Find companies:
Costco Wholesale
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,257 reviews

Costco Wholesale Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced
Cashier (Former Employee), Sherwood Park, ABOctober 17, 2014
Pros: great staff
Cons: heavy lifting
Always busy, all different kinds of clients, you need excellent customer service skills. I enjoyed the fast pace and meeting new people every day. the hardest part of the was standing on concrete for eight hours, and heavy lifting
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and fast paced inviroment
Supervisor (Current Employee), Newmarket, ONOctober 8, 2014
Pros: free membership. great benifits and pay
Cons: required to work on weekends as well as holidays when opened. no set shifts, must be available day and night.
Each day brings you something new. Having the opportunity to meet new people everyday and learn skills that can help you advance (whether your looking to make Costco your career or if your a student getting ready for the working world) many opportunities are waiting. Fast and friendly work environment. Being flexible is a must.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great new people and businesses to explore and meet.
Marketing Representative (Former Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 8, 2014
Pros: driving, demanding and rewarding personally
Cons: non recognition by management
busy and demanding, traffick sucks, great company to work for. co-workers are great to get along with. Meet lots individuals of different personalities, back ground and culture.

I learened and gained huge amount of experience good and bad which is typical in any outfit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Membership Assistant (Former Employee), Halifax, NSOctober 7, 2014
worked full-time up front by the cash. i sold guest memberships, executive memberships and american express cards. wasn't always the easiest job but it was fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Merchandising Associate (Current Employee), Etobicoke, ONOctober 6, 2014
good, but you learn more than trained... thinking on your feet... management cant manage the stress level of the job and points fingers on others
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office work limited
Contract (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONOctober 6, 2014
Cons: very long hours with half hour lunch
Long hours, no benefits while on contract, not allowed to take vacation, management lacking, too many levels
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Labourer (Former Employee), Edmonton, ABOctober 3, 2014
Put groceries in boxes into customers carts, take back all the groceries not wanted at the till, round up all the carts in the parking lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super fast paced pharmacy, all about the numbers, terrible work/life balance.
Certified Pharmacy Assistant (Former Employee), Victoria, BCSeptember 30, 2014
Too many strong personalities in a small working area, very unorganized, very stressful, schedule would change constantly, sometimes without notice, other times when I would approach my manager regarding time off for school, she would just bully me into taking more shifts! A few of my co-workers were awesome, nice people, but the rest, well, I'll just – more... say I'm happy they're not my co-workers anymore. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pays well and has amazing people
Stocker/Folder (Former Employee), Ancaster, ONSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: occassionally free lunches, paid vacations, dental and health benefits
Cons: hours change, lack of organization
The hardest part of the job is the members (customers). The most enjoyable part of the job is the people you work with. A typical day would involve helping members, stocking, and cleaning up. It is a good job all in all, with great coworkers and good benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with ups and downs, however it is a fun workplace with foosball table
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Vaughan, ONSeptember 16, 2014
A typical day at Costco when you walk in as an employee, you see a clean environment. Everyone is on there pees and q's. I have learned that being apart of such a big business is no joke. Costco is a company dedicated to its members. The co-workers that I have come across are not always the nicest people, but what can you do? But address certain situations – more... and try to leave it behind you. The hardest part of my job was trying to please everyone, plus trying to have good time management. The most enjoyable part of my job was seeing the gorgeous woman coming in and out of the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced environment, high standards, room for growth
Forklift driver for multiple departments (Former Employee), Calgary, ABSeptember 12, 2014
Pros: great benefit package
Great place to work, very fast paced, physically demanding. Good team environment, constantly changing priority. Management is promoted from within, so the opportunity to learn all aspects of the business is present.
Hardest part of the job was to accept that most days everything was not completed to perfection.
The most enjoyable part of the job was – more... the sense of accomplishment, the feeling that even thought I was one small part of the whole organization, each day I made a contribution. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very active environnement
Membership associate (Former Employee), Marche-CentralSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: on week-ends, we can choose the time of our breaks.
Cons: on week-ends we were paid 2$ more every hour.
On a regular work day basis, I would mostly prodvide information to customers about our offers. I would go arround the store and find new customers ( our customers friends) to open-up a membership with us or even a credit card. Knowing that the store is huge, we would be multiple people doing it. Everyday would be a new challenge with new goals. The – more... hardest part of my job was getting a customer to open a credit card because they wouldn't wanna pay extra, or for many other reasons. The best part of my job was the fact that I get to walk around but and be in different departments in the store. I would meet different people from around the country and I would always approach them differently about our memberships. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace, and every day is a productive day
Stock Merchandiser, Promotions V.P.S (Current Employee), Mississauga, onSeptember 8, 2014
fun, and great people to work with. management is great.
overall, would recommend people to apply here
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy and stressful but very enjoyable place to work
Caissière (Current Employee), Ottawa, ONAugust 26, 2014
I learned a lot of things at Costco as i am not only a cashier but also a helper in many departments. I can work by myself under pressure as well as in a team. I like to teach what I know and to help others.

A typical day at Costco is very stressful and busy. I need to keep calm and be nice to the members what ever happens. The management is very strict – more... even though they know me well. They know that whatever I do and wherever I am, i am working. The hardest part of the job is that I don't get much rest even on my break. The most enjoyable part of the job is that I am always busy and don't have time to look at the clock. That way the day goes by very fast. I also like the people I work with. They are very open and friendly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Customer Service & Food Court Duties (Former Employee), Richmond BCAugust 8, 2014
Pros: great place to shop after work
Cons: not alot of staff in the food court
Costco has a great lunch room, great food court and really nice fun staff. Great skill teachings and a very safe and clean place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment with great happy people to work with!
Front End Assistant (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBAugust 2, 2014
Pros: great benefits and pay
Cons: fast pace can be tiring
Costco Wholesale is a great place to work with awesome benefits and great staff! Everyone always seems upbeat and enjoying what they do. They are not afraid to laugh and have a quick conversation on the job because if you don't communicate, the department doesn't work as a unit, and that is key! They always put you first and are always there to help – more... whenever you need, you never feel alone! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Useful skills are gained but its Not a very Challenging job for a University student- Go in, do your job, and leave
Morning Stocker (Current Employee), Edmonton, AlbertaJuly 30, 2014
Pros: sunday pay, flexible with school, you gain some useful skills on the job (team player, working hard, communication skills)
Cons: very boring and repetitive, you're thrown in any department at times without warning, ridiculously short staffed, favoritism, lifers are too comfortable (over-rely on you), they are never happy most of the time which makes going to work bothersome, management is disorganized, lack of communication, work-life balance isn't that great, company policies are run based on seniority
I have been working there for almost 2 years now and though there are some positive aspects to working there like the pay and flexibility with school, my experiences working for Costco have been negative and I'm not impressed with the way the company works. Yes its true that they treat their employees well, but you basically have to work there for years – more... to get what you want. A company like this runs its ideals based on seniority, so the people who have been there the longest tend to get what they want such as vacation, certain days off and so on. The managers can be nice people, but they really need to do a better job in terms of how they run the company and pick favorites which is lame. They help you out and such by letting you know what needs to be done but communication among employees is absolutely terrible. Work life balance for a college student is better when you're going to school because you only work there weekends, but the summer is horrendous for that. I told my manager that I wanted friday, saturdays off till September and she said it was fine, but these past weeks my days off changed which just ruins your week because you have to change your plans and whatnot and I wasn't even told about it.

In my case, I'm in University, so I don't get weekends off unless I book it off in advance due to their policy. Also another issue I've noticed working for this company, especially since I've been there a while is that they like to over-rely on you (students particularly) which gets annoying because they never hire anyone part time. You have to start off seasonal, and the managers decide whether they want to keep you on or let you go. Most people there just work there because they like the money but are never happy which creates a negative work environment, and if you work hard like I've been told by several co-workers and managers, they become too dependent.

The hardest part of the job is knowing that I have to go in and do it every single day until something better comes along and that people there are way too comfortable, especially the people who have degrees, the hours are not that great either. Working at 4am 5 days a week is tiring and routine, they aren't ideal hours for a college student. Also, people who are older than I am act like its high school , gossip and all that. Honestly I can't remember the last time I enjoyed this job. The only good thing was when the managers were not around as well as some of the lifers. Regardless I've met some cool people who have told me to stay in school and get an education so I can be happy and successful in life later onwards. Getting an education is good so you can get a good career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
run
Stocker (Former Employee), Sherwood Park, ABJuly 30, 2014
tell you your doing a great job then give you a bad review. management is really nice. not a bad place to work but you wont stay there long.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meet different backgrounds
Customer service (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 29, 2014
Pros: meeting people
Cons: standing
this job gave me the opportunity to meet people from different cultures which made me gain more experience in understanding others
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Costco - Great Environment to Grow
Lot Attendant and Cashier Assistant (Current Employee), Richmond Hill, OntarioJuly 26, 2014
Costco is a great environment and workplace for individuals to grow and learn and also gain valuable experience. A typical day a work would be is communicating with members of Costco by answering questions they might have on products Costco offers and concerns they have towards it. Also helping the cashiers load and unload the products in and out of – more... the cart and helping Costco maintain a clean environment. Sometimes this can vary because you can be helping out in other departments too which can be beneficial as you gain experience. Management at Costco are there to help anytime it is needed and are there to help excel an employees skills by telling them what improvements they can do and what additional tasks they can perform in order to achieve a certain goal. The employees at Costco are very friendly and are there to help another co - worker when they are in need. Teamwork is a key skill in this workplace in which is a beneficial skill they can be learned from. There is no difficulty within this job because there are individuals around you that can help you to get the job done easier and efficiently. The enjoyable part of this is the fast paced environment that makes an individual be ump on their feet and feel energized. Overall, Costco is a place to gain valuable and cherishable experience in the long run. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Costco Wholesale

Costco Wholesale Corporation operates an international chain of membership warehouses, under the "Costco Wholesale" – Read more

Costco Wholesale Photos