Costco Wholesale Pay & Benefits reviews

Found 258 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work environment with pressure driven management.
everything I did here was customer service (Former Employee) –  Port Coquitlam, BC20 September 2017
In the 9 years I worked here I worked my way up to Forklift Driver. I was a very hard worker and improved many aspects of the job. I developed staff and exceeded expectations; very little recognition and positive reinforcement was given.
Pros
Reasonable pay and good benefits
Cons
Management is not very good at recognized and appreciated staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience
Deli Clerk (Former Employee) –  Brampton, ON15 September 2017
It was the best job I had but due to a family emergency I had to leave but one day I like to return. Working Sundays gave us bouns on our paychecks and I was given very good hours just being a part-timer.
Pros
Good money and good hours
Cons
Morning shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent work place
Certified Tire Technician (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB9 September 2017
It was a great job when it came to benefits and a retirement savings plan. but I did not like how as a tire tech I needed to do a bunch of other departments jobs as well. I did not realize this applying for the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Seasonal Position
Cashier/Packer (Former Employee) –  Abbotsford, BC4 September 2017
I worked at costco for the 2017 summer seasonal position. It was a good place to work for the summer as a student because of the good pay ($13 an hour and $17 on Sundays), but going back to school i would never be able to handle it. They give long hours even to seasonal employees who are expected to get the least amount, and it is so hard trying to get days off. I had to miss out on family weddings and trips because my time off wasn't approved.
Pros
good pay, friendly employees
Cons
long hours, hard to get time off, favouritism from management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work asked too much
Concessions (Former Employee) –  Langford, BC1 September 2017
The job grew exceedingly difficult to complete, management kept adding more and more responsibilities until it wasn't possible for one person to complete their tasks.
Pros
Hot dogs are cheap, good benefits and life insurance.
Cons
Very sporadic hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good
Parking Lot Attendant (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB29 August 2017
Awesome place to work, great people, benefits, excellent pay, awesome and nice managers who will do their best to help your career advance and for you to have a good time working there
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dun and productive workplace
Pharmacy Assistant (Former Employee) –  Port Coquitlam, BC29 August 2017
I really enjoyed working for Costco, the staff and managers were good. The hours were ok, but sometimes scheduling was a bit off. Hard to work 5hour shifts , 5 days a week especially with 3 young children at home .
. But overall the pay and benefits are great and friendly staff .
Pros
Great wages and benefits
Cons
Bad hours and scheduling
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Speed and fun to work with
Food Court Cashier (Former Employee) –  Markham, ON28 August 2017
This company is very good to work with. Your have a chance to grow and increase your pay if you work enough hours to raise. The important thing, they have benefit for both part - time and full -time employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very decent
Stocker/Forklift operator (Current Employee) –  Vaudreuil-Dorion, QC23 August 2017
If they see that you are a hard worker, they are going to do what they can to keep you. You are not treated as a number and the job benefits are quite decent for a company that is not unionised.
Pros
Easy to apply to different positions
Cons
seniority is prioritised over skill and hard work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent store
Representative cashier (Former Employee) –  91 st edmonton23 August 2017
i was having a very good expeience working in costco as a cashier for 2 yrs ... people i work with was all good person to help . costco is a very good company to work ..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, everybody helps each other and management gets there hands dirty and rolls up there sleeves to help as well
Merchandising/Stock Person (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB21 August 2017
Start of shift, might have to help pack grocery items, if not you check the list to find out what section your working in. Management is excellent and also helps where it's needed. Enjoyable part is when you have completed your section and the people you work with. Everybody is in it to get the job done!!!
Pros
Good benefits, profit sharing, fair wages, paid more per hour on Sundays, 2 paid weeks hoilday for P/T after 1 year, closed 9 days per year and your paid for those days, 8 paid sick days per year.
Cons
Inventory 2 times per year, somtimes short staffed, trying to remember where everything because product is move around
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to be employeed
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON16 August 2017
Good place to work, flexible with home life, positive feedbacks and regular reviews
Can be hot depending on location in warehouse
Good staft and friendly people
Pros
flexible
Cons
pay scale
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Front End Assistant
Front end assistant (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ON14 August 2017
-Front end assistant; responsible for signing customers up for Costco memberships.
-Responsible for organizing merchandise.
-In charge of closing and opening cash tills.
-Problem solving and assisting customers with their needs.
-Greeted customers and offered assistance to enhance customer service experience.
Pros
benefits
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
really like to work now need some change
Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Windsor, ON13 August 2017
i really like to work in my present company but i need a part time job to pay my extra bills as i am the only earning member of the family so now want to support myself my son wife and my father aswell....
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay, terrible environment
Merchandising (Former Employee) –  Ancaster, ON3 August 2017
- Workloads not evenly distributed
- Poor support from management
- Daily customer harassment
- Physically demanding
- Great pay and benefits
- convenient location
Pros
Job Security, Hourly Wages, Benefits
Cons
Work Environment, Management, Task Deligation
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for students to work while in school
Front End Assistant (Current Employee) –  Burnaby, BC28 July 2017
I've held a position as a front end assistant at Costco for close to 4 years. I was brought in as a seasonal worker but was kept on in their CSRP program that they offer to students. This program allowed me to choose the dates I wanted to work while I was in school, and work when I wanted during semester breaks. The environment is very fast-paced and shifts seem to fly by as a result. Tasks can include packing member orders, cashier, buggy pushing, returning items to their proper shelving, clothes folding, and general cleanup duties.
Pros
Free membership, CSRP program for students, Food Court, Great staff and managers
Cons
No benefits given to CSRP, Shifts can be limited
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and busy, almost all afternoon work.
Meat Clerk / Night Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Ancaster, ON24 July 2017
Great company, great benefits, fair and just. Hours are not the greatest especially for part time employees. Takes years to attain day shifts. mostly afternoon / late evening shifts.
Pros
benefits, decent wages.
Cons
long hours and late hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
PM Merchandiser/ Cashier (Current Employee) –  Surrey, BC22 July 2017
costco is a great company to get on with. They have many amazing benefits to both full and part time employees. Excellent health care coverage and pension plans. I enjoy working here and am happy I have staid.
Pros
benefits, wages, job security
Cons
physical job, fast paced
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work family
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Edmonton, AB19 July 2017
The work is fast paced and some time it becomes a little chaotic but the real saving grace is how much the managers and staff care. They truly care about your well being.
Pros
Great benifits great work family
Cons
Part time is five days a week f
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The best working time in my live.
Bakery wrapper (Former Employee) –  Newmarket, ON15 July 2017
It was the best time to work with Costco Wholesale team.
Management was friendly.
Bakery area was very clean and comfortable for work.
Wanted to continue working but it was sessional work.
Pros
Lunch free
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Costco Wholesale. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 4,814 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.9
Salary/Benefits
4.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0

CEO Approval

90%
1,905 ratings
Add your rating