CONESTOGA COLLEGE Employee Reviews

Showing all 38 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay, but lots of people get stuck there
Contractor (Former Employee) –  Waterloo, ONSeptember 12, 2016
Lots of contract work. Friendly people. Not very flexible re. working arrangements. Pay depends on your category. Don't think they really care about employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big College lots of red tap
Program Learning Strategist (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONAugust 25, 2016
Its a big college and top heavy with management. Depending on which department, its filtered with red tape. Co workers are always willing to learn. Culture stems from a President who has been around for 35 years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Handsome
Volunteer Experiences (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONJuly 15, 2016
I enjoyed being a student at Conestoga College
The Staff are very helpful and friendly
I enjoyed working and studying as a group
I learned too many things like how to do work independently and how to work as a group. I faced some issue during that and was able to go through it and finished work on time.
I strengthen my communication skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment hopefully stimulates growth of employees
Employment Officer (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONMay 31, 2016
A more relaxed environment at Conestoga than at the local Universities. Management is forward-thinking, employers seem split on their drive to achieve high-expectations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast placed work environment
coordinator (Current Employee) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ONMay 17, 2016
The pace can fluctuate with the course classes. One day it can be faced paced and other days it slows down and it give the workers a chance to catch up and prepare for the next wave.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice and organized place to work
Computer Help Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONMay 10, 2016
The college is set in order. Within a week you will memorize all the college important place. Library, Computer Labs, etc..

I Learned to be punctuate, problems solving, Listen to both co-workers and students and make the best of every situation.

Some time you have to come early before student comes around 7 am before classes start

It's important to mention the college is wheelchair accessible
Pros
Friendly environment to work
Cons
Some time late break because too much student need help at once
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Kitchener-Waterloo, ONMay 1, 2016
Working for them was defiantly a new experience but it was fun non the less i love to help out and make work fun and they are very well organized.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Academic Course (Mandatory)
Industrial Project Design (Mandatory) (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONApril 25, 2016
I was working with a group at school. My jobs were designing the assembly parts with Solid Work , charging in PLC code troubleshooting and Servo motor system. I learned how to use servo motor systems like Lin mot talk 6 and Cool muscle. Getting tons of Omron PLC knowledge. I think the most interesting job is to develop our servo control section. Using Cool muscle and Lin mot 6 software to write codes to come up with the servo motor crisp actions.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun
Student Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ONMarch 3, 2016
It was a good experience. It was productive and fun. They paid well. Work load was not much. It was interactive. I was learning well.
Pros
good hours
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and energizing place to work!
Instructor (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONFebruary 16, 2016
Teaching is incredibly rewarding. Conestoga provides small classes where individual attention is provided for the students.

Good support from staff and administration

Job security is not provided for people on contract.
Pros
Autonomy in the classroom
Cons
Contract provides no guarantee to hours next semester
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place and Learned a lot
Research Assistant(COOP) (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONFebruary 15, 2016
The workplace is really amazing
Learned a lot about new technologies
Got all the help whenever need during project
Very Friendly coworkers
Pros
On Campus Job
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, educational place to work
IT Service Support Staff (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONFebruary 12, 2016
With Conestoga College's IT Department, I have had the opportunity to lean many new things since October. A typical day at work consists of assisting students and faculty with IT problems they may be facing from password resets to connecting to the WIFI. I have learned a great deal about software, and their system manager for creating tickets for electronics that need to be fixed/looked at around the College
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun independent work environment
Part time Maintenance staff (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONFebruary 7, 2016
a great work experience and environment with the opportunity to work with a diverse team of fellow students throughout the different departments at the recreation center.
Pros
flexible work hours
Cons
short shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Philosophy
Student Life Department - Information Desk (Current Employee) –  Kitchener, ONFebruary 5, 2016
Working hard for something you love is PASSION, so find that passion in you and stride towards that and make it your goal. Finding this passion might feel like a roller-coaster ride at times but stay on, the tracks will find itself and everything will smooth itself back out again. Just hold on tight and enjoy the ride!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting company to work for.
Exam Proctor (Current Employee) –  Winnipeg, MBJanuary 26, 2016
I am please with this company. I enjoy working with them.They treat their employees with a lot of respect. Very happy to part of the team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working with my fellow employees
Technical Training and Development Liaison (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONDecember 4, 2015
Even though it was only a one year contract, I learned several new skills that helped me with my next position.
I spent some of the time processing documents for technical training courses and assembling binders to be deliverd to classes in the facility.
Pros
Good working environment
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very enjoyable experience
Instructor (Former Employee) –  Cambridge, ONNovember 3, 2015
teaching young people the essence of my skills which will allow them to succeed in their careers was very enjoyable.
the hours were easily manageable and full of promise
learning 40+ names in a few weeks was challenging
Pros
very rewarding
Cons
class enrollment dictates instructor employment
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work as a student
Weight Room Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONOctober 12, 2015
Great place to work as a student because it was on campus and allowed me to have extra money as a student. I enjoyed the gym atmosphere and the people that I met while working.
Pros
Gym access.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work atmosphere, rewarding work
Peer Tutor (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONOctober 6, 2015
I worked part-time tutoring Statistics, Chemistry, and Biology to first year students.

The schedule was accommodating and I was happy to make some extra cash while helping students with their studies.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and friendly work culture
Co-op student (Former Employee) –  Kitchener, ONAugust 21, 2015
Conestoga is a great place to work. People are friendly and supportive. The only downside is that it is very difficult to get a full-time position. Most people enter on a part-time basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 38 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.4
Salary/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
3.9
Management
4.2
Culture
4.1