collection of skills such as:
- How to shrink wrap
- How to use both a cardboard and plastic compactor
- Stocking techniques such as 'facing' and rotation of perishables
- How to use a pallet jack in an efficient manner
- Importance of packaging light, soft items like bread and eggs on top of heavier items.

I also learned and was tested on a number of health risks and hazards when working with foods (raw meats especially), temperature control and the importance of a clean work environment.

While Performing non-essential duties I also learned about costumer importance to the store, and how every employee must always be vigilant to the idea that their behavior while working impacts Costco's reputation.
Pros
Friendly Work Environment, Co-Workers
Cons
Morning Shift
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Ancaster, ON31 January 2017
Great work environment, low starting pay, but you get steady raises the more hours you work. Great managers and co workers. I would recommend working here over any other retail job I have done.
Pros
Free membership, Steady Raises, Great Benefits and Bonuses
Cons
Hard to get hours as part time or seasonal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Tire Centre Manager (Current Employee) –  Scarborough, ON31 January 2017
Great benefits, but no work life balance and difficult to advance unless your willing to sacrifice your social and family life. Upper Management is only focused on producing numbers and making their bonus. Not much coaching and training and most managers don't have an education in the background that they're managing.
Pros
Great Benefits
Cons
No Balance
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work at
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON30 January 2017
Management is very nice. Co-workers are nice and helpful. Great benefits including free membership. Good hours and reasonable pay, they pay extra on sundays.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place
Stocker/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Montréal, QC30 January 2017
Amazing workplace and staff is super fun and friendly, pays well, there's always something to do so time flies by fast. Great job for students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Costco Wholesale. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 3,864 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0