Find companies:
Core Laboratories
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
31 reviews

Core Laboratories Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Salary/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional and disorganized
Engineer (Former Employee), Calgary / EdmontonMay 24, 2014
Pros: learning and travel experience
Cons: poor safety standards, hazardous environment, bad management, low pay
Technicians and Engineers wait for calls to varying sites around Alberta and sometimes abroad (Africa, Middle East, etc.) and a person could be away for weeks or months in a row without notice. Work involves staying on rig sites for lengthy periods of time, which could amount to 5-6 days in a row WITHOUT SLEEP except for a few quick naps here and there – more... in a truck with same clothes on, even though camp accommodation is provided you'll miss the bed as there is no way you return to camp. Immediately after completing the task you are asked to go to another rig site under a state of extreme fatigue, malnutrition and serious lack of hygiene.

The working groups are unprofessional, unethical, they swear and curse each other openly and the environment is disappointing. Management is distant from the rest, usually everyone interacts with one person only and they have no clue who the rest are. Backstabbing is the norm, jealousy is in the air all the time.

The hardest part of the job is the extreme cold or heat that you work under, with the lack of sleep that could be for days, with the greatest risk of an accident (someone already died in a car crash at the company a few years ago), bad co-workers and extremely poor life-work balance. EXTREMELY POOR SAFETY STANDARDS.

Since work was seasonal, me and a few of my colleagues (70%) of the team quit all at once because we didn't get any jobs for months in a row with only a base salary. That's why this company seeks new graduates DESPARATE for work and makes them work HAAAAAARD in order to get what they can before hiring newer people the next season.

The most enjoyable part of the job, let's be fair, is technology itself. You'll learn about downhole sensor systems, but not so much in depth. Basically you're as good as an installer when it comes to gaining skills. Finally, they pay a base salary (very low one) and a field bonus (quite fair, at the cost of great effort) and the opportunities to travel around the world (to poor and war torn countries with oil and gas exploration opportunities). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Specific and routine work, very less challenging
Lab Technologist (Current Employee), Calgary, ABOctober 4, 2012
Pros: flexible work hours
Cons: temporary position
Had nice people to work with, had a lot of stress but never been boring.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good stepping stone
Core Analyst I (Current Employee), Houston, TXNovember 23, 2014
It's a lot of old heads that work here who still believe in it being cheaper to hire from the outside rather than promoting with in. One could work there for a good 5 years and still have no say so with in the company. Thought there are more cons than pros i do believe it is a good stepping stone to start your career. Come in and learn everything you – more... can, even if they try and limit you. Give yourself 2 to 3 year of gathering information and updating your resume and then start looking for a better job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Billing Clerk (Contract) (Former Employee), houston txNovember 21, 2014
Pros: fee coffee
Thanks for the opporunity this was a great company. was place her on an assignment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Core Lab.
Temporary contract (Current Employee), Houston, TXNovember 13, 2014
It is a good place to work and get a fresh start. Core Analyst is a good starting job in the company. It is a foot in the door job. It is fun at work and the managers work with you as long as you are doing your job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a OK company to work for
Petroleum Engineer (Current Employee), OklahomaNovember 4, 2014
Not much training or development. The work pressure varies depends on the time of the year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leave!!!
Lab Tech and Core Analyst (Former Employee), houston, txOctober 22, 2014
Pros: friendly co-workers
Cons: bad managment, environment, health and safty
Job Work/Life Balance: They will try to force you to do extra hours and discourage you from going to family funerals.

Compensation/Benefits: They pay reasonably well. Not much else. If you get injured you are on your own.

Job Security/Advancement: You can get fired for no reason, and they will not tell you why.

Management: You are ether waiting for – more... management to get you work, or expected to multi-task several rush jobs. Granted there are a few good managers.

Job Culture: People are unhappy and are ether trying to get out of there or wondering how they got there. Mulch-cultural, and friendly co-workers on the lower ranks.

Learn what you can and get out. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Starting Company
Core Analyst (Former Employee), Houston, TXOctober 21, 2014
Cons: short breaks, little effective training, vague goals
Company is a good place to start and learn the basics. Lots of lab experience and hands on training with actual sample material. This is both good and bad as if you make a mistake while training you are still held accountable for the mistake regardless of it being your first day.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family organized outings
Purchasing Clerk II (Current Employee), Houston, TXOctober 20, 2014
Pros: close to home, family atmosphere
Cons: raises
Quote/Process about 6-10 PO a day
Scanning PO, while matching Invoices with PO's for close out
Weekly inventory
I have learned the consistency and routine of two PO systems
importance of vendor relationship
Co-workers are helpful, patient, trust worthy to add to my duties
hardest apart of the job is nothing, every thing is pretty much do-able it gets – more... challenging depending on the time of year.
Most enjoyable part of my job is the stability. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging working experience
Manager (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLSeptember 30, 2014
Core Laboratories is a vanguard company in the petroleum exploration and reservoirs.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understanding basic Routine Core Analysis
Internship (Former Employee), KuwaitAugust 31, 2014
The CoreLab internship was a 3 week familiarization and training program on Coring, Core Description and Rock Typing. A typical day included working and understand the different types of Rcal methods given below. It involved on-the-job training on core handling such as core-to-log depth shift estimation, core preservation, labeling, slabbing, plugging, – more... solvent cleaning & drying as well as routine core analysis which included Spectral Gamma Logging, and measurement of plugs’ grain density, helium porosity, and permeability via Core Measurement System. The management, as the co-workers, was incredibly friendly and helpful. The hardest part of the job was to understand the concepts of measuring poro-perm which hadn't been studied at the time. The most enjoyable part was the hands on experience gained in every measurement methodology. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stable company
Business Analyst (Former Employee), Houston, TXJuly 20, 2014
Enjoyed working at Core Lab. The reason I left was due to relocating from TX to OK.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Lab Analyst (Former Employee), Shah Alam, M10July 7, 2014
Pros: yes
Cons: yes
Overall I've learn how to manage people base on diffrent critiria
Improve my life style througt management.Better knowlegde.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Managerial favoritism
Senior Financial Analyst (Former Employee), Houston, TXMay 2, 2014
Pros: location close to my house
Cons: see above
The management in the Consolidations department showed constant favoritism to the employee of the same race and gender as the manager - even going so far as to supply the other employee with lunches and hold 'private' meetings in their native language (not English). The favored employee would also be allowed to sit in the manager's office for multiple – more... days per month and review the work of others, while the other team member would have to complete to work of the favored employee. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job for a recent graduate
Core Analyst (Former Employee), Denver, CONovember 20, 2013
Pros: travel
Cons: job security, healthcare, no benefits
A typical day in the lab would consist of gathering data from rock samples, processing and organizing those samples, and entering data.
A typical day in the field would consist of driving long distances at random hours, heavy manual labor collecting core from well sites, and driving it back to Denver.

I learned a lot about the oil and gas industry, – more... especially in regards to rig operations. Scientific theories, measurements, and procedures were good takeaways as well.

The management at the Denver branch could use some improvement. All new employees come from a staffing agency, and after they are fully trained they refuse to hire most in order to save money on benefits, taxes, etc. However, there are a few managers that have a ton of responsibility and handle it well.

The hardest part of the job was being away from home 75% of the time. However, this is the only way to make the job fiscally logical as the pay increases to an appropriate amount while in the field.

I really enjoyed getting to see new parts of the country, and the other employees were great people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work atmosphere with great co-workers
Lab Technician core analyst (Current Employee), Denver, CONovember 5, 2013
Pros: i like everyone i work with
Cons: currently temporary employment status, little to no notification of field work, away from home long periods of time
My typical day:
Observe running samples and base future tests off of what has been and needs to be ran. Based on that information, I would unload sample cells and load sample cells with either the sample or the standard that would correlate to the given sample. After which I would go through the start-up procedure to start the test. If sample is not – more... in the form in which is needed, sample preparation would be required.

Being my first job out of college I have learned how to work in a professional environment and have professional relationships.

The management that I have worked with has been great at the supervisor level. The higher levels of management is lacking in a definitive plan or direction in which the company should go, therefore affecting the employees and their status with the company.

The hardest part of my job would be the lack of benefits. Being though a staffing agency for duration of my employment has kept me from earning PTO or health care through Corelab. Another difficult part of my job is having to be ready to leave at a moments notice, always, and being gone an extended amount of time.

The most enjoyable part of my job would definitely be the people I work with. We are all around the same age and have much in common and have been able to share ideas about work that generally improve the quality of work or working conditions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and safety oriented place to work.
Supervisor (Former Employee), Godley, TXNovember 5, 2013
Pros: training, great working environment.
Cons: no cons
Worked with explosives every day. Co-workers always looked out for one another with safety in mind.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Workplace
Oilfield Supervisor (Current Employee), Midland, TXJuly 26, 2013
Pros: great money
Cons: long work hours
Always learning new things, Make a difference, always follow safety procedures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace
Analyst (Former Employee), TexasJuly 19, 2013
Pros: steady work, some very knowledgeable technical managers
Cons: no life work balance, advancement opportunity not always based on skill, little - no work culture
If one is dedicated, inspired and overachieving, plan to go nowhere unless you are one of the "chosen". As an experienced analyst, one can spend a mininmum of 40-70 hours in the lab, depending on lab staffing and projects. Expect NO life & work balance unless you are in a managment role, Bottom line: Many many managers, void of leaders...
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Interesting and Informative
Trainee Geologist (Former Employee), Karachi. PakistanApril 21, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: short break, medicle.
None
Software and other things
Good Management
Good Co workers
Nothing hard
i enjoyed every part of it