Find companies:
Costco Wholesale
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
1,166 reviews

Costco Wholesale Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Location 
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Customer Service & Food Court Duties (Former Employee), Richmond BCAugust 8, 2014
Pros: great place to shop after work
Cons: not alot of staff in the food court
Costco has a great lunch room, great food court and really nice fun staff. Great skill teachings and a very safe and clean place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment with great happy people to work with!
Front End Assistant (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBAugust 2, 2014
Pros: great benefits and pay
Cons: fast pace can be tiring
Costco Wholesale is a great place to work with awesome benefits and great staff! Everyone always seems upbeat and enjoying what they do. They are not afraid to laugh and have a quick conversation on the job because if you don't communicate, the department doesn't work as a unit, and that is key! They always put you first and are always there to help – more... whenever you need, you never feel alone! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Useful skills are gained but its Not a very Challenging job for a University student- Go in, do your job, and leave
Morning Stocker (Current Employee), Edmonton, AlbertaJuly 30, 2014
Pros: sunday pay, flexible with school, you gain some useful skills on the job (team player, working hard, communication skills)
Cons: very boring and repetitive, you're thrown in any department at times without warning, ridiculously short staffed, favoritism, lifers are too comfortable (over-rely on you), they are never happy most of the time which makes going to work bothersome, management is disorganized, lack of communication, work-life balance isn't that great, company policies are run based on seniority
I have been working there for almost 2 years now and though there are some positive aspects to working there like the pay and flexibility with school, my experiences working for Costco have been negative and I'm not impressed with the way the company works. Yes its true that they treat their employees well, but you basically have to work there for years – more... to get what you want. A company like this runs its ideals based on seniority, so the people who have been there the longest tend to get what they want such as vacation, certain days off and so on. The managers can be nice people, but they really need to do a better job in terms of how they run the company and pick favorites which is lame. They help you out and such by letting you know what needs to be done but communication among employees is absolutely terrible. Work life balance for a college student is better when you're going to school because you only work there weekends, but the summer is horrendous for that. I told my manager that I wanted friday, saturdays off till September and she said it was fine, but these past weeks my days off changed which just ruins your week because you have to change your plans and whatnot and I wasn't even told about it.

In my case, I'm in University, so I don't get weekends off unless I book it off in advance due to their policy. Also another issue I've noticed working for this company, especially since I've been there a while is that they like to over-rely on you (students particularly) which gets annoying because they never hire anyone part time. You have to start off seasonal, and the managers decide whether they want to keep you on or let you go. Most people there just work there because they like the money but are never happy which creates a negative work environment, and if you work hard like I've been told by several co-workers and managers, they become too dependent.

The hardest part of the job is knowing that I have to go in and do it every single day until something better comes along and that people there are way too comfortable, especially the people who have degrees, the hours are not that great either. Working at 4am 5 days a week is tiring and routine, they aren't ideal hours for a college student. Also, people who are older than I am act like its high school , gossip and all that. Honestly I can't remember the last time I enjoyed this job. The only good thing was when the managers were not around as well as some of the lifers. Regardless I've met some cool people who have told me to stay in school and get an education so I can be happy and successful in life later onwards. Getting an education is good so you can get a good career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
run
Stocker (Former Employee), Sherwood Park, ABJuly 30, 2014
tell you your doing a great job then give you a bad review. management is really nice. not a bad place to work but you wont stay there long.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
meet different backgrounds
Customer service (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJuly 29, 2014
Pros: meeting people
Cons: standing
this job gave me the opportunity to meet people from different cultures which made me gain more experience in understanding others
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Costco - Great Environment to Grow
Lot Attendant and Cashier Assistant (Current Employee), Richmond Hill, OntarioJuly 26, 2014
Costco is a great environment and workplace for individuals to grow and learn and also gain valuable experience. A typical day a work would be is communicating with members of Costco by answering questions they might have on products Costco offers and concerns they have towards it. Also helping the cashiers load and unload the products in and out of – more... the cart and helping Costco maintain a clean environment. Sometimes this can vary because you can be helping out in other departments too which can be beneficial as you gain experience. Management at Costco are there to help anytime it is needed and are there to help excel an employees skills by telling them what improvements they can do and what additional tasks they can perform in order to achieve a certain goal. The employees at Costco are very friendly and are there to help another co - worker when they are in need. Teamwork is a key skill in this workplace in which is a beneficial skill they can be learned from. There is no difficulty within this job because there are individuals around you that can help you to get the job done easier and efficiently. The enjoyable part of this is the fast paced environment that makes an individual be ump on their feet and feel energized. Overall, Costco is a place to gain valuable and cherishable experience in the long run. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good hours with decent pay
Front End Assistant (Current Employee), Markham, ONJuly 25, 2014
Pros: foosball table in the lunch room, nice and polite staff.
Cons: having to work outside on the really hot and humid days.
This job takes quite the impact on your body if you are a front end assistant since you may have to move carts then move right onto merchandising after 5 hours of lot. The management tries to intimidate you for no reason what so ever, that may be a drawback but the pay is decent with a starting of $12/hr.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for one of the biggest company in the world
Aide-Commis/Marchandiseur (Former Employee), Montréal, QCJuly 23, 2014
Pros: ambiance, employee benefits
Cons: the fact that sometimes i had to start at 4 am.
Costco is know for the quality of its product, the quality of its services and especially for the way they treat their employees. I worked as a merchandiser and at the front of the store at the customer service.

As a merchandiser the recipe is simple; every morning, starting at 4 am, we have to sort out all the merchandise we received and place it – more... at there respective spots. Of course we also had to clean the alley and leave them clean and secure for the customers

When it comes to customer service, I touched a lot of responsibilities; pack the purchases of the members (customers), help them in anyway possible (if they forgot an item, I'll go get it for them, if they need help to put all their items in their car. On top of all that, always be happy and helpful. I also had to work in the parking lot, I took care of all the carriages , as well as the general coordination of the parking lot. Making sure it secure for the customers or anybody.

Working at Costco helped me to really understand how to take care of a customer, as well as how to to be organized.

I really had a great time working at Costco, the ambiance between all the employees was incredible; everybody was friend with everybody, everybody helped each others. Throughout my stay as a Costco worker I really grasp the idea of "Team Work" – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent enviroment
Night Merchandiser (Former Employee), Nanaimo, BCJuly 22, 2014
Pros: employees got great benefits, free membership
This was a great place to work in, I loved the people I worked with, you always had an open door policy when it came to needing to address something with management, management was always willing to listen, compromise, co workers were easy to get along with, every single day was never the same. Always interesting :)

The challenge was making every customer – more... walk away satisfied – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive Work Environment
Member Service (Current Employee), Toronto, ONJuly 16, 2014
Very good employee benefits, such as vacation and salary. Colleagues overall exert very supportive and positive work relations, like a family. Depending on the warehouse, management can be inefficient. It takes a lot of time and ridiculously amount of work to work the way up in the company, as there are limited opening of positions due to limited amount – more... of new stores opening, and seniority takes precedence. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Tire Technician (Current Employee), Richmond Hill, ONJuly 16, 2014
Long hours, organized, and routined, I learned how to write and process work orders, the management was fair, co-workers fair, hardest part of the job was the late nights, enjoyable part of the job, working with members
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay, great people
Major Sales (Current Employee), TorontoJuly 15, 2014
One of the best jobs that I've ever had , the people are what make that place a great success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Winnipeg, MBJuly 10, 2014
Pros: free membership
Cons: sometimes theres heavy lifting
costco is a great company that makes working fun no matter how long the hours you have are
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly staff and excellent working conditions
Professional Warehouse Demonstrator (Former Employee), Vaughan, ONJuly 6, 2014
Management and staff are always willing to lend a helping hand and are very friendly. Excellent experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK
PM Merch (Former Employee), Courtenay, BCJune 25, 2014
Not a bad place to work, if you a young person wanting to move up it would be a great job
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good wage, local work, weekends off.
Night Merchandising (Former Employee), Abbotsford, BCJune 23, 2014
Pros: weekends off, christmas bonus'
Cons: lay offs constantly due to lack of work
Residential rough ins, fast paced days.
CO workers cliquey and hard to get into the group.
Hardest part of the job, co workers.
Weekends off big +
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Handing out samples as a demonstrater
demonstrater (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJune 20, 2014
Pros: work in a great environment with great people
Cons: standing lots
Hi Everyone!!!

My name is Charlie Lapointe I am 26 years old and I was born and raised in Ottawa,Ontario I love to work in a fast paced Environment and I love to make new friend's and I have done sales basicly my whole life I started selling candy bars since the age of 11 years old I have learned to use fluent english I am great on the phone and I – more... also learned how to talk to a client and convince him to buy the product I would be selling I get along with other people I hate working alone I am very outgoing and kind spirit I think the Hardest part of trying to sell anything if it's on the phone or it's going door to door sales is convincing the client to try and sell them something you need to learn how to speak to a client and don't take No the first time keep trying to get that client the most enjoyable part of sales is you meet different people and make a strong sense of the job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced Enviroment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Ottawa, ONJune 19, 2014
Pros: great pay and incentives, they treat employees well
Cons: hours, long days standing and also weekends and evenings.
- cashier
- runner
- box items
- count till
- hardest part was staying calm at rude customers
- some customers make it all worth it when they are happy
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place of employment, decided to pursue Electrical.
Maintenance Staff (Former Employee), Saint John, NBJune 15, 2014
Costco was a great place to work, they were helpful with working around my schedule, giving me reasonable hours and job security was good. I decided to leave so I could start looking for work in the Electrical field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall, a great place to work
Vault Clerk (Current Employee), Edmonton, ABJune 10, 2014
Pros: great management, friendly environment, good wages/benefits
Cons: shift work, customer service
The managers are friendly and helpful, the employees are like a family, the wages and benefits are great, and on occasion they give us free food to reward a job well done. The only downsides are that you're working in customer service - so dealing with dumb people is a regular thing - and doing shift work, which makes maintaining a social life somewhat – more... difficult. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Costco Wholesale

Costco Wholesale Corporation operates an international chain of membership warehouses, under the "Costco Wholesale" – Read more

Costco Wholesale Photos