Costco Wholesale Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent store
Representative cashier (Former Employee) –  91 st edmonton23 August 2017
i was having a very good expeience working in costco as a cashier for 2 yrs ... people i work with was all good person to help . costco is a very good company to work ..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, everybody helps each other and management gets there hands dirty and rolls up there sleeves to help as well
Merchandising/Stock Person (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 August 2017
Start of shift, might have to help pack grocery items, if not you check the list to find out what section your working in. Management is excellent and also helps where it's needed. Enjoyable part is when you have completed your section and the people you work with. Everybody is in it to get the job done!!!
Pros
Good benefits, profit sharing, fair wages, paid more per hour on Sundays, 2 paid weeks hoilday for P/T after 1 year, closed 9 days per year and your paid for those days, 8 paid sick days per year.
Cons
Inventory 2 times per year, somtimes short staffed, trying to remember where everything because product is move around
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy to move up and great benefits
Pharmacy Assistant / Cashier (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON18 August 2017
a typical day at work means dealing with a lot of customers. it is a busy and fast paced environment with a lot of opportunity to move up if you work hard enough
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent starting job
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Burnaby, BC16 August 2017
- While store hours are open, it can be quite boring with repetitive cleaning tasks. After closing hours stocking picks up and is done all at once since not much can be done during open hours.
- Overall culture is decent with the usual approachable individuals and non-approachable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor environment
Members Services Assistant (Current Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB16 August 2017
Poor wages and hours. Slim chance for advancement. Customer can be a challenge as no one enjoys having their purchases reviewed as they leave the store.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to be employeed
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON16 August 2017
Good place to work, flexible with home life, positive feedbacks and regular reviews
Can be hot depending on location in warehouse
Good staft and friendly people
Pros
flexible
Cons
pay scale
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Stock Person (Former Employee) –  Grande Prairie, AB15 August 2017
Every employee seemed to have a problem with at least one manager, Im not sure if this is a social behavior issue or a training issue. everything else about Costco is near perfect, especially the stock options they give you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front End Assistant
Front end assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON14 August 2017
-Front end assistant; responsible for signing customers up for Costco memberships.
-Responsible for organizing merchandise.
-In charge of closing and opening cash tills.
-Problem solving and assisting customers with their needs.
-Greeted customers and offered assistance to enhance customer service experience.
Pros
benefits
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Customer Focused
Night Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Langley, BC14 August 2017
Customer Focused and presentation and product know how is a must.All employees are willing to help out each other depending on the need of services required in each of the customer or the department at any given time of the day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Sales/Demo Representative at PWD (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON14 August 2017
The job itself is gruelling. But the employees are fun to work with. There is very little scope to move forward. Hardly any career opportunities. Pay increment is too less
Pros
co workers are fun
Cons
Very tiring
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really like to work now need some change
Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON13 August 2017
i really like to work in my present company but i need a part time job to pay my extra bills as i am the only earning member of the family so now want to support myself my son wife and my father aswell....
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, lots of opportunity
Sales Audit Clerk (Former Employee) –  Dartmouth, NS9 August 2017
Loved the people here, lots of fun and many outside of work activities and fundraising for charities. Miss the people! Not enough full time job openings, otherwise a fabulous place to work!
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Fun fast Paced Environment
Front End Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Sherwood Park, AB8 August 2017
I really enjoyed my time with Costco. I thrive on chaos and it was perfect for me. I got to lead and support a wonderful group of people. Management was proactive and always ready to help us succeed any way they could.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
well organized place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Ancaster, ON4 August 2017
I enjoyed working at Costco. It was fast paced and you were always busy. Nice people to work with and very helpful .They were also fair in how they treated their staff.
Pros
free membership while you were employed there.
Cons
Chances of being a permanent employee were slim
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay, terrible environment
Merchandising (Former Employee) –  Ancaster, ON3 August 2017
- Workloads not evenly distributed
- Poor support from management
- Daily customer harassment
- Physically demanding
- Great pay and benefits
- convenient location
Pros
Job Security, Hourly Wages, Benefits
Cons
Work Environment, Management, Task Deligation
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun people to work with
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB31 July 2017
A fun experience to work in a big place with a lot of people, I learned how to deal with different types of customers. It's a different job and it has a lot to do and to learn.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very laboring for the body!
Food Demonstrator (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON31 July 2017
A typical day at work would be arriving before 11:00am, going to the PWC;s office, finding out what to do, setting up the table for the demonstration wearing gloves & hair net, at the end of each demonstration you have to sanitize everything!!!!! Or else the company will be sued!!!!!
Pros
Work experience.
Cons
Pretty much too much sanitation!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for students to work while in school
Front End Assistant (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC28 July 2017
I've held a position as a front end assistant at Costco for close to 4 years. I was brought in as a seasonal worker but was kept on in their CSRP program that they offer to students. This program allowed me to choose the dates I wanted to work while I was in school, and work when I wanted during semester breaks. The environment is very fast-paced and shifts seem to fly by as a result. Tasks can include packing member orders, cashier, buggy pushing, returning items to their proper shelving, clothes folding, and general cleanup duties.
Pros
Free membership, CSRP program for students, Food Court, Great staff and managers
Cons
No benefits given to CSRP, Shifts can be limited
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, happy environment
Front End Assistant (Current Employee) –  Guelph/Eramosa, ON24 July 2017
A place where everyone is smiling and you feel very welcome. Managers and supervisors are helpful, and want you to succeed. There are many opportunities for advancement.
Pros
Free membership
Cons
Late nights
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and busy, almost all afternoon work.
Meat Clerk / Night Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Ancaster, ON24 July 2017
Great company, great benefits, fair and just. Hours are not the greatest especially for part time employees. Takes years to attain day shifts. mostly afternoon / late evening shifts.
Pros
benefits, decent wages.
Cons
long hours and late hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Costco Wholesale. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 4,922 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0