Costco Wholesale Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment with pressure driven management.
everything I did here was customer service (Former Employee) –  Port Coquitlam, BC20 September 2017
In the 9 years I worked here I worked my way up to Forklift Driver. I was a very hard worker and improved many aspects of the job. I developed staff and exceeded expectations; very little recognition and positive reinforcement was given.
Pros
Reasonable pay and good benefits
Cons
Management is not very good at recognized and appreciated staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Cashier/ Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON19 September 2017
great place as a part-time job. good hours. great management team. great company to work for if you want a friendly work environment. great people at each location.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for those that need security and want the ability to advance with great benefits and a decent job culture
Sales Representative & Customer Service Specialist (Current Employee) –  Montréal, QC19 September 2017
*A typical day at work is about helping members and completing your daily tasks
*Learned how to deal with every type of person and how to manage time effectively and efficiently
*Management is accommodating when they can be
*People are friendly and respectful
*Patience is a virtue
*Meeting new people
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for entry level jobs with an steady increase in wages($13-25/hr)
Maintenance Worker (Former Employee) –  Alberta17 September 2017
Costco offers a wide variety of entry level positions with the ability to change between the different jobs and locations throughout the world. Salary is competitive and excels industry average after a few years of service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON15 September 2017
It was the best job I had but due to a family emergency I had to leave but one day I like to return. Working Sundays gave us bouns on our paychecks and I was given very good hours just being a part-timer.
Pros
Good money and good hours
Cons
Morning shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardwork
Service Deli Clerk (Current Employee) –  Mississauga, ON11 September 2017
This job pushes you to your limits and expects a lot from each employee. This job entitled me to hard work, but felt rewarding as Costco shows its appreciation to its employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need to be fast
Stocker (Current Employee) –  Richmond Hill, ON10 September 2017
you need to work fast and be able to have less than 24 hour notice with change of shift.
its member driven and it good to be a member if you have a big family
Pros
free member ship for employee and their spouse
Cons
heaving lifting
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent work place
Certified Tire Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 September 2017
It was a great job when it came to benefits and a retirement savings plan. but I did not like how as a tire tech I needed to do a bunch of other departments jobs as well. I did not realize this applying for the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Environment
Seasonal Front End Assistant (Former Employee) –  Langley, BC7 September 2017
Working at Costco was a great experience, the management is wonderful and the employees are very welcoming and friendly. It is mostly easy work with very few challenges.
Pros
coworkers are extremely easy to get along with
Cons
hard on the feet, requires a lot of standing
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gave me my first summer job in 1998
Seasonal Front End Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ON7 September 2017
Costco was a great place to work as a student during the summers. Fast-paced environment with lots of exercise running around the warehouse getting/returning product, helping the cashiers, packing merchandise at the till.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Constant noise and harsh warehouse lighting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding place to wrok
Baker (Current Employee) –  Waterloo, ON7 September 2017
Enjoy what I do in the early morning baking, and excellent company to work for.
The hardest part of the job is the physical demands on my body, specifically shoulders and back.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job.
Stock and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB5 September 2017
Enjoyed interacting with the people and stocking while helping people find what they are looking for.
Very strenuous job and on feet all day. But overall learned a lot and was good pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Seasonal Position
Cashier/Packer (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC4 September 2017
I worked at costco for the 2017 summer seasonal position. It was a good place to work for the summer as a student because of the good pay ($13 an hour and $17 on Sundays), but going back to school i would never be able to handle it. They give long hours even to seasonal employees who are expected to get the least amount, and it is so hard trying to get days off. I had to miss out on family weddings and trips because my time off wasn't approved.
Pros
good pay, friendly employees
Cons
long hours, hard to get time off, favouritism from management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work asked too much
Concessions (Former Employee) –  Langford, BC1 September 2017
The job grew exceedingly difficult to complete, management kept adding more and more responsibilities until it wasn't possible for one person to complete their tasks.
Pros
Hot dogs are cheap, good benefits and life insurance.
Cons
Very sporadic hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Parking Lot Attendant (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB29 August 2017
Awesome place to work, great people, benefits, excellent pay, awesome and nice managers who will do their best to help your career advance and for you to have a good time working there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best retail job you can achieve
Front End Assistant, Night Merchandiser, Cashier (Current Employee) –  Ottawa, ON29 August 2017
over the four years, i've worked for Costco, they've supported me through college. providing flexible hours and support and without that, I would still be working on that diploma. The management team is enthusiastic and caring. they really show that they value their employee's health and well-being and promote these values within the company. when potential or interest is shown in advancement, support and advocacy are offered. it was a pleasure working for Costco, its just time to move forward.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dun and productive workplace
Pharmacy Assistant (Former Employee) –  Port Coquitlam, BC29 August 2017
I really enjoyed working for Costco, the staff and managers were good. The hours were ok, but sometimes scheduling was a bit off. Hard to work 5hour shifts , 5 days a week especially with 3 young children at home .
. But overall the pay and benefits are great and friendly staff .
Pros
Great wages and benefits
Cons
Bad hours and scheduling
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Speed and fun to work with
Food Court Cashier (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON28 August 2017
This company is very good to work with. Your have a chance to grow and increase your pay if you work enough hours to raise. The important thing, they have benefit for both part - time and full -time employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My view on Costco
Member Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB26 August 2017
Repetitive work!
Focus is on giving best member service.
Very social place to work.
Cross training in other departments gives you experience and opportunity to explore other areas to work in warehouse.
Pros
stable company, free food occassionally, high school environment
Cons
slow upward movement, repetitive work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent, but Insecure Labour
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Mississauga, ON25 August 2017
Decent job, however after the probationary period management decided to lay off all the seasonal employees to cut costs, and without prior notice. Otherwise the managers and other employees were very helpful with training, and never made any unreasonable demands out of the seasonal (new part-time) workers.
Pros
Cheap lunches, good pay, fun work environment, free membership
Cons
Long hours, insecure employment, membership valid through employment only
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Costco Wholesale. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 4,938 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0