Core-Mark International, Inc. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and rewarding
Transportation Manager (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON25 July 2017
Core Mark was a new business and I was hired from the beginning. I enjoyed putting my skills of logistics skills to use. I managed over 20 employees and scheduled them to deliver products to the food industry, I found the employees great to work with. The work was challenging and fulfilling. My typical day at work was scheduling drivers and routes, Safety and compliance of the fleet of trucks, licencing trucks and trailers, Log book screening for accuracy, stock rotation , customer service to our clients and driving deliveries as needed. I was also in charge of hiring drivers and road tests. The hours were sometimes long but I did not mind. The management was very good and enjoyable to work for, The hardest part for me was discipline actions toward my drivers, The most enjoyable part of work was that that there was life balance. I learned how to be diplomatic.
Pros
Salary and Benifits
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work at
sales development rep (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB8 May 2017
its a nice place to work at co workers are ice friendly and helping . Old management was great new management is not that great to work with . i would not want to work under that management .
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Prairies Canada Division Router & Payroll Officer (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB17 March 2017
Learned a lot with the management team. Hands on training. Great software programs. Very patient with training and potential to move ahead with company was great.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work at
Delivery Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB10 February 2017
Shifts not matching with life now looking for alternatives
Good christmas parties and working environment working on latest equipment overall good experience
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice work environment
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON2 January 2017
I joined Core Mark on a short term contract and had a wonderful experience working there, helpful coworker and supportive management, commute was the toughest part but I wa sfilling in for a short contract so it was okay.
Pros
Healthy work environment
Cons
Long Commute
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company
Office Administrator (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON8 December 2016
Management at Milton division is a joke. If you kiss their behinds all day long then you might get somewhere otherwise forget it. They bring in their friends and make them your boss eventhogh u been there for many many years and their friends have no experience
Pros
Vacation time and paid sick days
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a great place
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON4 December 2016
In my area their is a lot of favoritism and the management is very unorganized. Worse place I have ever worked at least in my view. Looking for other aspects.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst comany ever to work for..
Driver/Delivery (Former Employee) –  Calgary, AB12 November 2016
This company is poorly mismanaged. You will be told to do things the company way then they will use it against.the union is broken and the drivers there will turn in each other in a heart beat
Pros
Good money
Cons
No one knows what there doing there
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work too much politics
Accounting -(CONTRACT POSITION) (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON31 July 2016
Worst manager and racist manager. Long hours of work with no appreciation at all.

Work work and work.

Manager dont know the job and expect a lot from staff

Manager think they own the company ,treat the staff as slaves, and HR is also worst play politics with employee, you never know when you will be thrown out
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a bit difficult to get use too, but not boring to work at!
driver (Former Employee) –  Edmonton, AB11 July 2016
Great benefits and decent pay! The management is pretty easy to talk too, you get to travel all day and get paid to exercise. You can even choose to drive out of town for a route. But the only bad thing I can think of is this company, is route bidding is based on seniority.
Pros
union
Cons
pyhsical work
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management who are controlling abusers who do not display any of the companies values!
Office (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON23 April 2016
Senior Management are unqualified and not able to communicate, unwilling to listen and lack of understanding of what employees actually do in their positions!

No concern or compassion for employees seem to forget employees are what make the company and their greatest assets not attending meetings and staring at spreadsheets all day!!!

Pay is way under market and not valued for office staff unless your management!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
A Z Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Milton, ON3 December 2015
no one bothers you much. just show up and do your job and it seems to work out great. Its fast paced but all hand bomb work. if you want to stay fit it might work out well. the pay is great but crazy busy during the summer months.
Pros
great money
Cons
over night routs
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no incentives, discriminatory environment. only for whites
Material Handler (Current Employee) –  milton, ontario6 July 2015
no proper training
salary does not increase after first 10 months
very dirty for a food distributor
supervisors, team leads very irresponsible not professional
manager works hard to make it happen but junior team sucks and pathetic.Can't even drive equipment properly
Not a good strategic plan to run the place
always short staffed making current staff work like donkeys
politics to the extreme
everyone backstabbing each other at workplace
too many crybabys
no unity in staff
Pros
good manager
Cons
bad junior management staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Core-Mark
CSR (Current Employee) –  Milton ON18 March 2015
Great company. Emphasis on team work and organization.
Fast-paced and ever changing work environment. Must be adaptable and will to embrace change.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Core-Mark - Good Company for Entry-Level Drivers
Lead Hand / Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Calgary, AB16 November 2014
Very accommodating with training entry level employees.
Enjoyable delivery job with great hours.
Pros
Accommodates Training
Cons
Unsafe Work Practices; Poor Work/Life Balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work was straight forward and productive.
General Labourer (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON8 August 2014
Always busy at work.
The management always want the employees to do so much work so they can meet certain productivity.
Too much overtime and working in the freezer was too much to handle.
The work is straight forward.
Pros
Productive
Cons
Freezer is too cold
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and yet confusing
General Labourer/Reach Operator (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON6 May 2014
I was originally hired for the general labourer position in a specific department, but I was bounced around a bit. Although I did have some experience using the machinery that was needed, I received very little in the way of direction and training. I was expected to just know where product was supposed to go, and was offered very little help from my co-workers when I asked basic questions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and energetic workplace environment
Order Picker (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON22 May 2013
Operated RF scanner to pick and pack the correct product for the correct customer, kept work areas clean, operated Raymond Reach and Walkie to retrieve, move or distribute product.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Un-organized
Applicant (Former Employee) –  Milton, ON5 December 2012
Application made for a Fleet manager/safety position. After 2 interviews, have heard nothing in almost 2 months. Very un-professional.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There was very little employee assistance
Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Red Deer, AB4 November 2012
I had issues getting help when equipment was not working and the truck drivers were not given correct delivery schedules making my job more difficult.
Pros
the pay was good, my manager lily was awesome until she was replaced by someone not as qualified
Cons
new management not very accessible, the drivers were late a lot, made customers very upset
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Core-Mark International, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 376 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.8
Salary/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.5
Culture
2.8

Core-Mark International, Inc. Reviews by Location